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FROM DISCOVERY TO DOWNLOAD TO DOLLARS:
How Full Funnel App Marketing
Leads to Real Business Outcomes
This presentation originally aired as a
webinar. Recording available here:
bit.ly/3cs7mGd
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
INSTRUCTIONS
To ask questions
Type your question in the
chat box located on the
left side panel. Only the
presenters will see the
question. Use this for
content questions.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
TODAY’S PRESENTERS
SPEAKERS
Greg Hayes
Associate Director, Paid Social
Catalyst
Dan Cristo
Director of SEO Innovation
Catalyst
JR Crosby
SVP, Product & Strategy
Xaxis
MODERATOR
Meghan Lavin
Partner, Director of Marketing
Catalyst
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
Organic Search | Paid Search | Paid Social Advertising
Retail Media | eShelf
WHAT WE DO
Business Results.
Powered by Advanced Marketing Strategy.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
WHAT WE DO
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
LOTS OF GROUND TO COVER
AGENDA
• Opportunity & Trends
• Introducing AppIQ
• Driving App Awareness
• Driving Quality Installs
• Driving App Visibility & Findability
• Driving Engagement via Retargeting
THE APP LANDSCAPE:
OPPORTUNITY & TRENDS
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
KEY TRENDS
Consumer app spend, installs, & usage is increasing
Competition is intense, churn is high
Consumers demand personalization
For many advertisers, omnichannel is key2.
1.
4.
3.
INSTALL, USAGE, & SPEND
IS INCREASING.
DRAMATICALLY.
Global app install ad spend to
double by 2022 to hit $118 billion.
There were 204 billion app installs
in 2019, a 45% increase worldwide
over 4 years.
COVID-19 is only accelerating
these trends with dramatic
increases in app download and
usage across many categories.
https://www.appannie.com/en/go/state-of-mobile-2020/
https://www.appsflyer.com/blog/app-install-ad-spend/
Marketers using three or more
channels enjoy a purchase &
engagement rate 250% higher than
those using single channels.
https://think.storage.googleapis.com/docs/mobile-app-marketing-insights.pdf
https://www.clickz.com/onmichannel-marketing-automation-statistics-for-2019/231381-2/231381/
IT’S AN
OMNICHANNEL
WORLD
Consumers’ path to install & engagement
includes many channels:
• App Store Searches
• Traditional Search Engines
• Social Media
• TV
• Brand Websites
• Email marketing
CONSUMERS DEMAND
PERSONALIZATION
58% of smartphone users feel more favorable
toward companies whose mobile sites and
apps remember who they are & past
behavior.
63% of smartphone users are more likely to
purchase from companies whose mobile
sites or apps offer them relevant products
or recommendations they may be
interested in.
Google/Ipsos, U.S., Playbook Omnibus 2019
CHURN IS
HIGH
There are over 2.5 million apps in
Google Play and over 1.8 million
apps in the Apple App Store.COMPETITION IS
FIERCE
https://www.statista.com/statistics/276623/number-of-apps-available-in-leading-app-stores/
https://performance-na1.emarketer.com/channel/58fe53add2670009840a9ef1/58f530645ba4610f80aa0934
http://info.localytics.com/blog/25-of-users-abandon-apps-after-one-use
https://performance-na1.emarketer.com/channel/58fe53add2670009840a9ef1/59ef12d9bfce890eb411f30c
Average app retention rate is 38%.
25% of users abandon apps after
one use.
Average install to in-app purchase
rate: 2.8%.
INTRODUCING
APPIQ
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
TRADITIONAL APP INSTALL CAMPAIGN
Drive users to install a brand's app
*images are for demo purposes only
Download App
How do we ensure our
app installs deliver
real business results?
MEET
APPIQ
An end-to-end mobile app marketing
solution encompassing programmatic,
search, social, & more.
By generating user quality scores based
on weighted and prioritized in-app events,
AppIQ drives quality downloads with
a high lifetime value.
IMPROVE BENCHMARKING.
OPTIMIZE TOWARD QUALITY.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
LOOK BEYOND THE INSTALL
*images are for demo purposes only
Traditional app install campaign
DRIVE QUALITY APP INSTALLS
ApplQ optimized campaign
REGISTER
ADD CC
TAKE RIDE
Download App
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
HOW APPIQ WORKS
• ANALYTICS
• FRAUD PROTECTION
• PERFORMANCE
• EFFICIENCY
• HOLISTIC PLANNING
• OUTCOMES
WHY APPIQ
DRIVING APP
AWARENESS
MARKETING RULES APPLY TO
APP DOWNLOADS
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
ALL DIGITAL CHANNELS CAN BE CONNECTED & OPTIMIZED
App Store SearchHolistic Awareness App DownloadApp Store App Page
Browser
App Store
DOOH
AUDIO
SOCIAL
CTV
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
DIGITAL OUT OF HOME FOR APP DOWNLOAD?
Align visibility
distributions to achieve
same composition and
account for panel bias
Conversion Rate of New
Users or Active Users
found in the Exposed
Group
Conversion Rate of New
Users or Active Users found
in the Control Group
Lift is the ratio between new users &
engagement observed in the exposed group to
those of the control group
17%/11% = 1.545x100 = 55% lift
EXPOSED TO AD NOT EXPOSED TO AD
17% 11%
DRIVING
QUALITY INSTALLS
With the increasing importance of
apps comes the importance of
usership.
While driving app awareness will
cause downloads to trickle in,
advertisers should also evaluate
direct app download campaigns.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
USE PAID SOCIAL TO DRIVE INSTALLS
Through the Facebook/Instagram network, advertisers can optimize their campaigns
towards app downloads – directly attributing downloads back to media spend.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
SELECT THE PROPER OBJECTIVE
Choosing the correct objective is key to driving effective performance – as it informs your
campaign what actions represent success.
In this case, the “App Installs” objective will give you the lowest cost per install.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
CASE STUDY: CREATING A QUALIFIED STRATEGY PRE-LAUNCH
GOAL: Drive net new app downloads for Mortgage Lending
client
CHALLENGE: Driving such a low funnel action can be
costly, so developing a qualified strategy is crucial to maintaining
efficiency.
STRATEGY & EXECUTION:
1. Strong, simplistic CTA: Utilize assets that clearly
instruct users on desired actions – showcase the ease
of downloading
2. Target Apple & Android users: Build audiences of
users based on phone operating systems – allowing
FB/IG to optimize to the most efficient segment
3. Leverage a rich mix of ad units: Results by creative
type can vary, develop creative for 2-3 ad formats.
See what ad type resonates best.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
WATCH THE RESULTS COME IN
By reaching the right audience
and embracing Facebook’s AI,
we shattered campaign
benchmarks while working with
a limited budget.
5,200 DOWNLOADS
3X ESTIMATED INSTALLS
45% LOWER COST PER
INSTALL
DRIVING
APP VISIBILITY &
FINDABILITY
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
APPLE SEARCH BEHAVIOR
70% App store customers using search to
discover apps
65%
50%
Downloads that come directly from a
search in the App Store
App Search Ads’ average conversion rate
www.searchads.apple.com
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
ORGANIC AOS OVERVIEW
Status Impact Effort
Keywords High Low
App Name Med Low
Subtitle Med Low
What’s New Med Low
Description Med Low
Screenshots Low Low
Video Preview High High
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
REVIEW CURRENT KEYWORDS
Paid
Keyword
Impressions Taps Installs TTR
Tap through
rate
CVR
Conversion
rate
New
Downloads
IOS Ranking
Organic
Keyword - - - - - - 3
Keyword 22,301 3,265 2,256 15.9% 70.1% 794 1
Keyword 3,388 348 336 12.4% 75.0% 129 1
Keyword 85 9 5 10.6% 55.6% 5 3
Keyword - - - - - - -
Keyword 753 109 87 14.5% 79.8% 64 1
Keyword 1,467 65 50 4.4% 76.9% 43 11
Keyword - - - - - - 6
Keyword - - - - - - 32
Keyword 29 5 3 17.2% 60.0% 3 2
Keyword 45 - - 0.0% 0.0% - -
Length: 86 out of 100
characters
Travelocity, flights, hotels, car rentals,
travel, vacation packages, cruises, cars
• The length is a little short
(86/100)
• Several of the words show no
search volume
• No need to include app name
INSIGHT
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
RECOMMENDED KEYWORDS
• “Keyword” doesn’t have much
search volume, but we had 6
extra characters to work with so
we included it.
INSIGHT
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
APP NAME
• The app name should be
between 26 and 30 characters
INSIGHT
The brand name is important.
Are you fully utilizing the available
space for keywords?
Brand App Title Characters
Hotels.com Hotels.com: Book Hotels &
More
30
Trivago Trivago: Compare hotel process 29
Booking Booking.com: Hotels & Travel 28
HotelTonight HotelTonight – Hotel Deals 26
Expedia Expedia: Hotels, Flights & Car 30
Priceline Priceline Travel – Book & Save 30
TripAdvisor TripAdvisor Hotels Restaurants 30
Hotwire Hotwire 7
KAYAK KAYAK Flights, Hotels & Cars 28
Hilton Hilton Honors: Book Hotels 26
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
SUBTITLE
• Similar to app name, app subtitle is indexed in
the App Store search, making it ideal to
include keywords that you want to rank for
• Try to include a CTA in the subtitle. This can
improve the tap-to-install conversion rate by
15-20% according to SplitMetrics
• For existing apps that are using 50 characters
in their app name, only the first 30 characters
will be indexed by the App Store search once
you have also used the app subtitle field.
INSIGHT
APP SUBTITLE
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
WHAT'S NEW
WHAT’S NEW
INSIGHT
• The What's New (Version History)
area appears below reviews,
making it an important marketing
tool.
• It should be written in an
engaging, exciting manner, not
just technical changes.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
DESCRIPTION
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
DESCRIPTION
APP DESCRIPTION (IOS)
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
DESCRIPTION
INSIGHT
On Google Play, keywords do matter in the description.
Keywords can be repeated up to 5 times.
APP DESCRIPTION (PLAY)
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
SCREENSHOTS
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
VIDEO
INSIGHT
• A good preview video can increase install rates by more than 23%
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
HOW SEARCH ADS WORK
RELEVANCE
Must be relevant to the users’ search query
CREATIVE
Automatically generated from your apps metadata + Creative Sets
PRICING - Cost Per Tap Auction
Pay only when a user engages with your ad
AUDIENCE REFINEMENTS
All users, new users, returning users, & users of my other apps
Demographic refinements (age & gender)
City & State
ATTRIBUTION
Install data native in the UI, received directly from App Store
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
APPS APPEAR IN GOOGLE SERPS
APP INDEXING
Google not only ranks entire apps, but allows to crawl and rank internal app
screens, thanks to App Indexing. That means if users have your app
installed, they can find specific app content in Google Search.
KEYWORDS
Find the right keywords using Apple Search Ads and strategically place it in
your Google Play Store app’s title and description.
RATINGS & REVIEWS
Google’s ranking factor is highly dependent on what users think about your
app so having good ratings and reviews is of utmost importance.
Source: Ipsos MediaCT research
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
APPS APPEAR IN GOOGLE SERPS
BACKLINKS
Add a link towards your app store download page within
the header of the mobile version of your website or build
a dedicated landing page to promote your mobile apps.
SITELINKS EXTENSIONS
Paid search sitelink extensions take people to specific
pages on your site, including to a page dedicated to your
app.
Sitelink extension
DRIVE ENGAGEMENT WITH
RETARGETING
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
DRIVE ENGAGEMENT - APP RETARGETING
Retarget your brand’s app installers to drive in-app conversions (Find a Driver, Order Food, etc…).
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
CONTINUE THE CONVERSATION
• Don’t forget to continue the
conversation post-install.
• Re-message users to encourage
key in-app actions.
• Continue to weight actions and
drive up quality score.
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
MOBILE IN YOUR HOLISTIC PLANNING STRATEGY
The Consumer’s Journey
Commuting to work
Commuting from work
Lifting after work
“working hard”
Commuting home
Enjoying TV timeTrying a new recipe
Retarget your brand’s
app installers across
a user’s different
devices to drive in-
app and omnichannel
conversions
• Establish & optimize towards quality score
• Always think beyond the install to maximize
high LTV installs
• Consider emerging channels, like DOOH, as
app awareness drivers
• Explore paid social to maximize installs
• Activate strategic SEO and paid search
programs in the app stores & on traditional
search engines to increase visibility & findability
• Retarget your brand’s app installers to drive in-
app conversions & engagement
WRAPPING
UP
RESOURCES
OR DROP US A LINE:
Info@CatalystDigital.com
CASE STUDIES & INSIGHTS:
https://www.catalystdigital.com/digital-marketing-case-studies/
https://www.xaxis.com/insights/casestudies/
MORE WEBINARS:
https://www.catalystdigital.com/company/digital-marketing-webinars/
www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com
Q&A
info@catalystdigital.com
THANK YOU

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From Discovery to Download to Dollars: How Full Funnel App Marketing Leads to Real Business Outcomes

  • 1. FROM DISCOVERY TO DOWNLOAD TO DOLLARS: How Full Funnel App Marketing Leads to Real Business Outcomes
  • 2. This presentation originally aired as a webinar. Recording available here: bit.ly/3cs7mGd
  • 3. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com INSTRUCTIONS To ask questions Type your question in the chat box located on the left side panel. Only the presenters will see the question. Use this for content questions.
  • 4. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com TODAY’S PRESENTERS SPEAKERS Greg Hayes Associate Director, Paid Social Catalyst Dan Cristo Director of SEO Innovation Catalyst JR Crosby SVP, Product & Strategy Xaxis MODERATOR Meghan Lavin Partner, Director of Marketing Catalyst
  • 5. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com Organic Search | Paid Search | Paid Social Advertising Retail Media | eShelf WHAT WE DO Business Results. Powered by Advanced Marketing Strategy.
  • 7. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com LOTS OF GROUND TO COVER AGENDA • Opportunity & Trends • Introducing AppIQ • Driving App Awareness • Driving Quality Installs • Driving App Visibility & Findability • Driving Engagement via Retargeting
  • 9. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com KEY TRENDS Consumer app spend, installs, & usage is increasing Competition is intense, churn is high Consumers demand personalization For many advertisers, omnichannel is key2. 1. 4. 3.
  • 10. INSTALL, USAGE, & SPEND IS INCREASING. DRAMATICALLY. Global app install ad spend to double by 2022 to hit $118 billion. There were 204 billion app installs in 2019, a 45% increase worldwide over 4 years. COVID-19 is only accelerating these trends with dramatic increases in app download and usage across many categories. https://www.appannie.com/en/go/state-of-mobile-2020/ https://www.appsflyer.com/blog/app-install-ad-spend/
  • 11. Marketers using three or more channels enjoy a purchase & engagement rate 250% higher than those using single channels. https://think.storage.googleapis.com/docs/mobile-app-marketing-insights.pdf https://www.clickz.com/onmichannel-marketing-automation-statistics-for-2019/231381-2/231381/ IT’S AN OMNICHANNEL WORLD Consumers’ path to install & engagement includes many channels: • App Store Searches • Traditional Search Engines • Social Media • TV • Brand Websites • Email marketing
  • 12. CONSUMERS DEMAND PERSONALIZATION 58% of smartphone users feel more favorable toward companies whose mobile sites and apps remember who they are & past behavior. 63% of smartphone users are more likely to purchase from companies whose mobile sites or apps offer them relevant products or recommendations they may be interested in. Google/Ipsos, U.S., Playbook Omnibus 2019
  • 13. CHURN IS HIGH There are over 2.5 million apps in Google Play and over 1.8 million apps in the Apple App Store.COMPETITION IS FIERCE https://www.statista.com/statistics/276623/number-of-apps-available-in-leading-app-stores/ https://performance-na1.emarketer.com/channel/58fe53add2670009840a9ef1/58f530645ba4610f80aa0934 http://info.localytics.com/blog/25-of-users-abandon-apps-after-one-use https://performance-na1.emarketer.com/channel/58fe53add2670009840a9ef1/59ef12d9bfce890eb411f30c Average app retention rate is 38%. 25% of users abandon apps after one use. Average install to in-app purchase rate: 2.8%.
  • 15. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com TRADITIONAL APP INSTALL CAMPAIGN Drive users to install a brand's app *images are for demo purposes only Download App
  • 16. How do we ensure our app installs deliver real business results?
  • 17. MEET APPIQ An end-to-end mobile app marketing solution encompassing programmatic, search, social, & more. By generating user quality scores based on weighted and prioritized in-app events, AppIQ drives quality downloads with a high lifetime value. IMPROVE BENCHMARKING. OPTIMIZE TOWARD QUALITY.
  • 18. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com LOOK BEYOND THE INSTALL *images are for demo purposes only Traditional app install campaign DRIVE QUALITY APP INSTALLS ApplQ optimized campaign REGISTER ADD CC TAKE RIDE Download App
  • 20. • ANALYTICS • FRAUD PROTECTION • PERFORMANCE • EFFICIENCY • HOLISTIC PLANNING • OUTCOMES WHY APPIQ
  • 22. MARKETING RULES APPLY TO APP DOWNLOADS
  • 23. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com ALL DIGITAL CHANNELS CAN BE CONNECTED & OPTIMIZED App Store SearchHolistic Awareness App DownloadApp Store App Page Browser App Store DOOH AUDIO SOCIAL CTV
  • 24. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com DIGITAL OUT OF HOME FOR APP DOWNLOAD? Align visibility distributions to achieve same composition and account for panel bias Conversion Rate of New Users or Active Users found in the Exposed Group Conversion Rate of New Users or Active Users found in the Control Group Lift is the ratio between new users & engagement observed in the exposed group to those of the control group 17%/11% = 1.545x100 = 55% lift EXPOSED TO AD NOT EXPOSED TO AD 17% 11%
  • 26. With the increasing importance of apps comes the importance of usership. While driving app awareness will cause downloads to trickle in, advertisers should also evaluate direct app download campaigns.
  • 27. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com USE PAID SOCIAL TO DRIVE INSTALLS Through the Facebook/Instagram network, advertisers can optimize their campaigns towards app downloads – directly attributing downloads back to media spend.
  • 28. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com SELECT THE PROPER OBJECTIVE Choosing the correct objective is key to driving effective performance – as it informs your campaign what actions represent success. In this case, the “App Installs” objective will give you the lowest cost per install.
  • 29. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com CASE STUDY: CREATING A QUALIFIED STRATEGY PRE-LAUNCH GOAL: Drive net new app downloads for Mortgage Lending client CHALLENGE: Driving such a low funnel action can be costly, so developing a qualified strategy is crucial to maintaining efficiency. STRATEGY & EXECUTION: 1. Strong, simplistic CTA: Utilize assets that clearly instruct users on desired actions – showcase the ease of downloading 2. Target Apple & Android users: Build audiences of users based on phone operating systems – allowing FB/IG to optimize to the most efficient segment 3. Leverage a rich mix of ad units: Results by creative type can vary, develop creative for 2-3 ad formats. See what ad type resonates best.
  • 30. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com WATCH THE RESULTS COME IN By reaching the right audience and embracing Facebook’s AI, we shattered campaign benchmarks while working with a limited budget. 5,200 DOWNLOADS 3X ESTIMATED INSTALLS 45% LOWER COST PER INSTALL
  • 32. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com APPLE SEARCH BEHAVIOR 70% App store customers using search to discover apps 65% 50% Downloads that come directly from a search in the App Store App Search Ads’ average conversion rate www.searchads.apple.com
  • 33. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com ORGANIC AOS OVERVIEW Status Impact Effort Keywords High Low App Name Med Low Subtitle Med Low What’s New Med Low Description Med Low Screenshots Low Low Video Preview High High
  • 34. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com REVIEW CURRENT KEYWORDS Paid Keyword Impressions Taps Installs TTR Tap through rate CVR Conversion rate New Downloads IOS Ranking Organic Keyword - - - - - - 3 Keyword 22,301 3,265 2,256 15.9% 70.1% 794 1 Keyword 3,388 348 336 12.4% 75.0% 129 1 Keyword 85 9 5 10.6% 55.6% 5 3 Keyword - - - - - - - Keyword 753 109 87 14.5% 79.8% 64 1 Keyword 1,467 65 50 4.4% 76.9% 43 11 Keyword - - - - - - 6 Keyword - - - - - - 32 Keyword 29 5 3 17.2% 60.0% 3 2 Keyword 45 - - 0.0% 0.0% - - Length: 86 out of 100 characters Travelocity, flights, hotels, car rentals, travel, vacation packages, cruises, cars • The length is a little short (86/100) • Several of the words show no search volume • No need to include app name INSIGHT
  • 35. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com RECOMMENDED KEYWORDS • “Keyword” doesn’t have much search volume, but we had 6 extra characters to work with so we included it. INSIGHT
  • 36. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com APP NAME • The app name should be between 26 and 30 characters INSIGHT The brand name is important. Are you fully utilizing the available space for keywords? Brand App Title Characters Hotels.com Hotels.com: Book Hotels & More 30 Trivago Trivago: Compare hotel process 29 Booking Booking.com: Hotels & Travel 28 HotelTonight HotelTonight – Hotel Deals 26 Expedia Expedia: Hotels, Flights & Car 30 Priceline Priceline Travel – Book & Save 30 TripAdvisor TripAdvisor Hotels Restaurants 30 Hotwire Hotwire 7 KAYAK KAYAK Flights, Hotels & Cars 28 Hilton Hilton Honors: Book Hotels 26
  • 37. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com SUBTITLE • Similar to app name, app subtitle is indexed in the App Store search, making it ideal to include keywords that you want to rank for • Try to include a CTA in the subtitle. This can improve the tap-to-install conversion rate by 15-20% according to SplitMetrics • For existing apps that are using 50 characters in their app name, only the first 30 characters will be indexed by the App Store search once you have also used the app subtitle field. INSIGHT APP SUBTITLE
  • 38. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com WHAT'S NEW WHAT’S NEW INSIGHT • The What's New (Version History) area appears below reviews, making it an important marketing tool. • It should be written in an engaging, exciting manner, not just technical changes.
  • 41. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com DESCRIPTION INSIGHT On Google Play, keywords do matter in the description. Keywords can be repeated up to 5 times. APP DESCRIPTION (PLAY)
  • 43. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com VIDEO INSIGHT • A good preview video can increase install rates by more than 23%
  • 44. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com HOW SEARCH ADS WORK RELEVANCE Must be relevant to the users’ search query CREATIVE Automatically generated from your apps metadata + Creative Sets PRICING - Cost Per Tap Auction Pay only when a user engages with your ad AUDIENCE REFINEMENTS All users, new users, returning users, & users of my other apps Demographic refinements (age & gender) City & State ATTRIBUTION Install data native in the UI, received directly from App Store
  • 45. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com APPS APPEAR IN GOOGLE SERPS APP INDEXING Google not only ranks entire apps, but allows to crawl and rank internal app screens, thanks to App Indexing. That means if users have your app installed, they can find specific app content in Google Search. KEYWORDS Find the right keywords using Apple Search Ads and strategically place it in your Google Play Store app’s title and description. RATINGS & REVIEWS Google’s ranking factor is highly dependent on what users think about your app so having good ratings and reviews is of utmost importance. Source: Ipsos MediaCT research
  • 46. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com APPS APPEAR IN GOOGLE SERPS BACKLINKS Add a link towards your app store download page within the header of the mobile version of your website or build a dedicated landing page to promote your mobile apps. SITELINKS EXTENSIONS Paid search sitelink extensions take people to specific pages on your site, including to a page dedicated to your app. Sitelink extension
  • 48. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com DRIVE ENGAGEMENT - APP RETARGETING Retarget your brand’s app installers to drive in-app conversions (Find a Driver, Order Food, etc…).
  • 49. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com CONTINUE THE CONVERSATION • Don’t forget to continue the conversation post-install. • Re-message users to encourage key in-app actions. • Continue to weight actions and drive up quality score.
  • 50. www.CatalystDigital.comwww.xaxis.com MOBILE IN YOUR HOLISTIC PLANNING STRATEGY The Consumer’s Journey Commuting to work Commuting from work Lifting after work “working hard” Commuting home Enjoying TV timeTrying a new recipe Retarget your brand’s app installers across a user’s different devices to drive in- app and omnichannel conversions
  • 51. • Establish & optimize towards quality score • Always think beyond the install to maximize high LTV installs • Consider emerging channels, like DOOH, as app awareness drivers • Explore paid social to maximize installs • Activate strategic SEO and paid search programs in the app stores & on traditional search engines to increase visibility & findability • Retarget your brand’s app installers to drive in- app conversions & engagement WRAPPING UP
  • 52. RESOURCES OR DROP US A LINE: Info@CatalystDigital.com CASE STUDIES & INSIGHTS: https://www.catalystdigital.com/digital-marketing-case-studies/ https://www.xaxis.com/insights/casestudies/ MORE WEBINARS: https://www.catalystdigital.com/company/digital-marketing-webinars/