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How do you build a world changing brand?

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How do you build a world changing brand?

  1. 1. How do you build a world changing brand?
  2. 2. Hello! I am Sean O’Connor You can find me at @aseoconnor or at SeanOConn.org
  3. 3. Marketing manager for the dig ed group ● Designed strategy for new product launch First employee and head of product at Mentored.com ● Designed and built 2 products ● Signed up 60k users ● Sold 4 b2b clients Worked with Seth Godin to design and launch Krpyton.cc ● Built out 10 classes ● Enrolled 20k users ● Shut the project down What have I done? (aka why should you listen to me)
  4. 4. “ Marketing is no longer about the stuff that you make, but about the stories you tell. — Seth Godin
  5. 5. 1 Who’s It For? Who are you building your product for?
  6. 6. Need vs. Want Marketers are in the wants business
  7. 7. ● Delight ○ Can we make something that delights you? ● Fear ○ Can we create fear that if you don’t buy this you will regret it What kind of emotions connect to people?
  8. 8. ● Attention ○ The most scarce resource around ● Trust ○ Why should I believe you? Why will they listen?
  9. 9. 2 What are you changing? Who are you building your product for?
  10. 10. ● Great companies and non profits cause their customers to change Who are you changing (and how)?
  11. 11. How does Tom’s change it’s customers?
  12. 12. 3 Permission to Alert Marketing is a privilege, not a right
  13. 13. ● Once you’ve changed someone how do you build the privilege (permission) to deliver your message to them? ○ Anticipated, Personal, Relevant Permission Marketing
  14. 14. ● Amazon ○ Has the trust necessary to keep your CC on file, to suggest products to you, etc. ● Cards Against Humanity ○ Launching successful product after successful product Examples of Trust
  15. 15. 4 Why will people talk about it? Remarkable products spread
  16. 16. ● Share ○ Instead of relying on paid media to yell at people build something that people talk about ● Warby Parker ○ When you buy a pair they give a pair ■ That’s the story, the emotion Stories that spread
  17. 17. Stories that spread
  18. 18. 5 Action Theory of Marketing How do you market in the connection economy?
  19. 19. ● 1. Do you create an emotion? ○ If you don’t create a product that delights or leverages fear in the person who uses it, start over ● 2. Does that emotion change someone? ○ Does it change them in a way that moves them forward? Action theory of marketing
  20. 20. ● 3. Do you earn the privilege to alert them? ● 4. Can you make it so that people will choose to share it? ● 5. Is there urgency or scarcity? Action theory of marketing
  21. 21. 6 Marketing Strategy How are you driving customers?
  22. 22. Most marketing funnels are leaky.
  23. 23. 1,000 500 100 5 Clicks on Ad Views of Promo Video Items Added to Shopping Cart Items Purchased
  24. 24. What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC) 1,000 500 100 5 Clicks on Ad Views of Promo Video Items Added to Shopping Cart Items Purchased
  25. 25. What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC) 1,000 500 100 5 $1 CPC $1,000 / $1000 = $1 $2 Cost Per View $1,000 / 500 = $2 $10 Cost Per Add to Cart $1,000 / 100 = $10 $200 Cost Per Purchase $1,000 / 5 = $200
  26. 26. 7 Project Prompt Let’s apply these concepts
  27. 27. The Ready to Drink Coffee Market is Booming
  28. 28. How can we capture a portion of this market? Americans spend $21.32/week on coffee. Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts control ~50% of the market. The Ready to Drink (RTD) coffee market is growing at 10% per year. How do we capture a portion of this?
  29. 29. Califia Farms In the five years since Califia farms launched they’ve been growing at over 100% YoY. Receptive Market Of the 76 percent of Americans not drinking cold brew coffees at home, one third (33 percent) say they have not tried but are interested in doing so Demo Trends ● Millennials account for 55% of the market ● Men are a key demo Competition The Coldbrew Market Starbucks Starbucks sells coldbrew in all of their stores, but they do not yet sell it in bottles (like their other drinks) Blue Bottle Blue Bottle’s wholesale operations account for 20% of their revenues. High Growth ● 115% YoY growth ● Accounts for 0.4% of the RTD market ● 24% of consumers drink cold brew Market Trends
  30. 30. Build a strategy brief Questions to Answer ● Who is the product for? ● What emotions are you using? ● What story are you telling? ● How can we gain permission to market to people? ● Where will it be distributed? ● How much will it cost? ● How will people hear about it?
  31. 31. Thanks! Any questions? You can find me at @aseoconnor, SeanOConn.org, & aseoconnor@gmail.com Go cause a ruckus.

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