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Why You Should Have Paid Attention in Math
Understanding Online Marketing Numbers and Data Tracking


SFU Summer 2011 Book Immersion July 22, 2011
Twitter @boxcarmarketing
Not everything that counts can be measured.
Not everything that can be measured counts.
Albert Einstein




                                          Monique Trottier
                                        @BoxcarMarketing
There are 2 things we like to measure:



             Things that lead to sales

                      Sales




                                           Monique Trottier
                                         @BoxcarMarketing
Sales




          Monique Trottier
        @BoxcarMarketing
What is a Conversion Rate

• Number of visitors who perform a desired action / Number of visitors to a page


• Desired action: buy a product, complete a form, etc.


• If there are 100 visitors to a particular web page and 5 people buy a book, then
  the conversation rate is 5%


• (5/100) * 100 = 5%


• Abandonment Rate is calculated in the same way, but it’s the number of people
  who do not complete a task divided by the total number of visitors
Sales
Setting Up Goals

 • Admin Access
 • URL Destination




                       Monique Trottier
                     @BoxcarMarketing
Things that lead to sales



  Twitter Followers    Customer Feedback

                                             RTs
                 Facebook Fans
                             Email Opens
Website Visitors
               Press Mentions



                      Sales
                                           Monique Trottier
                                         @BoxcarMarketing
Did we make money means what is the ROI?

• Return on Investment


• Did I make more money than I spent?


• Actually a tricky question: (Gross Profit - Marketing Investment)
                                   Marketing Investment


• Gross Profit = Gross Revenue - Cost of Goods Sold <OR>
  Gross Profit = Gross Revenue * Profit Margin (% of revenue that is actually profit)


• Invest $3,000 on marketing campaign and generate $30,000 gross revenue
  (1,000 copies sold at $30), if profit margin is 10%, then
       Gross Profit is $30,000 * 10% = $3,000

      ($3,000 - $3,000) / $3,000 = 0%
Things that lead to sales


Acquisition              Website Visitors, time on site

                      Number of pageviews, repeat visits,
Activation            subscription (email, blog), account
                      sign-up (profile data), Fan/Follower

                         Email Opens, Click-throughs,
Retention                       Repeat visits

                             Press Mention, RT,
 Referral                Refers 1+visitors to the site;
                        Refers 1+ visitors who activate



              Sales
                                           Monique Trottier
                                         @BoxcarMarketing
What is Click Through Rate?

• CTR = Number of clicks on an ad / number of times the ad is shown

• Applies to ads, buttons, banners, etc.

• If banner ad is delivered 100 times (100 impressions) and receives 1 click, then
  the CTR = 1%
If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will
get you there.

Misquote from Alice in Wonderland




                                            Monique Trottier
                                          @BoxcarMarketing
A simple Contest

 • Reach a new audience or reinforce our connection to an existing audience

      Goal          Lifecycle       Action         Reaction              Metrics


                                                                     @ / RT / Comment
                                                  Response                 Visitors
                    Acquire                                            Subscriptions
  Reach a new                       Listen      Visit to the site
                    Activate                                             (email/RSS)
   audience                       Introduce       Subscribe             Fan/Follower
                     Retain
                                                     Return           Account sign-up
                                                                        Return Visits



                                                                     @ / RT / Comment
                                                  Response              Repeat visits
  Reinforce our      Retain          Talk                               Email opens
                                                 Visit the site
  connection to     Referral        Pitch                            CTR / Goal Funnel
                                                      Act                 Mentions
existing audience   Revenue         Thank
                                                     Refer                Referrals
                                                                    Referrals who convert
Google Analytics: Annotations




                                  Monique Trottier
                                @BoxcarMarketing
Google Analytics: Title- or Author-Specific Searches
Google Analytics: Audience Segments
A simple campaign to increase Online Sales

• Use Twitter or Facebook to inform prospects about special promotions.
• Exclusive, limited-customer/limited time offers.

               Goal                                     Metrics

       Increase monthly sales          monthly sales attributable directly to SMM


                                          Segment & Funnel: new customers
Increase % value from new customers
                                           attributable directly to campaign


     Increase conversions from           Segment & Funnel: monthly revenue
            Twitter traffic              generated from customers from Twitter


                                          Repeat customers from that group
    Retain X% of new customers
                                                 Unsubscribe rates
Cost per Lead > Cost per Conversion

• Cost per Lead = How much do I need to pay in order to get a visitor to my
  site who will take one of those micro actions that lead to a sale


• Cost per Conversion = What does it cost me to acquire a customer?
  Total cost of a campaign / Number of Conversions
Social Media Measurements


                                                       Content
  Platform   Ratio of Posts to X   Peak Conversion
                                                      Resonance


                                                        Opens
                                        Day
   Email           Opens                                 CTR
                                     Time of Day
                                                     Unsubscribes

                                                         RTs
                                        Day
   Twitter          RTs                                   @
                                     Time of Day
                                                        Recos

                                                        Like
                                        Day
  Facebook      Interactions                           Share
                                     Time of Day
                                                      Comment

                                                         Monique Trottier
                                                       @BoxcarMarketing
Things that lead to sales


Acquisition              Website Visitors, time on site

                      Number of pageviews, repeat visits,
Activation            subscription (email, blog), account
                      sign-up (profile data), Fan/Follower

                         Email Opens, Click-throughs,
Retention                       Repeat visits

                             Press Mention, RT,
 Referral                Refers 1+visitors to the site;
                        Refers 1+ visitors who activate



              Sales
                                           Monique Trottier
                                         @BoxcarMarketing
$$$                                             $$$
Investment                                       Financial
                                                  Impact



        Marketing   Customer    Non-financial
         Actions    Reactions     Impact




                                                 Monique Trottier
                                               @BoxcarMarketing
Ask me about this stuff.

• Download this presentation




                                            Monique Trottier
                                          @boxcarmarketing
                               monique@boxcarmarketing.com

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Why You Should Have Paid Attention in Math

  • 1. Why You Should Have Paid Attention in Math Understanding Online Marketing Numbers and Data Tracking SFU Summer 2011 Book Immersion July 22, 2011 Twitter @boxcarmarketing
  • 2. Not everything that counts can be measured. Not everything that can be measured counts. Albert Einstein Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 3. There are 2 things we like to measure: Things that lead to sales Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 4. Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 5. What is a Conversion Rate • Number of visitors who perform a desired action / Number of visitors to a page • Desired action: buy a product, complete a form, etc. • If there are 100 visitors to a particular web page and 5 people buy a book, then the conversation rate is 5% • (5/100) * 100 = 5% • Abandonment Rate is calculated in the same way, but it’s the number of people who do not complete a task divided by the total number of visitors
  • 7. Setting Up Goals • Admin Access • URL Destination Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 8. Things that lead to sales Twitter Followers Customer Feedback RTs Facebook Fans Email Opens Website Visitors Press Mentions Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 9. Did we make money means what is the ROI? • Return on Investment • Did I make more money than I spent? • Actually a tricky question: (Gross Profit - Marketing Investment) Marketing Investment • Gross Profit = Gross Revenue - Cost of Goods Sold <OR> Gross Profit = Gross Revenue * Profit Margin (% of revenue that is actually profit) • Invest $3,000 on marketing campaign and generate $30,000 gross revenue (1,000 copies sold at $30), if profit margin is 10%, then Gross Profit is $30,000 * 10% = $3,000 ($3,000 - $3,000) / $3,000 = 0%
  • 10. Things that lead to sales Acquisition Website Visitors, time on site Number of pageviews, repeat visits, Activation subscription (email, blog), account sign-up (profile data), Fan/Follower Email Opens, Click-throughs, Retention Repeat visits Press Mention, RT, Referral Refers 1+visitors to the site; Refers 1+ visitors who activate Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 11. What is Click Through Rate? • CTR = Number of clicks on an ad / number of times the ad is shown • Applies to ads, buttons, banners, etc. • If banner ad is delivered 100 times (100 impressions) and receives 1 click, then the CTR = 1%
  • 12. If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will get you there. Misquote from Alice in Wonderland Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 13. A simple Contest • Reach a new audience or reinforce our connection to an existing audience Goal Lifecycle Action Reaction Metrics @ / RT / Comment Response Visitors Acquire Subscriptions Reach a new Listen Visit to the site Activate (email/RSS) audience Introduce Subscribe Fan/Follower Retain Return Account sign-up Return Visits @ / RT / Comment Response Repeat visits Reinforce our Retain Talk Email opens Visit the site connection to Referral Pitch CTR / Goal Funnel Act Mentions existing audience Revenue Thank Refer Referrals Referrals who convert
  • 14. Google Analytics: Annotations Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 15. Google Analytics: Title- or Author-Specific Searches
  • 17. A simple campaign to increase Online Sales • Use Twitter or Facebook to inform prospects about special promotions. • Exclusive, limited-customer/limited time offers. Goal Metrics Increase monthly sales monthly sales attributable directly to SMM Segment & Funnel: new customers Increase % value from new customers attributable directly to campaign Increase conversions from Segment & Funnel: monthly revenue Twitter traffic generated from customers from Twitter Repeat customers from that group Retain X% of new customers Unsubscribe rates
  • 18. Cost per Lead > Cost per Conversion • Cost per Lead = How much do I need to pay in order to get a visitor to my site who will take one of those micro actions that lead to a sale • Cost per Conversion = What does it cost me to acquire a customer? Total cost of a campaign / Number of Conversions
  • 19. Social Media Measurements Content Platform Ratio of Posts to X Peak Conversion Resonance Opens Day Email Opens CTR Time of Day Unsubscribes RTs Day Twitter RTs @ Time of Day Recos Like Day Facebook Interactions Share Time of Day Comment Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 20. Things that lead to sales Acquisition Website Visitors, time on site Number of pageviews, repeat visits, Activation subscription (email, blog), account sign-up (profile data), Fan/Follower Email Opens, Click-throughs, Retention Repeat visits Press Mention, RT, Referral Refers 1+visitors to the site; Refers 1+ visitors who activate Sales Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 21. $$$ $$$ Investment Financial Impact Marketing Customer Non-financial Actions Reactions Impact Monique Trottier @BoxcarMarketing
  • 22. Ask me about this stuff. • Download this presentation Monique Trottier @boxcarmarketing monique@boxcarmarketing.com