SlideShare una empresa de Scribd logo
1 de 1
Descargar para leer sin conexión
Why Does Google Use a Quality Score                                     Google Ad Auction Pricing Model:
in Determining Ad Position?                                             Pre- and Post-Quality Score
Google wants to display the most relevant advertiser ads to their        Google Ad Auction & Bidding:
searchers. That makes users happy because they get more relevant         PRE-QUALITY SCORE & Highest Bid Buys Best Ad Position
ads, makes advertisers happier because they get better results, and      Advertisers set a max bid but the price they actually paid for a click
makes Google happier because happy users and happy advertisers =         was equal to the bid of the advertiser below them, as detailed below:
more people using the Adwords system.
                                                                         			                     Actual CPC		
                                                                         		             Max Bid	 (price paid)	  Ad Position
                                                                         		
                                                                         Advertiser #1	   $4 	        $3 	           1	
                                                                         					
                                                                         Advertiser #2	   $3 	        $2 	           2	
                                                                         					
                                                                         Advertiser #3	   $2 	        $1 	           3	
                                                                         					
                                                                         Advertiser #4	   $1 		                Not displayed	
                                                                         	
                                                                         	
                                                                        Google Ad Auction & Bidding:
                                                                        POST QUALITY SCORE & Introduction of Ad Rank
                                                                        Max Bid times Quality Score equals Ad Rank and Ad Rank
                                                                        determines Ad Position. Highest Ad Rank = Highest Ad Position
What Are the 3 Components to                                            and the better the Ad Position the higher the CTR which improves
Google Quality Score Calculation?                                       Quality Score even further (the QS Virtuous Cycle).

                                                                        				                       Quality			               Ad
1.	 Click Thru Rate (CTR) – Most important component
                                                                        		             Max Bid	 x	 Score	  =	 Ad Rank	   Position
	 of Google Quality Score calculation                                   		
                                                                        Advertiser #1	   $4 	   x	   1	    =	     4	   Not displayed	
	 By allowing users to vote thru clicks Google has millions of          				
                                                                        Advertiser #2	   $3 	   x	   3	    =	     9	         2	
	 people helping decide which ads best match particular search          					
                                                                        Advertiser #3	   $2 	   x	   6	    =	    12	         1	
	 queries. You need clicks to improve your quality score; therefore     					
                                                                        Advertiser #4	   $1 	   x	   8	    =	     8	         3	
	 new advertisers often have to start their campaigns with higher       	
	 max bids to ensure they have good asd position out of the gate.       	
	 As they gain clicks and improve their quality scores they can         Actual Cost per Click Calculation Example:
	 reduce their max bids and still preserve their good ad positions.
                                                                        				                       Quality			                        Actual
2.	 Relevancy – Second most important component                         		             Max Bid	 x	 Score	  =	 Ad Rank	                CPC
                                                                        		
	 of Google Quality Score calculation                                   Advertiser #1	   $4 	   x	   8	    =	    32	               (24/8) = $3	
                                                                        			
	 Relevancy of the keywords to the search query as well as ad text      Advertiser #2	   $4 	   x	   6	    =	    24	               (12/6) = $2	
                                                                        					
	 is important to Google. They determine relevancy by analyzing         Advertiser #3	   $4 	   x	   3	    =	    12	                Minimum
	 language and context of test ads and landing pages to determine       							                                                       price	
                                                                        		
	 how well it relates to the search query, therefore the likely
	 searcher intent.
                                                                        Cost per Click Equation:
3.	 Landing Page Quality – Third most important component
	 of Google Quality Score Calculation                                   P1 = (B2 x Q2)/Q1
	 An ad is only useful to a searcher if the landing page helps them
                                                                        Where P1 = CPC of Advertiser #1
	 to find the products or information they are looking for. A high
                                                                        B2 = Advertiser #2 Max Bid
	 quality landing page should have original and relevant content
                                                                        Q2 = Advertiser #2 Quality Score
	 related to the search query, fast load time, be easy to navigate,
                                                                        Q1 = Advertiser #1 Quality Score
	 and be transparent about the nature of the advertisers business
	 and how they plan on using a site visitor’s information.              Therefore:

                                                                        P1 = ($4 x 6)/8 = $24/8 = $3

                                                                        Increasing your quality score decreases your cost per click as
                                          Components                    illustrated below. Where Quality Score increased from an 8 to a 10,
                                          of Quality Score              the result is a decreased CPC from $3 to $2.40.
                                          Calculation
                                                                        				                       Quality			                        Actual
                                                                        		             Max Bid	 x	 Score	   =	 Ad Rank	               CPC
                                                                        		
                                                                        Advertiser #1	   $4 	   x	 Q1 (10)	 =	    40	              ($4 x 6 /10)
                                                                        							                                                      = $2.40	
                                                                        			
                                                                        Advertiser #2	 B2 ($4) 	 x	 Q2 (6) 	       =	     24		
                                                                        					                                       	
                                                                        	

                              © 2010, WordStream Inc. All rights reserved. WordStream technologies are protected by pending US patents.

Más contenido relacionado

Similar a Google Quality Score Components and How it Impacts Ad Auction Pricing

101 google auction system
101 google auction system101 google auction system
101 google auction systemLaurent Goirand
 
Subtle science of_bidding_guide
Subtle science of_bidding_guideSubtle science of_bidding_guide
Subtle science of_bidding_guideChad Hollingsworth
 
Understand the AdWords Algorithm
Understand the AdWords AlgorithmUnderstand the AdWords Algorithm
Understand the AdWords AlgorithmAK DigiHub
 
Google Adwords Introduction
Google Adwords IntroductionGoogle Adwords Introduction
Google Adwords IntroductionRajesh Bogoju
 
Building On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click Advertising
Building On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click AdvertisingBuilding On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click Advertising
Building On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click AdvertisingPardot
 
How does Google Adwords Work and its Benefits
How does Google Adwords Work and its BenefitsHow does Google Adwords Work and its Benefits
How does Google Adwords Work and its BenefitsEminenture
 
Improving Quality Score - The Value of Being More Relevant
Improving Quality Score - The Value of Being More RelevantImproving Quality Score - The Value of Being More Relevant
Improving Quality Score - The Value of Being More RelevantBoris Loukanov
 
Unlocking The Potential in Your PPC Campaigns
Unlocking The Potential in Your PPC CampaignsUnlocking The Potential in Your PPC Campaigns
Unlocking The Potential in Your PPC CampaignsClosed Loop Marketing
 
What is google adwords?
What is google adwords?What is google adwords?
What is google adwords?Digitalthali
 
Online advertising and ad auctions at google
Online advertising and ad auctions at googleOnline advertising and ad auctions at google
Online advertising and ad auctions at googleHamzeh Banat
 
Online Advertisements and the AdWords Problem
Online Advertisements and the AdWords ProblemOnline Advertisements and the AdWords Problem
Online Advertisements and the AdWords ProblemRajesh Piryani
 
From Click to Conversion: An Introduction to PPC, SEO, & Web Analytics
From Click to Conversion: An Introduction to PPC, SEO, & Web AnalyticsFrom Click to Conversion: An Introduction to PPC, SEO, & Web Analytics
From Click to Conversion: An Introduction to PPC, SEO, & Web AnalyticsBenjamin Rudolph
 
How to Score with Quality Score
How to Score with Quality ScoreHow to Score with Quality Score
How to Score with Quality ScoreTrada
 
Part2 Conversion Optimizer
Part2  Conversion OptimizerPart2  Conversion Optimizer
Part2 Conversion Optimizerguest1c6349
 
On What Factors Do Ad Rank Depend.pdf
On What Factors Do Ad Rank Depend.pdfOn What Factors Do Ad Rank Depend.pdf
On What Factors Do Ad Rank Depend.pdfScale Up
 

Similar a Google Quality Score Components and How it Impacts Ad Auction Pricing (20)

101 google auction system
101 google auction system101 google auction system
101 google auction system
 
Subtle science of_bidding_guide
Subtle science of_bidding_guideSubtle science of_bidding_guide
Subtle science of_bidding_guide
 
Understand the AdWords Algorithm
Understand the AdWords AlgorithmUnderstand the AdWords Algorithm
Understand the AdWords Algorithm
 
Google Adwords Introduction
Google Adwords IntroductionGoogle Adwords Introduction
Google Adwords Introduction
 
Building On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click Advertising
Building On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click AdvertisingBuilding On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click Advertising
Building On the Benefits of Pay-Per-Click Advertising
 
How does Google Adwords Work and its Benefits
How does Google Adwords Work and its BenefitsHow does Google Adwords Work and its Benefits
How does Google Adwords Work and its Benefits
 
Bid management ppt
Bid management pptBid management ppt
Bid management ppt
 
Improving Quality Score - The Value of Being More Relevant
Improving Quality Score - The Value of Being More RelevantImproving Quality Score - The Value of Being More Relevant
Improving Quality Score - The Value of Being More Relevant
 
PPC & SEO
PPC & SEOPPC & SEO
PPC & SEO
 
Unlocking The Potential in Your PPC Campaigns
Unlocking The Potential in Your PPC CampaignsUnlocking The Potential in Your PPC Campaigns
Unlocking The Potential in Your PPC Campaigns
 
What is google adwords?
What is google adwords?What is google adwords?
What is google adwords?
 
Growth Secrets We've Learned Managing $500M in Digital Ad Spend - Lance Loved...
Growth Secrets We've Learned Managing $500M in Digital Ad Spend - Lance Loved...Growth Secrets We've Learned Managing $500M in Digital Ad Spend - Lance Loved...
Growth Secrets We've Learned Managing $500M in Digital Ad Spend - Lance Loved...
 
Simple smo
Simple smoSimple smo
Simple smo
 
Online advertising and ad auctions at google
Online advertising and ad auctions at googleOnline advertising and ad auctions at google
Online advertising and ad auctions at google
 
Online Advertisements and the AdWords Problem
Online Advertisements and the AdWords ProblemOnline Advertisements and the AdWords Problem
Online Advertisements and the AdWords Problem
 
From Click to Conversion: An Introduction to PPC, SEO, & Web Analytics
From Click to Conversion: An Introduction to PPC, SEO, & Web AnalyticsFrom Click to Conversion: An Introduction to PPC, SEO, & Web Analytics
From Click to Conversion: An Introduction to PPC, SEO, & Web Analytics
 
How to Score with Quality Score
How to Score with Quality ScoreHow to Score with Quality Score
How to Score with Quality Score
 
Introduction to google adwords
Introduction to google adwordsIntroduction to google adwords
Introduction to google adwords
 
Part2 Conversion Optimizer
Part2  Conversion OptimizerPart2  Conversion Optimizer
Part2 Conversion Optimizer
 
On What Factors Do Ad Rank Depend.pdf
On What Factors Do Ad Rank Depend.pdfOn What Factors Do Ad Rank Depend.pdf
On What Factors Do Ad Rank Depend.pdf
 

Más de Dung Tri

Moore corp - Viet nam Digital Landscape Q3 2015
Moore corp - Viet nam Digital Landscape Q3 2015Moore corp - Viet nam Digital Landscape Q3 2015
Moore corp - Viet nam Digital Landscape Q3 2015Dung Tri
 
Digital Advertising Overview
Digital Advertising OverviewDigital Advertising Overview
Digital Advertising OverviewDung Tri
 
Online Display Advertising
Online Display AdvertisingOnline Display Advertising
Online Display AdvertisingDung Tri
 
Social Media Marketing
Social Media MarketingSocial Media Marketing
Social Media MarketingDung Tri
 
Quá trinh mua sắm của người tiêu dùng
Quá trinh mua sắm của người tiêu dùngQuá trinh mua sắm của người tiêu dùng
Quá trinh mua sắm của người tiêu dùngDung Tri
 
The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 5th
The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 5thThe Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 5th
The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 5thDung Tri
 
Customer-Centric Marketing
Customer-Centric MarketingCustomer-Centric Marketing
Customer-Centric MarketingDung Tri
 
Consumer Decision Jouney - Moore Corp - 72015
Consumer Decision Jouney - Moore Corp - 72015Consumer Decision Jouney - Moore Corp - 72015
Consumer Decision Jouney - Moore Corp - 72015Dung Tri
 
Global Digital Landscape Report - Neilsen 32015
Global Digital Landscape Report - Neilsen 32015Global Digital Landscape Report - Neilsen 32015
Global Digital Landscape Report - Neilsen 32015Dung Tri
 
Vietnam Online Tour Booking Report - Mar2015
Vietnam Online Tour Booking Report - Mar2015Vietnam Online Tour Booking Report - Mar2015
Vietnam Online Tour Booking Report - Mar2015Dung Tri
 
Winning and Retaining the Digital Consumer - Accenture
Winning and Retaining the Digital Consumer - Accenture Winning and Retaining the Digital Consumer - Accenture
Winning and Retaining the Digital Consumer - Accenture Dung Tri
 
Global Trust in Advertising Report Nielsen 2013
Global Trust in Advertising Report Nielsen 2013Global Trust in Advertising Report Nielsen 2013
Global Trust in Advertising Report Nielsen 2013Dung Tri
 
Millward Brown Adreaction 2014 Global
Millward Brown Adreaction 2014 GlobalMillward Brown Adreaction 2014 Global
Millward Brown Adreaction 2014 GlobalDung Tri
 
Vietnam Digital Landscape 2015
Vietnam Digital Landscape 2015Vietnam Digital Landscape 2015
Vietnam Digital Landscape 2015Dung Tri
 
M-commerce in Aisa - Ericsson 2014
M-commerce in Aisa - Ericsson 2014M-commerce in Aisa - Ericsson 2014
M-commerce in Aisa - Ericsson 2014Dung Tri
 
State of Mobile Commerce - Criteo 2014
State of Mobile Commerce - Criteo 2014State of Mobile Commerce - Criteo 2014
State of Mobile Commerce - Criteo 2014Dung Tri
 
Thuong mai dien tu tren nen tang di dong tai Viet Nam - Vecita 2014
Thuong mai dien tu tren nen tang di dong tai Viet Nam - Vecita 2014Thuong mai dien tu tren nen tang di dong tai Viet Nam - Vecita 2014
Thuong mai dien tu tren nen tang di dong tai Viet Nam - Vecita 2014Dung Tri
 
Global Mobile Commerce - Criteo report Q42014
Global Mobile Commerce - Criteo report Q42014Global Mobile Commerce - Criteo report Q42014
Global Mobile Commerce - Criteo report Q42014Dung Tri
 
Vietnam Consumer Landscape 2015
Vietnam Consumer Landscape 2015Vietnam Consumer Landscape 2015
Vietnam Consumer Landscape 2015Dung Tri
 
Thương mại điện tử Việt Nam 2014
Thương mại điện tử Việt Nam 2014Thương mại điện tử Việt Nam 2014
Thương mại điện tử Việt Nam 2014Dung Tri
 

Más de Dung Tri (20)

Moore corp - Viet nam Digital Landscape Q3 2015
Moore corp - Viet nam Digital Landscape Q3 2015Moore corp - Viet nam Digital Landscape Q3 2015
Moore corp - Viet nam Digital Landscape Q3 2015
 
Digital Advertising Overview
Digital Advertising OverviewDigital Advertising Overview
Digital Advertising Overview
 
Online Display Advertising
Online Display AdvertisingOnline Display Advertising
Online Display Advertising
 
Social Media Marketing
Social Media MarketingSocial Media Marketing
Social Media Marketing
 
Quá trinh mua sắm của người tiêu dùng
Quá trinh mua sắm của người tiêu dùngQuá trinh mua sắm của người tiêu dùng
Quá trinh mua sắm của người tiêu dùng
 
The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 5th
The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 5thThe Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 5th
The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World - 5th
 
Customer-Centric Marketing
Customer-Centric MarketingCustomer-Centric Marketing
Customer-Centric Marketing
 
Consumer Decision Jouney - Moore Corp - 72015
Consumer Decision Jouney - Moore Corp - 72015Consumer Decision Jouney - Moore Corp - 72015
Consumer Decision Jouney - Moore Corp - 72015
 
Global Digital Landscape Report - Neilsen 32015
Global Digital Landscape Report - Neilsen 32015Global Digital Landscape Report - Neilsen 32015
Global Digital Landscape Report - Neilsen 32015
 
Vietnam Online Tour Booking Report - Mar2015
Vietnam Online Tour Booking Report - Mar2015Vietnam Online Tour Booking Report - Mar2015
Vietnam Online Tour Booking Report - Mar2015
 
Winning and Retaining the Digital Consumer - Accenture
Winning and Retaining the Digital Consumer - Accenture Winning and Retaining the Digital Consumer - Accenture
Winning and Retaining the Digital Consumer - Accenture
 
Global Trust in Advertising Report Nielsen 2013
Global Trust in Advertising Report Nielsen 2013Global Trust in Advertising Report Nielsen 2013
Global Trust in Advertising Report Nielsen 2013
 
Millward Brown Adreaction 2014 Global
Millward Brown Adreaction 2014 GlobalMillward Brown Adreaction 2014 Global
Millward Brown Adreaction 2014 Global
 
Vietnam Digital Landscape 2015
Vietnam Digital Landscape 2015Vietnam Digital Landscape 2015
Vietnam Digital Landscape 2015
 
M-commerce in Aisa - Ericsson 2014
M-commerce in Aisa - Ericsson 2014M-commerce in Aisa - Ericsson 2014
M-commerce in Aisa - Ericsson 2014
 
State of Mobile Commerce - Criteo 2014
State of Mobile Commerce - Criteo 2014State of Mobile Commerce - Criteo 2014
State of Mobile Commerce - Criteo 2014
 
Thuong mai dien tu tren nen tang di dong tai Viet Nam - Vecita 2014
Thuong mai dien tu tren nen tang di dong tai Viet Nam - Vecita 2014Thuong mai dien tu tren nen tang di dong tai Viet Nam - Vecita 2014
Thuong mai dien tu tren nen tang di dong tai Viet Nam - Vecita 2014
 
Global Mobile Commerce - Criteo report Q42014
Global Mobile Commerce - Criteo report Q42014Global Mobile Commerce - Criteo report Q42014
Global Mobile Commerce - Criteo report Q42014
 
Vietnam Consumer Landscape 2015
Vietnam Consumer Landscape 2015Vietnam Consumer Landscape 2015
Vietnam Consumer Landscape 2015
 
Thương mại điện tử Việt Nam 2014
Thương mại điện tử Việt Nam 2014Thương mại điện tử Việt Nam 2014
Thương mại điện tử Việt Nam 2014
 

Google Quality Score Components and How it Impacts Ad Auction Pricing

  • 1. Why Does Google Use a Quality Score Google Ad Auction Pricing Model: in Determining Ad Position? Pre- and Post-Quality Score Google wants to display the most relevant advertiser ads to their Google Ad Auction & Bidding: searchers. That makes users happy because they get more relevant PRE-QUALITY SCORE & Highest Bid Buys Best Ad Position ads, makes advertisers happier because they get better results, and Advertisers set a max bid but the price they actually paid for a click makes Google happier because happy users and happy advertisers = was equal to the bid of the advertiser below them, as detailed below: more people using the Adwords system. Actual CPC Max Bid (price paid) Ad Position Advertiser #1 $4 $3 1 Advertiser #2 $3 $2 2 Advertiser #3 $2 $1 3 Advertiser #4 $1 Not displayed Google Ad Auction & Bidding: POST QUALITY SCORE & Introduction of Ad Rank Max Bid times Quality Score equals Ad Rank and Ad Rank determines Ad Position. Highest Ad Rank = Highest Ad Position What Are the 3 Components to and the better the Ad Position the higher the CTR which improves Google Quality Score Calculation? Quality Score even further (the QS Virtuous Cycle). Quality Ad 1. Click Thru Rate (CTR) – Most important component Max Bid x Score = Ad Rank Position of Google Quality Score calculation Advertiser #1 $4 x 1 = 4 Not displayed By allowing users to vote thru clicks Google has millions of Advertiser #2 $3 x 3 = 9 2 people helping decide which ads best match particular search Advertiser #3 $2 x 6 = 12 1 queries. You need clicks to improve your quality score; therefore Advertiser #4 $1 x 8 = 8 3 new advertisers often have to start their campaigns with higher max bids to ensure they have good asd position out of the gate. As they gain clicks and improve their quality scores they can Actual Cost per Click Calculation Example: reduce their max bids and still preserve their good ad positions. Quality Actual 2. Relevancy – Second most important component Max Bid x Score = Ad Rank CPC of Google Quality Score calculation Advertiser #1 $4 x 8 = 32 (24/8) = $3 Relevancy of the keywords to the search query as well as ad text Advertiser #2 $4 x 6 = 24 (12/6) = $2 is important to Google. They determine relevancy by analyzing Advertiser #3 $4 x 3 = 12 Minimum language and context of test ads and landing pages to determine price how well it relates to the search query, therefore the likely searcher intent. Cost per Click Equation: 3. Landing Page Quality – Third most important component of Google Quality Score Calculation P1 = (B2 x Q2)/Q1 An ad is only useful to a searcher if the landing page helps them Where P1 = CPC of Advertiser #1 to find the products or information they are looking for. A high B2 = Advertiser #2 Max Bid quality landing page should have original and relevant content Q2 = Advertiser #2 Quality Score related to the search query, fast load time, be easy to navigate, Q1 = Advertiser #1 Quality Score and be transparent about the nature of the advertisers business and how they plan on using a site visitor’s information. Therefore: P1 = ($4 x 6)/8 = $24/8 = $3 Increasing your quality score decreases your cost per click as Components illustrated below. Where Quality Score increased from an 8 to a 10, of Quality Score the result is a decreased CPC from $3 to $2.40. Calculation Quality Actual Max Bid x Score = Ad Rank CPC Advertiser #1 $4 x Q1 (10) = 40 ($4 x 6 /10) = $2.40 Advertiser #2 B2 ($4) x Q2 (6) = 24 © 2010, WordStream Inc. All rights reserved. WordStream technologies are protected by pending US patents.