Se ha denunciado esta presentación.
Utilizamos tu perfil de LinkedIn y tus datos de actividad para personalizar los anuncios y mostrarte publicidad más relevante. Puedes cambiar tus preferencias de publicidad en cualquier momento.

Liturgicalcalendar2 powpt

  • Inicia sesión para ver los comentarios

  • Sé el primero en recomendar esto

Liturgicalcalendar2 powpt

  1. 1. O Just as a typical calendar has twelve months, fifty-two weeks, and 365 days that include holidays and days that are just "average," the Liturgical Year Calendar of the Church uses similar terms and measurements. O The Liturgical Year is also marked by special seasons—Advent, Christmas, Lent, The Triduum or Three Days, Easter, and Ordinary Time. The Liturgical Year begins on the first Sunday of Advent, which usually occurs around the beginning of December or the end of November, and ends on the feast of Christ the King. O However, the purpose of the Liturgical Year
  2. 2. White, the color of joy and victory, is used for the seasons of Easter and Christmas. It is also used for the feasts of Our Lord, for
  3. 3. Red (the color of blood) is used on days when we celebrate the passion of Jesus on Passion Sunday and Good Friday. It is also used for the birthday feasts of the apostles and evangelists and for
  4. 4. Green, seen everywhere in plants and trees, symbolizes life and hope and is used during
  5. 5. The colors violet or purple in Advent help us to remember that we are preparing for the coming
  6. 6. Rose may be used on the Third Sunday of Advent, Gaudete Sunday, and on the Fourth Sunday of Lent, Laetare
  7. 7. O The liturgical cycle divides the year into a series of seasons, each with their own mood, theological emphases, and modes of prayer O This determines the o different ways of decorating churches o colors of Paraments and Vestments for clergy o scriptural readings o themes for preaching and even different traditions and practices often observed personally or in the
  8. 8. Advent Christmas Ordinary Time or Time after Epiphany Lent Easter Triduum Easter Season Ordinary Time, Time after Pentecost, Time after LITURGICAL SEASONS Trinity
  9. 9. 1.) Advent-the time of joyful preparation for the twofold coming of the Lord; the first in Bethlehem and the second at the end of the times. Season of preparation and waiting. Color:Violet 2.) Christmas- the time of celebration of the birth of Jesus. It ends on the feast of the Baptism of Jesus. Color: White 3.)a.) Ordinary Time(short)- the Church celebrates the many feasts of the Saints. b.)Ordinary time(long)- the time of the liturgical year that lies outside the seasons of Lent-Easter and
  10. 10. 4.) Lenten Season- the time of conversion and preparation for the Easter by means of 40 days of prayer, fasting and almsgiving. It begins on the Ash Wednesday. Lent means spring Color: Violet 5.) Easter Triduum- the time of celebration of the Passion, Death and Resurrection of our Lord. The holiest 3 days of the Church Year during Holy week. It begins with the Mass of the Lord’s Supper on Holy Thursday and ends with the Evening Prayer on Easter Sunday. a.) Holy Thursday- last meal of Jesus with the Apostles. - washing of the feet of the Apostles by Jesus b.) Good Friday-the suffering and death of Jesus. -the Church initiates new members through the Sacrament of Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist
  11. 11. 6.) Easter Season- the time of celebration of the Resurrection and Ascension of the Lord. as well as the coming of the Holy Spirit and the beginning of the Church. The season lasts for 50 days, from Easter Sunday until Pentecost. Color:White
  12. 12. Feasts and Events in The Liturgical Calendar
  13. 13. Advent Season Gaudete Sunday Celebrated during the 3rd Sunday of Advent
  14. 14. Christmas Season Christmas Day the day we celebrate the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ. Mary, Mother of God On the 8th day, Mary’s child was circumcised and was named Jesus. Epiphany The 3 Wise Men came to the manger and presented the infant Jesus with gold, frankincense and myrrh. Baptism of Christ Christ was baptized in the River Jordan by his cousin, John the Baptist
  15. 15. Lenten Season Ash Wednesday “From dust we are created and to dust we shall be”
  16. 16. Holy Week Palm Sunday The grand entrance of Jesus Christ into Jerusalem Maundy Thursday The celebration of the Last Supper of Christ with his apostles.
  17. 17. O The Advent wreath is a circular garland of evergreen branches representing eternity. On that wreath, five candles are typically arranged. Each candle represents an aspect of the spiritual preparation for the coming of the Lord, Jesus Christ. O Advent wreaths are used by millions of Christians worldwide to mark the passing of the season of Advent and to symbolize the many ideas and hopes present in the celebration of the birth of Christ. O The meaning of the Advent wreath involves the light and hope that will come with Christmas. The meaning behind the lighting of a new candle on the Advent wreath each week symbolizes the anticipation of Christians awaiting Christ's birth and the salvation He will bring to believers.
  18. 18. O Wreath – It is always in the form of a circle. Since a circle has no beginning and no end, it is a symbol for God, Who is eternal and without beginning or end. O Evergreens -These branches, as the name indicates, are "ever green" -- ever alive. They are symbolic of Christ, Who died, but Who is alive, never to die again. -It also symbolize our soul's immortality. Christ came into the world to give us never-ending life.
  19. 19. O Red holly berries - It symbolizes the blood shed by Christ for mankind. They remind us that Christ came into this world to die for us and redeem us. It is through the shedding of His blood that we have eternal life. O Blue Bowl- It reminds us of the Virgin Mary. It should be put at the base of each candle or in the wreath itself. O Violet Candle- represents repentance. O Pink Candle- symbolizes joy. O Central Candle( Christ Candle)- represents Christ himself who is born to save people from their sins.
  20. 20. • First Sunday of Advent -the first purple candle is lit. It is typically called the "Prophecy Candle" and it represents hope or expectation in anticipation of the coming Messiah. • Second Sunday of Advent -the second purple candle is lit. It is typically called the "Bethlehem Candle" and it represents love. • Third Sunday of Advent -the pink candle is lit. It is customarily called the "Shepherds Candle" and it represents joy. • Fourth Sunday of Advent -the last purple candle is lit. It oftentimes called the "Angels Candle" and it represents peace.