Se ha denunciado esta presentación.
Utilizamos tu perfil de LinkedIn y tus datos de actividad para personalizar los anuncios y mostrarte publicidad más relevante. Puedes cambiar tus preferencias de publicidad en cualquier momento.


259 visualizaciones

Publicado el

Gives description about the Galapagos and the biodiversity at the group of islands. Describes the facts and gives information about the 7 Islands. Also specifies the travel and tourism to Galapagos.

  • Sé el primero en comentar

  • Sé el primero en recomendar esto


  1. 1. Galapagos Islands Galapagos is the group of seven islands located at around 800 miles from Ecuador, South America. The islands are famous for The Giant Galapagos tortoises -The biggest growing tortoises in the world and the tourism. The seven islands are as: Baltra (South Seymour) Island – Also known as South Seymour, Baltra is a small flat island located near the centre of the Galápagos. It was created by geological uplift. Baltra Airport was the only airport serving the Galapagos, but now two more airports are built as increase in the tourism. Bartolome Island – Bartolome Island is a volcanic islet just off the east coast of Santiago Island in the Galápagos Islands group. It is one of the "younger" islands in the Galápagos archipelago. This island, and neighbouring Sulivan Bay on Santiago (James) island, is named after lifelong friend of Charles Darwin, Sir Bartholomew James. Charles Darwin Islands – This Island is named after the famous naturalist and scientist Charles Darwin who visited Galapagos and studies on the tortoises and the finches. He mentioned the most revolutionary theory science has ever seen “Theory of Evolution”. Espanola Island – Its name was given in honor of Spain. It also is known as Hood, after Viscount Samuel Hood. It has an area of 60 square km (23 sq mi) and a maximum altitude of 206 m (676 ft). Espanola is the oldest island at around 3.5 million years, and the southernmost in the group. Due to its remote location, Espanola has a large number of endemic species. It has its own species of lava lizard, mockingbird, and tortoise. Espanola's iguanas exhibit a distinctive red coloration change between the breeding season and it is the only place where the Albatross nests. Fernandina Island – The name was given in honor of King Ferdinand II of Aragon, who sponsored the voyage of Columbus. Fernandina has an area of 642 square Km. This is the youngest and westernmost island.
  2. 2. Floreana (Charles or Santa Maria) Island – It is one of the islands with the most interesting human history, and one of the earliest to be inhabited. Flamingos and green sea turtles nest (December to May) on this island. The patapegada or Galapagos petrel, a sea bird which spends most of its life away from land, is also found here. Galapagos Islands Travel and Tourism: As Galapagos has such high biodiversity so many tourist visit this place. The number has increased from few thousands to few lacks in last decade. Travelling to Galapagos is easy Options available as flight and the cruises from Ecuador to Galapagos islands. For flying into the Galapagos are limited to two islands San Cristobal and Baltra. Private aircraft must use Baltra as it is the airport equipped with overnight plane accommodations. The other way is cruises, as Galapagos is known for its marine beauty cruises are the best way to visit Galapagos.