2. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 2
1) PPC Conversion Rates
2) What Kind of Conversion Rate can you Expect?
3) Insights
Overview
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
3. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 3
As Pay Per Click (PPC) becomes mainstream in higher ed
as a marketing tactic, colleges and universities who have not
used it in the past are seeing their competitors get out ahead
of them in competitive keyword markets.
As these late adopter marketers enter PPC, ( desktop and
now mobile), it is only natural for them to seek some
assurances on what your conversion rates and ultimately
ROI will be from these initiatives.
1. PPC Conversion Rates
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
4. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 4
I remember the first time I ran a higher ed PPC campaign,
with the help of an outside consultant, and asked them that
same question.
Technically, they knew their stuff but had not worked in higher
education before so I got back the inevitable “ it depends” answer.
I was a bit frustrated and felt like I was being “managed”, but
accepted it and carefully watched things roll out to educate myself
on what was reasonable.
It turns out that "it depends" was and is still a reasonable answer
given the wide variability in conversion rates that organizations get.
2. What Kind of Conversion Rates can you
Expect?
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
5. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 5
The good news is that we can do a bit better today than “it
depends” to help new PPC marketers understand what to
expect from their higher ed campaigns.
I particularly like to pull out the stats on the following slide to
help define some baseline expectations for our new higher
ed PPC clients.
2. What Kind of Conversion Rates can you
Expect?
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
6. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 6
2. What Kind of Conversion Rates can you
Expect?
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
7. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 7
TOTAL AD IMPRESSIONS
Education accounts for the most ad impressions across the
top 10 verticals.
Wow, so who is doing all of this educational PPC advertising? Well if
you look down a bit you will see that it is the largest private, for
profits, including Phoenix, ITT, Devry and Kaplan who dominate.
In fact, Phoenix has claim to the title of being the biggest PPC
advertiser on Google.
Yes that is correct, they spend more money on PPC than any other
company in the world.
That should be a very sobering thought if your programs compete
with theirs and you are just getting into the market now!
3. Insights
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
8. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 8
CLICK THRU RATE
Education also lays claim to having the lowest click thru rate
at 1.72% of the top 10 PPC verticals. This fact is a bit scary
for many first timers but once you understand that cost per
lead is actually more important that click thru rate then it
becomes a bit more manageable.
COST PER CLICK
So an average cost per click in education is $1.80. This is a
good figure to use if you want to project how much budget
you will need to participate in the PPC marketplace
3. Insights
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
9. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 9
CONVERSION RATE
A 6 % conversion rate in higher ed seems quite reasonable
to me. Some campaigns we have run do much better than
this but to get that kind of result takes experience and lots of
A/B testing to make it happen.
So given these industry averages, here is what a $1000
PPC budget will get you:
$1000/$1.80 per click = 556 clicks
556 clicks x 6% conversion rate = 33 leads
$1000/ 33 leads = $30.30 per lead
3. Insights
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
10. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 10
GOOGLE DISPLAY NETWORK
Display ads are the text or image based ads that you can
place on a PPC basis on 3rd party sites who are members of
the Google Display network.
A huge amount of money is being spent there these days, with very
modest click thru and conversion rates compared to Adwords,
Here is an estimate of what that same $1000 will get you on the
Display Network:
$1000/$.34 per click = 2941clicks
2941 clicks x 2% conversion rate = 59 leads
$1000/ 59 leads = $16.95 per lead
So as you can see that the cost per lead is almost half that of the
main Adwords network
It a very competitive marketplace so do your homework and make
sure you have optimized your campaigns to produce a reasonable
level of ROI right from the outset.
3. Insights
Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
11. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
Slide 11
Questions?
1.514.312.3968
info@higher-education-marketing.com
Visit our Website: Higher Education Marketing
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