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Web Advertising Basics 101 1 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Krysta Nevin Client Sales Specialist knevin@godengo.com 510-863-8724
Agenda Why should I sell my website Basic Ad Units How Websites Monetize Glossary What is SEO 2 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Why Sell the Web Print budgets are declining. Online budgets are growing. If an advertiser tells you they don’t have money to advertise in print then sell them online. Online budgets are more than $100’s of dollars. See here: West Penn Allegheny Online offers customized solutions to fit your advertisers needs. 3 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
The Internet has continued to grow 4 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Sources: IAB Internet Advertising Revenue Report; PwC
Why Sell The Web It’s a great compliment to your print ads Advertisers get placement in your magazine and online. Bundle print and online when you sell. Don’t sell as “added value”. 5 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Why Sell The Web People are going mobile $1.2 billion will be spent on mobile marketing this year. (Borrell and Assoc.) More and more people continue to purchase smart phones and tablets. Smartphones now make up 40% of all mobile phones in the US. (Neilsen) 6 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Why Sell The Web Online only content that the advertiser might want to be associated with. Special Sections Directories Online only content Ads can be targeted to run only on the pages the client wants to be associated with. 7 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Standard Ad Units The following ads are standard ads across your sites: Leaderboard (728x90)	 Wide Skyscraper (160x600)  Medium Rectangle (300x250)  Half Page (300x600)* Click for Live 300x600 Example 8 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Leaderboard (728x90) Medium Rectangle (300x250) Wide Sky (160 x 600) * Not Shown
How Websites Monetize 9 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Advertising agencies and clients may ask for ads to be served these ways: CPM (Cost-Per-Thousand) CPC (Cost-Per-Click) CPA (Cost-Per-Action) What is an impression? The number of times an ad is viewed.
Cost-Per-Thousand (CPM) Cost-Per-Thousand: Advertising bought on the basis of impression.  The total price paid in a CPM deal is calculated by multiplying the CPM rate  by the number of CPM units. For example, one million impressions at $10  CPM equals a $10,000 total price. Examples: 	1,000,000 / 1,000 = 1,000 units 	1,000 units X $10 CPM = $10,000 total price An advertiser requests 25,000 impressions  	Take 25,000/1,000 = 25 	CPM= $8 = $200 TOTAL SALE 10 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Cost-Per-Click (CPC) Cost-per-click (CPC) The cost or cost-equivalent paid per click-through. The terms pay-per-click (PPC) and cost-per-click (CPC) are sometimes used interchangeably. PPC indicates payment based on click-throughs,   while CPC indicates measurement of cost on a per-click basis for contracts  not based on click-throughs. Examples: 1000 impressions x 2% CTR = 20 click-throughs  $10 CPM / 20 click-throughs = $.50 per click The average cost per click is .50 to $1. 11 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Cost-Per-Action (CPA) Cost-Per-Action:  Online advertising payment model in which payment is based solely on qualifying actions such as sales or registrations. The actions defined in a cost-per-action agreement relate directly to some type of conversion, with sales and registrations among the most common.  In a CPA model, the publisher is taking most of the advertising risk, as Theircommissions are dependant on good conversion rates from the advertiser’screative units and Web site. 12 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Glossary Ad Campaign:  When a specific advertiser buys internet advertising for a set amount of time.  Each Time an advertiser chooses to be on your site isconsidered a new ad campaign.  Ad Trafficking: Also called Ad Scheduling. Ad Trafficking defines where (targeting), when (scheduling) and how often (impressions) ads appear on the site.  Ad Server: Ad serving technology makes it possible to serve the right ad at the right time to the right person.  That means your advertising is being as  productive as possible. 13 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Glossary Click-Through Rate: A way of measuring the success of an online advertising campaign, the click-through rate is the number of clicks on an ad verses the number of times the ad was downloaded. For example, if one in ten people who  downloaded a page clicked on a certain ad, the clickthrough rate would be 10%. 14 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Bookend Ad: A small ad that displays the client's logo, typically above or below the content it's sponsoring. I will refer to a bookend ad in future presentations.   It’s a key sponsorship ad unit.
Glossary Cont. IAB: Internet Advertising Bureau The Internet advertising guideline site. www.iab.net/ IAB Ad units: Industry standard ad sizes. Godengo uses IAB standards for: Leaderboards (728x90) Wideskyscrapers (160x600) Medium Rectangles (300x250) Impression: The number of times an ad is delivered directly to a viewer. 15 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
Glossary Exclusive Ad: Appears in one location exclusively for the duration of the campaign or ad run. No other clients' ads appear in that location. Works great for selling exclusive  sponsorships to particular sections of your site.  Inventory: Inventory is the number of ads available for sale on a Web site. ROS (Run-of-Site):  An ad campaign in which banner ads are scheduled to appear in various places all over a site. This is similar to a rotating and is the opposite of an exclusive ad. 16 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
What is SEO? SEO = Search Engine Optimization What is SEO? SEO is a process which helps search engines find and rank your site higher than the millions of other sites in response to a search query. SEO helps you get traffic from search engines.  17 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2010
Thank you Questions? Future Sessions include: How to monetize your website Basic Sponsorships My Site is too small How do I get ads on my site Where to find a Prospect If you want further information please contact me: Krysta Nevin knevin@godengo.com 510-863-8724 18 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011

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Web basics 101

  • 1. Web Advertising Basics 101 1 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Krysta Nevin Client Sales Specialist knevin@godengo.com 510-863-8724
  • 2. Agenda Why should I sell my website Basic Ad Units How Websites Monetize Glossary What is SEO 2 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 3. Why Sell the Web Print budgets are declining. Online budgets are growing. If an advertiser tells you they don’t have money to advertise in print then sell them online. Online budgets are more than $100’s of dollars. See here: West Penn Allegheny Online offers customized solutions to fit your advertisers needs. 3 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 4. The Internet has continued to grow 4 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Sources: IAB Internet Advertising Revenue Report; PwC
  • 5. Why Sell The Web It’s a great compliment to your print ads Advertisers get placement in your magazine and online. Bundle print and online when you sell. Don’t sell as “added value”. 5 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 6. Why Sell The Web People are going mobile $1.2 billion will be spent on mobile marketing this year. (Borrell and Assoc.) More and more people continue to purchase smart phones and tablets. Smartphones now make up 40% of all mobile phones in the US. (Neilsen) 6 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 7. Why Sell The Web Online only content that the advertiser might want to be associated with. Special Sections Directories Online only content Ads can be targeted to run only on the pages the client wants to be associated with. 7 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 8. Standard Ad Units The following ads are standard ads across your sites: Leaderboard (728x90) Wide Skyscraper (160x600) Medium Rectangle (300x250) Half Page (300x600)* Click for Live 300x600 Example 8 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Leaderboard (728x90) Medium Rectangle (300x250) Wide Sky (160 x 600) * Not Shown
  • 9. How Websites Monetize 9 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Advertising agencies and clients may ask for ads to be served these ways: CPM (Cost-Per-Thousand) CPC (Cost-Per-Click) CPA (Cost-Per-Action) What is an impression? The number of times an ad is viewed.
  • 10. Cost-Per-Thousand (CPM) Cost-Per-Thousand: Advertising bought on the basis of impression. The total price paid in a CPM deal is calculated by multiplying the CPM rate by the number of CPM units. For example, one million impressions at $10 CPM equals a $10,000 total price. Examples: 1,000,000 / 1,000 = 1,000 units 1,000 units X $10 CPM = $10,000 total price An advertiser requests 25,000 impressions Take 25,000/1,000 = 25 CPM= $8 = $200 TOTAL SALE 10 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 11. Cost-Per-Click (CPC) Cost-per-click (CPC) The cost or cost-equivalent paid per click-through. The terms pay-per-click (PPC) and cost-per-click (CPC) are sometimes used interchangeably. PPC indicates payment based on click-throughs, while CPC indicates measurement of cost on a per-click basis for contracts not based on click-throughs. Examples: 1000 impressions x 2% CTR = 20 click-throughs $10 CPM / 20 click-throughs = $.50 per click The average cost per click is .50 to $1. 11 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 12. Cost-Per-Action (CPA) Cost-Per-Action: Online advertising payment model in which payment is based solely on qualifying actions such as sales or registrations. The actions defined in a cost-per-action agreement relate directly to some type of conversion, with sales and registrations among the most common. In a CPA model, the publisher is taking most of the advertising risk, as Theircommissions are dependant on good conversion rates from the advertiser’screative units and Web site. 12 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 13. Glossary Ad Campaign: When a specific advertiser buys internet advertising for a set amount of time. Each Time an advertiser chooses to be on your site isconsidered a new ad campaign. Ad Trafficking: Also called Ad Scheduling. Ad Trafficking defines where (targeting), when (scheduling) and how often (impressions) ads appear on the site. Ad Server: Ad serving technology makes it possible to serve the right ad at the right time to the right person.  That means your advertising is being as productive as possible. 13 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 14. Glossary Click-Through Rate: A way of measuring the success of an online advertising campaign, the click-through rate is the number of clicks on an ad verses the number of times the ad was downloaded. For example, if one in ten people who downloaded a page clicked on a certain ad, the clickthrough rate would be 10%. 14 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011 Bookend Ad: A small ad that displays the client's logo, typically above or below the content it's sponsoring. I will refer to a bookend ad in future presentations. It’s a key sponsorship ad unit.
  • 15. Glossary Cont. IAB: Internet Advertising Bureau The Internet advertising guideline site. www.iab.net/ IAB Ad units: Industry standard ad sizes. Godengo uses IAB standards for: Leaderboards (728x90) Wideskyscrapers (160x600) Medium Rectangles (300x250) Impression: The number of times an ad is delivered directly to a viewer. 15 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 16. Glossary Exclusive Ad: Appears in one location exclusively for the duration of the campaign or ad run. No other clients' ads appear in that location. Works great for selling exclusive sponsorships to particular sections of your site. Inventory: Inventory is the number of ads available for sale on a Web site. ROS (Run-of-Site): An ad campaign in which banner ads are scheduled to appear in various places all over a site. This is similar to a rotating and is the opposite of an exclusive ad. 16 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011
  • 17. What is SEO? SEO = Search Engine Optimization What is SEO? SEO is a process which helps search engines find and rank your site higher than the millions of other sites in response to a search query. SEO helps you get traffic from search engines. 17 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2010
  • 18. Thank you Questions? Future Sessions include: How to monetize your website Basic Sponsorships My Site is too small How do I get ads on my site Where to find a Prospect If you want further information please contact me: Krysta Nevin knevin@godengo.com 510-863-8724 18 Privileged and Confidential © Godengo, Inc. 2011