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Quantify Your Social Media
 Efforts to Measure ROI
      Sarah McMaster
        March 22, 2013
Strategy:
Creating the Path of Least Resistance
      Social Media

        Landing Page Visit

          Inquiry (Lead)

            Applicant (Conversion)

               Enrollee (ROI)
Strategy:
Creating the Path of Least Resistance
      Social Media

        Engagement

           Connection to Resources

             More Engagement
                Student Retention &
                Success (ROI)
Measurement Tools & Tactics
• HootSuite, Tweetdeck, CrowdBooster, Klout
• Google Analytics
  – Event Tracking, Goal Setting
• Facebook Insights
• Spreadsheets
• Online Forms
• Vanity URLs and Landing Pages
Key Metrics

•   Social Media Amplification
•   Social Media Applause Rate
•   Conversion Rates
•   Cost Per Inquiry
•   Student Lifetime Value
Social Media Amplification

 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑆𝑕𝑎𝑟𝑒𝑠 (𝑟𝑒𝑡𝑤𝑒𝑒𝑡𝑠, 𝑠𝑕𝑎𝑟𝑒𝑠, 𝑟𝑒𝑝𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠)
          𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑃𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠, 𝑇𝑤𝑒𝑒𝑡𝑠



  If you have 70 shares
   for every 300 posts,
your amplification is 23%.
Social Media Applause Rate

                 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝐹𝑎𝑣𝑜𝑟𝑖𝑡𝑒𝑠, 𝐿𝑖𝑘𝑒𝑠
                     𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑃𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠



If, for every 30 posts, 5 are liked,
  you have a 16% applause rate
Social Media Conversion Rate
𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝐴𝑢𝑑𝑖𝑒𝑛𝑐𝑒 𝐶𝑜𝑚𝑚𝑒𝑛𝑡𝑠 𝑜𝑟 𝑅𝑒𝑝𝑙𝑖𝑒𝑠
           𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑃𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠
                                     Engagement

      If, for every 70 posts,
   you receive 15 comments,
          you have a 21%
  social media conversion rate
Social Media Conversion Rate 2
           𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑆𝑜𝑐𝑖𝑎𝑙 𝑀𝑒𝑑𝑖𝑎 𝐿𝑖𝑛𝑘 𝐶𝑙𝑖𝑐𝑘𝑠
           𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑆𝑜𝑐𝑖𝑎𝑙 𝑀𝑒𝑑𝑖𝑎 𝐿𝑖𝑛𝑘 𝑉𝑖𝑒𝑤𝑠




   If, for every 200 views, there are 5
clicks, you have a 2.5% conversion rate
Landing Page Conversion Rate
                 𝐶𝑎𝑙𝑙 𝑡𝑜 𝐴𝑐𝑡𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝐶𝑜𝑚𝑝𝑙𝑒𝑡𝑖𝑜𝑛𝑠
                   𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑃𝑎𝑔𝑒 𝑉𝑖𝑠𝑖𝑡𝑠




If, for every 150 visits, 7 calls to
action are completed, you have
      a 4.6% conversion rate
Cost Per Inquiry
𝑃𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑜𝑛𝑛𝑒𝑙 + 𝑅𝑒𝑐𝑟𝑢𝑖𝑡𝑚𝑒𝑛𝑡 𝑂𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑕𝑒𝑎𝑑 + 𝑀𝑎𝑟𝑘𝑒𝑡𝑖𝑛𝑔 𝐴𝑐𝑡𝑖𝑣𝑖𝑡𝑦
                 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝐼𝑛𝑞𝑢𝑖𝑟𝑖𝑒𝑠


Personnel = $30/hour x 15 hours
Recruitment Overhead= $170
Marketing Activity= $1,500 Facebook Contest
Number of Inquiries = 260
Cost of Inquiry = $8.15
Student Lifetime Value (SLV)
        𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 𝑃𝑒𝑟 𝐶𝑟𝑒𝑑𝑖𝑡 𝐻𝑜𝑢𝑟 𝑥 𝐴𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑎𝑔𝑒 𝐶𝑜𝑢𝑟𝑠𝑒 𝐿𝑜𝑎𝑑
                             x
               𝐴𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑎𝑔𝑒 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑆𝑒𝑚𝑒𝑠𝑡𝑒𝑟𝑠



($215 x 14) x 4 =
$12,040 Student Lifetime Value (SLV)
Full Circle: ROI
“Our March 2013 Facebook contest
increased online engagement by 7%,
brought 3,027 visitors to our targeted
landing page, converted 9% into
admissions leads and resulted in 7 new
enrollments with a 400% ROI on the
initial investment, at a lower cost per
inquiry than our concurrent direct mail
campaign”.
                  -Fictional Marketing Superstar
Sarah McMaster
      Director of New Media
Mount Wachusett Community College

     smcmaster@mwcc.mass.edu
  linkedin.com/in/sarahmcmaster/
             @Sarah_Mc

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Quantify Your Social Media Efforts To Measure ROI, Sarah McMaster

  • 1. Quantify Your Social Media Efforts to Measure ROI Sarah McMaster March 22, 2013
  • 2. Strategy: Creating the Path of Least Resistance Social Media Landing Page Visit Inquiry (Lead) Applicant (Conversion) Enrollee (ROI)
  • 3. Strategy: Creating the Path of Least Resistance Social Media Engagement Connection to Resources More Engagement Student Retention & Success (ROI)
  • 4. Measurement Tools & Tactics • HootSuite, Tweetdeck, CrowdBooster, Klout • Google Analytics – Event Tracking, Goal Setting • Facebook Insights • Spreadsheets • Online Forms • Vanity URLs and Landing Pages
  • 5. Key Metrics • Social Media Amplification • Social Media Applause Rate • Conversion Rates • Cost Per Inquiry • Student Lifetime Value
  • 6. Social Media Amplification 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑆𝑕𝑎𝑟𝑒𝑠 (𝑟𝑒𝑡𝑤𝑒𝑒𝑡𝑠, 𝑠𝑕𝑎𝑟𝑒𝑠, 𝑟𝑒𝑝𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠) 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑃𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠, 𝑇𝑤𝑒𝑒𝑡𝑠 If you have 70 shares for every 300 posts, your amplification is 23%.
  • 7. Social Media Applause Rate 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝐹𝑎𝑣𝑜𝑟𝑖𝑡𝑒𝑠, 𝐿𝑖𝑘𝑒𝑠 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑃𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠 If, for every 30 posts, 5 are liked, you have a 16% applause rate
  • 8. Social Media Conversion Rate 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝐴𝑢𝑑𝑖𝑒𝑛𝑐𝑒 𝐶𝑜𝑚𝑚𝑒𝑛𝑡𝑠 𝑜𝑟 𝑅𝑒𝑝𝑙𝑖𝑒𝑠 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑃𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠 Engagement If, for every 70 posts, you receive 15 comments, you have a 21% social media conversion rate
  • 9. Social Media Conversion Rate 2 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑆𝑜𝑐𝑖𝑎𝑙 𝑀𝑒𝑑𝑖𝑎 𝐿𝑖𝑛𝑘 𝐶𝑙𝑖𝑐𝑘𝑠 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑆𝑜𝑐𝑖𝑎𝑙 𝑀𝑒𝑑𝑖𝑎 𝐿𝑖𝑛𝑘 𝑉𝑖𝑒𝑤𝑠 If, for every 200 views, there are 5 clicks, you have a 2.5% conversion rate
  • 10. Landing Page Conversion Rate 𝐶𝑎𝑙𝑙 𝑡𝑜 𝐴𝑐𝑡𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝐶𝑜𝑚𝑝𝑙𝑒𝑡𝑖𝑜𝑛𝑠 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑃𝑎𝑔𝑒 𝑉𝑖𝑠𝑖𝑡𝑠 If, for every 150 visits, 7 calls to action are completed, you have a 4.6% conversion rate
  • 11. Cost Per Inquiry 𝑃𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑜𝑛𝑛𝑒𝑙 + 𝑅𝑒𝑐𝑟𝑢𝑖𝑡𝑚𝑒𝑛𝑡 𝑂𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑕𝑒𝑎𝑑 + 𝑀𝑎𝑟𝑘𝑒𝑡𝑖𝑛𝑔 𝐴𝑐𝑡𝑖𝑣𝑖𝑡𝑦 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝐼𝑛𝑞𝑢𝑖𝑟𝑖𝑒𝑠 Personnel = $30/hour x 15 hours Recruitment Overhead= $170 Marketing Activity= $1,500 Facebook Contest Number of Inquiries = 260 Cost of Inquiry = $8.15
  • 12. Student Lifetime Value (SLV) 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 𝑃𝑒𝑟 𝐶𝑟𝑒𝑑𝑖𝑡 𝐻𝑜𝑢𝑟 𝑥 𝐴𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑎𝑔𝑒 𝐶𝑜𝑢𝑟𝑠𝑒 𝐿𝑜𝑎𝑑 x 𝐴𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑎𝑔𝑒 𝑁𝑢𝑚𝑏𝑒𝑟 𝑜𝑓 𝑆𝑒𝑚𝑒𝑠𝑡𝑒𝑟𝑠 ($215 x 14) x 4 = $12,040 Student Lifetime Value (SLV)
  • 13. Full Circle: ROI “Our March 2013 Facebook contest increased online engagement by 7%, brought 3,027 visitors to our targeted landing page, converted 9% into admissions leads and resulted in 7 new enrollments with a 400% ROI on the initial investment, at a lower cost per inquiry than our concurrent direct mail campaign”. -Fictional Marketing Superstar
  • 14. Sarah McMaster Director of New Media Mount Wachusett Community College smcmaster@mwcc.mass.edu linkedin.com/in/sarahmcmaster/ @Sarah_Mc