LinkedIn emplea cookies para mejorar la funcionalidad y el rendimiento de nuestro sitio web, así como para ofrecer publicidad relevante. Si continúas navegando por ese sitio web, aceptas el uso de cookies. Consulta nuestras Condiciones de uso y nuestra Política de privacidad para más información.
LinkedIn emplea cookies para mejorar la funcionalidad y el rendimiento de nuestro sitio web, así como para ofrecer publicidad relevante. Si continúas navegando por ese sitio web, aceptas el uso de cookies. Consulta nuestra Política de privacidad y nuestras Condiciones de uso para más información.
1. Answer : THE BUILDING OFFICIAL The building official will examine the documents and issue the permit. The site superintendent, company president, and architect may very well review the documents prior to sending them for permit issuance, but the building official has ultimate authority in this matter. Reference : USBC Section 109.
2. Answer : BOARD OF CONTRACTORS The Board for Contractors is empowered to promulgate regulations for the licensure (and re-licensure) of contractors and tradesmen, and the certification of back flow prevention device workers. Neither the State Corporation Commission nor the Department of Revenue may license anyone, and there is no licensing commission. Reference: Virginia Contractor’s Law. Code of Virginia & 54.1-1102.
3. Answer : 134 CUBIC YARDS PER ACRE BUT LIMITED TO UNDER 3 ACRES Sediment traps and sediment basins are designed and constructed based on the total drainage areas served by the trap or basin. The minimum storage capacity is 134 cubic yards per acre of drainage area, and the trap may control drainage areas of less than 3 acres. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 4VAC50-30-40, Minimum Standards.
4. Answer : PRIOR TO COMMENCING WORK All other delivery times are incorrect. The consumer must have a signed copy prior to work starting. Reference : 18VA50-22-260, paragraphs 8 and 10.
5. Answer : WHEN ANNUAL RECEIPTS TOTAL OR EXCEED $750,000 A Class A license is required when the total value of a single project is $120,000 or more, or if the total annual value of all such projects is $750,000 or more. Class B licenses are required if the single project is between $7,500 and $120,000 or if the total annual value is between $150,000 and $750,000. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Code of Virginia &54.1-1100.
6. Answer : DIRECTOR OF THE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULASTION (DPOR) Before any nonresident person or any foreign corporation bids on any work in Virginia, the nonresident or foreign corporation, by written power of attorney, must appoint the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) as agent upon whom all lawful process or notice may be served. Reference: Virginia Contractor’s Law Code of Virginia &54.1-1133
7. Answer : THE RENEWAL FEE AND REINSTATEMENT FEE The applicant or regulant must remit the original renewal fee plus an additional reinstatement application charge as set by the Department. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-170, Reinstatement fees.
8. Answer : BLD Building contractors (BLD) are individuals whose contracts include construction on real property owned by others of commercial, industrial, institutional, governmental, residential, and accessory use buildings or structures. HIC and CIC contractors may not charge the size of the building envelope. Highway/heavy contractors are not licensed to build residential. Reference: Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-20, Definitions of license classifications.
9. Answer : 50 VOLTS An electronic/communications service contractor may service electronic or communications systems annexed to real property that operate at 50 volts or less. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-20, Definitions of specialty services.
10. Answer : ISC The PLB classification means those who install, maintain, and so on, all piping, fixtures, and appliances that do with plumbing. They can also provide service to install, repair, improve, or remove irrigation sprinkler systems, as can the highway/heavy contractors (H/H). Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-30, Definitions of license classifications and specialty services.
11. Answer : FIVE YEAR’S EXPERIENCE To qualify for a Class A license, an applicant must be at least 18 years of age, have a minimum of five years’ experience in the classification or specialty, be a full-time employee, and have passed any appropriate trade-related examinations. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-60, Additional requirements for a Class A license.
12. Answer : $15,000 Each firm must submit financial information indicating a net worth or equity of $15,000 or more. Reference: Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-50, Requirements for a Class B license.
13. Answer : FILE AN APPEAL WITHIN 90 DAYS OF RECEIPT Filing an appeal in 180 days is beyond the time limit. Disregarding any notice of a code violation will result in prosecution. DPOR does not process building code appeals. Reference : USBC Section 119.
14. Answer : WITH THREE NOTICES OF VIOLATION Legal proceedings may be instituted for prosecution when a person, firm, or corporation is served with three or more notices of violation within one calendar year for failure to obtain a required construction permit prior to beginning work. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, 115.3 Further action when violation not corrected.
15. Answer : INSTALLING WIRING AND ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT OPERATING AT 50 VOLTS OR LESS Installation of wiring and equipment operating at less than 50 volts is exempt from the application permit requirement. A permit is required for the conversion of the family home to a bed-and-breakfast; demolishing a single family home after a fire; and removing either lead-based paint or asbestos shingles during renovation. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 108.1 When applications are required.
16 Answer : WHATEVER NUMBER IS REQUIRED BY THE LOCAL BUILDING OFFICIAL Other than the copy that must be kept on the job site, the USBC does not require a specific number of construction documents, leaving that up to the locality. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, 109.1 Construction Documents.
17. Answer : SEVEN At least seven inspections are required by law, and more may be required by the local building officials to ensure that all of the work has been satisfactorily completed. Reference: Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 113.3 Minimum Inspections.
18. Answer : $25 A $25 recovery fund is also required with each initial license application, which is refunded if the applicant does not meet all requirements and does not become licensed. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Act & 54.1-1119 Assessments by Director, etc.
19. Answer : $50 No regulant may be assessed a total amount of more than $50 during any biennium. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Act & 54.1-1119 Assessments by Director, etc.
20. Answer : 12 MONTHS For judgment entered on or after July 1, 1996, a verified claim must be filed with the director no later than 12 months after the judgment became final. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Act & 54.1-1120 Recovery from Fund.
21. Answer : $40,000 The maximum claim of an aggregate claimant against the fund based on an unpaid judgment arising out of the improper or dishonest conduct of one regulant in connection with a single transaction involving contracting is limited to $40,000. $10,000 is the older regulation maximum of a single claim, and $20,000 is the 2005 maximum for one claim. $30,000 is incorrect. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Act, & 54.1-1123 Assessments by Director, etc.
22. Answer : REVOCATION OF THE CONTRACTOR’S LICENSE On payment from the fund, the board must immediately revoke the license of the regulant whose improper or dishonest conduct resulted in the payment. The regulant may regain the license upon repaying the fund with interest and applying for re-licensure. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Act & 54.1-1126 Revocation of license upon payment from Fund.
23. Answer : $10,000 For a series of violations under the Erosion and Sediment Control Act, the maximum penalty allowed is $10,000. The minimum penalty for any one violation is $100. The penalty jumps to $1,000 for beginning any land-disturbing work that is a violation of a local erosion control ordinance. For any series of violations of a local erosion control ordinance, except land-disturbing activities, the minimum penalty is $3,000. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Code of Virginia & 10.1-562.
24. Answer : LINEAR FEET No more than 500 linear feet of trench may be opened at one time. The minimum storage capacity of a sediment basin is 134 cubic yards. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 4VAC50-30-40(16), Minimum standards.
25. Answer : 7 DAYS AFTER FINAL GRADE IS ACHIEVED ON ANY PORTION OF THE SITE Permanent or temporary soil stabilization must be applied to denuded areas within seven days after final grade is reached on any portion of the site. Reference : Virginia Contractor’s Law. Virginia Administrative Code, 4VAC50-30-40(1), Minimum standards.
Part 1 administrative portion
Part I Administrative Portion Part 1
1. Who approves the construction documents prior to the issuance of a building permit? A. Site superintendent B. Company president C. Building official D. Architect
2. What agency licenses contractors in Virginia? A. Board for Contractors B. State Corporation Commission C. Department of Revenue D. Licensing Commission
3. What is the maximum storage capacity of a sediment trap? A. 134 cubic yards per acre but limited to 3 acres B. 134 cubic yards per acre but limited to under 3 acres C. 500 cubic yards per acre D. 500 cubic yards per acre but limited to under 3 acres
4. When must the contractor provide a copy of the signed residential contract to the A. Within 30 days of signing the contract B. Within 7 days of signing the contract C. Prior to commencing work D. Prior to hiring subcontractors
5. Under which of the following circumstances is a landscape irrigation contractor required to obtain a Class A license? A. Less than five (5) years after receiving the Class B license B. On acceptance of an irrigation project valued at more than $7,500 C. On acceptance of an irrigation project valued at more than $35,000 D. When annual receipts total or exceed $750,000
6. A nonresident or a foreign corporation wishes to bid on a construction project in Virginia. Who must be appointed as the Virginia agent upon whom lawful process or notices may be filed? A. Chairman of the Board for Contractors B. Corporation’s attorney C. Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) D. President of the corporation
7. What fees are required to reinstate a Class B license? A. The renewal fee and a license application fee B. The reinstatement fee and a license application fee C. The renewal fee and reinstatement fee D. The renewal, reinstatement, and license application fees
8. What is the required license classification for a residential contractor who is contracted to enlarge the building envelope? A. BLD B. HIC C. CIC D. H/H
9. What is the electrical potential limit on installations/ repairs of equipment or services under an ESC license? A. 12 volts B. 50 volts C. 120 volts D. 240 volts
10. Which of the following classifications is also included in the PLB classification? A. BLD B. FIC C. ISC D. SPR
11. The minimum experience required for a qualified individual for a Class A license is _____. A. 2 years’ technical training B. 3 years’ hands-on-training C. 2 years’ technical training plus three years’ D. 5 years’ experience
12. An applicant for a Class B license must submit financial information indicating a minimum net worth or equity of ____. A. $0 B. $15,000 C. $30,000 D. $45,000
13. What is an option for a contractor who has received a notice of code violation? A. File an appeal 180 days of receipt B. Disregard the notice if it is not issued within the second year after occupancy C. Disregard and send an appeal to the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation D. File an appeal within 30 days of receipt
14. A person fails to obtain necessary building permits. Legal proceedings may be instituted when the person has been served ____. A. after one violation B. with two notices of violation C. with three notices of violation D. with five or more notices of violation
15. Under the USBC, all of the following require a building permit EXCEPT _____. A. converting a single-family home to a bed-and- breakfast. B. demolishing a single-family home after a fire. C. installing wiring and electrical equipment operating at 50 volts or less. D. removing lead paint or asbestos shingles during a renovation
16. What is the minimum number of sets of construction documents required by the USBC when filing for a permit? A. 1 B. 2 C. Whatever number is specified by the architect D. Whatever number is required by the local building official
17. The minimum number of inspections and approvals required under the USBC prior to issuance of a Certificate of Occupancy is at least ____. A. 3 B. 5 C. 7 D. 9
18. What is the initial assessment for the Transaction Recovery Fund when applying for a Class B BLD license? A. None. This assessment applies only to Class A licenses. B. $25 C. $50 D. $75
19. The maximum biennial assessment per license holder for the Transaction Recovery Fund is _____. A. not limited, but determined by the minimum balance in the fund B. $25 C. $50 D. $75
20. After a judgment becomes final, a claim must be filed with the Transaction Recovery Fund within what period? A. 30 days B. 3 months C. 6 months D. 12 months
21. The maximum aggregate claim payment of one claimant from the Transaction Recovery Fund is ____. A. $10,000 B. $20,000 C. $30,000 D. $40,000
22. What board action is required upon payment of a claim from the Transaction Recovery Fund? A. An assessment against all contractors to rebuild the Transaction Recovery Fund B. File a lawsuit against the contractor for recovery of the amount paid C. File a lien against the property (project) for recovery of the amount paid D. Revocation of the contractor’s license
23. A subdivision contractor has neglected to obtain final approval of an erosion control plan prior to work. What is the maximum penalty allowed under the Erosion and Sediment Control Act? A. $100 B. $1,100 C. $3,000 D. $10,000
24. What is the maximum length of trench that may be open at any one time when installing utilities? A. 134 cubic yards B. 134 linear feet C. 250 linear feet D. 500 linear feet
25. Denuded areas must be stabilizes within ____. A. 7 days after final grade is achieved on any portion of the site B. 30 days after completion of construction C. 30 days after final grade is achieved on the entire site D. 3 months after final grading
Guarda las diapositivas más importantes con los recortes.
Los recortes son una forma práctica de recopilar y organizar las diapositivas más importantes de una presentación. Puedes guardar tus magníficos descubrimientos en tableros de recortes organizados por temas.