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Utilizamos tu perfil de LinkedIn y tus datos de actividad para personalizar los anuncios y mostrarte publicidad más relevante. Puedes cambiar tus preferencias de publicidad en cualquier momento.
Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com
Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to
Book Marketing
Slides online at
bit.ly/mozbookmarketing
Why Does Search
Matter to Authors?
More recent data is hard
to come by, but it’s
probable that 50%+ of
book sales happen
online, and many offline
purchases a...
Via a Survey I Conducted On Twitter
Via SimilarWeb
Via SimilarWeb
In ecommerce, search is
the traffic referral leader
The
Startup Marketing Model
Identify Right Customers
Right Customer
Via Sarah C. Andersen
Who are they?
What social networks do they use?
Where do they go
on the web?
Via Followerwonk
Who are their influencers?
Not Into Tools?
Can’t Find YourAudience
on Social?
Have Conversations!
So… What kinda sites
do you dogs visit?
Target the Right Audience
in the Right Places
YourAudience
isAlready
Spending Time at
These Places:
Via SimilarWeb’s Top Sites
You Can Leverage that
Attention by Contributing to…
Massive Networks Like Facebook
Via TheFinancialBrand Via SearchEngineLand
Althoughwe’ve seenorganicreachdippingfor
years,t...
Influencer Networks Like Twitter
Via Analytics.Twitter.com
Visual Networks Like Instagram
Via Iconosquare
Professional Networks Like LinkedIn
We’ve seen a recent rise
in engagement and CTR
on LinkedIn for the right
kinds of cont...
AnImportantNoteonSocialNetworks--
Signal:Noise Ratio is Critical
to Reach
Because this post didn’t do well,
Facebook won’t...
Video Sites Like YouTube
Via Moz’s YouTube Channel
Online Communities Like Reddit
Via Reddit.com/r/books
Q+ASites Like Quora
Via Quora’s Mystery Novels Topic
Niche Communities Like Inbound.org
Via Inbound.org
Comment Sections LikeAVC
Via AVC
Book-Centric Sites Like GoodReads
Via Norwegian by Night
on Goodreads
Publishers thatAccept Guest Contributions Like
Good Housekeeping
Via Good Housekeeping
Targeting Your Audience
with Paid Advertising
Ad Click-Through-RatesAreAbominable
Via SearchEngineLand
Half ofAll MobileAd Clicks areAccidental
Via SearchEngineLand
But,Ads are Getting Far More Sophisticated
Via Sovrn
And even though we don’t think they influence us,
they do
Via Harvard Business Review
The Key toAd Buying is ROI
$0.25 / Click X 200 Visits $50 TotalAd Spend=
200 Visits X 5 Sales = 2.5% Conversion Rate
$50 ÷...
FacebookAds
GoogleAdWords
Google ShoppingAds
Retargeting (Google,AdRoll)
More on Whiteboard Friday
e.g. I visited Squarespace while building this
slide deck, and now t...
TwitterAds
Via NYTimes
InstagramAds
Good Guide to Instagram Ads from AdEspresso
PinterestAds
Google DisplayAds
Custom/SmallAd Publishers
Via Hark! A Vagrant
Sponsored Content (Outbrain, Taboola)
If You Have Email Addresses,
You Can Also Use:
Facebook Custom
Audiences
Via Facebook
GoogleAdWords’Customer Match
Via SearchEngineLand
Newsletters & BookAnnouncements
Via Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational)
Good, Free Mailing List Options:
Mailchimp:
Freeto2,000
subscribersor12,000
emails/month,great
deliverability
Newsletterfo...
Attract an Audience
to Your Platform
Is your publishing platform holding
you back?
Sometimes, content isn’t the problem.
SEO-friendly access for crawlers and searchers
Great user experience on every device
Compelling reasons to subscribe, shar...
Platforms to Consider Include:
Wordpress:
Free,extensible,
powerful,haslotsof
plugins&developers
Wix:
Easytemplates,good
s...
Good Comparison of
Options:
Via ArtBizBlog
I’m a Big Fan of Jane
Friedman’sAdvice onAuthor
Websites:
Via JaneFriedman
How do you build a platform that
consistently attracts your
audience?
Publish web
content
Amplify
Grow network
Increase ability to rank in
search engines
Increase brand
recognition
Learn & ite...
Content Can Mean Many Things
Photos
Via Maptia
Animations
Via BusinessInsider
Data
Via Our World in Data
Tools
Via NomadList
Comics
Via LawComic.net
Communities
Via Inbound.org
For Most
Writers,
It Means
Written
Content
Blog Posts
Via WorldsBestDetective.com
Guides
Via Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO
Opinion Pieces
Via The New Yorker
Whitepapers
Via PricewaterhouseCoopers
Stories Via Radio Times
Maybe a Little Bit of Promotion
Via Neil Gaiman
But (if you want to build a marketing flywheel)
that can’t be your entire platform
Via Rachael King
I loved Rachael’s site...
Content Forms the Backbone of What Gets
Distributed on the Web
Via Buzzsumo
It’s What Gets Shared on Facebook
Via Rand’s Facebook Page
What Ranks in Google
What Makes for Conversations on Twitter
Via Medium
What’s Shared Over Email
Via A Smart Bear
What’s Posted on LinkedIn, Google+, Snapchat, and
Instagram
But, Content Only Matters If It’s Seen
Via
Buzzsumo
It’s Often the Same
Effort to Make
Content No One
Sees,
As Content
Thousands Do
Who will help amplify this
and why?
Start With a GreatAnswer to the Question:
This is not a right answer:
Museum goers
will love this.
And maybe museum
curators, too.
Via MattKelm
This is a right answer:
I did an analysis of all
the recent major
museum thefts
Carolyn & Shelley have
already expressed i...
SEO Best Practices
Earn Ongoing Traffic by Leveraging
Accessibility is Critical
Via the YouMoz Blog
Wordpress is a Great Shortcut
Via Wordpress
Google Search
Console Can
Highlight Many
Problems
Via Google Search
Console
Moz, ScreamingFrog, or OnPage.org CanAlso Be
Useful for Crawl Issues
Via Moz Pro, Screaming Frog Crawler, and OnPage.org
Keywords
Still Matter
And Google is SmartAbout Matching Concepts &
Topics to Keywords
Titles and Headlines?
Still Important.
Page titles come from the
HTMLcode, and (usually)
appear as the headline of
the pie...
The Search Snippet? Still Important.
Does the title match what
searchers want?
Does the URLseem
compelling?
Does your site...
Meta Keywords? Useless.
Via Google’s Webmaster Central Blog
Keyword Stuffing? Will Only Hurt You.
No one wants to click on a
page like that
(and Google penalizes
these types of pages)
Links Still Matter
Via Moz’s 2015 Ranking Factors
Link-based ranking
factors
Ask: Who Will
Link to Me & Why?
All these websites (and ~450 others) link
to StopYoureKillingMe.com
Stumped?
Check Out 100s of
Techniques on the
Moz Blog
Via Link Building on Moz
User Satisfaction Matters
If Google observes many searchers
clicking this result, visiting the page, then
bouncing back to...
Google Calls This Pogo-Sticking
Via Bill Slawski on Moz
Make the Back Button Your Enemy
NPR’s clean design, well-respected
brand, options for listening or reading,
solid visuals,...
DO NOT Split Up Your Content & Promotional Sites
Tragically, Rachael is likely costing herself valuable branding and lots ...
Consider Which Page You Want
Ranking for Your Book
IMO, Kate Beaton has this right. Get your
own site ranking at the top, ...
You Control Much of This Through How You/Your Publisher
Choose to Link in Press & Bios
MoreAbout SEO:
Prefer text + visuals?
See Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO
Prefer video?
See Skillshare’s SEO that Matters cl...
Use Data to Learn What Works
vs. Doesn’t
GoogleAnalytics
Looking at “site content” (under
“behavior”) can show you which
pages are attracting and engaging
visitors...
Jetpack
Apopular alternative to
GoogleAnalytics, many
site owners appreciate the
simpler, more intuitive
reports despite f...
Bit.ly
I track all my
content that I
share to get a
sense of what
works, and where
it performs best
ANeat Hack You Can Do with Bit.ly
Just add a + to the end of any bitly URL:
http://responsivecitypress+
Buzzsumo
Buzzsumo is
invaluable for seeing
content on any topic
or from any site that’s
performed well on
social networks
...
Converting
Visitors to Buyers
We need to identify the traits that separate
customers who’ll buy, love, and amplify our books
from those who won’t.
My Favorite
Process:
From Conversion Rate Experts’ case study
Boom.
And Shakalaka.
Haven’t heard of the
book
Heard of it, but didn’t
buy
Bought, read, &
loved the book
What do you think the
book is about?
...
Create Messages and Sales Pages that
Overcome Your TargetAudience’s
Objections
Benefits that speak to
Nir’s audience
Autho...
Use These Messages on YourAmazon and
Publisher Pages, Too!
Via Hooked on Amazon
The same messages and editorial
reviews wo...
Retain, Delight, & Grow
Amplification
How do you know what to create?
Or where to invest?
What do you hate doing?
Via Tech Noir
What do
you love to
do?
Via Dsgnblog
What skill, talent, or creation can set you
apart from the crowd?
Via Rand’s Blog
One of my strengths is
an ability to be
...
Improving the flywheel is an
iterative learning process
No one starts out great at this.
This is Geraldine’s Blog:
Everywhereist.com
Geraldine started the website in 2009
For 2 years, she rarely
broke 100 visits/day
She had a few successes
But traffic fell back down after
these viral spikes
In Jan. 2012, she was featured on Time’s “Best Blogs” list.
Readers came by the thousands, and many stuck.
These days, she consistently breaks 100K visits/month
(even when she took time off to write her book).
Thanks to the audience she built and the flywheel of her blog’s
content & distribution channels, Geraldine’s got a great
o...
Failure + Learning
x Time = Success
Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com
Bit.ly/mozbookmarketing
Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing
Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing
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Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing

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Rand Fishkin's presentation from Digital Book World NYC, 2016, on how to apply the startup marketing flywheel process to finding an audience and buyers for your book.

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Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing

  1. Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing
  2. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing
  3. Why Does Search Matter to Authors?
  4. More recent data is hard to come by, but it’s probable that 50%+ of book sales happen online, and many offline purchases are influenced by online exposure. Via DBW/Bowker
  5. Via a Survey I Conducted On Twitter
  6. Via SimilarWeb
  7. Via SimilarWeb In ecommerce, search is the traffic referral leader
  8. The Startup Marketing Model
  9. Identify Right Customers
  10. Right Customer Via Sarah C. Andersen
  11. Who are they?
  12. What social networks do they use?
  13. Where do they go on the web? Via Followerwonk
  14. Who are their influencers?
  15. Not Into Tools? Can’t Find YourAudience on Social? Have Conversations! So… What kinda sites do you dogs visit?
  16. Target the Right Audience in the Right Places
  17. YourAudience isAlready Spending Time at These Places: Via SimilarWeb’s Top Sites
  18. You Can Leverage that Attention by Contributing to…
  19. Massive Networks Like Facebook Via TheFinancialBrand Via SearchEngineLand Althoughwe’ve seenorganicreachdippingfor years,there’sbeena resurgencethanksto audienceoptimization
  20. Influencer Networks Like Twitter Via Analytics.Twitter.com
  21. Visual Networks Like Instagram Via Iconosquare
  22. Professional Networks Like LinkedIn We’ve seen a recent rise in engagement and CTR on LinkedIn for the right kinds of content
  23. AnImportantNoteonSocialNetworks-- Signal:Noise Ratio is Critical to Reach Because this post didn’t do well, Facebook won’t show my next few posts to as many users 
  24. Video Sites Like YouTube Via Moz’s YouTube Channel
  25. Online Communities Like Reddit Via Reddit.com/r/books
  26. Q+ASites Like Quora Via Quora’s Mystery Novels Topic
  27. Niche Communities Like Inbound.org Via Inbound.org
  28. Comment Sections LikeAVC Via AVC
  29. Book-Centric Sites Like GoodReads Via Norwegian by Night on Goodreads
  30. Publishers thatAccept Guest Contributions Like Good Housekeeping Via Good Housekeeping
  31. Targeting Your Audience with Paid Advertising
  32. Ad Click-Through-RatesAreAbominable Via SearchEngineLand
  33. Half ofAll MobileAd Clicks areAccidental Via SearchEngineLand
  34. But,Ads are Getting Far More Sophisticated Via Sovrn
  35. And even though we don’t think they influence us, they do Via Harvard Business Review
  36. The Key toAd Buying is ROI $0.25 / Click X 200 Visits $50 TotalAd Spend= 200 Visits X 5 Sales = 2.5% Conversion Rate $50 ÷ 5 Sales = $10 Cost ofAcquiring a Customer (CAC) You want this figure to be less than you make per sale
  37. FacebookAds
  38. GoogleAdWords
  39. Google ShoppingAds
  40. Retargeting (Google,AdRoll) More on Whiteboard Friday e.g. I visited Squarespace while building this slide deck, and now their ads follow me around the web like a lost puppy dog
  41. TwitterAds Via NYTimes
  42. InstagramAds Good Guide to Instagram Ads from AdEspresso
  43. PinterestAds
  44. Google DisplayAds
  45. Custom/SmallAd Publishers Via Hark! A Vagrant
  46. Sponsored Content (Outbrain, Taboola)
  47. If You Have Email Addresses, You Can Also Use:
  48. Facebook Custom Audiences Via Facebook
  49. GoogleAdWords’Customer Match Via SearchEngineLand
  50. Newsletters & BookAnnouncements Via Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational)
  51. Good, Free Mailing List Options: Mailchimp: Freeto2,000 subscribersor12,000 emails/month,great deliverability NewsletterforWP: Requiresabitofinstallation, butfreetounlimited numbersofsubscribers BenchmarkEmail: Freeto2,000subscribers or14,000emails/month, easyUI
  52. Attract an Audience to Your Platform
  53. Is your publishing platform holding you back? Sometimes, content isn’t the problem.
  54. SEO-friendly access for crawlers and searchers Great user experience on every device Compelling reasons to subscribe, share, & return Freedom from features that would annoy or dissuade visitors Content that’s consistently interesting, useful, and/or engaging to a distinct audience Does My Publishing Platform Provide:
  55. Platforms to Consider Include: Wordpress: Free,extensible, powerful,haslotsof plugins&developers Wix: Easytemplates,good support,strongdesigns, inexpensive Squarespace: Solidtemplates,easyto manage,inexpensive,
  56. Good Comparison of Options: Via ArtBizBlog
  57. I’m a Big Fan of Jane Friedman’sAdvice onAuthor Websites: Via JaneFriedman
  58. How do you build a platform that consistently attracts your audience?
  59. Publish web content Amplify Grow network Increase ability to rank in search engines Increase brand recognition Learn & iterate on amplification tactics Earn ongoing search traffic
  60. Content Can Mean Many Things
  61. Photos Via Maptia
  62. Animations Via BusinessInsider
  63. Data Via Our World in Data
  64. Tools Via NomadList
  65. Comics Via LawComic.net
  66. Communities Via Inbound.org
  67. For Most Writers, It Means Written Content
  68. Blog Posts Via WorldsBestDetective.com
  69. Guides Via Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO
  70. Opinion Pieces Via The New Yorker
  71. Whitepapers Via PricewaterhouseCoopers
  72. Stories Via Radio Times
  73. Maybe a Little Bit of Promotion Via Neil Gaiman
  74. But (if you want to build a marketing flywheel) that can’t be your entire platform Via Rachael King I loved Rachael’s site, but there’s no flywheel happening, just promotion of her books and events.
  75. Content Forms the Backbone of What Gets Distributed on the Web Via Buzzsumo
  76. It’s What Gets Shared on Facebook Via Rand’s Facebook Page
  77. What Ranks in Google
  78. What Makes for Conversations on Twitter Via Medium
  79. What’s Shared Over Email Via A Smart Bear
  80. What’s Posted on LinkedIn, Google+, Snapchat, and Instagram
  81. But, Content Only Matters If It’s Seen Via Buzzsumo
  82. It’s Often the Same Effort to Make Content No One Sees, As Content Thousands Do
  83. Who will help amplify this and why? Start With a GreatAnswer to the Question:
  84. This is not a right answer: Museum goers will love this. And maybe museum curators, too. Via MattKelm
  85. This is a right answer: I did an analysis of all the recent major museum thefts Carolyn & Shelley have already expressed interest in seeing the finished piece
  86. SEO Best Practices Earn Ongoing Traffic by Leveraging
  87. Accessibility is Critical Via the YouMoz Blog
  88. Wordpress is a Great Shortcut Via Wordpress
  89. Google Search Console Can Highlight Many Problems Via Google Search Console
  90. Moz, ScreamingFrog, or OnPage.org CanAlso Be Useful for Crawl Issues Via Moz Pro, Screaming Frog Crawler, and OnPage.org
  91. Keywords Still Matter
  92. And Google is SmartAbout Matching Concepts & Topics to Keywords
  93. Titles and Headlines? Still Important. Page titles come from the HTMLcode, and (usually) appear as the headline of the piece.
  94. The Search Snippet? Still Important. Does the title match what searchers want? Does the URLseem compelling? Does your site sound trustworthy or sketchy? Is your result fresh? Do searchers want a newer result? Does the description create curiosity & entice a click? Do you get the brand dropdown?
  95. Meta Keywords? Useless. Via Google’s Webmaster Central Blog
  96. Keyword Stuffing? Will Only Hurt You. No one wants to click on a page like that (and Google penalizes these types of pages)
  97. Links Still Matter Via Moz’s 2015 Ranking Factors Link-based ranking factors
  98. Ask: Who Will Link to Me & Why? All these websites (and ~450 others) link to StopYoureKillingMe.com
  99. Stumped? Check Out 100s of Techniques on the Moz Blog Via Link Building on Moz
  100. User Satisfaction Matters If Google observes many searchers clicking this result, visiting the page, then bouncing back to the search results and, instead… Clicking this page, and seeming satisfied with those results… It’s very likely that, over time, KirkusReviews will outrank WaPo here.
  101. Google Calls This Pogo-Sticking Via Bill Slawski on Moz
  102. Make the Back Button Your Enemy NPR’s clean design, well-respected brand, options for listening or reading, solid visuals, and quality writing compel me to want to stay. If only they’d used good keywords in their title, they’d probably be on page 1
  103. DO NOT Split Up Your Content & Promotional Sites Tragically, Rachael is likely costing herself valuable branding and lots of lost search traffic by having two separate sites. Via Rachael-King.com and SoundofButterflies.Blogspot.com
  104. Consider Which Page You Want Ranking for Your Book IMO, Kate Beaton has this right. Get your own site ranking at the top, rather than Amazon, because then you control the user experience (and can use anAmazon affiliate link to get greater revenue from your sales)
  105. You Control Much of This Through How You/Your Publisher Choose to Link in Press & Bios
  106. MoreAbout SEO: Prefer text + visuals? See Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO Prefer video? See Skillshare’s SEO that Matters class
  107. Use Data to Learn What Works vs. Doesn’t
  108. GoogleAnalytics Looking at “site content” (under “behavior”) can show you which pages are attracting and engaging visitors, and which ones aren’t.
  109. Jetpack Apopular alternative to GoogleAnalytics, many site owners appreciate the simpler, more intuitive reports despite fewer bells & whistles. Via Jetpack Stats
  110. Bit.ly I track all my content that I share to get a sense of what works, and where it performs best
  111. ANeat Hack You Can Do with Bit.ly Just add a + to the end of any bitly URL: http://responsivecitypress+
  112. Buzzsumo Buzzsumo is invaluable for seeing content on any topic or from any site that’s performed well on social networks Via Buzzsumo Pro
  113. Converting Visitors to Buyers
  114. We need to identify the traits that separate customers who’ll buy, love, and amplify our books from those who won’t.
  115. My Favorite Process: From Conversion Rate Experts’ case study Boom. And Shakalaka.
  116. Haven’t heard of the book Heard of it, but didn’t buy Bought, read, & loved the book What do you think the book is about? How’d you hear about the book? What first made you interested? What would make you more likely to check it out? What are your biggest objections to purchase? What objections did you have to buying? What would have made you change your mind? What objections did you have and how did you overcome them? What did you love most about it? Can we share your story as a testimonial?
  117. Create Messages and Sales Pages that Overcome Your TargetAudience’s Objections Benefits that speak to Nir’s audience Authorities that Nir’s audience knows, likes, and trusts Multiple ways to get the book, even for non-readers Via Nir Eyal
  118. Use These Messages on YourAmazon and Publisher Pages, Too! Via Hooked on Amazon The same messages and editorial reviews work here, too
  119. Retain, Delight, & Grow Amplification
  120. How do you know what to create? Or where to invest?
  121. What do you hate doing? Via Tech Noir
  122. What do you love to do? Via Dsgnblog
  123. What skill, talent, or creation can set you apart from the crowd? Via Rand’s Blog One of my strengths is an ability to be contrarian, and to create homemade graphics that convey those opinions 
  124. Improving the flywheel is an iterative learning process No one starts out great at this.
  125. This is Geraldine’s Blog: Everywhereist.com
  126. Geraldine started the website in 2009
  127. For 2 years, she rarely broke 100 visits/day
  128. She had a few successes
  129. But traffic fell back down after these viral spikes
  130. In Jan. 2012, she was featured on Time’s “Best Blogs” list. Readers came by the thousands, and many stuck.
  131. These days, she consistently breaks 100K visits/month (even when she took time off to write her book).
  132. Thanks to the audience she built and the flywheel of her blog’s content & distribution channels, Geraldine’s got a great opportunity to publish and market her work.
  133. Failure + Learning x Time = Success
  134. Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com Bit.ly/mozbookmarketing

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