Se ha denunciado esta presentación.
Utilizamos tu perfil de LinkedIn y tus datos de actividad para personalizar los anuncios y mostrarte publicidad más relevante. Puedes cambiar tus preferencias de publicidad en cualquier momento.

LSU College of Engineering 2006-2007

846 visualizaciones

Publicado el

  • Inicia sesión para ver los comentarios

  • Sé el primero en recomendar esto

LSU College of Engineering 2006-2007

  1. 1. COE GRADUATES 164 IN DECEMBER CEREMONY COE Featured Keynote Speaker, Phyllis M. Taylor The COE welcomed very special keynote speaker to its December 2006 graduation ceremony, Phyllis M. Taylor, chair and chief executive officer of Taylor Energy Company LLC. Taylor, whose late husband created the Louisiana TOPS scholarship program, reflected on the importance of “stepping forward and lending a helping hand to others.” Mrs. Taylor is also the chair and president of the Patrick F. Taylor Foundation, a philanthropic organization that benefits education, law enforcement, military and other humanitarian efforts. Mrs. Phyllis Taylor and LSU Chancellor Emeritus James Wharton (fifth from left), pose with the College of Engineering faculty following graduation, held December 21, 2006 at the Maddox Field House. STUDENTS, FAMILY, FRIENDS, FACULTY MEMBERS PACK MADDOX FIELD HOUSE FOR DECEMBER ‘06 GRADUATION 164 new graduates received their diplomas to the applause of a packed Maddox Field House during the College of Engineering’s commencement ceremony on December 21, 2006. Achieving the top academic distinction of Summa Cum Laude were Brad M. Shannon, Brandon R. McGovern, and medalist Chinyere Ifeoma Nwabugwu from (country), who presented the student address on behalf of her fellow classmates. Magna Cum Laude graduates Nishant Agrawal, George C. Barisich, and Phillip E. Mayer and Cum Laude graduate Jonathan Hotstream were also recognized. Keynote Speaker Phyllis M. Taylor encouraged the COE Class of December 2006 to develop generosity and gratitude. “Out there, some way, some how, there is a means for each of you to give as well as to receive.” To view clips from Mrs. Taylor’s address, access, or contact the COE Office of Development, (225) 578-5706, for more information. COE Dean and Bert Turner Professor of Engineering, Zaki Bassiouni, and Keynote Speaker Phyllis M. Taylor congratulate graduation class representative and medalist, Chinyere Ifeoma Nwabugwu (center).
  2. 2. E x xo n M o b i l D o n a t e s $ 5 0 , 0 0 0 t o C O E ExxonMobil Project Manager, Recruiter and LSU Alumnus, Lloyd Guillory, Presents COE Five Department Checks On Wednesday, January 10, LSU COE alumnus, Lloyd Guillory, presented COE Dean Zaki Bassiouni with five departmental checks from ExxonMobil, totaling $50,000. ExxonMobil, one of the largest worldwide petrochemical companies, donated to the departments offering degrees in subjects from which it recruits employees. COE Dean Zaki Bassiouni greets guests and fellow donation recipients from the LSU Foundation, the E.J. Ourso College of Business, the College of Basic Sciences, and LSU Career Services. Department Allocations • Chemical Engineering—$18,500 • Mechanical Engineering—$12,500 • Petroleum Engineering—$9,000 • Electrical Engineering—$7,000 • Civil Engineering—$3,000 COE Dean Zaki Bassiouni proudly accepts his departments’ donations from ExxonMobil Project Manager, Recruiter and LSU alumnus Lloyd Guillory. (Shown Left to Right) Clive Woods, Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Kalliat T. Valsaraj, Chair, Cain Department of Chemical Engineering; Dean Bassiouni, COE; Lloyd Guillory, ExxonMobil; Stephen O. Sears, Chair, Craft and Hawkins Department of Petroleum; and George Z. Voyiadjis, Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. For online news, access, or contact the COE Office of Development, (225) 578-5706, for more information.