Using AdWords as a research tool through analyzing the potential keywords your customers are searching for. There is also a discussion of how to understand your website from an action/task perspective, and targeting strategies for your audience.
9. Your Market is… “Any group of people who are actively researching a product you offer” Wunderman Report – “How to Think Digital”
10. Why Keywords? People search alone usually Users are not forced to search Search is not a selection between alternatives it’s an expression of desire
11. User Intent Consider the following keywords: Camera Digital camera Digital camera models Digital camera price comparison Canon powershot sx20 best deals
12. Another Example GPS GPS navigation Garmin GPS navigation Garmin car GPS navigation Garmin nuvi 660 Buy Garmin nuvi 660
39. Natural Search Results Which sites are they visiting when they search? What is my target audience being offered right now? Visit those sites and compare what they offer versus what you are offering
41. Sponsored Links Who am I competing with? How many competitors are there? How tough is the competition? Will I need to revise my targeting strategy? Use the preview tool
43. Understanding The Market (Summary) Understand two main parties: Your target audience a. keyword tool (market shares, user segmentation) b. insights for search (trends, comparisons) (both tools will be combined in one soon) 2. The competition a. natural (organic) b. paid (AdWords)
48. Media / Content Articles, videos, photos, news, etc… Usually free content, ad supported Main goal: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors
49. eCommerce / Transactional Products, services, subscriptions, etc… Selling products is the main revenue source Main goal: maximize sales, avg. order value
50. Lead Generation Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate) Qualified leads who contact you become customers Main goal: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead
51. User-Generated Content / Interactivity Users create content and share it, you provide the platform Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model Main goal: maximize content generated, viral marketing
69. Where to send users The best performing pages The most popular sections Ask them to perform the most successful tasks Fix underperforming sections/pages/actions before sending users to them
70. Understanding Your Website (summary) Determine type of website (lead generation, ecommerce, content, etc.) Determine specific actions you want people to perform Perform a content audit Compare site with market needs and desires Use analytics to spot the best sections of your site
75. Language Targeting Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English) Ad text can produce different responses
76. Keyword Match Types Broad match: coffee beans Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee beans
77. Keyword Match Types Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for Negative: -brazillian Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have
81. Devices and Demographics Devices: Shows ads on desktops and / or mobile devices with full browsers like the iPhone Demographics: Only available on sites that have enabled this
82. Writing Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages
83. Ads Relevant to Keywords Each ad group should be focused on a topic Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords
84. Benefits Main point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user They are what users care about Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…
85. Features How your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Points of differentiation Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…
86. Calls to Action Leads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Filters users Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…
87. Using Keywords in Ads Keywords are highlighted on results pages Boosts relevancy of ads
89. Measuring Performance 1,000,000 impressions 10,000 clicks 100 conversions 1% Click-Thru Ratio 1% Conversion Rate Average CPC: $0.10 Total cost: 10,000 x 0.1 = $1,000 Cost per conversion: $1,000 / 100 = $10
90. Measuring Beyond AdWords Web Analytics Compare campaigns Compare keywords Compare ad groups Compare ad position Compare landing pages
91.
92. Choices, Decisions, Strategies (summary) Targeting Keywords Geography Language Keyword match type Time of day / Day of week Search / search partners Content: automatic and managed Devices Demographics Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages Measurment CTR Cost per conversion Analytics Measuring performance after the click