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Lori Tucker
PR 101
Tucker & Associates is a full-service
travel, lifestyle and consumer
product public relations agency.
About TuckerAbout Tucker
PR 101PR 101
Travel and Tourism
• MAXjet Airways
• The Cayman Islands
• Cancun
• The State of Texas
• Ski Utah
• Abilene, Texas
• Irving, Texas
• Beaumont, Texas
• Plano, Texas
• Cheyenne, Wyoming
Hospitality
• Hyatt Hotels
• Wyndham Hotels & Resorts
• Wildcatter Ranch & Resort
PR 101PR 101
OVERVIEWOVERVIEW
• What is tourism PR & Why is it Important?
• How is PR Similar/Different from Advertising?
• What is News & How Do We Generate Press
Coverage?
• Press Trips, Journalists and Networking
• Measuring Return on Investment (ROI)
and Ad Value
• Case Studies
• PR Handouts
PR 101PR 101
““What is Tourism Public Relations?”What is Tourism Public Relations?”
• Generating positive media coverage that
directly influences travelers to spend their
tourism dollars at your destination
• Media Coverage = “HEADS IN BEDS”
PR 101PR 101
• Travel media coverage is seen as unbiased editorial
opinion, even as a recommendation or an
endorsement
• Consumers act more frequently on editorial
information they have viewed, heard or read versus
advertising they have seen.
““Why is Tourism Public RelationsWhy is Tourism Public Relations
Important?”Important?”
PR 101PR 101
““How is PRHow is PR similarsimilar to advertising?”to advertising?”
• Both reinforce key messages
• Both brand a product or service
• Both are consistent
• Both aim to create a positive image
• Both are results driven-SELL
• Both have to TARGET
• Both are valuable
PR 101PR 101
““How is PRHow is PR differentdifferent from advertising”from advertising”
• PR provides depth of message; advertising
provides frequency. You must have both.
• PR is perceived as more credible
– Third party support and endorsement
– Publication is not paid for the placement
• PR placement has three times more value
• PR is broader is scope
PR 101PR 101
Four Basic Skills of a PR ProfessionalFour Basic Skills of a PR Professional
• Creativity to get the attention of your target audience
• Speaking and writing eloquently and convincingly to
champion your cause
• Formidable knowledge of PR tools and practices
• Laser sharp focus on what constitutes news
PR 101PR 101
What Constitutes “News?”What Constitutes “News?”
• Perceived value to broad audience
• Newness (has it been done before?)
• Timeliness
• Proximity (localize, localize, localize)
• Human Interest
• Conflict
PR 101PR 101
“Newsworthy - interesting enough to the
general public to warrant reporting”
(Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 11th
Edition)
Types of Media CoverageTypes of Media Coverage
Breaking News
PR 101PR 101
Round Ups and Mentions
Feature Coverage
PR 101PR 101
PR 101PR 101
PR 101PR 101
PR 101PR 101
PR 101PR 101
PR 101PR 101
Initiatives to Generate Press CoverageInitiatives to Generate Press Coverage
Creating news
PR 101PR 101
Finding news
Press trips
Visiting journalists
Industry networking
News Bureau operations
Creating NewsCreating News
Develop a promotion or offer a package
•Make it a true value
•Easy to access
•Call to action
Special events and festivals
•Produce publicity as a byproduct
•Planned to generate publicity
Tie in holidays and current events
Contests, Polls, Surveys, Tips, Lists
PR 101PR 101
Finding NewsFinding News
Profnet, TIA, State tourism leads
Advertising section calendars
Lead Times
Newspaper – immediate to six weeks
Regional Magazine – three months
National Magazines – six months
Broadcast – immediate to never
PR 101PR 101
Press TripsPress Trips
• Select a theme
• Create a streamlined itinerary
(not too many tours and at least two
hours a day unscheduled)
• No more than three full days
• Six months lead time
• All expenses paid (exclusions)
• Murphy’s Law
PR 101PR 101
Visiting JournalistsVisiting Journalists
• Highly selective
• Seasoned journalists
• Individual “press trip”
• Unescorted for most part
• Expenses more negotiable
PR 101PR 101
Industry NetworkingIndustry Networking
Partner, Partner, Partner!
Media Tours
SATW
PRSA Travel and Tourism
PR 101PR 101
Measurement/Defining PR ROIMeasurement/Defining PR ROI
•Press Coverage
•Circulation/Impressions
•Advertising Equivalency Value
•PR Value
PR 101PR 101
Calculate your AD value based on how much a
one-time advertisement would have cost in the
same publication or on a broadcast outlet, or a
banner on a webpage.
AD ValueAD Value
PR 101PR 101
Procter & Gamble FormulaProcter & Gamble Formula
Impressions are calculated to account for pass-on readership, 2.5
times the circulation for newspapers and 3.5 times the circulation
for magazines.
PR 101PR 101
Publicity (PR) value is presented to factor in the added value and weight
of an objective third-party editorial endorsement vs. paid-for
advertisement. It is calculated by multiplying the advertising equivalency
by 3. This is a standard PR industry formula that was researched and
developed by Procter & Gamble.
Advertising (AD) value is calculated based on a one-time, full-page
black and white for magazines, and a one-time, one-inch black and
white ad for newspapers.
Procter & Gamble FormulaProcter & Gamble Formula
PR 101PR 101
TraditionalTraditional vs. New Mediavs. New Media
Print - newspapers and magazines
PR 101PR 101
Broadcast - radio and television
Social Media
• Web sites
• Blogs
• Facebook
• Twitter
• You Tube
• Foursquare
• Flickr
Traditional vs.Traditional vs. New MediaNew Media
PR 101PR 101
Valuing Online MediaValuing Online Media
• For impressions, look at the
“Unique Visitors Per Month”
• For Ad Value, divide the
Unique Visitors Per Month
(14,115,300) by 1,000 and
multiply by the CPM Ad Rate
($51 USD)
• For USAToday.com, the
online ad rate would be
$719,880.30
• To get PR value, multiply the
ad rate ($719,880.30) by 3.
PR 101PR 101
Unique Visitors Per Month:
14,115,300
CPM (cost per thousand view) Ad Rate:
$51
14,115,300/1000*$51 =
719,880.30*3 =
$2,159,640.90$2,159,640.90
Case StudiesCase Studies
Wildcatter Ranch &Wildcatter Ranch &
ResortResort
PR 101PR 101
4inches
3 columns
Case StudiesCase Studies
Wildcatter Ranch & ResortWildcatter Ranch & Resort
Impressions: 2,284,219 x 2.5 = 5,710,548
Ad Value: $2,237.50 x 12 column inches = $26,850
PR Value: $2,237.5 x 12 column inches x 3
PR 101PR 101
Case StudiesCase Studies
Beaumont CVBBeaumont CVB
PR 101PR 101
Case StudiesCase Studies
Beaumont CVBBeaumont CVB
Impressions: 215,820 x 3.5 = 755,370
Ad Value: $7,120 x 9 pages = $64,080
PR Value: $7,120 x 9 pages x 3
PR 101PR 101
Case StudiesCase Studies
Abilene CVBAbilene CVB
PR 101PR 101
16.25inches
6 columns
Case StudiesCase Studies
Abilene CVBAbilene CVB
Impressions: 18,957 x 2.5 = 47,393
Ad Value: $404.81 x 97.5 column inches = $39,469
PR Value: $404.81 x 97.5 column inches x 3
PR 101PR 101
Goal for PR ROIGoal for PR ROI
Number of dollars spent on public relations efforts divided into
PR Value equals PR return on investment (ROI) per dollar spent.
PR 101PR 101
Example: $20,000 campaign divided into total PR value
of $280,000 equals PR ROI of 14 to 1, or the
campaign earned $14 in value for every dollar spent.
PR 101PR 101
Wildcatter Ranch Media Analysis
Report 2009
PRINT
Media Outlet Media Type Location Journalist Date Story Title *Impressions **AD Value ***PR Value
Fort Worth Star-
Telegram
Newspaper Fort Worth, TX Chris Vaughn 27-Feb Where vets leave trouble in the dust 413,130 $52,235.63 $156,706.88
Fort Worth Star-
Telegram
Newspaper Fort Worth, TX Chris Vaughn 27-Feb A change of scenery and a change of pace 413,130 $62,682.75 $188,048.25
Chicago Tribune Newspaper Chicago, IL Chris Vaughn 6-Mar Restoring spirits of men haunted by war 1,130,363 $11,325.00 $33,975.00
Meeting News Magazine New York, NY Staff 9-Mar
Ranch Flavor for Groups; Wildcatter Ranch
Caters Small Retreats
175,350 $7,746.67 $23,240.00
Texas Monthly Magazine Austin, TX Jordan Breal 1-Jun Home on the Range 1,027,880 $34,935.00 $104,805.00
PRINT TOTALS 6,061,104 $176,315.04 $528,945.13
BROADCAST
Media Outlet Media Type Location Journalist Date Story Title *Impressions **AD Value ***PR Value
FOX 4 News at Six Broadcast Dallas, TX Richard Ray 13-May Wounded Warriors 115,075 $17,340.00 $52,020.00
BROADCAST
TOTALS
115,075 $17,340.00 $52,020.00
ONLINE
Website Media Type Location Journalist Date
Story Title
Visitors per
Month
Star-Telegram.com online Ft.Worth, TX Chris Vaughn 27-Feb
At Graham ranch, a change of scenery and
pace for veterans
556,321 $11,126.42 $33,379.26
Marketwatch.com online San Francisco, CA Staff 12-Feb
Wounded Warrior Project's Project Odyssey
Aims to Teach Coping Skills for Combating
Post-Traumatic Stress in Wounded Warriors
4,850,140 $125,788.75 $377,366.25
Chicago Tribune online Chicago, IL Chris Vaughn 6-Mar Restoring spirits of men haunted by war 3,110,380 $62,207.60 $186,622.80
Star-Telegram.com online Ft.Worth, TX Bob Hood 25-Apr
Families looking for an outdoors getaway
have plenty of options this summer
556,321 $11,126.42 $33,379.26
ONLINE TOTALS 9,327,755 $213,685.07 $641,055.21
GRAND TOTAL 27,803,003 $449,936.29 $1,349,808.87
Sample Annual Report - Wildcatter RanchSample Annual Report - Wildcatter Ranch
(condensed for example)
Sample Annual ReportSample Annual Report
Wildcatter RanchWildcatter Ranch
PR 101PR 101
Tracking Press CoverageTracking Press Coverage
• Burelles Luce
• Bacons
• Texas Press Clipping Bureau
• DJ Interactive
• VMS
• Google Alerts
• Smile and Dial
PR 101PR 101
PR HandoutsPR Handouts
• Public Relations Resource Guide
• Tips for Dealing with Reporters
• Procter & Gamble
PR 101PR 101

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Lori Tucker - PR and ROI

  • 2. Tucker & Associates is a full-service travel, lifestyle and consumer product public relations agency. About TuckerAbout Tucker PR 101PR 101
  • 3. Travel and Tourism • MAXjet Airways • The Cayman Islands • Cancun • The State of Texas • Ski Utah • Abilene, Texas • Irving, Texas • Beaumont, Texas • Plano, Texas • Cheyenne, Wyoming Hospitality • Hyatt Hotels • Wyndham Hotels & Resorts • Wildcatter Ranch & Resort PR 101PR 101
  • 4. OVERVIEWOVERVIEW • What is tourism PR & Why is it Important? • How is PR Similar/Different from Advertising? • What is News & How Do We Generate Press Coverage? • Press Trips, Journalists and Networking • Measuring Return on Investment (ROI) and Ad Value • Case Studies • PR Handouts PR 101PR 101
  • 5. ““What is Tourism Public Relations?”What is Tourism Public Relations?” • Generating positive media coverage that directly influences travelers to spend their tourism dollars at your destination • Media Coverage = “HEADS IN BEDS” PR 101PR 101
  • 6. • Travel media coverage is seen as unbiased editorial opinion, even as a recommendation or an endorsement • Consumers act more frequently on editorial information they have viewed, heard or read versus advertising they have seen. ““Why is Tourism Public RelationsWhy is Tourism Public Relations Important?”Important?” PR 101PR 101
  • 7. ““How is PRHow is PR similarsimilar to advertising?”to advertising?” • Both reinforce key messages • Both brand a product or service • Both are consistent • Both aim to create a positive image • Both are results driven-SELL • Both have to TARGET • Both are valuable PR 101PR 101
  • 8. ““How is PRHow is PR differentdifferent from advertising”from advertising” • PR provides depth of message; advertising provides frequency. You must have both. • PR is perceived as more credible – Third party support and endorsement – Publication is not paid for the placement • PR placement has three times more value • PR is broader is scope PR 101PR 101
  • 9. Four Basic Skills of a PR ProfessionalFour Basic Skills of a PR Professional • Creativity to get the attention of your target audience • Speaking and writing eloquently and convincingly to champion your cause • Formidable knowledge of PR tools and practices • Laser sharp focus on what constitutes news PR 101PR 101
  • 10. What Constitutes “News?”What Constitutes “News?” • Perceived value to broad audience • Newness (has it been done before?) • Timeliness • Proximity (localize, localize, localize) • Human Interest • Conflict PR 101PR 101 “Newsworthy - interesting enough to the general public to warrant reporting” (Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 11th Edition)
  • 11. Types of Media CoverageTypes of Media Coverage Breaking News PR 101PR 101 Round Ups and Mentions Feature Coverage
  • 18. Initiatives to Generate Press CoverageInitiatives to Generate Press Coverage Creating news PR 101PR 101 Finding news Press trips Visiting journalists Industry networking News Bureau operations
  • 19. Creating NewsCreating News Develop a promotion or offer a package •Make it a true value •Easy to access •Call to action Special events and festivals •Produce publicity as a byproduct •Planned to generate publicity Tie in holidays and current events Contests, Polls, Surveys, Tips, Lists PR 101PR 101
  • 20. Finding NewsFinding News Profnet, TIA, State tourism leads Advertising section calendars Lead Times Newspaper – immediate to six weeks Regional Magazine – three months National Magazines – six months Broadcast – immediate to never PR 101PR 101
  • 21. Press TripsPress Trips • Select a theme • Create a streamlined itinerary (not too many tours and at least two hours a day unscheduled) • No more than three full days • Six months lead time • All expenses paid (exclusions) • Murphy’s Law PR 101PR 101
  • 22. Visiting JournalistsVisiting Journalists • Highly selective • Seasoned journalists • Individual “press trip” • Unescorted for most part • Expenses more negotiable PR 101PR 101
  • 23. Industry NetworkingIndustry Networking Partner, Partner, Partner! Media Tours SATW PRSA Travel and Tourism PR 101PR 101
  • 24. Measurement/Defining PR ROIMeasurement/Defining PR ROI •Press Coverage •Circulation/Impressions •Advertising Equivalency Value •PR Value PR 101PR 101
  • 25. Calculate your AD value based on how much a one-time advertisement would have cost in the same publication or on a broadcast outlet, or a banner on a webpage. AD ValueAD Value PR 101PR 101
  • 26. Procter & Gamble FormulaProcter & Gamble Formula Impressions are calculated to account for pass-on readership, 2.5 times the circulation for newspapers and 3.5 times the circulation for magazines. PR 101PR 101 Publicity (PR) value is presented to factor in the added value and weight of an objective third-party editorial endorsement vs. paid-for advertisement. It is calculated by multiplying the advertising equivalency by 3. This is a standard PR industry formula that was researched and developed by Procter & Gamble. Advertising (AD) value is calculated based on a one-time, full-page black and white for magazines, and a one-time, one-inch black and white ad for newspapers.
  • 27. Procter & Gamble FormulaProcter & Gamble Formula PR 101PR 101
  • 28. TraditionalTraditional vs. New Mediavs. New Media Print - newspapers and magazines PR 101PR 101 Broadcast - radio and television
  • 29. Social Media • Web sites • Blogs • Facebook • Twitter • You Tube • Foursquare • Flickr Traditional vs.Traditional vs. New MediaNew Media PR 101PR 101
  • 30. Valuing Online MediaValuing Online Media • For impressions, look at the “Unique Visitors Per Month” • For Ad Value, divide the Unique Visitors Per Month (14,115,300) by 1,000 and multiply by the CPM Ad Rate ($51 USD) • For USAToday.com, the online ad rate would be $719,880.30 • To get PR value, multiply the ad rate ($719,880.30) by 3. PR 101PR 101 Unique Visitors Per Month: 14,115,300 CPM (cost per thousand view) Ad Rate: $51 14,115,300/1000*$51 = 719,880.30*3 = $2,159,640.90$2,159,640.90
  • 31. Case StudiesCase Studies Wildcatter Ranch &Wildcatter Ranch & ResortResort PR 101PR 101 4inches 3 columns
  • 32. Case StudiesCase Studies Wildcatter Ranch & ResortWildcatter Ranch & Resort Impressions: 2,284,219 x 2.5 = 5,710,548 Ad Value: $2,237.50 x 12 column inches = $26,850 PR Value: $2,237.5 x 12 column inches x 3 PR 101PR 101
  • 33. Case StudiesCase Studies Beaumont CVBBeaumont CVB PR 101PR 101
  • 34. Case StudiesCase Studies Beaumont CVBBeaumont CVB Impressions: 215,820 x 3.5 = 755,370 Ad Value: $7,120 x 9 pages = $64,080 PR Value: $7,120 x 9 pages x 3 PR 101PR 101
  • 35. Case StudiesCase Studies Abilene CVBAbilene CVB PR 101PR 101 16.25inches 6 columns
  • 36. Case StudiesCase Studies Abilene CVBAbilene CVB Impressions: 18,957 x 2.5 = 47,393 Ad Value: $404.81 x 97.5 column inches = $39,469 PR Value: $404.81 x 97.5 column inches x 3 PR 101PR 101
  • 37. Goal for PR ROIGoal for PR ROI Number of dollars spent on public relations efforts divided into PR Value equals PR return on investment (ROI) per dollar spent. PR 101PR 101 Example: $20,000 campaign divided into total PR value of $280,000 equals PR ROI of 14 to 1, or the campaign earned $14 in value for every dollar spent.
  • 38. PR 101PR 101 Wildcatter Ranch Media Analysis Report 2009 PRINT Media Outlet Media Type Location Journalist Date Story Title *Impressions **AD Value ***PR Value Fort Worth Star- Telegram Newspaper Fort Worth, TX Chris Vaughn 27-Feb Where vets leave trouble in the dust 413,130 $52,235.63 $156,706.88 Fort Worth Star- Telegram Newspaper Fort Worth, TX Chris Vaughn 27-Feb A change of scenery and a change of pace 413,130 $62,682.75 $188,048.25 Chicago Tribune Newspaper Chicago, IL Chris Vaughn 6-Mar Restoring spirits of men haunted by war 1,130,363 $11,325.00 $33,975.00 Meeting News Magazine New York, NY Staff 9-Mar Ranch Flavor for Groups; Wildcatter Ranch Caters Small Retreats 175,350 $7,746.67 $23,240.00 Texas Monthly Magazine Austin, TX Jordan Breal 1-Jun Home on the Range 1,027,880 $34,935.00 $104,805.00 PRINT TOTALS 6,061,104 $176,315.04 $528,945.13 BROADCAST Media Outlet Media Type Location Journalist Date Story Title *Impressions **AD Value ***PR Value FOX 4 News at Six Broadcast Dallas, TX Richard Ray 13-May Wounded Warriors 115,075 $17,340.00 $52,020.00 BROADCAST TOTALS 115,075 $17,340.00 $52,020.00 ONLINE Website Media Type Location Journalist Date Story Title Visitors per Month Star-Telegram.com online Ft.Worth, TX Chris Vaughn 27-Feb At Graham ranch, a change of scenery and pace for veterans 556,321 $11,126.42 $33,379.26 Marketwatch.com online San Francisco, CA Staff 12-Feb Wounded Warrior Project's Project Odyssey Aims to Teach Coping Skills for Combating Post-Traumatic Stress in Wounded Warriors 4,850,140 $125,788.75 $377,366.25 Chicago Tribune online Chicago, IL Chris Vaughn 6-Mar Restoring spirits of men haunted by war 3,110,380 $62,207.60 $186,622.80 Star-Telegram.com online Ft.Worth, TX Bob Hood 25-Apr Families looking for an outdoors getaway have plenty of options this summer 556,321 $11,126.42 $33,379.26 ONLINE TOTALS 9,327,755 $213,685.07 $641,055.21 GRAND TOTAL 27,803,003 $449,936.29 $1,349,808.87 Sample Annual Report - Wildcatter RanchSample Annual Report - Wildcatter Ranch (condensed for example)
  • 39. Sample Annual ReportSample Annual Report Wildcatter RanchWildcatter Ranch PR 101PR 101
  • 40. Tracking Press CoverageTracking Press Coverage • Burelles Luce • Bacons • Texas Press Clipping Bureau • DJ Interactive • VMS • Google Alerts • Smile and Dial PR 101PR 101
  • 41. PR HandoutsPR Handouts • Public Relations Resource Guide • Tips for Dealing with Reporters • Procter & Gamble PR 101PR 101

Notas del editor

  1. Basic introduction to Tucker & Associates
  2. Snapshot of destination clients both in a Tourism and ED capacity
  3. Name each of the difference and refer back to “PR placement has three times more value” – the rest of lines will disappear at the click of the mouse.
  4. Some may ask for the formula, but every company and agency has a different formula for measuring AEVs (not able to provide the formula for proprietary reasons but this slide gives the audience an idea on what to consider)