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Software Club – SaaS Series Finance – Chad Varra SendGrid, Inc.
Measuring Growth Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) Customers
MRR = Monthly Recurring Revenue JanuaryFebruary Beginning MRR	           	$1,000			$1,275 New MRR				     			250	      		300 Increased MRR			     		100 	      		100 Lost MRR				      		(50)	       		(60) Decrease MRR						 (25)(20) Ending MRR					    $1,275	 	   $1,595
Customer Count JanuaryFebruary Beg Customer Count           	  5,000	   		5,130 New Customers			     		150	     	 200 Lost Customers					_(20)_		_(25) Ending Customer Count	  		5,130	  	5,305 Increase Customers		       	75 	        		75 Decrease Customers		      	(10)	       		(10)
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) What does it cost to acquire a customer? How many months of MRR does it take to recover your costs of acquiring that customer?
CAC = 		(Sales + Marketing +Deploy Costs) 			      			# of Deals Closed Sales Costs 			=           	$100,000 Marketing Costs 	=  			$150,000 # of Deals Closed 	=           	600 $100,000 + $150,000   = 	$416 CAC 			    		600
How long does it take to recover the CAC? Payback Period = CAC/MRR per Customer Average MRR Per Customer = $100 $416/$100 = 4.16 months Rule of thumb:  12 months or less is good.
Lifetime Value of Customer (Average Lifetime of a Customer * MRR/Cust) 	-  Cost of Revenue -  CAC					 	= Lifetime Value of Customer Lifetime of Customer = 36 mths		24 mths MRR per Customer = $100			$100 Margin = 80%						80%	 CAC = $416 (4.16 mth payback)		$1,600 (16 mth payback)	 (36*$100)-$720-$416 = $2,464	(24*$100)-$480-$1,600 = $320 Rule of thumb: LTV that is greater than 3x CAC is good
Churn
So What Are Your Levers Increase MRR per customer Increase Customers Manage CAC Increase LTV Decrease Churn

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Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

  • 1. Software Club – SaaS Series Finance – Chad Varra SendGrid, Inc.
  • 2.
  • 3.
  • 4.
  • 5. Measuring Growth Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) Customers
  • 6.
  • 7. MRR = Monthly Recurring Revenue JanuaryFebruary Beginning MRR $1,000 $1,275 New MRR 250 300 Increased MRR 100 100 Lost MRR (50) (60) Decrease MRR (25)(20) Ending MRR $1,275 $1,595
  • 8. Customer Count JanuaryFebruary Beg Customer Count 5,000 5,130 New Customers 150 200 Lost Customers _(20)_ _(25) Ending Customer Count 5,130 5,305 Increase Customers 75 75 Decrease Customers (10) (10)
  • 9.
  • 10. Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) What does it cost to acquire a customer? How many months of MRR does it take to recover your costs of acquiring that customer?
  • 11. CAC = (Sales + Marketing +Deploy Costs) # of Deals Closed Sales Costs = $100,000 Marketing Costs = $150,000 # of Deals Closed = 600 $100,000 + $150,000 = $416 CAC 600
  • 12. How long does it take to recover the CAC? Payback Period = CAC/MRR per Customer Average MRR Per Customer = $100 $416/$100 = 4.16 months Rule of thumb: 12 months or less is good.
  • 13. Lifetime Value of Customer (Average Lifetime of a Customer * MRR/Cust) - Cost of Revenue - CAC = Lifetime Value of Customer Lifetime of Customer = 36 mths 24 mths MRR per Customer = $100 $100 Margin = 80% 80% CAC = $416 (4.16 mth payback) $1,600 (16 mth payback) (36*$100)-$720-$416 = $2,464 (24*$100)-$480-$1,600 = $320 Rule of thumb: LTV that is greater than 3x CAC is good
  • 14. Churn
  • 15. So What Are Your Levers Increase MRR per customer Increase Customers Manage CAC Increase LTV Decrease Churn