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Park2Pedal
Business Plan Prepared on December 2015
By Liza Perez
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TableofContents
Executive Summary
 Market Opportunity
 Management
 Capital requirement
 Financial Projection
Organizational Plan:
A. Summary of Business concept
B. Management, Advisor & Personnel
C. Strategic Partners
D. Accounting & Legal
E. Insurance
F. Security
Operations Plan
A. Product & Services
B. Location
C. Projected employee costs
D. Capacity &Process
E. Key Milestone for Successes
Marketing Plan:
A. Overview & Goals
B. Marketing analysis
C. Target Analysis
D. Strategy
E. Execution
F. Timeframe
G. Budget & Cost
H. Measurement of Success
Financial Plan
A. Benchmarks
B. 3 year Revenue Projections
C. 3 years income statement
D. Break–even Analysis
Bibliography
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Executive Summary
Park2Pedal- a parking solution for bicycle will be establish with the objective to provide
monitored parking for bicycle throughout New York City via mobile or stationary garages and
partnerships. Park2Pedal is a NYC based company. This business plan will serve as a plan that will
guide the company through the administrative, marketing, and financial issues that are inherent in
reaching a growth plan.
Market Opportunity:
NYC is one of the most bike friendly cities in the US with more than 500,000 adult New Yorkersi
use
a bike at least once a month. The city has more than 350 miles of bike lanes, many of them barricaded
from traffic by concrete and parking lanes, encouraging even casual cyclists to ride down Broadway
and through a car-free Times Square. Bicycling is New York City’s fastest-growing mode of
transportation and has seen the fastest growth in ridership. According to the Department of
Transportation's (DOT) Commuter Cycling Indicator, there was a 13% increase in daily commuter
bicycling between 2009 and 2010 alone (see chart below).
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Our city has seen double-digit growth in bike ridership for four straight years -- effectively doubling
the number of regular cyclists on our streets, according to the DOT's annual counts.ii
The reason for its
fast growth is associated with the city’s effort to improve the roads for cyclists, the growing traffic
congestion and increase cost in public transportation. Bicycles are often the quickest method to travel
across town. New York City is still working on making the city a better place for bikers and according
to Mayor Bill de Blasio bicycling will comprise 6% of all trips in the city by 2020.iii
Management:
Liza Perez manages Park2Pedal. She has more than five prior years of experience in marketing and
team management. Previously she worked in a service industry selling and marketing products and
services. Liza has established a strong team of very dedicated people who are eager to make a
difference in the world. As manager her role is to handle the Marketing, business development and
maintaining relationships with key partners.
Capital requirement:
Park2Pedal is seeking funding in the amount of $171,179 for the purpose of purchasing
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equipment, licenses, build the technology to operate the business (ex: app &website) and pre-
launch marketing efforts.
Breakdownoftheuse offunds
Providedbelow is a breakdown of the use of funds.
Activity Cost
Registration & Parking
licenses $10,000
Customization & Equipment $25,000
Marketing $19,513
Technology (App/Website) $116,666
Total $171,179
Financial Projection:
Park2Pedalis expected to break even in a year after our service is launched. Forecast for identified
growth resulting from a devoted and loyal customer-based and aggressive marketing initiatives
indicate that Park2Pedalwill exceed $1million in sales by the end of year 3.
Part I: Organizational plan
A. Summary of Business concept:
Park2Pedal surged as a need to solve the current lack of adequate parking space for bicycle in
NYC. As the city grows more bike-friendly the amount of bikes stolen is also rising. For the last few
years: there has been about 2,894 bikes stolen in 2011; 3,503 in 2012; 4,249 in 2013; and 4,849 in
2014. That's almost a 70% increase in thefts in just four years.iv
In effort to prevent bike theft legislations like the NYC's Bicycle Access to Buildings Law in 2009 was
passed. This law requires commercial buildings to allow tenants to bring their bicycles into offices
using the freight elevator if their employer approves the request to bring the bike up into the office.
Unfortunately, the legislation is seeing little success since most employers don’t have the space to
accommodate bicycles in their office. According to a TfGM survey the 5th
barrier to cycling is the
“lack of safe storage facilities” (see graph below) and per TransitAlternative.org if cyclists were
guaranteed safe bike parking, the number of people biking to work would quickly double.v
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Another option for cyclist is to park the bike in a garage. The city also passed a law that requires
garages with 100 or more vehicles to provide bicycle parking at a rate of at least one space for every
ten-vehicle spaces. The problem is that most garages don’t want bike commuters because it means
losing car users. In order to discourage the use they charge very high prices ($75 a higher a month per
spot.). The only option left is the street and it’s adversities.
NYC streetparking:
Vandalized bikes:
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Mission Statement:
Park2Pedal mission is to provide value added products and services that meets urban cyclists and their
evolving needs. We build lasting relationships and communities to advocate on the safety and security
issues that affect them along the road.
Strategy:
Park2Pedal’s long-term goal is to be the forerunner in dominating the bicycle parking service
nationwide. Our goal is to provide an innovative solution to solve the bicycle-parking problem by
providing clients with a seamless experience across our locations. Park2Pedal is looking to create both
an online and physical presence across the industry. The Company drives to go beyond just being a
parking space by connecting with its users on different platforms or via different products offerings.
Location
Park2Pedal will operate from remote locations. Remote locations are strategically picked
based on the market and demand for the service. The company’s start off location will be all
five Boroughs in NYC. Each location in NYC will be launched by phases prior to expanding
to other areas of the country.
AdministrativePlan
C. Legal Structure:
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Park2Pedal will be registered as a Limited Liability Company (LLC) under the law of the state of New
York.
D. Management, Advisor and Personnel
Park2Pedal has a strong management team as well as a board of director, committed to achievement
and excellence. The Company’s management philosophy is based on responsibility and mutual
respect. We have an environment that encourages creativity and hard work. Pedal2Park’s management
team provides strong leadership ability, sales and marketing expertise, and an extensive knowledge in
the Internet and cycling world.
Staffing structure
Core management team
Liza Perez, Co-owner/ President
• MS In Integrated Marketing at NYU.
• BA in Marketing Management at Baruch College.
• 4 years of experience in Marketing, PR and team management.
• Outdoor enthusiast bicycle rider.
Liza Perez, Co-Owner &
President
Felipe Garcia, Co-Owner&
Head of Operations
Parking Attendants Shuttle Attendants
Guillermo Lopez, Head of
Technology
Augusto Gomez, Mechanical
Engineer
Bicycle Mechanics
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Responsibilities:
 Handle the marketing and business development initiatives.
 Build and maintaining relationships with strategic partners.
 Oversee and manage all operations along with co-founder.
Felipe Garcia, Co-Owner/Operations Manager
• Bachelors in Business administration from Nassau College.
• Has over 4 years of experience in the Bicycle industry.
• Founder of Brooklyn studios, a manufacturer of customized bicycle.
• Daily cyclist commuter and advocate for a bike friendly world.
Responsibility:
 Work in supply management and product development.
 Work in the customization of our parking spaces to provide a unique and seamless UX.
 Hire, train and manage staff.
Guillermo Lopez, Technology Development Manager
 BA in Computer Science.
 Application developer expert at HeBS Digital.
 Worked for the MTA as a server operator in obtaining and writing user
guide for software to facilitate inventory management and tracking.
 Riding bicycle is his preferred form of exercise.
Responsibility:
 Build and Maintain Park2Pedalapp, website and any technology software/ server used by
the company.
 Work on creating a unique UX as well as setting up a server who can manage
Park2Pedal’s inventory and POS.
 Ensure information and inventory is kept secure via the use of encrypted technology.
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Augusto Gomez, Mechanical Engineer Intern
 Currently studying Mechanical Engineering at Vaughn College.
 Previously worked 7 years in Aviation structural mechanic in the NAVY.
 Loves to participate in Triathlons and bike tours.
Responsibility:
 Design bike racks and parking facilities to maximize space and functionality.
 Maintain and repair equipment.
 Promote Park2Pedalduring races and bike tours.
Board of Advisor:
Robin Chase
Robin Chase is a transportation entrepreneur. She is co-founder and
former CEO of Zipcar, the largest car sharing company in the world; Buzz
car, a peer-to-peer car sharing service in France (now merged with Drivy);
and GoLoco, an online ridesharing community. She is also co-founder and
Executive Chairman of Veniam, a vehicle communications company
building the networking fabric for the Internet of Moving Things.
Chase loves spending her time giving talks about innovation,
entrepreneurship, technology, transportation, cities, and climate change.
Money is not an incentive for her; she cares more on how she can help
make the world a better place (Just like Park2Pedal).
Personnel:
Park2Pedal places an extremely high value on the importance of its workforce. Management realizes
that the strength of the company’s personnel is key to its success. As such, plans include filling staff
positions with people who embraces the cycling world and lifestyle. All employees will be treated with
respect, compensated sufficiently and provided with a professional environment. The company will
implement various incentive aimed to retain employees and minimize turnover. Group events, bonus,
contest will be implemented to promote engagement and boost moral. Engaged employees are more
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inclined at making customers happy. As a result the company will profit from repeat business as
customers establish positive relationships with Park2Pedalemployees.
The Company plans to hire at 24 hourly employees at an average of wage rate that totals $10.50 per
year per employee.
Personnel Profile:
 High school education or higher.
 Pass a background check.
 Knows how to ride a bicycle safely.
 Physical endurance to tow or carry at least 100 pounds.
 Resilient to weather change and can navigate through crowded streets efficiently and safely.
 Detail Oriented: Pay close attention to all the little details.
 Trustworthy: Known for your personal integrity and honesty.
 Team Player: Listen, Communicate, and Work with tons of different people.
 Enjoys cycling and are interested in its lifestyle.
Responsibility:
 Operate parking facilities
 Pick up and drop off bicycles in assigned areas.
 Check in and check out customers via our system.
 Lock bicycle securely and monitor.
 Manage parking units to the most efficient way.
Projected Personnel Costs
Staff will be hired both as fulltime and Part time contract staff. All fulltime employees get
basic salary benefits. The split is 70% to 30%. Benefits will include social security taxes,
unemployment insurance, worker compensation, and disability insurance; leave benefits as
required by the law.vi
The minimum wage in NYC is $8.75 per hour and in the case of Park2pedal attendants will
make up the rest of the wages through tips. Merit will vary from 0%-5% per year and will be
based evaluated based on performance.
Compensation for part-time staff will only be given minimum wage without any compensation
and benefit. Part-time staff will also be able supplement wages through tips.
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D. Strategic Partners:
Park2Pedal plans to build strong partnerships with companies and communities who will benefit from
their services. Partnerships are going to be a key component to grow their business footprint.
Targeted partners will be:
• The Department of transportation (DOT)- will benefits from the reduction in carbon
monoxide, lower cost to repair roads caused by cars and better healthier and happier New
Yorkers by lower insurance cost by providing a healthier alternative to commute to work.
• Parks and Recreation- will benefit from the increase in traffic and longer visits from cyclist.
• Businesses who target cyclists- will benefit from the joined forces and business exposure.
• Local Business- will benefit from lower insurance cost by providing a healthier alternative to
commute to work. Increase in productivity by having happier employees. Improvement in the
local economy since bike friendly areas tend to attract more tourists.
• Bike-friendly advocate organizations- will benefit from a service uniquely tailored to their
member’s need.
E. Accounting and Legal
Accounting:
Day to day bookkeeping will be done in-house and will be kept on a computer via the use of the
software “QuickBooks Pro”. For added accounting and finance functions, Park2Pedal has retained the
services of Progresso Accountants & Advisors.
Legal:
For all legal aspects relating the business, Park2Pedal has retained the services of Chandra Law
Offices, PC.
F. Insurance:
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The following insurance policies will be obtained for Park2Pedal:
 Property
 General Liability
 Umbrella/Excess Liability
 Workers compensation
For all is insurance needs,Park2Pedalhas retained the services of Liberty Mutual Group.
G. Security:
Park2Pedal understand that providing security is one of its main goals and take the matter very
seriously. The company plans to implement several checkpoints to ensure the security is not breached.
Park2Pedal plans to procure a sophisticated point of sale system via the use of the app that will be the
foundation of accounting controls. All payment transaction will happen via the use of the application
or website under an encrypted broadband connection to the company’s credit card processor. This will
eliminate the need for employees to handle payments and focus on the main operations of the business.
Also any customer information retained for marketing purposes will be stored on the company’s
server. Cameras will be installed in key areas. Access to the cameras will be available to authorized
users via an encrypted connection of the Internet. A password protected VPN client on the authorized
user’s workstation will provide the ability to monitor activities whenever necessary.
Additional measures will be taken to avoid internal and external theft:
a. Alarms will be set on each bicycle station.
b. Cameras will be installed in garage and in parking areas recording 24 hours.
c. All monetary transaction will be processed electronically via an encrypted POS.
d. Employee orientation will be hosted to reduce security concerns.
e. Inventory of bicycle will be managed by app in real time and other inventory count
will be performed in regular basis (at least once a month).
II. Operational Plan
A. Product and Services:
Park2Pedal service is to provide surveillance to bicycle at an affordable cost. The service will be an
alternative to street parking. The company plans to have several product stages. Per the product road
map below, Park2Pedal will initially start its parking offering via customized bicycle cargo, Pop up
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stores during peak seasons and areas, permanent parking in high traffic areas and lastly extend its
service offering by selling branded products or additional services like bicycle cleaning and tune ups.
Tools needed:
In order for Park2Pedalto functions it will need:
o App/website
o Parking Facilities
o IPhones to scan with camera
o Locks & racks to secure bicycles in place.
o Security system (alarm & camera)
B. Location:
Park2Pedal will operate from remote locations. Remote locations are strategically picked based on the
market and demand for the service. The company’s start off location will be the Brooklyn district 1
location, prior to Manhattan’s District 1, 2 and 3 in NYC.
District one in Brooklyn, includes Williamsburg and Greenpoint. This location will be used as the pilot
location and was strategically picked because it sees around 2,271 cyclists. So it’s not too big or too
small. In addition Brooklyn is known to be very welcoming to new ideas than other parts of NYC.
Product Road Map
I
Shuttle Parking
Pop up
container
store
Permanent
parking
Product Expansion
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Piloting the program here will allow Park2Pedal to have room for improvement and make adjustments
before move towards a more congested area.
Once the service delivery is fine-tuned and Park2Pedal will move to Manhattan’s Battery Park city and
Lower East Side area. These areas are right off 3 major bridges connecting Brooklyn to Manhattan
(Brooklyn, Manhattan and Williamsburg bridge). As of 2014, Approx. 8,849 cyclists commute daily.vii
According to Social explorer’s map Brooklyn’s District 1viii
sees an average of 2, 271 cyclists using a
bicycle as a mode of transportation.
District 1&2 in Manhattan has 4,259 cyclists alone
District 3 in Manhattan sees the
largest group of cyclist in NYC with
4,590 cyclists.
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Our location expansion plan will be based on:
 Number of ridership
 Growth of bike friendly areas.
 Accessibility to bike lanes or spaces to bike.
 Number of local referrals from customers and businesses.
Operating hours:
Cycling in NYC happens mostly between 7am and 7pm and decreases drastically after hours due to the
decrease in visibility. Park2Pedal hours will initially offer its services between these hours and adjust
based on the demand of the location.
C. Capacity & Process:
Bicycle Specs:
Average bicycle weight around15 lbs. to 30lbs. and is 2.30 feet wide, 4.20 feet high and almost 6 foot
long.
Shuttle Parking
Specs of Cargo Tricycle
Height: 6’
Length 8’
Wide: 5’
Sealed lockable box constructed from reinforced molded fiberglass with
padded interior
Can tow up to 250lbs/ Fits: 4 bicycles
Product Road Map
I
Cargo bike
Pop up
container
store
Permanent
parking
Product Expansion
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These Cargo tricycles will have several purposes for Park2Pedal. These eye-catching cycles will not
only serve as mobile billboards but also allow the company to be flexible with its location and reach.
Save Cost by not having to pay high rent for several physical locations. Reduce the Carbon monoxide
footprint and they are easy to maneuver and park.
 Cargo cycles will need to have working brakes, front and rear lights, front mirrors for safety
and to comply with regulations. They will also need to know the following parking
regulationsix
:
 An attendant will operate Park2Pedal cargo bikes. Each attendant will be assigned a route to
trail and set schedule. Each route will have assign stops (no more than 5 stops per route) where
the attendants will stop for max 10-15 minutes to load/unload or simply wait for customers.
Once the time is up they will move around to the next stop. After completing a loop they will
go to the main storage depot near their location and drop off the bicycle or pick up bicycles that
need to be returned. At least two cycles will cover a route to ensure there is always someone
covering the area. Here is a screenshot of the three routes and self-storage facilities that will be
used during the pilot:
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 Attendants will send a signal of their location via their mobile. This signal will be sent to the
company’s server with the exact location/ route of the shuttle so it can be tracked on a real time
map. The information will be updated into our app/ website so customers can locate it easily.
 Bicycles will be loaded into the shuttle and locked in place from the back of the shuttle through
double lockable swinging doors. The cargo area will be monitored via a camera and alarm
system. In order to unload the bicycles the alarm needs to be deactivated and bicycle needs to
be unlocked. To deactivate the alarm the attendant will need to use an electronic key, which can
be deactivated if needed.
 As part of the pilot Park2Pedal will use a storage units provided by a third parties like U-Haul.
As the company grows it will look to lease or own permanent locations. At that point the Cargo
cycles will be used as an optional bicycle shuttles for customers in designated areas.
 U-Haul provides self-storage solutions for business with a 24-hour access. Locations are secure
and easy to access. They also have convenient locations across NYC. Park2Pedal will use
storage units of 15’x20’x8’ (300 square feet)x
and use double deck bike racks to maximize
storage. The storage capacity of each unit will be 66 bicycles and will cost $650 a month. This
equals to $3 per sqft versus leasing a warehouse in Williamsburg, Brooklyn- Which costs an
average of $15-$18 per sqft. Sample floor plan of self storage below:
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
IIIIII
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
IIIIII
IIIII
Product Road Map
I
Cargo bike
Pop up
container
store
Permanent
parking
Product Expansion
II-Bike parking
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 Shuttle attendant will access the self-storage facilities as needed to drop off and pick up
bicycles.
Pop up container stores
Specs
20’ Length
8’ Height
8’ Wide
Large Lockable reusable steel boxes
Fit 32 bicycles
The pop up container stores will allow Park2Pedal to store larger amount of bicycles in high peaks
seasons and in locations where mobility is limited or restricted. This Pop up fun stores will be
customized by the company and will be used as a temporary solution during special events as outdoor
concerts, street fairs, triathlons, summer events. The interior will be divided in parking areas and
service areas where branded products could be sold and additional services offered, such as tune-ups.
Containers will need to be lifted at night or at the end of the event unless the facility is locked down
and under surveillance at night like private terraces in malls and other commercial areas. The Interior
will have padded surfaces to prevent bicycles from scratching.
 Users will drop off their bicycle directly to the store and will be to locate the facility via the
app/website.
uct Road Map
I
Pop up
container
store
Permanent
parking
Product Expansion
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Sample Floor plans for container stores.
Permanent Parking:
Once Park2Pedal has built a larger customer base then this option will be made
available. The benefits of having a permanent location will make it easier to operate
in high traffic areas. Clients will have the options to drop off and pick up their
bicycle directly from the location or drop it off with one of our Cargo cycle, which
will bring it to the permanent location.
 The company will look for an average of 2,500 sqft space to park around 500 bicycles. The
floor plan will depend on the availability of the place and the dimensions. The location will
need to be easy to access for bicycles. The interior will be divided in areas for parking and
service where branded products could be sold and additional services offered, such as tune-
ups.
Double deck bike racks will be used in all storage areas. Those racks are specialized to lock bicycle
into place and maximize storage. To keep bicycle safe and secure locks will have an alarm system,
which will deactivate with an electronic key. Padded sleeves will separate the bicycles to prevent
damage. In addition all storage units will be monitor via camera surveillance. See sample of storage
rack below:
d Map
I
up
ainer
Permanent
parking
Product Expansion
Service Area
16 Bikes in less than 48 Square Feet
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Bicycle will be loaded and locked in place. In addition the store will be monitored via a camera and
the attendants at all times. In order to unload the bicycles the alarm needs to be deactivated and
unlocked from rack. To deactivate the alarm the attendant will need to use an electronic key, which
can be deactivated if needed.
Service launch:
Service will be launched in 5 phases:
Phase 1: Launch Shuttles Parking in Brooklyn and Manhattan
 Weekdays in work place areas.
 Weekends in areas where people recreate
Phase 2: Launch Shuttles Parking in Queens and Bronx
 Weekdays in work place areas
 Weekends in areas where people recreate
Phase 3: Launch seasonal container parking for areas of high demand via partnerships or special
events.
Phase 4: Launch permanent locations in high concentration areas via partnerships or lease.
Phase 5: Launch branded product line/ bicycle services & expand to other cities.
Customer experience
Clients will need to create an account with Park2Pedal in order to use the service. The steps listed
below will only need to be taken once. Nonetheless, customers will be able to update their information
anytime afterwards.
o While creating an account they will be prompt to:
 Save their basic contact information (Name,email, phone, address).
 Save a Credit/debit card on file
 Pick a preferred method of payment (membership, subscription or one time
users)- Please note payments will not be processed until the service has been
completed.
 Build a quick profile for each bicycle they have (include make/ model/ color/
style).
Each bicycle will get a virtual tag to use via the app as part of the identifying process when checking
in and out of a parking facility.
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o In order to use the service clients will need to access the website or app & select:
 The bicycle(s) they need to park
 A timeframe of when they need to dropped off and picked up their bicycle
 The frequency of service (one time or reoccurring).
 Location (closest to their current location or they can input an address).
o Once they made their selection they will be able to see the available parking locations
closest to their desired location with their operating schedule.
o After selecting their preferred location (either a physical location or a stop of the
shuttle) they will be able to finalize their booking. Now, if they are parking for more
than 4 hours and the parking facility offers additional services, like Tune ups, then
they will get an additional screen offering
o They will receive a message confirming from Park2Pedal with their booking and a
copy of their virtual tag. Then later, reminders of their time to drop off and pick up
their bicycle will be sent. For shuttles Park2Pedal will send an ETA within a 30-
minute window prior to drop off or pick up.
o Customer will just need to show up to the parking location or shuttle stop- In addition
For shuttles, customers will be able to track their schedule and distance on a real time
map via the website or app.
o Once the shuttle shows up or they drop off their bicycle at a location, clients will just
need to show their virtual tag. The tag will be scanned via their phone or printed copy
to the parking attendant. The attendant just scans the tag and the client is all set to go.
o Customers will be able to track the progress of their parking space on their mobile. It
will show up as a progress bar, which will be very useful especially if their bicycle is
getting additional services done during their stopover.
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o Customer will get an alert of when they need to pick up their bicycle. For shuttles
clients will be able to obtain ETA and track them on a real time map or via the bicycle
tracker.
o The client picks up their bicycle with the bicycle tag. Tag is scanned to check out
bicycle and server is updated with available space on Park2Pedals end.
o Once service is completed client is charged for service and a message is sent to the
client with the confirmation.
o In the message, customers will be thanked for using the company and asked to rate the
service. Clients will also be given the option to give a tip to their parking/shuttle
attendant to show their gratitude.
On Park2Pedal’s end:
o Once client makes a booking an update get sent to the parking facility or shuttle so
they will have access to the daily booking schedules and can plan accordingly.
o Server will also be updated with parking availability. Meaning that as soon as
customer books a space the company will decrement the availability of the space and
the website/app will be updated with the information so it only reflects available
spaces left.
o When client is dropping off bicycle attendant will scan tag with the camera of their
iPhone. Information of bicycle and basic contact information of client will generate.
o Attendant will quickly confirm tag matches bicycle information and then load and
lock the bicycle on the bike rack.
o Based on the timeframe of the parking the operations will vary for shuttles cycles. For
example if the bicycle is going to be park for:
 Less than 2 hours: Attendant will keep bicycle on the shuttle cargo.
 More than 4 hours: Attendant will take the bicycle to main storage
location for the rest of the length and load bicycle back into the
shuttles 30 min prior to pick up time.
Bicycle Tracker
24
o As the bicycle moves around from location they will get scanned to update the
progress bar and keep the client up to date. Progress will be customized base on what
service the client is getting.
o When the client picks up their bicycle- Attendant will scan the virtual tag from client
to check out bicycle. Quickly confirm bicycle information and return the bicycle.
o Once the service has been completed our server will process payment and send a
confirmation.
Revenue streams:
Park2Pedalwill have 3 different revenue streams.
o Users paying for parking.
o Branded product sale/bicycle services.
o Contractual revenue from partnerships.
Pricing
Park2Pedalhas different types of Pricing.
i)Unlimited parking- No annual fee
o $20-30 days subscription for unlimited parking during the day.
o $180- One year unlimited parking during the day (25% off)
*(Operating hours will vary based on locations. Most locations will start from 7am to 7pm)
ii)Subscription with Annual fee
o $40 annual fee and pay $2 per usage.
iii) One time usage
o One time users Pay $10 during the day (No subscription)
iv) Penalty fees:
o Overnight $5 per night
o Late Pick up fee $2
o Do not show booking fee of $1 (Park2Pedalwill have a 15min grace period before
Charging fee)
v) Additional services:
o Bicycle tune ups: $50
o Bicycle cleaning: $20
o Flat tire: $10 per tire
o Branded products Avg price $10-$20 (However will vary)
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D. Key Milestones for Success:
Operations planning keys to success:
o Functional Technology to support user experience and operations.
o Efficiency in inventory control-Finding the right place and time to be and managing
availability of parking spots.
o Keeping customers informed about product and services.
Part III: Marketing Plan
A. Overview and Goals
Overview
The marketing plan is developed in order to support Park2Pedal’s goals and strategies. It is based on
the strategic goals as well as from knowledge gained during the situation analysis of the industry,
competitors and target market. The marketing tactics will focus on efficient PR campaigns, including
strong Internet search engine optimization, social media presence and events sponsorship. The
marketing plan will follow the three strep awareness,acquisition, and retention and loyalty model.
Awareness Acquisition
Retention &
Loyalty
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Marketing Goals
 To create a strong brand awareness
 To build market share.
 To gain at least 10,000 customers by year 3.
 To retain and create a loyal customer base
 To make Park2Pedalthe number one option for cyclist to leave their bicycle.
 Create a community of bicycle riders.
B. Market Analysis
Industry
Park2Pedal falls within two industries the Parking/Garage industry and the Bicycle industry. Per
information below both Industries are very promising.
Bicycle Industry
Riding a Bicycle is a convenient form of transportation and provides three distinct advantages that
include price, performance and environment protection. Compared to other products that faded out of
Parking lots &
Garages
$10 BN
$6.1BN
Bicycle
Industry Size
27
consumer’s life, bicycles continue to exist in the market. The global bicycle industry is expected to
reach an estimated $65 billion by 2019. xi
The growth is driven primarily by its eco-friendly
characteristics, growth in cycling as a preferred recreational and fitness activity, growing traffic
congestion, and rising prices of public transportation. NYC is a great example of this phenomenon. As
shown in the following graphs NYC has seen a large in increase in ridership across the board.
Governments across the world are also aiding the bicycle industry through various bicycle promotion
projects and policies. In exchange they benefit from reduction in pollution, reduced cost in roads
repairs and economical growth. Studies show that bikers are more likely than drivers to stop and spend
at local retailers rather than driving to suburban malls. By driving 20% less than other places, cities
like Portlanders contribute to $800 million to the local economy per studies.xii
28
The bicycle industry is currently valued to $6.1 billion in the US and the number of frequent adult
cyclists has been increasing by 12% since the year 2000.xiii
Bicycles purchased in the United States
are mostly produced in Asia. Per the chart below the world bicycle production has spiked in
comparison to the number of automobile produced.
29
Parking/Garage Industry:
In the US the parking lot and garage industry is currently valued to $10 billion and has been growing
at a rate of 1.2% annuallyxiv
. However, The global parking market is expected have an annual growth
rate of 11.4% from 2014 to 2019. This means the market will be worth $8630.76 million by 2019xv
.
This is due to the result of cities becoming more urbanized and space to find parking more restricted.
In term of bicycle alone studies show that bicycle parking brings in more revenue than car parking—
The Blue zonesxvi
project in Fort Worth, Texas, pointed out that an 160 bike spaces cost $12,000xvii
—
about the same as a single car space, which means you can accommodate more people in the same
space of a car and make it more lucrative. However, most parking lots go after cars because it’s the
largest share of the market and charge cyclist high prices to discourage the use.
SWOT Analysis
 Strengths:
o First mover advantage
o Unique service tailored to Cyclist’s need
o Operationally strong
o Strong partnerships/ Build community around Cyclists
o Various income streams
o Strong brand
o Proprietary technology to manage resources and connect with users
 Weaknesses
o Cost associated with owning customized equipment’s.
o Have seasonality/slow seasons
o Learning curve for the company and clients since it’s a new service offering.
 Opportunities
o Usage of technology
o Partnership opportunities with government or local businesses
o Product expansion to events sponsorship or Branded products
o Bike friendly legislations
o Growth in Healthy trends
o Rising cost of public transportation and fuel
30
 Threats
o Insurance cost keeps increasing
o Changes in trends
o New legislations
o Stronger competitors
o Improving economy
o New substitutes to biking.
Competitors:
Currently there is no other company that matches the services Park2Pedal offers. Currently, options for
a cyclist to park their bicycle are to either lock it to a street pole or bike rack if available. In some
cases they can use parking garages, but they are pricey and are mainly focus on cars users. An indirect
substitute to our offering is bike sharing programs/Citi bikes, however, this service is usually limited in
locations, time and availability. Bicycles are usually an extension of one self and these bikes lack
esthetic due to being branded and bulky. Park2Pedal users are sophisticated bike riders, who care
about their bicycle and see it as long-term investment for their health and the preservation of the
planet.
Competitive Advantage:
Park2Pedal benefits from the first-mover initiative as the company introduces a unique service tailored
to cyclists. Additional competitive advantages will be our use of technology to manage our resources
and connect with our customers. The company will provide a seamless service across its different
locations. Park2Pedal will also partner with key governmental agencies and local businesses to build
stronger communities for cyclist in order to upkeep the environment, health and economy of its
communities.
C. Target Analysis
35.6 million Americans age seven and older were estimated to have ridden a bicycle six times or more
in 2014, according to the National Sporting Goods Association NSGA.xviii
In New Yorker City over
200,000 are biking our streets every day and more than 500,000 adult New Yorkers use their bicycles
at least once per month for exercise or transportation.xix
The Bicycle Market Research Institute
reported in 2006 reported that 73% of adult cyclists rode for recreation, 53% for fitness, 10% for
commuting, 8% racing and 6% sport. The figures add up to more than 100% because some ride in
multiple ways.
31
Primary Target: Commuters
This particular group comprises at least 10% of the cyclist community and it’s the fastest growing
segment of cyclists with an approximate 13% growth rate per year. The average bicycle commuter has
been commuting by bike for 8.3 years. 30% of bike commuters use a mountain bike, 28% a road bike,
18% a hybrid, and 17% a touring bike. 35% own a second bicycle.
Meet Mark!
Demography:
Age: 30 - 50
Status: Busy, healthy lifestyle, established careers.
Demo: $70K+, mostly male, working professionals.
Habit: Mass transit Avoider.
Characteristics:
 Commute by subway 3 days a week and by bicycle2 days a week. Dayscyclingincreases
as he gets more confortablewith his commute.
 He rides a bicycle for about 40 minutes.
 Spent an average of $1000 per bike plus $200 in accessories.
 He owns two bicycles. One is a bad-weather bike.
 He doesn’t have time or desire to go to a gym but wants to stay fit and healthy.
 He enjoys life, and wants to take control of his happiness.
 He is very tech savvy but enjoys unplugging from his devices.
Motto: “The journey is part of the destination”
Quote from a commuter like Mark:
“Nothing puts me in a bad mood like sitting in stop-and-go traffic. I’d much rather start the day
whooshing down hills as the sun rises and pedaling my way to the train station. Plus, I don’t have to
invest in a gym membership and my money can be saved for more important things like happy hour.”xx
Touch points: Lifestyle magazines, newspapers and blogs. Social media (PInterest, Twitter,
Facebook, Linked in, Google), Bicycle interest apps like bike lanes maps, subway ads.
32
Secondary Target: Outdoors enthusiast
This particular group comprises 73% of the cyclist community. It’s the largest segment of cyclists. The
average rider tends to be men except for the outdoor enthusiast who sees the most female ridership
than the other groups. Bicycling is the most popular outdoor activity among youth in America, and it
is also the outdoor activity they do with the second-highest frequency.xxi
This group tends to own 2-3
bicycles.
Meet Carrie!
Demography:
Age: 20-40
Status: Busy, Outgoing and trendy.
Demo: $40K+, college students to working professional. 42% female
Habit: Experience seekers,FOMO generation (fear of missing out)
Characteristics:
 Rides bicycle mostly over the weekend or time off.
 Uses cycling as part of the destination.
 Loves to ride to stay in shape and explore new areas.
 Make frequent stops to enjoy the views of the city, eat, and shop or sunbath.
 Tends to cycle with others and enjoys social gatherings.
 Bicycle is an extension of one and invested in a good bike. Avg price of bicycle is $1000.
 Has tendency to forge deep and abiding connections with brands.
 Likes to experience the outdoors as a way to connect with family and friends, enjoy nature,
and escape everyday obligations.
Motto:“Life is a beautiful ride”
Quote from an outdoor enthusiast like Carrie: "I don’t have a bucket list but my bike it list is a mile
long." xxii
Touch Points: Events sponsorship, social media (Instagram, Facebook, PInterest,Snap chat), Event &
destination apps & website ex: Meetup.com, lifestyle magazines and blogs, Banner ads, out of home
advertising.
33
D. Marketing Strategy
Overview:
The overall plan for Park2Pedal’s service is based on the following fundamentals of:
 A segmentation strategy to reach target market and people who want to reach them too.
 Distribution channels planned to reach target:social media, blogs, print, and events
sponsorship.
 Share of the market expected to capture over a fixed period of time.
Method ofdistribution:
Park2Pedalsells directly to the customer, is primarily a service business, with the exception of our
branded products expansion line that will come from wholesalers merchants.
Brand Identity:
Park2Pedal is a convenient solution for parking your bicycle. The company fits any budgets needs.
Park2Pedal is not just a brand it also builds an identity for cyclist by connecting with them on issues
they care. The brand joins the movement of sustainable transportation and motivates more cyclists to
bike on a daily basis. Park2bike connects with cyclists with a comforting and motivational tone.
Brand Positioning:
Compare to other options on the road Park2Pedal will position its self as the safest option as well as
being budget friendly.
34
Marketing Channels/Media
We will use both traditional and digital marketing channels to reach our potential customers.
Expensive
Safe/convenient
Affordable
Risky/ inconvenient
Media
Mix
35
E. Execution:
Brand awareness campaign
1. Create website and social media presence on Facebook,twitter, Instagram, P-interest and
other social media platforms in trend.
2. Search engine marketing will be implemented to make it efficient for customers to find us as
they search for similar products. Park2Pedalwill use Ad words and organic search engine
techniques to optimize all our media channels.
 Impressions: 20,000
 Cost: $36,000
Park2Pedal
www.Park2Pedal.com
Join Now Find Parking How it works
www.Park2Pedal.com
Join Now Find Parking How it works
Park2Pedal
A parking solution for bicycle!
www.Park2Pedal.com
Join Now Find Parking How it works
Park2Pedal
A parking solution for bicycle!
www.Park2Pedal.com
Join Now Find Parking How it works
36
3. Banner ads on apps, social media, online print and websites targeted to people who ride
bicycle in NYC via the usage of AdSense.
 CTR is 2%/CPC:$1.02xxiii
/Reach: 50,000
4. In App advertisement with NYC Bike maps. This great way to reach my targeted audience.
Users of this application are bicycle riders in NYC.
NYC bike map app (Free app)
Has 50,000 downloadsxxiv
.
Top app for bikers in NYC. This map downloads to your phone, so it’s available
even when you’re not on the Internet. Shows bike lanes throughout the city, as
well as NYC bike rules and a list of bike shops throughout town.
Cost of advertising $5 per clicks of about 5%CTR. Total cost $12,000 in app advertisement
Events sponsorship: Park2Pedalwill attendant severalevents during the year to network and connect
with potential customers. Here is a list of events Park2Pedalplans to attend.
Total Cost $5449 per year for a total reach of 350,000 people.
Cost: $650 per street fair.xxv
Reach:300,000 people
Attending all 3 days
Total Cost $650 x 3= $1950
NYC Bike expo cost: $1650xxvi
Frequency once per year
Reach: 50,000 people
Park2Pedal
www.Park2Pedal.com
Join Now Find Parking How it works
37
Sponsor Meet up groups in NYCxxvii
:
 Bike’n eat
Members 1,904
Spend $1000 per year
http://www.meetup.com/nyc-bike-food/
 Urban cyclists
Members 1,334
Spend $1000 per year
http://www.meetup.com/UrbanCyclists/
5. Print: Park2Pedal’s target market likes to unplug from their devices and consume non-digital
media. Using print is still a great way to reach your audience. The company will purchase on
the bicycle times magazine and provide a special coupon code to track conversion ratexxviii
.
Acquisition campaign
1. Publish info graphics & videos on how to use our service will be posted on our website and
different media channels to educate potential customers on how our service works.
Join Now Fin
Reach:11,800 in Tri-state area.
25-55 Years old
68% Male
90K plus Income
Riding habit 3- 6 times a week
Owns 2-3 bicycles
Top selling magazine at Barnes
and Nobles, Book a Million,
Meijers & Krogers
Cost: Full-page 3x $3,150
38
2. Coupons sent to local bike shops. Coupons are a great way to attract and get existing
customers coming to your business. As part of Park2Pedal we want to offer potential
customers the ability to try our services for free as a one-time courtesy. In order to redeem
their coupon users will need to register on our app/ website in order to active an account.
3. Freebies to well connected influencers like Bill Cummingham:
 83 years old street photographer for the New York Times.
 Bill bikes the streets of NYC everyday- He is a true inspiration
to all the cyclist community in NYC.
 Unfortunately up to this day he has had 33 bicycles stolen.
 As a token of our appreciation for his hard work and dedication
to cycling the streets of NYC,Park2Pedalwill offer him unlimited
parking for free at any of our facilities.
Bill Cummingham is an iconic figure in the fashion and publishing world. Offering our
services will connect us with bike riders in NYC, who looks up to him as a symbol that
cycling helps you live longer.
Retention and brand loyalty Campaign
1. Email campaigns: Cost per month is $34/$420 per year/ and you can send unlimited emails to
39
up to 2,600 subscribers via Mail champ. Emails will be sent on special occasions like
birthdays, anniversaries, services updates, promotions and special events notifications.
2. Build customer support section on website and app with option for live chat, blogs and FAQ.
In addition they will have the ability to reach Park2pedalparking attendants via phone for
additional questions.
3. Social media Contest: for example Park2pedal will tease consumers to share their favorite
pictures on a bicycle via the Hashtag #iPark2Pedaland the picture with the most likes will win
$100 in bicycle accessories.
4. Loyalty program: Park2Pedalwill work on loyalty program, where consumers earn points
each times they use our services to redeem on tune ups or bicycle cleaning services.
F. Timeframe:
Park2Pedalwill scatter their activities through out the year.
G. Budget & Cost:
Here is the break down on how funds will be spent in during the Marketing plan. Total budget
for all 3 years willbe $58,539.
40
H. Measures of success:
It’s going to be very important for Park2Pedalto measure it successes with each marketing tactics by
tracking:
Traffic
 # Of traffic to site & mobile app
 Traffic source
 CTR & Cost per CTR
Conversion
 Cost per lead
 Conversation rate
 Repeat purchase rate
Revenue
 Avg transaction per customer
 ROI
41
 Cost of AC
Engagement
 Testimonials, likes shares,comments.
 Email list size
 Time spent on site
IV. Financial Plan
Providedbelow is a summary of the key budget areas used as assumptions for the financial
projections.
A. Benchmarks
Several variables where analyzed and combined to estimate the number of projected sales.
a. Number of people whoride a bicyclein NYC whowould potentially purchase
Park2Pedal’s service. Out of 500,000 riders in NYC, 10% are commuters (50,000)
and 73% are outdoor enthusiasts (365,000).
b. Industry trends and growth rate- Combined industries growth rate in the US=6%.
c. Marketing effortsaverage conversionrate (2-3%).
Park2Pedaldo facesthe challenge of not having ample data on competitors to benchmark due to
the uniqueness of its service offering.
B. Three years sales projections
42
Phases 1 &2
Phase 3
Phases 4 & 5
Here is the quarterly breakdown of the three years revenue projection:
43
C. Operational Cost:
Cost ofService provided Per spot:
The COGS is expected to increase over the 3 years as we implement each phases.
Occupancy & Average Order value
• Commuters will use service in average 3 days per week.
10% are monthly subscribers.
• Avg Sales price per Unit is $1.48
• AOV per quarter=$1.48x3x4.5x3=$59.94
5% are yearly subscribers
• Avg Sales Price per Unit is $1.11
• AOV per quarter=$1.11x3x4.5x3=$44.95
• Outdoors Enthusiast will use service for an average of 4 times per month.
60% are annual fee +pay per park subscriber.
• Avg Sales price per unit $2.88
• AOV per quarter =$2.88x4x3=$34.56
10% are one-time users.
• Avg Price per Unit is $5
• AOV per quarter=$5x4x3=$60
44
D. Three years income statement
E. Break-evenanalysis.
45
Fixed cost
Fixed Cost
Marketing 19,513
Website app 116,666
Assets
Depreciation 32,988
Total $169,167
Variable cost
Variable cost
Salaries 553,230
Bike racks 9,100
Equipment 204,800
Salaries 553,230
Total $1,320,360
The total number of parking spots available once all the phases are completed is 2184 units and each
spot is used by an average of 1.5 clients per day. Total units=3270 units per day/ 1,195,740 units per
year.
Fixed Cost $169,167
Variable Cost per unit $1.11
Sales Price Per unit $2.61
Break-Even (Units) 112,778
Break-Even ($) $294,351
Financial Projections:
Park2Pedalis expected to break even in a year after the service is launched. Forecast for identified
growth resulting from a devoted and loyal customer-based and aggressive marketing initiatives
indicate that Park2Pedalwill exceed $1 million in sales by the end of year 3.
46
Bibliography:
i http://www.nyc.gov/html/dot/html/bicyclists/bikestats.shtml
ii https://transalt.org/issues/bike/bikefaq
iii http://www.bicycling.com/culture/advocacy/2014-top-50-bike-friendly-cities
iv http://gothamist.com/2015/04/16/bike_thieves_abound.php
vhttp://www.transalt.org/sites/default/files/news/magazine/044Fall/04baneofbicyclis
t.html
vi https://www.sba.gov/content/required-employee-benefits
vii http://www.socialexplorer.com/6f4cdab7a0/explore
viii http://www.socialexplorer.com/6f4cdab7a0/explore
ix http://parkitnyc.com/2011/05/pedicabs-follow-traffic-rules/
x http://www.uhaul.com/Locations/Self-Storage-near-Jersey-City-NJ-07302/003638/
xi http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/global-bicycle-industry-2014-2019-
trend-forecast-and-opportunity-analysis-269202531.html
xii http://www.fastcoexist.com/3021074/making-the-economic-case-for-cycling-
friendly-cities-with-bikeonomics
xiii http://www.statista.com/topics/1448/bicycle-industry-in-the-us/
xiv http://www.ibisworld.com/industry/default.aspx?indid=1739
xv http://www.parking-net.com/parking-industry-blog/market-growth-report-2014-
2019
xvi https://www.bluezones.com/about-blue-zones/
xvii http://www.fastcoexist.com/3021074/making-the-economic-case-for-cycling-
friendly-cities-with-bikeonomics
xviii http://nbda.com/articles/industry-overview-2014-pg34.htm
47
xix https://transalt.org/issues/bike/bikefaq
xx http://www.bikecommuters.com/2013/11/29/commuter-profile-emily-
shellabarger/
xxi http://www.peopleforbikes.org/statistics/category/participation-statistics
xxii http://www.sacredrides.com/blog/mountain-biking-quotes
xxiii http://www.hochmanconsultants.com/cost-of-ppc-advertising/
xxivhttps://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.webcomrades.bike.newyork&hl
=en
xxv http://manhattan.about.com/od/careersjobs/a/streetfairsvendorlicense.htm
xxvi http://www.bike.nyc/events/bike-expo-new-york/become-an-exhibitor/
xxvii http://help.meetup.com/customer/portal/articles/615408-how-to-sponsor-
meetups
xxviii http://www.rotatingmassmedia.com/bicycletimes/

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Park2Pedal Business Plan- Capstone

  • 1. Park2Pedal Business Plan Prepared on December 2015 By Liza Perez
  • 2. 2 TableofContents Executive Summary  Market Opportunity  Management  Capital requirement  Financial Projection Organizational Plan: A. Summary of Business concept B. Management, Advisor & Personnel C. Strategic Partners D. Accounting & Legal E. Insurance F. Security Operations Plan A. Product & Services B. Location C. Projected employee costs D. Capacity &Process E. Key Milestone for Successes Marketing Plan: A. Overview & Goals B. Marketing analysis C. Target Analysis D. Strategy E. Execution F. Timeframe G. Budget & Cost H. Measurement of Success Financial Plan A. Benchmarks B. 3 year Revenue Projections C. 3 years income statement D. Break–even Analysis Bibliography
  • 3. 3 Executive Summary Park2Pedal- a parking solution for bicycle will be establish with the objective to provide monitored parking for bicycle throughout New York City via mobile or stationary garages and partnerships. Park2Pedal is a NYC based company. This business plan will serve as a plan that will guide the company through the administrative, marketing, and financial issues that are inherent in reaching a growth plan. Market Opportunity: NYC is one of the most bike friendly cities in the US with more than 500,000 adult New Yorkersi use a bike at least once a month. The city has more than 350 miles of bike lanes, many of them barricaded from traffic by concrete and parking lanes, encouraging even casual cyclists to ride down Broadway and through a car-free Times Square. Bicycling is New York City’s fastest-growing mode of transportation and has seen the fastest growth in ridership. According to the Department of Transportation's (DOT) Commuter Cycling Indicator, there was a 13% increase in daily commuter bicycling between 2009 and 2010 alone (see chart below).
  • 4. 4 Our city has seen double-digit growth in bike ridership for four straight years -- effectively doubling the number of regular cyclists on our streets, according to the DOT's annual counts.ii The reason for its fast growth is associated with the city’s effort to improve the roads for cyclists, the growing traffic congestion and increase cost in public transportation. Bicycles are often the quickest method to travel across town. New York City is still working on making the city a better place for bikers and according to Mayor Bill de Blasio bicycling will comprise 6% of all trips in the city by 2020.iii Management: Liza Perez manages Park2Pedal. She has more than five prior years of experience in marketing and team management. Previously she worked in a service industry selling and marketing products and services. Liza has established a strong team of very dedicated people who are eager to make a difference in the world. As manager her role is to handle the Marketing, business development and maintaining relationships with key partners. Capital requirement: Park2Pedal is seeking funding in the amount of $171,179 for the purpose of purchasing
  • 5. 5 equipment, licenses, build the technology to operate the business (ex: app &website) and pre- launch marketing efforts. Breakdownoftheuse offunds Providedbelow is a breakdown of the use of funds. Activity Cost Registration & Parking licenses $10,000 Customization & Equipment $25,000 Marketing $19,513 Technology (App/Website) $116,666 Total $171,179 Financial Projection: Park2Pedalis expected to break even in a year after our service is launched. Forecast for identified growth resulting from a devoted and loyal customer-based and aggressive marketing initiatives indicate that Park2Pedalwill exceed $1million in sales by the end of year 3. Part I: Organizational plan A. Summary of Business concept: Park2Pedal surged as a need to solve the current lack of adequate parking space for bicycle in NYC. As the city grows more bike-friendly the amount of bikes stolen is also rising. For the last few years: there has been about 2,894 bikes stolen in 2011; 3,503 in 2012; 4,249 in 2013; and 4,849 in 2014. That's almost a 70% increase in thefts in just four years.iv In effort to prevent bike theft legislations like the NYC's Bicycle Access to Buildings Law in 2009 was passed. This law requires commercial buildings to allow tenants to bring their bicycles into offices using the freight elevator if their employer approves the request to bring the bike up into the office. Unfortunately, the legislation is seeing little success since most employers don’t have the space to accommodate bicycles in their office. According to a TfGM survey the 5th barrier to cycling is the “lack of safe storage facilities” (see graph below) and per TransitAlternative.org if cyclists were guaranteed safe bike parking, the number of people biking to work would quickly double.v
  • 6. 6 Another option for cyclist is to park the bike in a garage. The city also passed a law that requires garages with 100 or more vehicles to provide bicycle parking at a rate of at least one space for every ten-vehicle spaces. The problem is that most garages don’t want bike commuters because it means losing car users. In order to discourage the use they charge very high prices ($75 a higher a month per spot.). The only option left is the street and it’s adversities. NYC streetparking: Vandalized bikes:
  • 7. 7 Mission Statement: Park2Pedal mission is to provide value added products and services that meets urban cyclists and their evolving needs. We build lasting relationships and communities to advocate on the safety and security issues that affect them along the road. Strategy: Park2Pedal’s long-term goal is to be the forerunner in dominating the bicycle parking service nationwide. Our goal is to provide an innovative solution to solve the bicycle-parking problem by providing clients with a seamless experience across our locations. Park2Pedal is looking to create both an online and physical presence across the industry. The Company drives to go beyond just being a parking space by connecting with its users on different platforms or via different products offerings. Location Park2Pedal will operate from remote locations. Remote locations are strategically picked based on the market and demand for the service. The company’s start off location will be all five Boroughs in NYC. Each location in NYC will be launched by phases prior to expanding to other areas of the country. AdministrativePlan C. Legal Structure:
  • 8. 8 Park2Pedal will be registered as a Limited Liability Company (LLC) under the law of the state of New York. D. Management, Advisor and Personnel Park2Pedal has a strong management team as well as a board of director, committed to achievement and excellence. The Company’s management philosophy is based on responsibility and mutual respect. We have an environment that encourages creativity and hard work. Pedal2Park’s management team provides strong leadership ability, sales and marketing expertise, and an extensive knowledge in the Internet and cycling world. Staffing structure Core management team Liza Perez, Co-owner/ President • MS In Integrated Marketing at NYU. • BA in Marketing Management at Baruch College. • 4 years of experience in Marketing, PR and team management. • Outdoor enthusiast bicycle rider. Liza Perez, Co-Owner & President Felipe Garcia, Co-Owner& Head of Operations Parking Attendants Shuttle Attendants Guillermo Lopez, Head of Technology Augusto Gomez, Mechanical Engineer Bicycle Mechanics
  • 9. 9 Responsibilities:  Handle the marketing and business development initiatives.  Build and maintaining relationships with strategic partners.  Oversee and manage all operations along with co-founder. Felipe Garcia, Co-Owner/Operations Manager • Bachelors in Business administration from Nassau College. • Has over 4 years of experience in the Bicycle industry. • Founder of Brooklyn studios, a manufacturer of customized bicycle. • Daily cyclist commuter and advocate for a bike friendly world. Responsibility:  Work in supply management and product development.  Work in the customization of our parking spaces to provide a unique and seamless UX.  Hire, train and manage staff. Guillermo Lopez, Technology Development Manager  BA in Computer Science.  Application developer expert at HeBS Digital.  Worked for the MTA as a server operator in obtaining and writing user guide for software to facilitate inventory management and tracking.  Riding bicycle is his preferred form of exercise. Responsibility:  Build and Maintain Park2Pedalapp, website and any technology software/ server used by the company.  Work on creating a unique UX as well as setting up a server who can manage Park2Pedal’s inventory and POS.  Ensure information and inventory is kept secure via the use of encrypted technology.
  • 10. 10 Augusto Gomez, Mechanical Engineer Intern  Currently studying Mechanical Engineering at Vaughn College.  Previously worked 7 years in Aviation structural mechanic in the NAVY.  Loves to participate in Triathlons and bike tours. Responsibility:  Design bike racks and parking facilities to maximize space and functionality.  Maintain and repair equipment.  Promote Park2Pedalduring races and bike tours. Board of Advisor: Robin Chase Robin Chase is a transportation entrepreneur. She is co-founder and former CEO of Zipcar, the largest car sharing company in the world; Buzz car, a peer-to-peer car sharing service in France (now merged with Drivy); and GoLoco, an online ridesharing community. She is also co-founder and Executive Chairman of Veniam, a vehicle communications company building the networking fabric for the Internet of Moving Things. Chase loves spending her time giving talks about innovation, entrepreneurship, technology, transportation, cities, and climate change. Money is not an incentive for her; she cares more on how she can help make the world a better place (Just like Park2Pedal). Personnel: Park2Pedal places an extremely high value on the importance of its workforce. Management realizes that the strength of the company’s personnel is key to its success. As such, plans include filling staff positions with people who embraces the cycling world and lifestyle. All employees will be treated with respect, compensated sufficiently and provided with a professional environment. The company will implement various incentive aimed to retain employees and minimize turnover. Group events, bonus, contest will be implemented to promote engagement and boost moral. Engaged employees are more
  • 11. 11 inclined at making customers happy. As a result the company will profit from repeat business as customers establish positive relationships with Park2Pedalemployees. The Company plans to hire at 24 hourly employees at an average of wage rate that totals $10.50 per year per employee. Personnel Profile:  High school education or higher.  Pass a background check.  Knows how to ride a bicycle safely.  Physical endurance to tow or carry at least 100 pounds.  Resilient to weather change and can navigate through crowded streets efficiently and safely.  Detail Oriented: Pay close attention to all the little details.  Trustworthy: Known for your personal integrity and honesty.  Team Player: Listen, Communicate, and Work with tons of different people.  Enjoys cycling and are interested in its lifestyle. Responsibility:  Operate parking facilities  Pick up and drop off bicycles in assigned areas.  Check in and check out customers via our system.  Lock bicycle securely and monitor.  Manage parking units to the most efficient way. Projected Personnel Costs Staff will be hired both as fulltime and Part time contract staff. All fulltime employees get basic salary benefits. The split is 70% to 30%. Benefits will include social security taxes, unemployment insurance, worker compensation, and disability insurance; leave benefits as required by the law.vi The minimum wage in NYC is $8.75 per hour and in the case of Park2pedal attendants will make up the rest of the wages through tips. Merit will vary from 0%-5% per year and will be based evaluated based on performance. Compensation for part-time staff will only be given minimum wage without any compensation and benefit. Part-time staff will also be able supplement wages through tips.
  • 12. 12 D. Strategic Partners: Park2Pedal plans to build strong partnerships with companies and communities who will benefit from their services. Partnerships are going to be a key component to grow their business footprint. Targeted partners will be: • The Department of transportation (DOT)- will benefits from the reduction in carbon monoxide, lower cost to repair roads caused by cars and better healthier and happier New Yorkers by lower insurance cost by providing a healthier alternative to commute to work. • Parks and Recreation- will benefit from the increase in traffic and longer visits from cyclist. • Businesses who target cyclists- will benefit from the joined forces and business exposure. • Local Business- will benefit from lower insurance cost by providing a healthier alternative to commute to work. Increase in productivity by having happier employees. Improvement in the local economy since bike friendly areas tend to attract more tourists. • Bike-friendly advocate organizations- will benefit from a service uniquely tailored to their member’s need. E. Accounting and Legal Accounting: Day to day bookkeeping will be done in-house and will be kept on a computer via the use of the software “QuickBooks Pro”. For added accounting and finance functions, Park2Pedal has retained the services of Progresso Accountants & Advisors. Legal: For all legal aspects relating the business, Park2Pedal has retained the services of Chandra Law Offices, PC. F. Insurance:
  • 13. 13 The following insurance policies will be obtained for Park2Pedal:  Property  General Liability  Umbrella/Excess Liability  Workers compensation For all is insurance needs,Park2Pedalhas retained the services of Liberty Mutual Group. G. Security: Park2Pedal understand that providing security is one of its main goals and take the matter very seriously. The company plans to implement several checkpoints to ensure the security is not breached. Park2Pedal plans to procure a sophisticated point of sale system via the use of the app that will be the foundation of accounting controls. All payment transaction will happen via the use of the application or website under an encrypted broadband connection to the company’s credit card processor. This will eliminate the need for employees to handle payments and focus on the main operations of the business. Also any customer information retained for marketing purposes will be stored on the company’s server. Cameras will be installed in key areas. Access to the cameras will be available to authorized users via an encrypted connection of the Internet. A password protected VPN client on the authorized user’s workstation will provide the ability to monitor activities whenever necessary. Additional measures will be taken to avoid internal and external theft: a. Alarms will be set on each bicycle station. b. Cameras will be installed in garage and in parking areas recording 24 hours. c. All monetary transaction will be processed electronically via an encrypted POS. d. Employee orientation will be hosted to reduce security concerns. e. Inventory of bicycle will be managed by app in real time and other inventory count will be performed in regular basis (at least once a month). II. Operational Plan A. Product and Services: Park2Pedal service is to provide surveillance to bicycle at an affordable cost. The service will be an alternative to street parking. The company plans to have several product stages. Per the product road map below, Park2Pedal will initially start its parking offering via customized bicycle cargo, Pop up
  • 14. 14 stores during peak seasons and areas, permanent parking in high traffic areas and lastly extend its service offering by selling branded products or additional services like bicycle cleaning and tune ups. Tools needed: In order for Park2Pedalto functions it will need: o App/website o Parking Facilities o IPhones to scan with camera o Locks & racks to secure bicycles in place. o Security system (alarm & camera) B. Location: Park2Pedal will operate from remote locations. Remote locations are strategically picked based on the market and demand for the service. The company’s start off location will be the Brooklyn district 1 location, prior to Manhattan’s District 1, 2 and 3 in NYC. District one in Brooklyn, includes Williamsburg and Greenpoint. This location will be used as the pilot location and was strategically picked because it sees around 2,271 cyclists. So it’s not too big or too small. In addition Brooklyn is known to be very welcoming to new ideas than other parts of NYC. Product Road Map I Shuttle Parking Pop up container store Permanent parking Product Expansion
  • 15. 15 Piloting the program here will allow Park2Pedal to have room for improvement and make adjustments before move towards a more congested area. Once the service delivery is fine-tuned and Park2Pedal will move to Manhattan’s Battery Park city and Lower East Side area. These areas are right off 3 major bridges connecting Brooklyn to Manhattan (Brooklyn, Manhattan and Williamsburg bridge). As of 2014, Approx. 8,849 cyclists commute daily.vii According to Social explorer’s map Brooklyn’s District 1viii sees an average of 2, 271 cyclists using a bicycle as a mode of transportation. District 1&2 in Manhattan has 4,259 cyclists alone District 3 in Manhattan sees the largest group of cyclist in NYC with 4,590 cyclists.
  • 16. 16 Our location expansion plan will be based on:  Number of ridership  Growth of bike friendly areas.  Accessibility to bike lanes or spaces to bike.  Number of local referrals from customers and businesses. Operating hours: Cycling in NYC happens mostly between 7am and 7pm and decreases drastically after hours due to the decrease in visibility. Park2Pedal hours will initially offer its services between these hours and adjust based on the demand of the location. C. Capacity & Process: Bicycle Specs: Average bicycle weight around15 lbs. to 30lbs. and is 2.30 feet wide, 4.20 feet high and almost 6 foot long. Shuttle Parking Specs of Cargo Tricycle Height: 6’ Length 8’ Wide: 5’ Sealed lockable box constructed from reinforced molded fiberglass with padded interior Can tow up to 250lbs/ Fits: 4 bicycles Product Road Map I Cargo bike Pop up container store Permanent parking Product Expansion
  • 17. 17 These Cargo tricycles will have several purposes for Park2Pedal. These eye-catching cycles will not only serve as mobile billboards but also allow the company to be flexible with its location and reach. Save Cost by not having to pay high rent for several physical locations. Reduce the Carbon monoxide footprint and they are easy to maneuver and park.  Cargo cycles will need to have working brakes, front and rear lights, front mirrors for safety and to comply with regulations. They will also need to know the following parking regulationsix :  An attendant will operate Park2Pedal cargo bikes. Each attendant will be assigned a route to trail and set schedule. Each route will have assign stops (no more than 5 stops per route) where the attendants will stop for max 10-15 minutes to load/unload or simply wait for customers. Once the time is up they will move around to the next stop. After completing a loop they will go to the main storage depot near their location and drop off the bicycle or pick up bicycles that need to be returned. At least two cycles will cover a route to ensure there is always someone covering the area. Here is a screenshot of the three routes and self-storage facilities that will be used during the pilot:
  • 18. 18  Attendants will send a signal of their location via their mobile. This signal will be sent to the company’s server with the exact location/ route of the shuttle so it can be tracked on a real time map. The information will be updated into our app/ website so customers can locate it easily.  Bicycles will be loaded into the shuttle and locked in place from the back of the shuttle through double lockable swinging doors. The cargo area will be monitored via a camera and alarm system. In order to unload the bicycles the alarm needs to be deactivated and bicycle needs to be unlocked. To deactivate the alarm the attendant will need to use an electronic key, which can be deactivated if needed.  As part of the pilot Park2Pedal will use a storage units provided by a third parties like U-Haul. As the company grows it will look to lease or own permanent locations. At that point the Cargo cycles will be used as an optional bicycle shuttles for customers in designated areas.  U-Haul provides self-storage solutions for business with a 24-hour access. Locations are secure and easy to access. They also have convenient locations across NYC. Park2Pedal will use storage units of 15’x20’x8’ (300 square feet)x and use double deck bike racks to maximize storage. The storage capacity of each unit will be 66 bicycles and will cost $650 a month. This equals to $3 per sqft versus leasing a warehouse in Williamsburg, Brooklyn- Which costs an average of $15-$18 per sqft. Sample floor plan of self storage below: IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII IIIIII IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII IIIIII IIIII Product Road Map I Cargo bike Pop up container store Permanent parking Product Expansion II-Bike parking
  • 19. 19  Shuttle attendant will access the self-storage facilities as needed to drop off and pick up bicycles. Pop up container stores Specs 20’ Length 8’ Height 8’ Wide Large Lockable reusable steel boxes Fit 32 bicycles The pop up container stores will allow Park2Pedal to store larger amount of bicycles in high peaks seasons and in locations where mobility is limited or restricted. This Pop up fun stores will be customized by the company and will be used as a temporary solution during special events as outdoor concerts, street fairs, triathlons, summer events. The interior will be divided in parking areas and service areas where branded products could be sold and additional services offered, such as tune-ups. Containers will need to be lifted at night or at the end of the event unless the facility is locked down and under surveillance at night like private terraces in malls and other commercial areas. The Interior will have padded surfaces to prevent bicycles from scratching.  Users will drop off their bicycle directly to the store and will be to locate the facility via the app/website. uct Road Map I Pop up container store Permanent parking Product Expansion
  • 20. 20 Sample Floor plans for container stores. Permanent Parking: Once Park2Pedal has built a larger customer base then this option will be made available. The benefits of having a permanent location will make it easier to operate in high traffic areas. Clients will have the options to drop off and pick up their bicycle directly from the location or drop it off with one of our Cargo cycle, which will bring it to the permanent location.  The company will look for an average of 2,500 sqft space to park around 500 bicycles. The floor plan will depend on the availability of the place and the dimensions. The location will need to be easy to access for bicycles. The interior will be divided in areas for parking and service where branded products could be sold and additional services offered, such as tune- ups. Double deck bike racks will be used in all storage areas. Those racks are specialized to lock bicycle into place and maximize storage. To keep bicycle safe and secure locks will have an alarm system, which will deactivate with an electronic key. Padded sleeves will separate the bicycles to prevent damage. In addition all storage units will be monitor via camera surveillance. See sample of storage rack below: d Map I up ainer Permanent parking Product Expansion Service Area 16 Bikes in less than 48 Square Feet
  • 21. 21 Bicycle will be loaded and locked in place. In addition the store will be monitored via a camera and the attendants at all times. In order to unload the bicycles the alarm needs to be deactivated and unlocked from rack. To deactivate the alarm the attendant will need to use an electronic key, which can be deactivated if needed. Service launch: Service will be launched in 5 phases: Phase 1: Launch Shuttles Parking in Brooklyn and Manhattan  Weekdays in work place areas.  Weekends in areas where people recreate Phase 2: Launch Shuttles Parking in Queens and Bronx  Weekdays in work place areas  Weekends in areas where people recreate Phase 3: Launch seasonal container parking for areas of high demand via partnerships or special events. Phase 4: Launch permanent locations in high concentration areas via partnerships or lease. Phase 5: Launch branded product line/ bicycle services & expand to other cities. Customer experience Clients will need to create an account with Park2Pedal in order to use the service. The steps listed below will only need to be taken once. Nonetheless, customers will be able to update their information anytime afterwards. o While creating an account they will be prompt to:  Save their basic contact information (Name,email, phone, address).  Save a Credit/debit card on file  Pick a preferred method of payment (membership, subscription or one time users)- Please note payments will not be processed until the service has been completed.  Build a quick profile for each bicycle they have (include make/ model/ color/ style). Each bicycle will get a virtual tag to use via the app as part of the identifying process when checking in and out of a parking facility.
  • 22. 22 o In order to use the service clients will need to access the website or app & select:  The bicycle(s) they need to park  A timeframe of when they need to dropped off and picked up their bicycle  The frequency of service (one time or reoccurring).  Location (closest to their current location or they can input an address). o Once they made their selection they will be able to see the available parking locations closest to their desired location with their operating schedule. o After selecting their preferred location (either a physical location or a stop of the shuttle) they will be able to finalize their booking. Now, if they are parking for more than 4 hours and the parking facility offers additional services, like Tune ups, then they will get an additional screen offering o They will receive a message confirming from Park2Pedal with their booking and a copy of their virtual tag. Then later, reminders of their time to drop off and pick up their bicycle will be sent. For shuttles Park2Pedal will send an ETA within a 30- minute window prior to drop off or pick up. o Customer will just need to show up to the parking location or shuttle stop- In addition For shuttles, customers will be able to track their schedule and distance on a real time map via the website or app. o Once the shuttle shows up or they drop off their bicycle at a location, clients will just need to show their virtual tag. The tag will be scanned via their phone or printed copy to the parking attendant. The attendant just scans the tag and the client is all set to go. o Customers will be able to track the progress of their parking space on their mobile. It will show up as a progress bar, which will be very useful especially if their bicycle is getting additional services done during their stopover.
  • 23. 23 o Customer will get an alert of when they need to pick up their bicycle. For shuttles clients will be able to obtain ETA and track them on a real time map or via the bicycle tracker. o The client picks up their bicycle with the bicycle tag. Tag is scanned to check out bicycle and server is updated with available space on Park2Pedals end. o Once service is completed client is charged for service and a message is sent to the client with the confirmation. o In the message, customers will be thanked for using the company and asked to rate the service. Clients will also be given the option to give a tip to their parking/shuttle attendant to show their gratitude. On Park2Pedal’s end: o Once client makes a booking an update get sent to the parking facility or shuttle so they will have access to the daily booking schedules and can plan accordingly. o Server will also be updated with parking availability. Meaning that as soon as customer books a space the company will decrement the availability of the space and the website/app will be updated with the information so it only reflects available spaces left. o When client is dropping off bicycle attendant will scan tag with the camera of their iPhone. Information of bicycle and basic contact information of client will generate. o Attendant will quickly confirm tag matches bicycle information and then load and lock the bicycle on the bike rack. o Based on the timeframe of the parking the operations will vary for shuttles cycles. For example if the bicycle is going to be park for:  Less than 2 hours: Attendant will keep bicycle on the shuttle cargo.  More than 4 hours: Attendant will take the bicycle to main storage location for the rest of the length and load bicycle back into the shuttles 30 min prior to pick up time. Bicycle Tracker
  • 24. 24 o As the bicycle moves around from location they will get scanned to update the progress bar and keep the client up to date. Progress will be customized base on what service the client is getting. o When the client picks up their bicycle- Attendant will scan the virtual tag from client to check out bicycle. Quickly confirm bicycle information and return the bicycle. o Once the service has been completed our server will process payment and send a confirmation. Revenue streams: Park2Pedalwill have 3 different revenue streams. o Users paying for parking. o Branded product sale/bicycle services. o Contractual revenue from partnerships. Pricing Park2Pedalhas different types of Pricing. i)Unlimited parking- No annual fee o $20-30 days subscription for unlimited parking during the day. o $180- One year unlimited parking during the day (25% off) *(Operating hours will vary based on locations. Most locations will start from 7am to 7pm) ii)Subscription with Annual fee o $40 annual fee and pay $2 per usage. iii) One time usage o One time users Pay $10 during the day (No subscription) iv) Penalty fees: o Overnight $5 per night o Late Pick up fee $2 o Do not show booking fee of $1 (Park2Pedalwill have a 15min grace period before Charging fee) v) Additional services: o Bicycle tune ups: $50 o Bicycle cleaning: $20 o Flat tire: $10 per tire o Branded products Avg price $10-$20 (However will vary)
  • 25. 25 D. Key Milestones for Success: Operations planning keys to success: o Functional Technology to support user experience and operations. o Efficiency in inventory control-Finding the right place and time to be and managing availability of parking spots. o Keeping customers informed about product and services. Part III: Marketing Plan A. Overview and Goals Overview The marketing plan is developed in order to support Park2Pedal’s goals and strategies. It is based on the strategic goals as well as from knowledge gained during the situation analysis of the industry, competitors and target market. The marketing tactics will focus on efficient PR campaigns, including strong Internet search engine optimization, social media presence and events sponsorship. The marketing plan will follow the three strep awareness,acquisition, and retention and loyalty model. Awareness Acquisition Retention & Loyalty
  • 26. 26 Marketing Goals  To create a strong brand awareness  To build market share.  To gain at least 10,000 customers by year 3.  To retain and create a loyal customer base  To make Park2Pedalthe number one option for cyclist to leave their bicycle.  Create a community of bicycle riders. B. Market Analysis Industry Park2Pedal falls within two industries the Parking/Garage industry and the Bicycle industry. Per information below both Industries are very promising. Bicycle Industry Riding a Bicycle is a convenient form of transportation and provides three distinct advantages that include price, performance and environment protection. Compared to other products that faded out of Parking lots & Garages $10 BN $6.1BN Bicycle Industry Size
  • 27. 27 consumer’s life, bicycles continue to exist in the market. The global bicycle industry is expected to reach an estimated $65 billion by 2019. xi The growth is driven primarily by its eco-friendly characteristics, growth in cycling as a preferred recreational and fitness activity, growing traffic congestion, and rising prices of public transportation. NYC is a great example of this phenomenon. As shown in the following graphs NYC has seen a large in increase in ridership across the board. Governments across the world are also aiding the bicycle industry through various bicycle promotion projects and policies. In exchange they benefit from reduction in pollution, reduced cost in roads repairs and economical growth. Studies show that bikers are more likely than drivers to stop and spend at local retailers rather than driving to suburban malls. By driving 20% less than other places, cities like Portlanders contribute to $800 million to the local economy per studies.xii
  • 28. 28 The bicycle industry is currently valued to $6.1 billion in the US and the number of frequent adult cyclists has been increasing by 12% since the year 2000.xiii Bicycles purchased in the United States are mostly produced in Asia. Per the chart below the world bicycle production has spiked in comparison to the number of automobile produced.
  • 29. 29 Parking/Garage Industry: In the US the parking lot and garage industry is currently valued to $10 billion and has been growing at a rate of 1.2% annuallyxiv . However, The global parking market is expected have an annual growth rate of 11.4% from 2014 to 2019. This means the market will be worth $8630.76 million by 2019xv . This is due to the result of cities becoming more urbanized and space to find parking more restricted. In term of bicycle alone studies show that bicycle parking brings in more revenue than car parking— The Blue zonesxvi project in Fort Worth, Texas, pointed out that an 160 bike spaces cost $12,000xvii — about the same as a single car space, which means you can accommodate more people in the same space of a car and make it more lucrative. However, most parking lots go after cars because it’s the largest share of the market and charge cyclist high prices to discourage the use. SWOT Analysis  Strengths: o First mover advantage o Unique service tailored to Cyclist’s need o Operationally strong o Strong partnerships/ Build community around Cyclists o Various income streams o Strong brand o Proprietary technology to manage resources and connect with users  Weaknesses o Cost associated with owning customized equipment’s. o Have seasonality/slow seasons o Learning curve for the company and clients since it’s a new service offering.  Opportunities o Usage of technology o Partnership opportunities with government or local businesses o Product expansion to events sponsorship or Branded products o Bike friendly legislations o Growth in Healthy trends o Rising cost of public transportation and fuel
  • 30. 30  Threats o Insurance cost keeps increasing o Changes in trends o New legislations o Stronger competitors o Improving economy o New substitutes to biking. Competitors: Currently there is no other company that matches the services Park2Pedal offers. Currently, options for a cyclist to park their bicycle are to either lock it to a street pole or bike rack if available. In some cases they can use parking garages, but they are pricey and are mainly focus on cars users. An indirect substitute to our offering is bike sharing programs/Citi bikes, however, this service is usually limited in locations, time and availability. Bicycles are usually an extension of one self and these bikes lack esthetic due to being branded and bulky. Park2Pedal users are sophisticated bike riders, who care about their bicycle and see it as long-term investment for their health and the preservation of the planet. Competitive Advantage: Park2Pedal benefits from the first-mover initiative as the company introduces a unique service tailored to cyclists. Additional competitive advantages will be our use of technology to manage our resources and connect with our customers. The company will provide a seamless service across its different locations. Park2Pedal will also partner with key governmental agencies and local businesses to build stronger communities for cyclist in order to upkeep the environment, health and economy of its communities. C. Target Analysis 35.6 million Americans age seven and older were estimated to have ridden a bicycle six times or more in 2014, according to the National Sporting Goods Association NSGA.xviii In New Yorker City over 200,000 are biking our streets every day and more than 500,000 adult New Yorkers use their bicycles at least once per month for exercise or transportation.xix The Bicycle Market Research Institute reported in 2006 reported that 73% of adult cyclists rode for recreation, 53% for fitness, 10% for commuting, 8% racing and 6% sport. The figures add up to more than 100% because some ride in multiple ways.
  • 31. 31 Primary Target: Commuters This particular group comprises at least 10% of the cyclist community and it’s the fastest growing segment of cyclists with an approximate 13% growth rate per year. The average bicycle commuter has been commuting by bike for 8.3 years. 30% of bike commuters use a mountain bike, 28% a road bike, 18% a hybrid, and 17% a touring bike. 35% own a second bicycle. Meet Mark! Demography: Age: 30 - 50 Status: Busy, healthy lifestyle, established careers. Demo: $70K+, mostly male, working professionals. Habit: Mass transit Avoider. Characteristics:  Commute by subway 3 days a week and by bicycle2 days a week. Dayscyclingincreases as he gets more confortablewith his commute.  He rides a bicycle for about 40 minutes.  Spent an average of $1000 per bike plus $200 in accessories.  He owns two bicycles. One is a bad-weather bike.  He doesn’t have time or desire to go to a gym but wants to stay fit and healthy.  He enjoys life, and wants to take control of his happiness.  He is very tech savvy but enjoys unplugging from his devices. Motto: “The journey is part of the destination” Quote from a commuter like Mark: “Nothing puts me in a bad mood like sitting in stop-and-go traffic. I’d much rather start the day whooshing down hills as the sun rises and pedaling my way to the train station. Plus, I don’t have to invest in a gym membership and my money can be saved for more important things like happy hour.”xx Touch points: Lifestyle magazines, newspapers and blogs. Social media (PInterest, Twitter, Facebook, Linked in, Google), Bicycle interest apps like bike lanes maps, subway ads.
  • 32. 32 Secondary Target: Outdoors enthusiast This particular group comprises 73% of the cyclist community. It’s the largest segment of cyclists. The average rider tends to be men except for the outdoor enthusiast who sees the most female ridership than the other groups. Bicycling is the most popular outdoor activity among youth in America, and it is also the outdoor activity they do with the second-highest frequency.xxi This group tends to own 2-3 bicycles. Meet Carrie! Demography: Age: 20-40 Status: Busy, Outgoing and trendy. Demo: $40K+, college students to working professional. 42% female Habit: Experience seekers,FOMO generation (fear of missing out) Characteristics:  Rides bicycle mostly over the weekend or time off.  Uses cycling as part of the destination.  Loves to ride to stay in shape and explore new areas.  Make frequent stops to enjoy the views of the city, eat, and shop or sunbath.  Tends to cycle with others and enjoys social gatherings.  Bicycle is an extension of one and invested in a good bike. Avg price of bicycle is $1000.  Has tendency to forge deep and abiding connections with brands.  Likes to experience the outdoors as a way to connect with family and friends, enjoy nature, and escape everyday obligations. Motto:“Life is a beautiful ride” Quote from an outdoor enthusiast like Carrie: "I don’t have a bucket list but my bike it list is a mile long." xxii Touch Points: Events sponsorship, social media (Instagram, Facebook, PInterest,Snap chat), Event & destination apps & website ex: Meetup.com, lifestyle magazines and blogs, Banner ads, out of home advertising.
  • 33. 33 D. Marketing Strategy Overview: The overall plan for Park2Pedal’s service is based on the following fundamentals of:  A segmentation strategy to reach target market and people who want to reach them too.  Distribution channels planned to reach target:social media, blogs, print, and events sponsorship.  Share of the market expected to capture over a fixed period of time. Method ofdistribution: Park2Pedalsells directly to the customer, is primarily a service business, with the exception of our branded products expansion line that will come from wholesalers merchants. Brand Identity: Park2Pedal is a convenient solution for parking your bicycle. The company fits any budgets needs. Park2Pedal is not just a brand it also builds an identity for cyclist by connecting with them on issues they care. The brand joins the movement of sustainable transportation and motivates more cyclists to bike on a daily basis. Park2bike connects with cyclists with a comforting and motivational tone. Brand Positioning: Compare to other options on the road Park2Pedal will position its self as the safest option as well as being budget friendly.
  • 34. 34 Marketing Channels/Media We will use both traditional and digital marketing channels to reach our potential customers. Expensive Safe/convenient Affordable Risky/ inconvenient Media Mix
  • 35. 35 E. Execution: Brand awareness campaign 1. Create website and social media presence on Facebook,twitter, Instagram, P-interest and other social media platforms in trend. 2. Search engine marketing will be implemented to make it efficient for customers to find us as they search for similar products. Park2Pedalwill use Ad words and organic search engine techniques to optimize all our media channels.  Impressions: 20,000  Cost: $36,000 Park2Pedal www.Park2Pedal.com Join Now Find Parking How it works www.Park2Pedal.com Join Now Find Parking How it works Park2Pedal A parking solution for bicycle! www.Park2Pedal.com Join Now Find Parking How it works Park2Pedal A parking solution for bicycle! www.Park2Pedal.com Join Now Find Parking How it works
  • 36. 36 3. Banner ads on apps, social media, online print and websites targeted to people who ride bicycle in NYC via the usage of AdSense.  CTR is 2%/CPC:$1.02xxiii /Reach: 50,000 4. In App advertisement with NYC Bike maps. This great way to reach my targeted audience. Users of this application are bicycle riders in NYC. NYC bike map app (Free app) Has 50,000 downloadsxxiv . Top app for bikers in NYC. This map downloads to your phone, so it’s available even when you’re not on the Internet. Shows bike lanes throughout the city, as well as NYC bike rules and a list of bike shops throughout town. Cost of advertising $5 per clicks of about 5%CTR. Total cost $12,000 in app advertisement Events sponsorship: Park2Pedalwill attendant severalevents during the year to network and connect with potential customers. Here is a list of events Park2Pedalplans to attend. Total Cost $5449 per year for a total reach of 350,000 people. Cost: $650 per street fair.xxv Reach:300,000 people Attending all 3 days Total Cost $650 x 3= $1950 NYC Bike expo cost: $1650xxvi Frequency once per year Reach: 50,000 people Park2Pedal www.Park2Pedal.com Join Now Find Parking How it works
  • 37. 37 Sponsor Meet up groups in NYCxxvii :  Bike’n eat Members 1,904 Spend $1000 per year http://www.meetup.com/nyc-bike-food/  Urban cyclists Members 1,334 Spend $1000 per year http://www.meetup.com/UrbanCyclists/ 5. Print: Park2Pedal’s target market likes to unplug from their devices and consume non-digital media. Using print is still a great way to reach your audience. The company will purchase on the bicycle times magazine and provide a special coupon code to track conversion ratexxviii . Acquisition campaign 1. Publish info graphics & videos on how to use our service will be posted on our website and different media channels to educate potential customers on how our service works. Join Now Fin Reach:11,800 in Tri-state area. 25-55 Years old 68% Male 90K plus Income Riding habit 3- 6 times a week Owns 2-3 bicycles Top selling magazine at Barnes and Nobles, Book a Million, Meijers & Krogers Cost: Full-page 3x $3,150
  • 38. 38 2. Coupons sent to local bike shops. Coupons are a great way to attract and get existing customers coming to your business. As part of Park2Pedal we want to offer potential customers the ability to try our services for free as a one-time courtesy. In order to redeem their coupon users will need to register on our app/ website in order to active an account. 3. Freebies to well connected influencers like Bill Cummingham:  83 years old street photographer for the New York Times.  Bill bikes the streets of NYC everyday- He is a true inspiration to all the cyclist community in NYC.  Unfortunately up to this day he has had 33 bicycles stolen.  As a token of our appreciation for his hard work and dedication to cycling the streets of NYC,Park2Pedalwill offer him unlimited parking for free at any of our facilities. Bill Cummingham is an iconic figure in the fashion and publishing world. Offering our services will connect us with bike riders in NYC, who looks up to him as a symbol that cycling helps you live longer. Retention and brand loyalty Campaign 1. Email campaigns: Cost per month is $34/$420 per year/ and you can send unlimited emails to
  • 39. 39 up to 2,600 subscribers via Mail champ. Emails will be sent on special occasions like birthdays, anniversaries, services updates, promotions and special events notifications. 2. Build customer support section on website and app with option for live chat, blogs and FAQ. In addition they will have the ability to reach Park2pedalparking attendants via phone for additional questions. 3. Social media Contest: for example Park2pedal will tease consumers to share their favorite pictures on a bicycle via the Hashtag #iPark2Pedaland the picture with the most likes will win $100 in bicycle accessories. 4. Loyalty program: Park2Pedalwill work on loyalty program, where consumers earn points each times they use our services to redeem on tune ups or bicycle cleaning services. F. Timeframe: Park2Pedalwill scatter their activities through out the year. G. Budget & Cost: Here is the break down on how funds will be spent in during the Marketing plan. Total budget for all 3 years willbe $58,539.
  • 40. 40 H. Measures of success: It’s going to be very important for Park2Pedalto measure it successes with each marketing tactics by tracking: Traffic  # Of traffic to site & mobile app  Traffic source  CTR & Cost per CTR Conversion  Cost per lead  Conversation rate  Repeat purchase rate Revenue  Avg transaction per customer  ROI
  • 41. 41  Cost of AC Engagement  Testimonials, likes shares,comments.  Email list size  Time spent on site IV. Financial Plan Providedbelow is a summary of the key budget areas used as assumptions for the financial projections. A. Benchmarks Several variables where analyzed and combined to estimate the number of projected sales. a. Number of people whoride a bicyclein NYC whowould potentially purchase Park2Pedal’s service. Out of 500,000 riders in NYC, 10% are commuters (50,000) and 73% are outdoor enthusiasts (365,000). b. Industry trends and growth rate- Combined industries growth rate in the US=6%. c. Marketing effortsaverage conversionrate (2-3%). Park2Pedaldo facesthe challenge of not having ample data on competitors to benchmark due to the uniqueness of its service offering. B. Three years sales projections
  • 42. 42 Phases 1 &2 Phase 3 Phases 4 & 5 Here is the quarterly breakdown of the three years revenue projection:
  • 43. 43 C. Operational Cost: Cost ofService provided Per spot: The COGS is expected to increase over the 3 years as we implement each phases. Occupancy & Average Order value • Commuters will use service in average 3 days per week. 10% are monthly subscribers. • Avg Sales price per Unit is $1.48 • AOV per quarter=$1.48x3x4.5x3=$59.94 5% are yearly subscribers • Avg Sales Price per Unit is $1.11 • AOV per quarter=$1.11x3x4.5x3=$44.95 • Outdoors Enthusiast will use service for an average of 4 times per month. 60% are annual fee +pay per park subscriber. • Avg Sales price per unit $2.88 • AOV per quarter =$2.88x4x3=$34.56 10% are one-time users. • Avg Price per Unit is $5 • AOV per quarter=$5x4x3=$60
  • 44. 44 D. Three years income statement E. Break-evenanalysis.
  • 45. 45 Fixed cost Fixed Cost Marketing 19,513 Website app 116,666 Assets Depreciation 32,988 Total $169,167 Variable cost Variable cost Salaries 553,230 Bike racks 9,100 Equipment 204,800 Salaries 553,230 Total $1,320,360 The total number of parking spots available once all the phases are completed is 2184 units and each spot is used by an average of 1.5 clients per day. Total units=3270 units per day/ 1,195,740 units per year. Fixed Cost $169,167 Variable Cost per unit $1.11 Sales Price Per unit $2.61 Break-Even (Units) 112,778 Break-Even ($) $294,351 Financial Projections: Park2Pedalis expected to break even in a year after the service is launched. Forecast for identified growth resulting from a devoted and loyal customer-based and aggressive marketing initiatives indicate that Park2Pedalwill exceed $1 million in sales by the end of year 3.
  • 46. 46 Bibliography: i http://www.nyc.gov/html/dot/html/bicyclists/bikestats.shtml ii https://transalt.org/issues/bike/bikefaq iii http://www.bicycling.com/culture/advocacy/2014-top-50-bike-friendly-cities iv http://gothamist.com/2015/04/16/bike_thieves_abound.php vhttp://www.transalt.org/sites/default/files/news/magazine/044Fall/04baneofbicyclis t.html vi https://www.sba.gov/content/required-employee-benefits vii http://www.socialexplorer.com/6f4cdab7a0/explore viii http://www.socialexplorer.com/6f4cdab7a0/explore ix http://parkitnyc.com/2011/05/pedicabs-follow-traffic-rules/ x http://www.uhaul.com/Locations/Self-Storage-near-Jersey-City-NJ-07302/003638/ xi http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/global-bicycle-industry-2014-2019- trend-forecast-and-opportunity-analysis-269202531.html xii http://www.fastcoexist.com/3021074/making-the-economic-case-for-cycling- friendly-cities-with-bikeonomics xiii http://www.statista.com/topics/1448/bicycle-industry-in-the-us/ xiv http://www.ibisworld.com/industry/default.aspx?indid=1739 xv http://www.parking-net.com/parking-industry-blog/market-growth-report-2014- 2019 xvi https://www.bluezones.com/about-blue-zones/ xvii http://www.fastcoexist.com/3021074/making-the-economic-case-for-cycling- friendly-cities-with-bikeonomics xviii http://nbda.com/articles/industry-overview-2014-pg34.htm
  • 47. 47 xix https://transalt.org/issues/bike/bikefaq xx http://www.bikecommuters.com/2013/11/29/commuter-profile-emily- shellabarger/ xxi http://www.peopleforbikes.org/statistics/category/participation-statistics xxii http://www.sacredrides.com/blog/mountain-biking-quotes xxiii http://www.hochmanconsultants.com/cost-of-ppc-advertising/ xxivhttps://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.webcomrades.bike.newyork&hl =en xxv http://manhattan.about.com/od/careersjobs/a/streetfairsvendorlicense.htm xxvi http://www.bike.nyc/events/bike-expo-new-york/become-an-exhibitor/ xxvii http://help.meetup.com/customer/portal/articles/615408-how-to-sponsor- meetups xxviii http://www.rotatingmassmedia.com/bicycletimes/