Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz

Tomasz Tunguz
Tomasz TunguzVenture Capitalist at Redpoint
Tomasz Tunguz
Partner, Redpoint Ventures
• I write about SaaS startups at tomtunguz.com
• Redpoint works with many as-a-Service companies
including Stripe, Twilio, Zuora, Zendesk, Looker, Infer,
Tidemark, and Expensify
• Former PM at Google; statistics nut
Why CS Is Critical
Happy customers, better product
Grow faster
Decrease capital needs
Hypothetical SaaS Company
$50k in MRR
50 customers at $1k ARR each
$1250 in CAC, Sales Efficiency of 0.8
Growing 15% m/m
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
How Much to Spend on CS?
Expected Value =
Save Rate x Value of Extension =
30% x 12 months x $83/month =
$298 or about 30% of ACV
Return on Investment?
2 pp decrease in churn
- Increases revenue by 50%
- Decreases S&M spend by 30%
1 de 10

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Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz

  • 1. Tomasz Tunguz Partner, Redpoint Ventures • I write about SaaS startups at tomtunguz.com • Redpoint works with many as-a-Service companies including Stripe, Twilio, Zuora, Zendesk, Looker, Infer, Tidemark, and Expensify • Former PM at Google; statistics nut
  • 2. Why CS Is Critical Happy customers, better product Grow faster Decrease capital needs
  • 3. Hypothetical SaaS Company $50k in MRR 50 customers at $1k ARR each $1250 in CAC, Sales Efficiency of 0.8 Growing 15% m/m
  • 9. How Much to Spend on CS? Expected Value = Save Rate x Value of Extension = 30% x 12 months x $83/month = $298 or about 30% of ACV
  • 10. Return on Investment? 2 pp decrease in churn - Increases revenue by 50% - Decreases S&M spend by 30%