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#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson
CHRISTI OLSON
DIRECTOR OF SEM, POINT IT
SAVE QUALITY SCORE
SAVE THE WORLD
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson
CHRISTI OLSON
DIRECTOR OF SEM, POINT IT
FIX YOUR QUALITY SCORE
SAVE YOUR WALLET
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip@ChristiJOlson
CONCEALING MY IDENTITY….
CRAZY RUNNER
Seattle Based Digital
Marketing Agency
DIRECTOR OF SEM FAMILY!
I‘ve also worked for:
DISGUISED AS “MERIDA”
FOR A HALF MARATHON
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE
THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS
SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
@ChristiJOlson
I’M MAKING AN ASSUMPTION:
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
I’M MAKING AN ASSUMPTION:
YOU UNDERSTAND THE BASICS:
• TERMINOLOGY
• ACCOUNT STRUCTURE
• BENEFITS OF PPC ADVERTISING
HEARD OF QUALITY SCORE
#ConvRoadTrip
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE
THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS
SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
EVERY GOOD STORY STARTS WITH A BACKSTORY
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
QUALITY SCORE ISN’T A MAGICAL FAIRY TALE
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
IT’S NOT THE CURE ALL TO MANAGING PPC ACCOUNTS
@ChristiJOlson
“…understanding this information [QUALITY SCORE] is the key to really
unlocking AdWords”
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
QUALITY SCORE (QS) ISN’T A KPI
IT’S A DIAGNOSTIC TOOL
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
GOOGLE TALK ABOUT “VISIBLE QS”
ACCOUNT
CAMPAIGN
KEYWORD
IMPRESSION WEIGHTED ACCOUNT AVERAGE
IMPRESSION WEIGHTED CAMPAIGN AVERAGE
VISIBLE IN THE ADWORDS UI
#ConvRoadTrip
SO WHAT OTHER QS IS THERE?
@ChristiJOlson
HISTORICAL ACCOUNT PERFORMANCE MATTERS
ACCOUNT
CAMPAIGN
KEYWORD
#ConvRoadTrip
NEW CAMPAIGNS IN
EXISTING ACCOUNTS
@ChristiJOlson
HISTORICAL CAMPAIGN PERFORMANCE MATTERS
ACCOUNT
CAMPAIGN
KEYWORD
NEW AD GROUPS &
KEYWORDS IN EXISTING
CAMPAIGNS
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
DON’T OBSESS ABOUT QUALITY SCORE, BUT USE IT AS
A DIRECTIONAL GUIDE FOR ACCOUNT OPTIMIZATION
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson
QUALITY SCORE PUTS THE USER FIRST
USER FINDS WHAT THEY ARE LOOKING FOR
REWARDS ADVERTISERS FOR RELEVANT ADS
@ChristiJOlson
WHAT I WON’T COVER IN DEPTH TODAY
MOBILE QS DISPLAY QS
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE
THE CHARACTERS: WHAT MAKES UP QS
SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
@ChristiJOlson
LET’S DIG IN….
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
LET’S MEET THE CHARACTERS IN THIS STORY…
Keyword
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
VISIBLE QUALITY SCORE ELEMENTS:
Keyword
relevance
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
TRIFECTA OF RELEVANCE
#ConvRoadTrip
KEYWORDS
AD COPY
LANDING
PAGE
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
BREAKDOWN OF IMPORTANCE OF QS ELEMENTS
@Bloomarty bit.ly/QSelements
REALLY, YOU DON’T SAY?
TELL ME MORE
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
QS IS A MULTIPLER IN AD RANK
AD RANK HELPS DETERMINE POSITION
HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION
ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK
$0.50 * 10 = 5
$1.00 * 4 = 4
$4.00 * 1 = 4
POS
1
2
3
AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
HOW ADWORDS CALCULATES CPC
ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK
$0.50 * 10 = 5
$1.00 * 4 = 4
$4.00 * 1 = 4
POS CPC
1 (4/10) + $0.01 = $0.41
2 (4/4) + 0.01 = $1.01
3
CPC = (AD RANK TO BEAT/QS) +0.01
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS
HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION
AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS * FORMAT
AD EXTENSIONS
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION
ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK
($2.00 * 9 ) * = 18
($4.00 * 4 ) * = 16
($4.00 * 4 ) * = 16
POS
1
2
3
AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS
none
high
medium
FORMAT IMPACT
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
If the Bid & QS is equal
the ads with better
expected CTR from
extensions can appear
in higher position.
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE
THE CHARACTERS: WHAT MAKES UP QS
CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT
SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson
TRIFECTA OF RELEVANCE
KEYWORDS
AD COPY
LANDING
PAGE
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson
KEYWORDS
QUERY TO
KEYWORD
MATCH TYPE
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson
KEYWORDS
QUERY TO
KEYWORD
KEYWORD TO
AD COPY
@ChristiJOlson
SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE
EVALUATE YOUR STRUCTURE:
• # KEYWORDS/AD GROUP
• TIGHTLY KNIT AD GROUPS
• NEGATIVE KEYWORDS TO RING-
FENCE AD GROUPS
#ConvRoadTrip
Campaign
Ad Group
Keywords Ads
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson
MATCH TYPES & NEGATIVE KEYWORD MATCHING
bit.ly/SEL-sqrScript
@ChristiJOlson
SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE
GOOGLE CALCULATES QS FOR EXACT MATCH
BUT YOU WILL SEE QS DIFFERENCES BY MATCH TYPE
#ConvRoadTrip
IW QS
Broad 4.7
Phrase 5.1
Exact 6.8
 Impression Weighted Quality Score
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
TYING KEYWORDS TO AD COPY
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
WE’VE ALL SEEN IT BEFORE…
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR
KEYWORD IN
COPY
COMPELLING
COPY
USER INTENT
CTA &
SPECIFIC
BENEFITS
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR
KEYWORD IN
COPY
COMPELLING
COPY
USER INTENT
CTA &
SPECIFIC
BENEFITS
STRUCTURE OF AD GROUPS
QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE
SOLID COPY WRITING
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR
KEYWORD IN
COPY
COMPELLING
COPY
USER INTENT
CTA &
SPECIFIC
BENEFITS
QUERY TYPE
STAGE IN PURCHASE FUNNEL
COPY WRITTEN TO CONVEY INTENT?
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR
KEYWORD IN
COPY
COMPELLING
COPY
USER INTENT
CTA &
SPECIFIC
BENEFITS
WHY WOULD I WANT TO CLICK?
DOES YOUR AD STAND OUT?
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR
KEYWORD IN
COPY
COMPELLING
COPY
USER INTENT
CTA &
SPECIFIC
BENEFITS
WHY WOULD I WANT TO CLICK?
DOES YOUR AD STAND OUT?
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR
KEYWORD IN
COPY
COMPELLING
COPY
USER INTENT
CTA &
SPECIFIC
BENEFITS
DIFFERENTIATION
CALL TO ACTION!
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR
KEYWORD IN
COPY
COMPELLING
COPY
CTA &
SPECIFIC
BENEFITS
USER INTENT
AD EXTENSIONS
#ConvRoadTrip@ChristiJOlson
TOGETHER KWDS + COPY TELL YOUR STORY
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
DON’T STRANGLE YOUR CHANCES BEFORE THE CLICK
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
ADD AD EXTENSIONS bit.ly/PI-adextensions
Seller Rating
Review
Callout
Social
Annotation
Sitelinks
Location
Bing RAIS
Google “Mega” Ad
Mobile Click-to-Call
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
IT’S NOT A MAGIC TRICK, IT’S SOLID PPC
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
LANDING PAGE
• TO AD & KEYWORDS
• UNIQUE CONTENT
• BASED ON USER INTENT
RELEVANT
• TRUSTWORTHINESS
• EASY TO FIND CONTACT INFORMATION
• ADS/SPONSORED CONTENT CALLED OUT
TRANSPARENCY
• USABLE ACROSS DEVICES
• EASY TO FIND PRODUCT / SERVICE INFO
• NO POP-UPS
• PAGE LOAD TIME (SLOW vs FAST)
EASE OF NAVIGATION
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE
THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS
SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
DON’T DIG AROUND AIMLESSLY TRYING TO IMPROVE QS
http://bit.ly/PI-QS
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
GOOGLE DOESN’T SAVE
HISTORICAL QUALITY SCORE
IN YOUR ACCOUNT.
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
bit.ly/MR-qstrackerScript @bloomarty
USE SCRIPTS TO TRACK HISTORICAL QUALITY SCORE
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
bit.ly/SEL-sqrScript @marceladevivo @siliconvallaeys
USE SCRIPTS TO MANAGE SEARCH QUERIES
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
LANDING PAGE QS DATA ISN’T EASY TO FIND
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
CLICK ON SPEECH BUTTON IN STATUS COLUMN
TO SEE QS FACTORS PER KEYWORD
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
HOW DO YOU TROUBLESHOOT LANDING PAGES ISSUES?
@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
BING ADS PROVIDES…
TRANSPARENCY TO QS PERFORMANCE
REPORTING TO GET ACTIONABLE INSIGHTS
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
DETERMINE IF YOU HAVE AND ISSUE AND WHAT IT IS
QS
AD
RELEVANCE
LANDING
PAGE
EXPECTED
CTR
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
QUALITY SCORE ASSESSMENT WORKBOOK
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
PULL KEYWORD PERFORMANCE DATA FOR 30-60 DAYS
PASTE IT INTO THE WORKBOOK
COPY FORMULAS TO POWER THE WORKBOOK
REFRESH DATA TABLES
VOILA – LOOK AT YOUR ACCOUNT DATA TO IDENTIFY OPPORTUNITIES
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
IS THERE OPPORTUNITY TO IMPROVE QS?
Account Average QS
4.8
Account Weighted QS
5.4
IS YOUR WEIGHTED QS>6?
DO 75-80% OF KWDS HAVE
QS > 5?
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
WHERE ARE YOU SPENDING THE MOST $$?
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
ESTIMATING THE POTENTIAL SAVINGS VS EFFORT
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
ESTIMATING THE POTENTIAL SAVINGS VS EFFORT
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson
QUALITY SCORE AFFECTS YOUR CPC
10 decreased by 50%
9 decreased by 44%
8 decreased by 38%
7 decreased by 29%
6 decreased by 17%
5 Googles Baseline
4 increased by 25%
3 increased by 68%
2 increased by 150%
1 increased by 400%
#ConvRoadTrip
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson
QUALITY SCORE AFFECTS YOUR CPC
#ConvRoadTrip
If your Quality Score is:
Word Stream: bit.ly/WS-qscost
Your CPC vs QS 5 QS + 1 Savings QS -1 Costs
10 -50% 0% 11%
9 -44% 10% 13%
8 -38% 11% 14%
7 -29% 13% 17%
6 -17% 14% 20%
5 0% 17% 25%
4 25% 20% 33%
3 67% 25% 50%
2 150% 33% 100%
1 400% 50% 0%
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
IS YOUR CTR AN ISSUE?
CTR by Position: bit.ly/1Qjv8BU
IS IT DUE TO: SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE
KEYWORD TO AD RELEVANCE
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
HOW WELL IS YOUR ACCOUNT PERFORMING
COMPARED TO EXPECTED RESULTS?
GOOD QUALITY SCORES MEAN LOWER CPC'S AND HIGHER CTR'S.
LONG TAIL TERMS SHOULD HAVE HIGHER CONVERSION RATES AND BE LESS EXPENSIVE (CHEAPER CPCS.)
#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip
USE THE “CAMPAIGN” TAB TO DIG IN DEEPER
@ChristiJOlson
YOUR NEXT STEPS
USE THE QS ASSESMENT WORKBOOK (XLS) TO IDENTIFY TROUBLE AREAS
• 30-60 DAYS OF PERFORMANCE DATA
• START WITH LOW QUALITY / HIGH VOLUME CAMPAIGNS
• IDENTIFY IF THE ISSUE IS RELATED
USE THE SEARCH QUERY REPORT [MIN QUARTERLY] FOR KWD RELVANCE
• ADD NEGATIVES TO KEEP QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCY HIGH
• ADD AND SEGEMENT AD GROUPS BASED ON NEW QUERIES
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
YOUR NEXT STEPS
DEVELOP YOUR ACTION PLAN
• ISSUE: KEYWORDS
• EVALUATE MATCH TYPE BREAKDOWN
• DEVELOP TIGHTER THEMED AD GROUPS
• PAUSE / REMOVE LOW QS KEYWORDS THAT DON’T CONVERT
• ISSUES: AD COPY
• CUSTOMIZE AD COPY USING RELEVANT KEYWORDS FOR EACH AD GROUP
• TEST AD CUSTOMIZERS TO IMPROVE RELEVANCE
• TEST [OPTIMIZE CONTENT OF] AD EXTENSIONS
• ISSUES: LANDING PAGE
• TEST DIFFERENT LANDING PAGES TO IMPROVE CVR & QS
• LEVERAGE LP TESTING SOFTWARE TO DYNAMICALLY INSERT RELEVANT CONTENT
#ConvRoadTrip
@ChristiJOlson
THANK YOU!
bit.ly/PI-QS
#ConvRoadTrip

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