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Social media = ROI?
                            Measuring your hospital’s
                              social media efforts



                                                        1

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
About me
                            •   Director, Digital Marketing and
                                Communications, Inova Health System

                            •   Six hospital not-for-profit system serving
                                the Washington DC area

                            •   Advisory Board Member,
                                Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media

                            •   Consultant for more than 100 hospitals/
                                physician practices



                                                                   2

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
What we’re covering today	


            • How social media is different
            • Importance of online communities
            • Defining ROI
            • What and how to measure?
            • Using a CRM and the engagement funnel


                Download this worksheet: http://bit.ly/MayoRaganROI
                                                                      3

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Why does the discussion of social media ROI
                                sometimes make me feel like this?         4

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
What’s the controversy?

                  We all should strive to give the best care,
                  have the best relationships and be fiscally
                            sound with health care social media.


                                          Simple.

                                                                   5

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
A house
  divided against
   itself cannot
       stand
         - Abraham Lincoln

                             6

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Why are we
    doing this
    to ourselves?




                            7

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
How social media is different
                        "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the
                        ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and
                        that allow the creation and exchange of user-generated
                        content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin




                                                                                    8

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
How social media is different
                        "A group of Internet-based applications that build on
                        the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0,
                        and that allow the creation and exchange of user-
                        generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin




                                                                                    9

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
How social media is different
                        "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the
                        ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and
                        that allow the creation and exchange of user-
                        generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin




                                                                                    10

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
How social media is different
                        "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the
                        ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and
                        that allow the creation and exchange of user-
                        generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael
                        Haenlin




                                                                                    11

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
How social media is different
                        "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the
                        ideological and technological foundations of Web
                        2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user-
                        generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin




                                                                                    12

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
How social media is different
                        "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the
                        ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and
                        that allow the creation and exchange of user-generated
                        content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin

      •       Two-way participation

      •       Transparency

      •       Credibility

      •       Trust

      •       “Communities of Interest”
                                                                                    13

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
The cornerstone = Trust




                                 14

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Continuum of “I-Don’t-Care”




               Don’t Care          Care somewhat
                                                      Care deeply
             (not engaged)         (kinda engaged)


                                                            g Op inions
                                                     S harin
                                        esearching
                                       R
                      iscovering
                    D
                                                                    15

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Social media establishes relevance
        Building trust throughout the “Continuum of I-Don’t-Care”


          Facebook
                            Gowalla
                                      Forums
               Twitter                         Flickr
                            SMM
                              UStream                   Yelp!
           Digg
                       SlideShare         LinkedIn    Local    Angie’s List
                Tumblr        Amplify                Listings
                                     Microsites                       g Op  inions
           Foursquare    User                                 S harin
                       Groups
           YouTube                       esear ching
                                  BlogsR
                      iscovering
                    D
                                                                            16

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Social networks are
                             how we connect.


                    Communities of interest are
                       why we connect.

                                                  17

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
18

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
MyHealthybaby.org




               •      900 “Find a Doctor” requests
               •      650 “Baby and Me” eNewsletter subscribers   19

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
What can (or do) you measure?
        •       Friends, fans & followers

        •       Reach, relationship & reputation

        •       Strength, sentiment & passion

        •       100 ways to measure:
                http://bit.ly/100ways

                      Where’s
                      the beef
                       (ROI)?
                                                   20

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Is ROI truly “ROI”?

     •       Return on Results (ROR)

     •       Return on Opportunity (ROO)

     •       Return on Engagement (ROE)



             These are very important, but they aren’t ROI.

                            They’re success measures.
                                                        21

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
ROI should always be tied to $$$
         “Social Media ROI reflects any other marketing-related ROI:
         the net financial revenue to the organization from the effort,
         after having accounted for the effort's costs. 

         FI-NAN-CIAL
         money
         dough
         bottom line
         coin
         or, as I like to call it,
         ROI”

         - Chris Bevolo (@IntervalChris)
                                                                  22

          
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
ROI = (financial gain/savings - cost)
                                              cost



                            Contrary to popular belief,
                            there is ROI in everything
                                                                   23

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
If you’re not
 impacting one
 of these...




                             ...why
                            bother?



                               24

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Using social media to drive growth goals

     •      Engage and drive communities of interest to act


     •      Rely on strong (and measurable) call-to-actions


     •      Lead social media efforts to conversion points


     •      Build engagement through the “Continuum of I-Don’t Care”

     Tip(s):
     • Promote elective, “consumer-choice” procedures/programs
     • Use social media to promote foundation activities        25

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Using Facebook to promote bariatrics

   •       Identify Facebook audience in No.VA interested in
           weight-loss

   •       Create two ads promoting bariatric seminars
   •       Direct ads to landing page
   •       $479 monthly spend




                                                               26

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
The results:

      •       Over three month period: 296 clicks/month
                 •      .03 CTR (average CTR for Facebook PPC is .02)
                 •      $1.62/click


      •       30 seminar registrations

      •       23% seminar registration/surgery conversion rate

      •       Average $3,000 contribution margin from surgery

      •       $20,700 profit originated from campaign




                                                                        27

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Calculating ROI

                            ROI = (gain - cost)/cost


              Gain: $20,700
              Cost: $479 x 3 = $1,437


              ROI = (20,700 - 1,437)/(1437) = 13.4 or 1340%




                                                              28

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Wait a second...
                   you didn’t tell me there
                  was going to be any math!



                                               29

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Using social media to lower marketing
     & communication costs
    •       Aggregate and populate (“be everywhere”)

    •       Train spokespeople on social media best-practices

    •       Train social media staff on media handling

    •       Remember communications is different than marketing

    •       Emphasize story-telling
    Tip(s):
    • Publish press releases on your website, and link to them
    • Use social media to gather additional stories from patients
    • Have social media complement your marketing efforts for more reach
                                                                      30

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Viral promotion of back pain lecture




      •      Dec 2010 – Back Pain lecture held by Spine Surgeon
      •      Event live-streamed and live-tweeted
      •      Watched by over 200 viewers online
      •      Picked up by local media – 200K media impressions
                                                                  31

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Viral promotion of back pain lecture

          Potential ROI calculation:
    • Total reach of the program: 200K impressions
    • 10% of actual audience will see the message*: 20,000 people
    • 20% of those seeing the message will find it relevant*: 4,000
    • 10% of those finding it relevant will want to learn more*: 400
    • 10% of those with interest will will have surgery: 40
    • Average contribution margin for spine surgery/rehab:
      $20,000
    • Total cost to promote program: fixed (let’s say $2000)
    *These are assumptions that should be negotiated

                                                               32

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Another success measurement
     • Dec 2010:




                               33

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Another success measurement
      • Jun 2011:




      Question: Can you calculate ROI from this?

       Answer: Yes.
       Cost for video streaming & live-tweeting: fixed (let’s say $2K)
       Avg. CM for neck surgery/rehabilitation: $20,000
                                                                  34

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Using social media to increase patient
       & physician satisfaction & loyalty
      •       Provide relevant information to “non-consumers”

      •       Often used for crisis management & service recovery

      •       Monitor real-time feedback

      •       Educate and act transparently

      •       Correlation vs. causation
               Tip(s):
       •       Create a wellness campaigns
       •       Promote the breadth of your hospital’s offering
       •       Use a CRM!                                           35

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Using social media to promote wellness




  •       7,300 registrants

  •       575 Facebook followers

  •       5,000 updated CRM records (2,300 entirely new records)

  •       500 cross-promoted into other eNewsletter programs
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
                                                               36
Revenue through FitFor50
   •       325 participants to enroll in fundraising fitness run
           (ROI: $20 x 325 = $6500)

   •       Life-to-date utilization (contribution margin):

             •       “New” patient CM: $38,000

             •        “Former” patient CM: $274,000

             •        Total CM: $305,600


                                Correlated vs. Causal ROI


                                                                  37

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Other ways to measure patient interest




                            www.inovaheart.org

                                                 38

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Other ways to measure patient interest
                                              •   9,374 recipients/2,047 opens
                                              •   55 (20.9%) clicks were in the
                                                  FAQ section about the price of
                                                  the vaccine
                                              •   68 (25.9%) clicks were in the
                                                  FAQ section to find out where to
                                                  get the shot
                                              •   28 (10.6%) clicks were in the
                                                  FAQ section asking who should
                                                  receive the vaccine
                                              •   22 (8.4%) clicks were in the FAQ
                                                  section to read more FAQs
                                              •   38 (14.4%) clicks were on the big
                                                  red find a clinic button
                                              •   21 (8%) clicks were on the big
                                                  blue button with the phone
                                                  number and “click for more info”
                                                  language
                                              •   9 (3.4%) clicks were to sign up
                                                  for e-newsletters
                            “Fight the Flu”   •   7 (2.7%) clicks were to find an
                                                  Inova physician
                                 email
                                              •   9 (3.4%) clicks were to attend an
                                                  Inova fitness class     39

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Measuring engagement with a Customer
                     Relationship Management (CRM) database




                                                          40

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
CRM myths & fears ... “exposed”

        •       Building brand and loyalty is enough


        •       We don’t have a CRM system, so I can’t measure


        •       Math scares me


        •       If we measure we might find we’re not doing too well




                                                                      41

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Social Media ROI rag by Chris Boyer
              Social Media ROI
              If you’re not gonna measure it
              Then why you even doin’ it?

              It’s easy if you try
              Just like your marketing
              You should measure everything

              Put your metrics in a chart
              Simple ‘cause it’s a start (and it’s smart!)

              Social Media ROI
              Impress your CFO
              It’s the only way to go
                                                             42

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Questions?

                                Chris Boyer
                                  @chrisboyer
                             www.christopherboyer.com

                                  @InovaHealth
                             www.inova.org/socialmedia
                                                         43

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

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Social Media ROI presentation for the Mayo Clinic conference

  • 1. Social media = ROI? Measuring your hospital’s social media efforts 1 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 2. About me • Director, Digital Marketing and Communications, Inova Health System • Six hospital not-for-profit system serving the Washington DC area • Advisory Board Member, Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media • Consultant for more than 100 hospitals/ physician practices 2 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 3. What we’re covering today • How social media is different • Importance of online communities • Defining ROI • What and how to measure? • Using a CRM and the engagement funnel Download this worksheet: http://bit.ly/MayoRaganROI 3 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 4. Why does the discussion of social media ROI sometimes make me feel like this? 4 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 5. What’s the controversy? We all should strive to give the best care, have the best relationships and be fiscally sound with health care social media. Simple. 5 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 6. A house divided against itself cannot stand - Abraham Lincoln 6 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 7. Why are we doing this to ourselves? 7 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 8. How social media is different "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user-generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin 8 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 9. How social media is different "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user- generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin 9 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 10. How social media is different "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user- generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin 10 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 11. How social media is different "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user- generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin 11 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 12. How social media is different "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user- generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin 12 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 13. How social media is different "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user-generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin • Two-way participation • Transparency • Credibility • Trust • “Communities of Interest” 13 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 14. The cornerstone = Trust 14 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 15. Continuum of “I-Don’t-Care” Don’t Care Care somewhat Care deeply (not engaged) (kinda engaged) g Op inions S harin esearching R iscovering D 15 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 16. Social media establishes relevance Building trust throughout the “Continuum of I-Don’t-Care” Facebook Gowalla Forums Twitter Flickr SMM UStream Yelp! Digg SlideShare LinkedIn Local Angie’s List Tumblr Amplify Listings Microsites g Op inions Foursquare User S harin Groups YouTube esear ching BlogsR iscovering D 16 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 17. Social networks are how we connect. Communities of interest are why we connect. 17 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 19. MyHealthybaby.org • 900 “Find a Doctor” requests • 650 “Baby and Me” eNewsletter subscribers 19 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 20. What can (or do) you measure? • Friends, fans & followers • Reach, relationship & reputation • Strength, sentiment & passion • 100 ways to measure: http://bit.ly/100ways Where’s the beef (ROI)? 20 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 21. Is ROI truly “ROI”? • Return on Results (ROR) • Return on Opportunity (ROO) • Return on Engagement (ROE) These are very important, but they aren’t ROI. They’re success measures. 21 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 22. ROI should always be tied to $$$ “Social Media ROI reflects any other marketing-related ROI: the net financial revenue to the organization from the effort, after having accounted for the effort's costs.  FI-NAN-CIAL money dough bottom line coin or, as I like to call it, ROI” - Chris Bevolo (@IntervalChris) 22   Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 23. ROI = (financial gain/savings - cost) cost Contrary to popular belief, there is ROI in everything 23 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 24. If you’re not impacting one of these... ...why bother? 24 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 25. Using social media to drive growth goals • Engage and drive communities of interest to act • Rely on strong (and measurable) call-to-actions • Lead social media efforts to conversion points • Build engagement through the “Continuum of I-Don’t Care” Tip(s): • Promote elective, “consumer-choice” procedures/programs • Use social media to promote foundation activities 25 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 26. Using Facebook to promote bariatrics • Identify Facebook audience in No.VA interested in weight-loss • Create two ads promoting bariatric seminars • Direct ads to landing page • $479 monthly spend 26 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 27. The results: • Over three month period: 296 clicks/month • .03 CTR (average CTR for Facebook PPC is .02) • $1.62/click • 30 seminar registrations • 23% seminar registration/surgery conversion rate • Average $3,000 contribution margin from surgery • $20,700 profit originated from campaign 27 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 28. Calculating ROI ROI = (gain - cost)/cost Gain: $20,700 Cost: $479 x 3 = $1,437 ROI = (20,700 - 1,437)/(1437) = 13.4 or 1340% 28 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 29. Wait a second... you didn’t tell me there was going to be any math! 29 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 30. Using social media to lower marketing & communication costs • Aggregate and populate (“be everywhere”) • Train spokespeople on social media best-practices • Train social media staff on media handling • Remember communications is different than marketing • Emphasize story-telling Tip(s): • Publish press releases on your website, and link to them • Use social media to gather additional stories from patients • Have social media complement your marketing efforts for more reach 30 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 31. Viral promotion of back pain lecture • Dec 2010 – Back Pain lecture held by Spine Surgeon • Event live-streamed and live-tweeted • Watched by over 200 viewers online • Picked up by local media – 200K media impressions 31 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 32. Viral promotion of back pain lecture Potential ROI calculation: • Total reach of the program: 200K impressions • 10% of actual audience will see the message*: 20,000 people • 20% of those seeing the message will find it relevant*: 4,000 • 10% of those finding it relevant will want to learn more*: 400 • 10% of those with interest will will have surgery: 40 • Average contribution margin for spine surgery/rehab: $20,000 • Total cost to promote program: fixed (let’s say $2000) *These are assumptions that should be negotiated 32 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 33. Another success measurement • Dec 2010: 33 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 34. Another success measurement • Jun 2011: Question: Can you calculate ROI from this? Answer: Yes. Cost for video streaming & live-tweeting: fixed (let’s say $2K) Avg. CM for neck surgery/rehabilitation: $20,000 34 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 35. Using social media to increase patient & physician satisfaction & loyalty • Provide relevant information to “non-consumers” • Often used for crisis management & service recovery • Monitor real-time feedback • Educate and act transparently • Correlation vs. causation Tip(s): • Create a wellness campaigns • Promote the breadth of your hospital’s offering • Use a CRM! 35 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 36. Using social media to promote wellness • 7,300 registrants • 575 Facebook followers • 5,000 updated CRM records (2,300 entirely new records) • 500 cross-promoted into other eNewsletter programs Tuesday, October 18, 2011 36
  • 37. Revenue through FitFor50 • 325 participants to enroll in fundraising fitness run (ROI: $20 x 325 = $6500) • Life-to-date utilization (contribution margin): • “New” patient CM: $38,000 • “Former” patient CM: $274,000 • Total CM: $305,600 Correlated vs. Causal ROI 37 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 38. Other ways to measure patient interest www.inovaheart.org 38 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 39. Other ways to measure patient interest • 9,374 recipients/2,047 opens • 55 (20.9%) clicks were in the FAQ section about the price of the vaccine • 68 (25.9%) clicks were in the FAQ section to find out where to get the shot • 28 (10.6%) clicks were in the FAQ section asking who should receive the vaccine • 22 (8.4%) clicks were in the FAQ section to read more FAQs • 38 (14.4%) clicks were on the big red find a clinic button • 21 (8%) clicks were on the big blue button with the phone number and “click for more info” language • 9 (3.4%) clicks were to sign up for e-newsletters “Fight the Flu” • 7 (2.7%) clicks were to find an Inova physician email • 9 (3.4%) clicks were to attend an Inova fitness class 39 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 40. Measuring engagement with a Customer Relationship Management (CRM) database 40 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 41. CRM myths & fears ... “exposed” • Building brand and loyalty is enough • We don’t have a CRM system, so I can’t measure • Math scares me • If we measure we might find we’re not doing too well 41 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 42. Social Media ROI rag by Chris Boyer Social Media ROI If you’re not gonna measure it Then why you even doin’ it? It’s easy if you try Just like your marketing You should measure everything Put your metrics in a chart Simple ‘cause it’s a start (and it’s smart!) Social Media ROI Impress your CFO It’s the only way to go 42 Tuesday, October 18, 2011
  • 43. Questions? Chris Boyer @chrisboyer www.christopherboyer.com @InovaHealth www.inova.org/socialmedia 43 Tuesday, October 18, 2011