SlideShare una empresa de Scribd logo
1 de 23
Brandie Feuer | @VegasGalB
May 26, 2011
INTERACTIVE ANALYTICS 101
COOKIES & AD SERVING
WHAT’S A COOKIE
THE COOKIE
• Tiny files that attach to Web browsers
• Measures user behavior
• Track users and report their actions
• Tell us ads that users have clicked on and
purchased from
AD SERVERS
• Use cookies for online campaign reporting
• Adjust & optimize campaigns dynamically
COOKIE USAGE IN ADVERTISING
Cookies tell us:
“Where” sales happen (placement)
“What” the users purchase
“How” they found our product (text or display ad)
“Who” buys our products or services
Cookies have an expiration date:
Most companies set this expiration date at 30 days
Assumption is that if the ad works, purchase happens
After 30 days the cookie expires
Any resulting sales are considered “organic”
“Last click” gets the credit
COOKIE USAGE IN ADVERTISING
Adserver
“Thank
You”
Page
$$$$$
- click -
data
reports
(with cookie)
CLICK VS. VIEW COOKIES
* Both “view” and “click” cookies have expiration dates
Website
“Thank
You”
Page
$$$$$
Adserver
datano click
Website
Website
Website
“Thank
You”
Page
$$$$$
Adserver
dataclick
PATH TO CONVERSION
• Aka Attribution Reporting
Awareness
(Mobile, Social)
Consideration
(Display, Email)
Action
(Branded
Search, Direct)
WEB ANALYTICS
IMPORTANCE OF METRICS
• Allows SMART decisions
• Adjust efforts dynamically
• Monitor user behavior & target accordingly
• Without it, online advertising is just like
offline advertising… a shot in the dark!
HITS VS. VIEWS
HITS
• When any file on a page is pulled
VIEWS
• Each time a visitor loads a page
• Similar to ad impressions
VISIT VS. UNIQUE VISITOR
• John visits Yahoo.com 4 times
• 4 visits; 1 unique visitor
• Sally visits Yahoo.com 6 times
• 6 visits; 1 unique visitor
• Total?
• 10 visits
• 2 unique visitors
“STANDARD” REPORTING METRICS
• Visitors
• Unique Visitors
• Demographics of visitors
• Most Popular Content
• Referring URLs
• Click Paths
• But… don’t just generate reports, solve
BUSINESS QUESTIONS
THESE ARE NOT BUSINESS QUESTIONS
• How much traffic does our site get?
• What’s our conversion rate?
• What are our top exit pages?
• How many clicks did our promo get?
SAMPLE BUSINESS QUESTIONS
• How can I improve site revenue by 15% in 3 months?
• What is the effect of our website on offline sales?
• What are the most productive inbound traffic streams?
• What is the incremental impact of our display ads?
IT ALL COMES DOWN TO MONEY
MEASUREMENTS
• Return on Investment (ROI)
• (Revenue – Expense) / Expense
• ($400,000 - $25,000) / $25,000 = 1,500% ROI
• Return on Ad Spend (ROAS)
• Total Cost / Total Revenue = ROAS
• $25,000 / $400,000 = 6.2% ROAS
Brandie Feuer
@VegasGalB | brandie@lvima.com

Más contenido relacionado

La actualidad más candente

Product_School_Project
Product_School_ProjectProduct_School_Project
Product_School_Project
Ishwari Lokare
 
Get up to speed getting the most out of online marketing ivybridge
Get up to speed getting the most out of online marketing ivybridgeGet up to speed getting the most out of online marketing ivybridge
Get up to speed getting the most out of online marketing ivybridge
Get up to Speed
 
Optimizing Website Performance - Kinetic
Optimizing Website Performance - KineticOptimizing Website Performance - Kinetic
Optimizing Website Performance - Kinetic
AAF Birmingham
 

La actualidad más candente (20)

MivaCon Philly - Ecommerce Best Practices
MivaCon Philly -  Ecommerce Best PracticesMivaCon Philly -  Ecommerce Best Practices
MivaCon Philly - Ecommerce Best Practices
 
Conversion Rate Optimization: Tools for 2016
Conversion Rate Optimization: Tools for 2016Conversion Rate Optimization: Tools for 2016
Conversion Rate Optimization: Tools for 2016
 
Keynote from Jason Akatiff at Affiliate Summit West 2018
Keynote from Jason Akatiff at Affiliate Summit West 2018Keynote from Jason Akatiff at Affiliate Summit West 2018
Keynote from Jason Akatiff at Affiliate Summit West 2018
 
Click Power: Drive More Traffic, Leads & Sales with Online Marketing
Click Power: Drive More Traffic, Leads & Sales with Online MarketingClick Power: Drive More Traffic, Leads & Sales with Online Marketing
Click Power: Drive More Traffic, Leads & Sales with Online Marketing
 
2Stallions x EuroCham
2Stallions x EuroCham2Stallions x EuroCham
2Stallions x EuroCham
 
Empowering Affiliates to Drive Incremental Revenue Growth
Empowering Affiliates to Drive Incremental Revenue GrowthEmpowering Affiliates to Drive Incremental Revenue Growth
Empowering Affiliates to Drive Incremental Revenue Growth
 
How to get more website sales @FirstStepsOM
How to get more website sales @FirstStepsOMHow to get more website sales @FirstStepsOM
How to get more website sales @FirstStepsOM
 
Features Of A 'Good' Business Website
Features Of A 'Good' Business WebsiteFeatures Of A 'Good' Business Website
Features Of A 'Good' Business Website
 
Product_School_Project
Product_School_ProjectProduct_School_Project
Product_School_Project
 
Franchise Lead Generation: Franchising Website + Leads
Franchise Lead Generation: Franchising Website + LeadsFranchise Lead Generation: Franchising Website + Leads
Franchise Lead Generation: Franchising Website + Leads
 
Get up to speed getting the most out of online marketing ivybridge
Get up to speed getting the most out of online marketing ivybridgeGet up to speed getting the most out of online marketing ivybridge
Get up to speed getting the most out of online marketing ivybridge
 
Optimizing Website Performance - Kinetic
Optimizing Website Performance - KineticOptimizing Website Performance - Kinetic
Optimizing Website Performance - Kinetic
 
Mobile Marketing
Mobile MarketingMobile Marketing
Mobile Marketing
 
Ch 2
Ch   2Ch   2
Ch 2
 
Is Your Website Working For You Or Against You?
Is Your Website Working For You Or Against You?Is Your Website Working For You Or Against You?
Is Your Website Working For You Or Against You?
 
Building a successful Multi-Screen Digital Strategy
Building a successful Multi-Screen Digital StrategyBuilding a successful Multi-Screen Digital Strategy
Building a successful Multi-Screen Digital Strategy
 
Ektron London Conference: Cross Channel Personalisation and Behavioural Marke...
Ektron London Conference: Cross Channel Personalisation and Behavioural Marke...Ektron London Conference: Cross Channel Personalisation and Behavioural Marke...
Ektron London Conference: Cross Channel Personalisation and Behavioural Marke...
 
Empowering Multiscreen web and mobile applications with Mobilespear
Empowering Multiscreen web and mobile applications with MobilespearEmpowering Multiscreen web and mobile applications with Mobilespear
Empowering Multiscreen web and mobile applications with Mobilespear
 
Livelink
LivelinkLivelink
Livelink
 
2015 NCET Expo: Bob Whitefield - How to Measure, Rinse and Repeat
2015 NCET Expo: Bob Whitefield - How to Measure, Rinse and Repeat2015 NCET Expo: Bob Whitefield - How to Measure, Rinse and Repeat
2015 NCET Expo: Bob Whitefield - How to Measure, Rinse and Repeat
 

Similar a Digital Analytics 101

Online Marketing presentation
Online Marketing presentation Online Marketing presentation
Online Marketing presentation
Sam shetty
 
Online marketing workshop melbourne
Online marketing workshop melbourneOnline marketing workshop melbourne
Online marketing workshop melbourne
Sam shetty
 

Similar a Digital Analytics 101 (20)

Mike allen asw19-7do-7dont
Mike allen   asw19-7do-7dontMike allen   asw19-7do-7dont
Mike allen asw19-7do-7dont
 
Analytics training june 16
Analytics training june 16Analytics training june 16
Analytics training june 16
 
Google Analytics Training September 2016
Google Analytics Training September 2016Google Analytics Training September 2016
Google Analytics Training September 2016
 
SBDC Digital Bootcamp Resources
SBDC Digital Bootcamp ResourcesSBDC Digital Bootcamp Resources
SBDC Digital Bootcamp Resources
 
Google analytics getting_started
Google analytics getting_startedGoogle analytics getting_started
Google analytics getting_started
 
Workshop june
Workshop juneWorkshop june
Workshop june
 
Google Analytics 101
Google Analytics 101Google Analytics 101
Google Analytics 101
 
Online Marketing workshop : Feb 2013
Online Marketing workshop : Feb 2013Online Marketing workshop : Feb 2013
Online Marketing workshop : Feb 2013
 
Google Analytics Fundamentals
Google Analytics FundamentalsGoogle Analytics Fundamentals
Google Analytics Fundamentals
 
Online Marketing presentation
Online Marketing presentation Online Marketing presentation
Online Marketing presentation
 
The Complete SEO tutorial
The Complete SEO tutorialThe Complete SEO tutorial
The Complete SEO tutorial
 
Under the hood of Google Analytics
Under the hood of Google AnalyticsUnder the hood of Google Analytics
Under the hood of Google Analytics
 
Website Optimization Using Google Analytics
Website Optimization Using Google AnalyticsWebsite Optimization Using Google Analytics
Website Optimization Using Google Analytics
 
Liz Murphy: Driving Traffic through Search and Display
Liz Murphy: Driving Traffic through Search and DisplayLiz Murphy: Driving Traffic through Search and Display
Liz Murphy: Driving Traffic through Search and Display
 
Content Jam Measure What Matters 06/14/12
Content Jam Measure What Matters 06/14/12Content Jam Measure What Matters 06/14/12
Content Jam Measure What Matters 06/14/12
 
Online marketing workshop melbourne
Online marketing workshop melbourneOnline marketing workshop melbourne
Online marketing workshop melbourne
 
Top 3 SEO Strategies for 2013 Revealed
Top 3 SEO Strategies for 2013 RevealedTop 3 SEO Strategies for 2013 Revealed
Top 3 SEO Strategies for 2013 Revealed
 
An Internet Marketing Optimization Primer
An Internet Marketing Optimization PrimerAn Internet Marketing Optimization Primer
An Internet Marketing Optimization Primer
 
Running successful business_online-aug14
Running successful business_online-aug14Running successful business_online-aug14
Running successful business_online-aug14
 
Seer_PPC 101
Seer_PPC 101Seer_PPC 101
Seer_PPC 101
 

Último

Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and MythsArtificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Joaquim Jorge
 
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
?#DUbAI#??##{{(☎️+971_581248768%)**%*]'#abortion pills for sale in dubai@
 

Último (20)

ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemkeProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
 
A Domino Admins Adventures (Engage 2024)
A Domino Admins Adventures (Engage 2024)A Domino Admins Adventures (Engage 2024)
A Domino Admins Adventures (Engage 2024)
 
Axa Assurance Maroc - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
Axa Assurance Maroc - Insurer Innovation Award 2024Axa Assurance Maroc - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
Axa Assurance Maroc - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
 
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and MythsArtificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
 
The 7 Things I Know About Cyber Security After 25 Years | April 2024
The 7 Things I Know About Cyber Security After 25 Years | April 2024The 7 Things I Know About Cyber Security After 25 Years | April 2024
The 7 Things I Know About Cyber Security After 25 Years | April 2024
 
Tata AIG General Insurance Company - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
Tata AIG General Insurance Company - Insurer Innovation Award 2024Tata AIG General Insurance Company - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
Tata AIG General Insurance Company - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
 
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a FresherStrategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
 
Mastering MySQL Database Architecture: Deep Dive into MySQL Shell and MySQL R...
Mastering MySQL Database Architecture: Deep Dive into MySQL Shell and MySQL R...Mastering MySQL Database Architecture: Deep Dive into MySQL Shell and MySQL R...
Mastering MySQL Database Architecture: Deep Dive into MySQL Shell and MySQL R...
 
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
 
HTML Injection Attacks: Impact and Mitigation Strategies
HTML Injection Attacks: Impact and Mitigation StrategiesHTML Injection Attacks: Impact and Mitigation Strategies
HTML Injection Attacks: Impact and Mitigation Strategies
 
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdfUnderstanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
 
presentation ICT roal in 21st century education
presentation ICT roal in 21st century educationpresentation ICT roal in 21st century education
presentation ICT roal in 21st century education
 
Strategize a Smooth Tenant-to-tenant Migration and Copilot Takeoff
Strategize a Smooth Tenant-to-tenant Migration and Copilot TakeoffStrategize a Smooth Tenant-to-tenant Migration and Copilot Takeoff
Strategize a Smooth Tenant-to-tenant Migration and Copilot Takeoff
 
MINDCTI Revenue Release Quarter One 2024
MINDCTI Revenue Release Quarter One 2024MINDCTI Revenue Release Quarter One 2024
MINDCTI Revenue Release Quarter One 2024
 
GenAI Risks & Security Meetup 01052024.pdf
GenAI Risks & Security Meetup 01052024.pdfGenAI Risks & Security Meetup 01052024.pdf
GenAI Risks & Security Meetup 01052024.pdf
 
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data DiscoveryTrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
 
From Event to Action: Accelerate Your Decision Making with Real-Time Automation
From Event to Action: Accelerate Your Decision Making with Real-Time AutomationFrom Event to Action: Accelerate Your Decision Making with Real-Time Automation
From Event to Action: Accelerate Your Decision Making with Real-Time Automation
 
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
 
Manulife - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
Manulife - Insurer Innovation Award 2024Manulife - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
Manulife - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
 
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine KG and Vector search for enhanced R...
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine  KG and Vector search for  enhanced R...Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine  KG and Vector search for  enhanced R...
Workshop - Best of Both Worlds_ Combine KG and Vector search for enhanced R...
 

Digital Analytics 101

  • 1. Brandie Feuer | @VegasGalB May 26, 2011 INTERACTIVE ANALYTICS 101
  • 2. COOKIES & AD SERVING
  • 4. THE COOKIE • Tiny files that attach to Web browsers • Measures user behavior • Track users and report their actions • Tell us ads that users have clicked on and purchased from
  • 5. AD SERVERS • Use cookies for online campaign reporting • Adjust & optimize campaigns dynamically
  • 6. COOKIE USAGE IN ADVERTISING Cookies tell us: “Where” sales happen (placement) “What” the users purchase “How” they found our product (text or display ad) “Who” buys our products or services Cookies have an expiration date: Most companies set this expiration date at 30 days Assumption is that if the ad works, purchase happens After 30 days the cookie expires Any resulting sales are considered “organic” “Last click” gets the credit
  • 7. COOKIE USAGE IN ADVERTISING Adserver “Thank You” Page $$$$$ - click - data reports (with cookie)
  • 8. CLICK VS. VIEW COOKIES * Both “view” and “click” cookies have expiration dates Website “Thank You” Page $$$$$ Adserver datano click Website Website Website “Thank You” Page $$$$$ Adserver dataclick
  • 9. PATH TO CONVERSION • Aka Attribution Reporting
  • 12. IMPORTANCE OF METRICS • Allows SMART decisions • Adjust efforts dynamically • Monitor user behavior & target accordingly • Without it, online advertising is just like offline advertising… a shot in the dark!
  • 14. HITS • When any file on a page is pulled
  • 15. VIEWS • Each time a visitor loads a page • Similar to ad impressions
  • 16. VISIT VS. UNIQUE VISITOR • John visits Yahoo.com 4 times • 4 visits; 1 unique visitor • Sally visits Yahoo.com 6 times • 6 visits; 1 unique visitor • Total? • 10 visits • 2 unique visitors
  • 17. “STANDARD” REPORTING METRICS • Visitors • Unique Visitors • Demographics of visitors • Most Popular Content • Referring URLs • Click Paths
  • 18. • But… don’t just generate reports, solve BUSINESS QUESTIONS
  • 19. THESE ARE NOT BUSINESS QUESTIONS • How much traffic does our site get? • What’s our conversion rate? • What are our top exit pages? • How many clicks did our promo get?
  • 20. SAMPLE BUSINESS QUESTIONS • How can I improve site revenue by 15% in 3 months? • What is the effect of our website on offline sales? • What are the most productive inbound traffic streams? • What is the incremental impact of our display ads?
  • 21. IT ALL COMES DOWN TO MONEY
  • 22. MEASUREMENTS • Return on Investment (ROI) • (Revenue – Expense) / Expense • ($400,000 - $25,000) / $25,000 = 1,500% ROI • Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) • Total Cost / Total Revenue = ROAS • $25,000 / $400,000 = 6.2% ROAS
  • 23. Brandie Feuer @VegasGalB | brandie@lvima.com