Se ha denunciado esta presentación.
Utilizamos tu perfil de LinkedIn y tus datos de actividad para personalizar los anuncios y mostrarte publicidad más relevante. Puedes cambiar tus preferencias de publicidad en cualquier momento.

Social diversity

diversity and its type

Audiolibros relacionados

Gratis con una prueba de 30 días de Scribd

Ver todo
  • Sé el primero en comentar

Social diversity

  2. 2. MULTI CULTURALISM Multiculturalism describes the existence, acceptance, or promotion of multiple cultural traditions within a single jurisdiction , usually considered in terms of the culture associated with an ethnic group. This can happen when a jurisdiction is created or expanded by amalgamating areas with two or more different cultures or through immigration from different jurisdiction around the world.
  3. 3. DIFFERENT TYPES OF DIVERSITY Regional diversity Racial diversity Linguistic diversity Religious diversity Cast diversity
  4. 4. REGIONAL DIVERSITY In ancient literature , mention is found of five natural divisions of India. 1. Madhyadesa , i.e. Indo Gangetic plain stretching from the valley of the river Saraswat to the Rajmahal Hill. This division has been known as Aryavarta from the ancient times. 2. Uttarapatha or Udichya i.e. North-West India 3. Pratichya or Aparanta i.e. Western India 4. Dakshinapatha or Dakshinatya i.e. the area south of Madhyadesa 5. Prachya or Purvadesa , the region east of Madhyadesa
  5. 5. RACIAL DIVERSITY A .W . Green says , “A race is a large biological human grouping with a number of distinctive , inherited characteristics which vary within a certain range” The characteristics that help identify different racial groups include:  Colour and texture of hair  Quantity and distribution of hair on the body  Colour of the eyes  Shape of the eyelids  Shape of the nose, the lip and the skull  Skin colour and  Body height
  6. 6. During the census operations of 1891, Sir Herbert Hope Risley attempted the first ever classification of the people of India into different racial types . They are Turko-Iranian Indo- Aryan Scytho – Dravidian Aryo – Dravidian Mongolo- Dravidian Mongoloid and Dravidian These seven racial types can be reduced to three basic types. Indo – Aryan Mongolian an Dravidian
  7. 7. The census of 1961 listed as many as , 1652 languages and dialects . Since most of these languages are spoken by very few people , the subsequent census regarded them as spurious but the 8th scheduled of the Constitution of India recognizes 22 languages. These are Assamese Bengali Gujarati Hindi Kannada Kashmir Konkani Malayalam Manipuri Marathi Nepali Oriya Sanskrit Tamil Telugu Urdu Sindhi Santhali Boro Maithili Dogri Punjabi
  8. 8. RELIGIOUS DIVERSITY India is the home of many religious . Indian society is multi –religious . According to the Census of 2011 , Hindus constitute 79.8% of the population; Muslims account for 14.2% of the population. 2.3% of the population are Christians. Sikhs constitute 1.7% of the population.0.77% is Buddhist and 0.40% is Jains. In addition there are Zoroastrians(Paris) and Jews. There is also a small number of people adhering to tribal religion.
  9. 9. CASTE DIVERSITY India is known as the land of castes and tribes. Caste or Jati refers to a hereditary , endogamous status group practicing a specific traditional occupation. The term caste is used in two senses. Sometimes , it refers to the division of Indian society into four varna , and sometimes to the jati . The varna hierarchy consisting of Brahman, Kshatriya , Vaishya and Shudra is accepted all over India. The Jati on the other hand , has a regional point of reference and signifies a hereditary endogamous status group. There are more than 3,000 jatis in India.