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Facebook Ads: A
Champagne Campaign
on a Beer Budget


                     1
Session Format and Rules




   40 minutes of presentation, 20 minutes of Q&A.

   Please feel free to ask questions during the session.

   Please stay after the session for informal networking.




                                                             2
Team Reingold Members




          Jack Benson   Joe LaMountain




            Erin Fenn     Brooks Lape


                                         3
We’re on a mission. Yours.


     National, full-service strategic communications firm with
      more than 25 years of experience helping clients succeed

     Big firm capabilities, small firm attention

     Expertise in implementing data-driven, behavior-changing
      campaigns with effective stakeholder engagement

     Awards for strategy, campaign efficacy, creative
      development, graphic design, video, and digital media

     95% of portfolio is nonprofit and public sector; focus on
      health, education, Veterans, transportation



                                                                  4
Agenda


          Why Facebook?

          Facebook 101

          Segmenting Your Audience

          Content Strategy

          Facebook In Action

          Questions




                                      5
Why   ?




          6
An Integrated Approach to Communications


                        Leveraged            Traditional



  SEO                                             Advertisin
  Social media                Online &
                                                    g/PSA
  Online advertising           Digital

                                                                 Media
                                                                Relations

                                              Integrated
                           Events             Messaging
                                              Campaign

                                                                 Direct
                                                                Marketing
                               Stakeholder
                                Outreach
                                               Partnerships




                                                                            7
‹#›
      8
Advertisers are increasingly investing online.




Online Spending
Exceeds Print




                                                 9
Online Search: How We Find Information

                                              % of Internet users who do each activity




Source: Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project tracking surveys, 2002-2012.
                                                                                              10
Champagne Campaign on a Beer Budget: How Digital
Media Has Transformed The Marketing Landscape


 Then                                Now
  Significant entry costs            Lower barriers to entry
  Expensive to create and run        Budgets are more scalable
  Broad targeting                    Precise targeting
  Long response times                Real time feedback
  Few insights into effectiveness    Real insights
  High complexity                    Ability to efficiently pilot/test
  Harder to adjust strategy          Ability to quickly adjust tactics
                                       and strategies




                                                                           11
Facebook is a major force in today’s digital
marketing landscape with over 1 billion users…




  Source: The Next Web
                                                 12
…with strong coverage across all demographics.




Source: Pew Research Center’s Internet and American Life Project, December 2012
                                                                                  13
Growing and maintaining your Facebook community
requires attention to each stage of engagement.



         Build                     Engage                      Influence




  Building and enhancing   Getting them to interact and   Empowering them to take
       your audience          join the conversation            key actions




                                                                                    14
Facebook 101




               15
Facebook is built around social interactions with content.




                                                             16
The news feed is the hub for serving page content and ads.



                                             Marketplace Ads
 Ads Inside
                                               CPM or CPC
 News Feed
 ~$7-$8 CMP                                     ~$0.20 CPM
 1%-5% CTR                                    .04%-.06% CTR




Organic: Posts
from friends
and pages



                                                               17
Facebook “social” ads prioritize connections and content.




                                    Ads have heightened social
                                    context – Facebook friends
                                    as trusted messengers




                                    Provide more points of
                                    engagement for fans




                                                                 18
Only a small percentage of your fans see your content.


                            Fans          Friends of Fans




                                                            19
Ads expand the reach and effectiveness of your content.


                             Fans         Friends of Fans




                                                            20
Segmenting Your Audience




                           21
Segmenting your audience requires a matrix of proxies
based upon affinity, location, and demographics.


  Targeting Criteria              “Veterans” on Facebook

     Affinities with others
     Affinities with groups
     Demographics
     Employment
     Education
     Location




                                                           22
The larger the audience you are targeting, the less precise
your targeting will likely be.


                                Directly in your target group
                                  U.S. Army listed as past employer
                                  Liked VSO page



                                Potentially in your target group
               5M                 Liked “Support the Troops”
                                  Geo target in high veteran population areas


               12M
                                Influencers or friends of target group
                                  Liked lifestyle pages
               30M




                                                                                 23
Content Strategy




                   24
Goal Setting and Content Strategy


        Key considerations

  Who are you trying to reach?
  What content do you have?
                                     Messaging Mix
                                       • Inform
  What is the conversation you        • Engage
   want to start?                      • Influence
  How can you engage your target    Content Mix
   audience in that conversation?
                                     Metrics
  What do you want the outcome
   to be?
  Recruitment vs. retention



                                                      25
Content calendars map out messaging to goals and
performance over time.




                    Goals:
                      Inform
                      Engage
                      Influence



                                                   26
‹#›
  27
‹#›
  28
Influence: Chesapeake Bay Foundation encourages users
to Save The Bay by signing a pledge.




                                                        29
Successful social media campaigns are conversational.




        Know your audience
        Ensure relevance – make it about your audience
        Highlight the cause – reinforce messages and value
        Use rich images and varied content
        Keep your copy short and sweet
        Elicit a lightweight response




                                                              30
Facebook In Action




                     31
Decide what content you want to prioritize in ads.




       Build               Engage                  Influence


                     Do you want to build a
     Do you want                                 Do you want your
                   stronger relationship with
     more fans?                                 fans to take action?
                         existing fans?




                                                                       32
Estimating Cost: Fan Acquisition



 Start with users directly in
 your target group                         Metric                   Estimate
   Living in Chesapeake bay area and      Targeted population          50,000
    affiliated with environmental groups
                                           Percent acquired            5%-10%
                                           Cost per fan              $0.25 - $3.00



                                                      Cost for 5,000 Fans

                                              50,000 * 10% * $0.75 = $3,750




                                                                                     33
Run like ads to target audiences and build fans.




                                  Start with core audience, then
                                   expand pool of proxies
                                  Monitor cost per desired action
                                  Test messages, targeting
                                   options, and audiences
                                  Start spend low




                                                                     34
Gradually increase your investment in like ads to optimize
your spend and leverage early insights.




Source: Facebook
                                                             35
Estimating Cost: Expanding Fan Engagement


                           ~15%                                ~50%


Metric                                   Estimate
Fans                                      20,000
                                                      Paid Impressions Per Post
Desired reach to fans                      50%
                                                      20,000 fans * (50% - 15%) = 7,000 impressions
% fans seeing your content organically     15%
Cost per thousand impressions             $8.00       Paid Impressions Per Month
Posts per month                             15        15 posts/month * 7,000 = 105,000 impressions


                                         Monthly Engagement Support Cost

                    (105,000 impressions / 1,000) * $8.00 per thousand = $840/month




                                                                                                      36
Estimating Cost: The Big Push


                            ~15%                                                         ~40%

                                                           ~100%

 Metric                                       Estimate
 Fans                                         20,000
                                                               Paid Fan Impressions
 Desired fan reach                             100%
                                                               20,000 fans * (100% - 15%) = 17,000 impressions
 Organic fan reach                              15%

 Friends of fans meeting targeting criteria   100,000
                                                               Paid FoF Impressions
 Desired selected friends of fans reach         40%            100,000 FoFs * 40% = 40,000 impressions
 Cost per thousand impressions                 $8.00


                                                         Big Push Cost

                               (17,000 + 40,000) / 1,000* $8.00 per thousand = $456


                                                                                                                 37
Fan Engagement Optimization
          Reach & Audience Mix




                 Content Effectiveness




                                         38
Fan Engagement Strategy



      Facebook Ad algorithm will show to most engaged fans first
      Only promote your best posts, leverage initial virality
      Optimize to cost per action per ad objective
      Stay true to your overall content strategy
      Monitor negative feedback
      Dollar for dollar, small campaigns will be more effective




                                                                    39
Key Tips For Managing Paid Campaigns

    Structure your campaigns well
    Start slow
    Optimize to CPA
    Focus on budget distributions
    As you progress, move into Excel
    Organize your adds for easier analysis




                                              40
“My only regret in life is that I didn’t drink enough Champagne.”
                                                 John Maynard Keynes




              Set your Facebook goals
              Segment your audience
              Manage your message and content mix
              Start slow
              Optimize around cost per desired action
              Smaller campaigns are better




                                                                       41
Questions?




             42
We’re on a mission. Yours.




                             43

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Facebook Advertising: A Champagne Campaign on a Beer Budget

  • 1. Facebook Ads: A Champagne Campaign on a Beer Budget 1
  • 2. Session Format and Rules  40 minutes of presentation, 20 minutes of Q&A.  Please feel free to ask questions during the session.  Please stay after the session for informal networking. 2
  • 3. Team Reingold Members Jack Benson Joe LaMountain Erin Fenn Brooks Lape 3
  • 4. We’re on a mission. Yours.  National, full-service strategic communications firm with more than 25 years of experience helping clients succeed  Big firm capabilities, small firm attention  Expertise in implementing data-driven, behavior-changing campaigns with effective stakeholder engagement  Awards for strategy, campaign efficacy, creative development, graphic design, video, and digital media  95% of portfolio is nonprofit and public sector; focus on health, education, Veterans, transportation 4
  • 5. Agenda  Why Facebook?  Facebook 101  Segmenting Your Audience  Content Strategy  Facebook In Action  Questions 5
  • 6. Why ? 6
  • 7. An Integrated Approach to Communications Leveraged Traditional  SEO Advertisin  Social media Online & g/PSA  Online advertising Digital Media Relations Integrated Events Messaging Campaign Direct Marketing Stakeholder Outreach Partnerships 7
  • 9. Advertisers are increasingly investing online. Online Spending Exceeds Print 9
  • 10. Online Search: How We Find Information % of Internet users who do each activity Source: Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project tracking surveys, 2002-2012. 10
  • 11. Champagne Campaign on a Beer Budget: How Digital Media Has Transformed The Marketing Landscape Then Now  Significant entry costs  Lower barriers to entry  Expensive to create and run  Budgets are more scalable  Broad targeting  Precise targeting  Long response times  Real time feedback  Few insights into effectiveness  Real insights  High complexity  Ability to efficiently pilot/test  Harder to adjust strategy  Ability to quickly adjust tactics and strategies 11
  • 12. Facebook is a major force in today’s digital marketing landscape with over 1 billion users… Source: The Next Web 12
  • 13. …with strong coverage across all demographics. Source: Pew Research Center’s Internet and American Life Project, December 2012 13
  • 14. Growing and maintaining your Facebook community requires attention to each stage of engagement. Build Engage Influence Building and enhancing Getting them to interact and Empowering them to take your audience join the conversation key actions 14
  • 16. Facebook is built around social interactions with content. 16
  • 17. The news feed is the hub for serving page content and ads. Marketplace Ads Ads Inside CPM or CPC News Feed ~$7-$8 CMP ~$0.20 CPM 1%-5% CTR .04%-.06% CTR Organic: Posts from friends and pages 17
  • 18. Facebook “social” ads prioritize connections and content. Ads have heightened social context – Facebook friends as trusted messengers Provide more points of engagement for fans 18
  • 19. Only a small percentage of your fans see your content. Fans Friends of Fans 19
  • 20. Ads expand the reach and effectiveness of your content. Fans Friends of Fans 20
  • 22. Segmenting your audience requires a matrix of proxies based upon affinity, location, and demographics. Targeting Criteria “Veterans” on Facebook  Affinities with others  Affinities with groups  Demographics  Employment  Education  Location 22
  • 23. The larger the audience you are targeting, the less precise your targeting will likely be. Directly in your target group  U.S. Army listed as past employer  Liked VSO page Potentially in your target group 5M  Liked “Support the Troops”  Geo target in high veteran population areas 12M Influencers or friends of target group  Liked lifestyle pages 30M 23
  • 25. Goal Setting and Content Strategy Key considerations  Who are you trying to reach?  What content do you have?  Messaging Mix • Inform  What is the conversation you • Engage want to start? • Influence  How can you engage your target  Content Mix audience in that conversation?  Metrics  What do you want the outcome to be?  Recruitment vs. retention 25
  • 26. Content calendars map out messaging to goals and performance over time. Goals:  Inform  Engage  Influence 26
  • 29. Influence: Chesapeake Bay Foundation encourages users to Save The Bay by signing a pledge. 29
  • 30. Successful social media campaigns are conversational.  Know your audience  Ensure relevance – make it about your audience  Highlight the cause – reinforce messages and value  Use rich images and varied content  Keep your copy short and sweet  Elicit a lightweight response 30
  • 32. Decide what content you want to prioritize in ads. Build Engage Influence Do you want to build a Do you want Do you want your stronger relationship with more fans? fans to take action? existing fans? 32
  • 33. Estimating Cost: Fan Acquisition Start with users directly in your target group Metric Estimate  Living in Chesapeake bay area and Targeted population 50,000 affiliated with environmental groups Percent acquired 5%-10% Cost per fan $0.25 - $3.00 Cost for 5,000 Fans 50,000 * 10% * $0.75 = $3,750 33
  • 34. Run like ads to target audiences and build fans.  Start with core audience, then expand pool of proxies  Monitor cost per desired action  Test messages, targeting options, and audiences  Start spend low 34
  • 35. Gradually increase your investment in like ads to optimize your spend and leverage early insights. Source: Facebook 35
  • 36. Estimating Cost: Expanding Fan Engagement ~15% ~50% Metric Estimate Fans 20,000 Paid Impressions Per Post Desired reach to fans 50% 20,000 fans * (50% - 15%) = 7,000 impressions % fans seeing your content organically 15% Cost per thousand impressions $8.00 Paid Impressions Per Month Posts per month 15 15 posts/month * 7,000 = 105,000 impressions Monthly Engagement Support Cost (105,000 impressions / 1,000) * $8.00 per thousand = $840/month 36
  • 37. Estimating Cost: The Big Push ~15% ~40% ~100% Metric Estimate Fans 20,000 Paid Fan Impressions Desired fan reach 100% 20,000 fans * (100% - 15%) = 17,000 impressions Organic fan reach 15% Friends of fans meeting targeting criteria 100,000 Paid FoF Impressions Desired selected friends of fans reach 40% 100,000 FoFs * 40% = 40,000 impressions Cost per thousand impressions $8.00 Big Push Cost (17,000 + 40,000) / 1,000* $8.00 per thousand = $456 37
  • 38. Fan Engagement Optimization Reach & Audience Mix Content Effectiveness 38
  • 39. Fan Engagement Strategy  Facebook Ad algorithm will show to most engaged fans first  Only promote your best posts, leverage initial virality  Optimize to cost per action per ad objective  Stay true to your overall content strategy  Monitor negative feedback  Dollar for dollar, small campaigns will be more effective 39
  • 40. Key Tips For Managing Paid Campaigns  Structure your campaigns well  Start slow  Optimize to CPA  Focus on budget distributions  As you progress, move into Excel  Organize your adds for easier analysis 40
  • 41. “My only regret in life is that I didn’t drink enough Champagne.” John Maynard Keynes  Set your Facebook goals  Segment your audience  Manage your message and content mix  Start slow  Optimize around cost per desired action  Smaller campaigns are better 41
  • 43. We’re on a mission. Yours. 43

Notas del editor

  1. We live in a multi-screen world where on average 90% of our media interactions are on a device with a screen
  2. 2012 surpassed printCurrently 70% the size of tvMany campaigns 20-605 onlineWhat percent of your campaigns are digital
  3. How we find information online. Be there at the right time when people are searching for what you do.
  4. Steady growth over time over the last 3 years
  5. Women are slightly more active than menYounger adults are more active, but the older population is one of the fastest growing segmentsUse across income levels, educational attainment, and urbanity is similar
  6. Attracting your audienceGetting them to interact with page contentEmpowering them to actCan continue to build new and engage existingEach phase reinforces the nextInfluencing fans can help build new fans
  7. Focus on content sharingFacebook’s ad platform leverages content and social connectionsAll about putting relevant stories in front of usersEvolution of content over time
  8. Page and news feed reinforcing each other --- how users see and consume content
  9. Credible messengers through friends
  10. Reach and engage existing fansReach new fans
  11. Hitting goalsBalancing post typeDriving key actions
  12. 5 Key things:Multimedia use – short copy with teasersVaried content to start conversationsFocus on audience and allow users to share contentReinforce brand/mission by highlighting other relevant contentElicit a lightweight response
  13. 5 Key things:Multimedia use – short copy with teasersVaried content to start conversationsFocus on audience and allow users to share contentReinforce brand/mission by highlighting other relevant contentElicit a lightweight response
  14. Focus on content sharingFacebook’s ad platform leverages content and social connectionsAll about putting relevant stories in front of usersEvolution of content over time
  15. Ad optimization
  16. Ad optimization
  17. Ad optimization
  18. Start spend low and turn up the dialOptimize so all campaigns achieve the same cost per desired action
  19. Ad optimization
  20. Ad optimization
  21. Ad optimization
  22. Ad optimization
  23. Ad optimization
  24. Ad optimization