3. GOAL: SET UP AN ADWORDS CAMPAIGN
AGENDA
‣ Select campaign settings
‣ Create ad groups
‣ Create ads
‣ Review ad groups
‣ BONUS: Optimize your campaigns
6. WHAT IS GOOGLE ADWORDS?
‣ AdWords (Google AdWords) is an advertising service by
Google for businesses wanting to display ads on Google
and its advertising network. The AdWords program
enables businesses to set a budget for advertising and
only pay when people click the ads. The ad service is
largely focused on keywords.
9. CAN YOU TRUST GOOGLE?
CONFLICTS OF INTEREST?
‣ Google makes 95% of their revenue from Adwords.
‣ Google make money when potential customers click
‣ You make money when the clicks CONVERT to sales or leads
10. HOW DOES THIS AFFECT YOUR CHOICES?
EXAMPLES
‣ “All features” allows you to add ad extensions (gives you more
visibility)
‣ Removing search partners takes you away from Google Play
and Google Maps (less optimal for you?)
19. HOW TO SET MANUAL BIDS
KEEP IT SIMPLE!
‣ Don’t pay more than what a click is worth for your business
‣ Conversion Rate x Per Unit Profit = Breakeven CPC
‣ 5% x $30 = $1.5
20. HOW DO YOU SET A STARTING BUDGET?
SIMPLE GUIDELINES:
‣ Average cost per click x 500 to 1,000 clicks = Monthly budget
‣ Enough to test the campaign
‣ Divide your monthly budget with 30.4 (average number of days
in a month) - $1,000 / 30.4 = $32.8 per day
21. WHY SHOULD YOU USE AD EXTENSIONS?
KEY REASONS
‣ Provide more relevant contact information to your customers -
like phone number or location
‣ Direct links to key pages on your site
‣ Improve conversion
29. KEY TIPS FOR THE PAGE YOU ARE DRIVING TRAFFIC TO
KEEP THIS IN MIND:
‣ Have a clear offer
‣ Back it up with evidence
‣ Have a clear first call to action
31. HOW TO FIND GOOD KEYWORDS?
SIMPLE TIPS:
‣ Brainstorm words that are descriptive, specific and relevant to
buying
‣ Consider that long tail keywords normally convert more
‣ Stea...eh...learn from your competitors
36. HOW TO BEST ADD KEYWORDS
LEARN ABOUT KEYWORD MATCH TYPES
‣ Defined how the keywords is used to search Google
‣ Broad match types give more volume
‣ More specific match types give more targeted traffic
38. HOW MANY KEYWORDS DO YOU NEED?
TIPS IN NARROWING DOWN KEYWORDS
‣ Quality over quantity
‣ Specific over general
‣ Do you need more than 10-15 per ad group?
43. HOW TO WRITE GOOD ADS?
KEY TIPS:
‣ Focus on something unique and specific
‣ Remember your keywords and study your competitors ads
‣ Have a clear call to action
45. DOES THE BEST ADS GET THE MOST CLICKS?
KEY CONSIDERATIONS
‣ Only pay for the best leads
‣ Repel cheap skates and free loaders (Put price in the ad?)
‣ Google makes money even if you don’t convert
47. HOW MANY ADS SHOULD YOU RUN?
LESS IS MORE
‣ Test two ads at a time
‣ Let each get 100-200 impressions
‣ Go with the winner, and create another variation
56. OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS
OPTIMIZE YOUR KEYWORDS
‣ Run keyword reports to learn how your keywords perform
‣ Compare the CTR of each keyword to the average
‣ Minimum 100 impressions per keyword (no rash conclusions!)
58. OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS
NO CONVERSION DATA?
‣ Link Google Adwords to Google Analytics
‣ Use engagement metrics
‣ Focus on average session duration and pages per session
60. OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS
TESTING TIPS FOR ADS
‣ Test things like headlines, descriptions and offer
‣ Reflect on what you can learn from each test
‣ Identify new ideas from winning and losing ads
62. OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS
HOW TO IMPROVE YOUR LANDING PAGES
‣ Learn about conversion optimization
‣ Change copy based on winning ads
‣ A/B test copy, length, offer and evidence on the landing page
66. LET FIRST TIME VISITORS RETURN
REVISIT YOUR VISITORS WITH RETARGETING
‣ Serve banner ads to people that have been to your site
‣ Can cost less and give you a greater return on investment
‣ Make sure the banners have clear call to actions