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Social Media
Marketing Plan
for the
Advertising and
Marketing
Communications
A January to September
2015 Campaign
CONTENTS    SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING PLAN                                   
Intro
Target
Audience Strategy
01 02
4 | EXECUTIVE 		
	SUMMARY
5 | OBJECTIVES
6 | INTRODUCTION
7 | BUYER’S 			
	PERSONA
8 | DATA
pages 4-5 pages 6-9 pages 10-37
10 | SWOT
11|RECOMMENDATIONS
17 | RATIONALE
18 | EXAMPLE 		
	CONTENT
22 | STORYBOARD
23 | EDITORIAL 		
	CALENDAR
29 | TEAM 			
	ASSIGNMENTS
30 | ACTIVATION PLAN
Budget
Benchmark &
Measurement
03 04
Appendix
05
pages 47 - 53
47 | DIGITAL AUDIT
51 | TARGETMARKET	
	 & INFLUENCE 	
	ANALYSIS
& MEASUREMENT
42 | BENCHMARK &
44 | ROI
MEASUREMENT
pages 42 - 45
40 | BUDGET
pages 40 - 41
Executive Summary |4
The Advertising and Marketing Communications Program at St. Lawrence College
is a 3-year degree curriculum that offers career opportunities in the advertising
and marketing field to students.
A Social Media Marketing Campaign for the Advertising and Marketing Communi-
cations focuses primarily on increasing the program’s awareness on a
provincial scale. Through this, the program should build an online awareness.
This requires the creation of an online identity towards the program, build
relationships, and a strong community that should drive active followers to
engage and talk about the program. Drawing an increasing amount of traffic
to the Advertising and Marketing Communications Program, online resources are
also an essential goal towards the Social Media Marketing Campaign.
The Social Media Campaign should run from January to September 2015 without
exceeding the maximum budget of $25,000.
Executive Summary
OBJECTIVES |5
Over the course of an 8-month campaign,
from January to the end of September
2015, the primary goals for the social
media campaign are:
1.		A 15% boost in terms of analytics
to the Advertising and Marketing
Communications page over at the
St. Lawrence website.
2.		Develop social media accounts
for the Advertising and Marketing
Communications Program and push
a fan base over the different online
social accounts.
3.		Create hype in the form of a contest
to stir up an increase of community
engagement and to push the fulfil-
ment of benchmarks defined for the
social media campaign.
With the social media campaign goals
laid out, this will pave the way for the
long-term goals to Advertising and
Marketing Communications where it is
stated below:
1.		Expand the reach of the content
for the program
2.		Find engaging and exciting key
influencers for the program
3.		Be recognized as the best Adver-
tising and Marketing Communications
Program in Ontario.
Objectives
Target Audience |6
Target Audience
The target audience for the campaign
speaks to the millennial generation.
They are from the age bracket of 18-24
years old where majority are female
that belong to the Frontenac County
Region.
The target audience belong to two
group segments under the Younger
Years PRIZMNE group classification. We
identify these two group segments as
the Striving Singles and the Mainstream
Singles:
STRIVING SINGLES
Striving Singles are centered in exurban
towns and satellite cities, these twenty
something singles typically have low
incomes—often under$25,000 a year—
from service jobs or part-time work
they take on while going to college.
Housing for this group consists of a
mix of cheap apartment complexes,
dormitories and mobile homes. They
are racially mixed and as consumers,
the residents in these segments score
high for outdoor sports, movies and
music, fast food and inexpensive cars.
MAINSTREAM SINGLES
Mainstream Singles are recognized as
young and hip, they are a life stage group
of twenty-something who have recently
settled in metro neighbourhoods. Their
incomes range from working-class to
well to do, but most residents are still
renting apartments in cities or close-in
suburbs. These segments contain a high
percentage of Asian singles, and there’s
a decidedly progressive sensibility in
their tastes as reflected in the group’s
Target audience |7
liberal politics, alternative music and
lively nightlife. They are twice as likely
as the general population to include
college students living in-group quarters.
Below are the compiled data
and research that associ-
ates the online and social
media activities of the target
audience:
BUYER’S PERSONA
O T H E R
DATA
Millen-
nial
62% Female
18-24 years old
Catchment: 38%
Region: Frontenac County
Online Interests:
Target Audience
Target Audience |8
Online Interests:
1.	Videos
2.	Chatting
3.	Search
4.	Hangouts
5.	Music
6.	Fashion
PEW Top Habits1
1.	Email 		 95%
2.	Search			95%
3.	Health Info 	 85%
4.	Social Sites 	 85%
5.	Watch Video 	 85%
1	 KATHRYN ZICKUHR. (2010). www.pewinternet.
org. In Generations 2010. Retrieved October 7, 2014,
from http://www.pewinternet.org/2010/12/16/genera-
tions-2010/#.
Technographic — Forrester2
JOINERS connect in social networks like
MySpace and Facebook.
•	 They maintain a profile in a social
networking site
•	 Visit networking sites
Access to Information3
1. 	Mobile 		 56%
2. 	Desktop		 33%
3. 	Tablet		 11%
2	 Forrester Research’s Consumer Technographic
Data. (2009). empowered.forrester.com. In Social Tech-
nographics Profile Tool. Retrieved October 7, 2014,
from http://empowered.forrester.com/tool_consumer.
html.
3	 Google AdWords: Keyword Planner. Searched
by Cassandra Pastorfide. Ads. (n.d.). Retrieved Oc-
tober 7, 2014, from https://adwords.google.com/
ko/KeywordPlanner/Home?__u=4659394686&__
c=8593589166&authuser=0#search
Target Audience
Target audience |9
Usage of Social Networking Sites – Rate
of Importance to Demographic4
1.	 Staying in Touch	 Total: 83%
	 Very Important		 46%
	 Somewhat Important	 37%
2.	 Finding old Friends	 Total: 69%
	 Very Important		 25%
	 Somewhat Important	 44%
3. 	E-mail/Chat		 Total:	69%
	 Very Important		 30%
	 Somewhat Important	 39%
4.	 Stress Reliever		 Total:	58%
	 Very Important		 18%
	 Somewhat Important	 40%
5. 	Making New Friends	 Total:	40%
	 Very Important		 11%
	 Somewhat Important	 29%
4	 Brian F. Singh. (2010). CANADIANS & SOCIAL
MEDIA Social Media by the Numbers. ZINC Research.
Retrieved October 7, 2014, from http://www.zinc-tank.
com/include/get.php?nodeid=44
Top 3 Social Media Platforms as of
June 20145
1.	Facebook	90%
2.	YouTube	81%
3.	Twitter	58%
Group Influencers6
	
1.	Parents
2.	Siblings
3.	Self
4.	Peers
5.	Mentors
5	 Anonymous. (August 27, 2014). www.ypulse.com.
In Social MediaTracked Trends: The Stats On Who’s
Using What. Retrieved October 7, 2014, from http://
www.ypulse.com/post/view/social-media-tracked-trends-
the-stats-on-whos-using-what.
6	 Focus Group Interview. Interview by Sheila
Aneno, Ashton Deroy, and Cassandra Pastorfide. For
Advertising and Marketing Communications - Social
Media Marketing Plan. October 8, 2014.
Target Audience
Strategy |10
SWOT ANALYSIS
Strengths
1.	Organized website. The website for
AMC in SLC was informative , written
professionally and in a systematic
manner. All the information that is
possibly needed by the prospect has
been comprehensively listed.
2.	Consistent updated contents in
social media websites. The social
media websites associated with AMC
program is consistently updated with
relevant contents such as articles or
questions in a conversational tone.
3.	Good online reputation of the
program. The website has highlighted
the reputation of advertising and
marketing in SLC and recognized
as the leader in Ontario. The site
also noted the achievements of the
students of AMC in SLC who excelled
in numerous video competitions.
The students are recurring winners
at the Annual Ontario Colleges’
Marketing Competition (OCMC) and
Vanier College BCD Case Challenge
– where expertise in advertising and
marketing is recognized by marketing
professionals.
SLC Team won the gold at the Vanier
College BDC Case Challenge in 2014.
SLC Team won the gold at OCMC
and silver at the Vanier College BDC
Case Challenge in 2013.
SLC Team won three gold medals
and a silver at OCMC in 2012.
Strategy
Strategy |11
Strategy
Weaknesses
1.	The engagement is very low. The
number of likes and shares for the
Facebook and Twitter pages are at
minimal even with a decent number
followers on both pages.
2.	Career information. There’s no online
record or trail about the graduates
of AMC in SLC and the career path
they took after graduating from the
program.
Opportunities
1.	New media is now the trend –
online and offline
2.	Younger age group
3.	A place for online enhancement,
the online presence could be more
engaging.
Threats
1.	Competition. There are a lot of
online competition from other colleges
such as Seneca, Humber College
and others.
2.	Being recognized from the online
crowd.
3.	Many contents are online and over
social media website so it’s hard
to get the attention of the prospects.
RECOMMENDATIONS
Below are the list of strategies and
tactics we recommend and the key
Strategy |12
features that will strongly leverage the
Social Media Marketing Plan:
SOCIAL MEDIA
FACEBOOK – the biggest social networking
site. To compete AMC in SLC has to
have its own Facebook profile.
•	 Great for Exposure. It is the most
popular networking site that offers
a huge potential when it comes to
exposure. Facebook can contribute a
significant improvement for AMC in
SLC’s online presence and visibility.
Earn respect through comments
posting, providing insights, and tips
for AMC in SLC’s network credibility
and ultimately gain leverage.
•	 Improve Online Rankings. AMC in
SLC should have a professional profile
to store information, services, and
program features with the “Pages”
application in Facebook. This will
help drive traffic to generate more
interest due to its attributes – add
links to the core or blogging sites
and “like” buttons.
•	 Free Marketing Platforms. Share
suitable information to the AMC in SLC
fans and network continuously – like
links to the program page, blogging
site, and other relevant content to
keep the followers stirred.
•	 Stay Connected and Nurture
Relationships. Newsgroups and
networks should be used by AMC in
SLC as a venue for discussion and
Strategy
Strategy |13
response to comments and inquiries.
•	 Facilitate Online Discussions to
Gain Valuable Inputs. AMCSLC should
use newsgroups and networks as a
venue to discuss, and respond to
comments and inquiries.
TWITTER – allows quick and frequent
exchange of ideas, opinions and answers.
Creation of AMC in SLC Twitter profile
should build that thought leadership
and online reputation.
•	 Connect with the audience. It’s the
perfect venue to connect, interact,
and study your target market.
•	 News. Twitter is the best and fastest
way to publish the latest updates
about AMC in SLC – without the
need to compose long and detailed
contents.
•	 Connect with industry leaders.
Simple linking to movers, connections,
and influential personalities that are
relevant to the industry of advertising
and marketing.
•	 Generate website traffic. Twitter is
an effective tool to generate more
interests and attract followers to visit
the AMC in SLC’s program website
and blog.
•	 Industry Leadership. Twitter is a
perfect spot to showcase AMC in
SLC’s expertise and provide sound
advice, opinions and help resolve
problems to gain more credibility.
Strategy
Strategy |14
YouTube – It is a low cost advertising
video-form. The videos posted will
showcase the talents of the students,
faculty, college spirit and culture, and
program features. This online video
channel will enthuse prospects. Ultimately,
promoting the Advertising and Marketing
Communications Program and directing
searchers to the online program web
page of St. Lawrence College.
Blog – Posting topics and the following
themes:
•	 Prediction – Forecast the develop-
ments of Advertising and Marketing
Communications of the following year
•	 Informational
•	 Interviews – Provide relevant and
expert opinion – consider interviewing
faculty, industry professionals, and
students Profiles – Create a case
study of an interesting personality
and emphasize the significant infor-
mation on how they have reached
a certain position and the qualities
they have that made them successful
in their line of business
•	 Research – If the Advertising and
Marketing Communications can develop
stimulating ideas to inspire readers,
the time consuming part of the
research will be worth it
•	 Hypothetical Posts – Being able to
predict the “what-if” scenarios on the
advertising and marketing industry
could get the readers to become
Strategy
Strategy |15
curious
•	 Projects – Project posting will give
awareness to future students on what
the program is about
•	 Link Posts – These are posts similar
to curated contents that are related
to a certain theme associated to the
advertising and marketing industry
•	 Inspirational – Most readers will
always opt to know motivational news
and stories that can help them with
the challenges they’re experiencing
on certain programs
Thought Leader and SEO. Including
key information such as website links,
location, office hours, and faculty
profile will help people have a better
understanding of what the program is
about. Think SEO and use keywords
for search engines to index each tab
and focus on providing relevant and
engaging contents.
Pay-Per-Click Ads
Generates cost-effective promotional
push. Using Google, Facebook and
YouTube Ads will promote the Adver-
tising and Marketing Communications
Program web page. Spread the word
to targeted audience based on the
focused criteria of AMC in SLC – like
demographics, location, interest, age
group, etc.
Strategy
Strategy |16
Search Engine Optimization
Online Visibility and Reputation. It
is important for the Advertising and
Marketing Communications web page to
materialize on the first 2 pages during
the search when keywords associated to
the program are used.
Online Logo Contest
Generates low cost promotional push.
Creating a contest builds links to the
Advertising and Marketing Communica-
tions blogging and program web page. It
will push online traffic to AMC’s online
resources and increase social engagement.
Strategy
Strategy |17
RATIONALE
We strongly recommend that devel-
oping dedicated Twitter and Facebook
accounts and YouTube channel will create
awareness, engagement, and attract
prospects to Advertising and Marketing
Communications Program. Majority of
the target audience, from 18-24 years
old, enjoy using social media channels.
Approximately 62% of this audience
are females who enjoy the top 3 social
media platforms – Facebook (90%),
Twitter (81%), and YouTube (58%).
The primary focus of the top 3 social
media platform is differentiating AMC
(Advertising and Marketing Communica-
tions) in SLC from other SLC Programs.
This will help build web and search
traffic with an engaging online social
media portfolio and attract targeted
group and other prospects. In addition,
building a #AMCSLC for the Twitter
account is essential to drive effective
campaigns.
Some social media such as Pinterest,
LinkedIn, Instagram, and Snapchat are
not endorsed for this type of campaign
since the primary focus is engagement
with the audience to build an immediate
online community and form an interest
towards the program. Granting that
there is a more solid online presence
built towards the AMC in SLC Program,
these channels are worth considering.
Strategy
Strategy |18
EXAMPLE CONTENT OF SOCIAL MEDIA
SampleFacebookPage
Strategy
Strategy |19
Sample Tweet
Sample Facebook Post
Sample Facebook ad
Strategy
Strategy |20
Sample Blog Page
aMCSLC
Congratulations Graduates!
The AMC students are wrapping up for the year. Some of them will progress to higher educa-
tion while others will be joining the work force as early as summer! We wish all the graduates
the best in their future. We hope that this program has helped them travel the difficult roads
of their lives and no matter what twist and turn the road brings them, they will always find
happiness in their future career and personal lives.
Some of the graduates have successful placements
that either landed them a career with the place-
ment or a new employer due to the experience
earned with the placement. The AMC program
has molded these future marketing professionals
to be well-rounded marketing individuals. We wish the graduates all the best, hoping that you
will enjoy your new path. Have a great summer everyone!
> Blog
Strategy
Strategy |21
aMCSLC
When aiming for the awareness of the millennial generation, logo designs need
to be hip, stylish and friendly at the same time to acquire the interest of this
group.
These logos serve as the online signature or profile representation of the Adver-
tising and Marketing Communications Program. This helps AMC in SLC stand
out on the social media accounts.
aMC
The profile photo
of the rival from
Seneca College
AdPeeps
Strategy
Strategy |22
Strategy
A STORYBOARD OR VISUALIZATION
We categorize the following digital assets of the Advertising and Marketing
Communications Campaign:
PUSH - PULL ADVERTS
This pushes online impressions to make the brand visible outside
the networks and aides generated searches, specific keywords
and the target’s online behaviours. SEO and PPC Search Ads are
pull advertising forms, drawing searchers to the brand sites.
SOCIAL MEDIA
Integrated across all AMC’s digital as-
sets to build the brand further and to
establish an online community and net-
work through news and posts
SEO
PPCLogo
Contest
#AMCLogo
@AMCSLC
AMCSLC
AMCSLC
BRAND SITES
Houses all of the AMC program informa-
tion, content and personality. It is the main
focus of the brand and is the desired end-
point of all online search efforts.
Strategy |23
EDITORIAL CALENDAR
First Phase: Borne Identity/ January Calendar
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
• Logo Design
• Pay-Per-Click Ad
• Social Media
Account Design
• Video Production
Editing
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Launch
Facebook
& Twitter Accounts
Set up the
AMC Blog
AMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog Post AMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
YouTube
Video Post
Analytics -
Collect DataSEO
December 2014
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
January 2015
February 2015
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
Strategy
Strategy |24
Second Phase: Content Building / February – April Calendar
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
YouTube
Video Post
Analytics -
Collect DataSEO
January 2015
S M T W T F S
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
February 2015
March 2015
S M T W T F S
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8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
Launch PPC Ads Launch 1st
Pay Per
Click
PPC
Strategy
Strategy |25
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
AMCAMC
AMC Blog
Post
AMC
AMCAMC
AMCAMC
AMC
You-
Tube
Analytics -
Collect DataSEO
February 2015
S F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9
March 2015
April 2015
S F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
AMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC BlogAMC Blog Post
YouTube
Video Post
Analytics -
Collect DataSEO
Launch Logo
Contest
#AMCLogo
March 2015
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
April 2015
May 2015
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30
Online Logo
Contest
Strategy
Strategy |26
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on
Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
You-
Tube
Analytics -
Collect DataSEO
Launch PPC Ads
PPC
April 2015
S T T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 May 2015
June 2015
S T T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
Third Phase: Killing Traction / May – August Calendar
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC
YouTube
Video Post
Closing of
Contest
#AMCLogo
Announce
the Winner
#AMCLogo
So- cial
Media
#AMCLogo
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
May 2015
S T T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9 June 2015
July 2015
S T T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Analytics -
Collect DataSEO
Online Logo
Contest Ends
Launch 2nd
Pay Per Click
Strategy
Strategy |27
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
AMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
YouTube
Video Post
June 2015
S T T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 July 2015
August 2015
S T T F S
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Ana-
lytics -SEO
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on
Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
You-
Tube
July 2015
S T T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 August 2015
September 2015
S T T F S
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31
Analytics -
Collect DataSEO
Strategy
Strategy |28
AMC Blog Post Analytics -
Collect DataSEO
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
Twitter Post 3x/day
FB Post 3x/day
Comment on Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post
YouTube
August 2015
S M T W T F S
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
September 2015
October 2015
S M T W T F S
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
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6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30
Fourth Phase: Results are In / September Calendar
Strategy
Strategy |29
SOCIAL MEDIA TEAM ASSIGNMENTS
Dina is responsible of the content’s curating of the campaign. She is responsible
of curating the contents of all social media platforms such as blog, Facebook,
Twitter and the AMC website. She makes sure that each platform has informa-
tive and engaging contents. She is also responsible of setting the budget and
the timelines of the campaign.
Cassie is the creative manager of the marketing campaign. She decides the
general flow of the campaign as well as organizing all activities. She is also the
graphic designer that creates all the required templates for the visual compo-
nents of the campaign.
Cathy handles analytics of AMC websites and social media platforms. She
regularly analyzes the AMC social media platforms. Then, She reports those
metrics with an evaluation’s report to the rest of the team to make the neces-
sary adjustments to reach the goals.
Ashton is responsible of Research and SEO link building. He researches for fresh
content online, he updates SEO information on the back end of the blogging
site. Aside from that he manages the digital files and makes sure all the digital
assets are sorted out in libraries. He also helps in analyzing the metrics for the
social media campaign.
Strategy
Strategy |30
ACTIVATION PLAN
CREATIVE
The first action plan for this campaign
is to design images and graphics that
will be used all over social media
channels for the AMC Program in SLC.
The designs should be creative that
demonstrate excited students and faculty
in the program to draw prospects in.
This should be implemented on the first
week of January during the scheduled
creation of the social media accounts.
Tasks:
•	 Create an AMC Logo that will be
posted on all social media accounts
•	 Craft a photo library to be used as
one of the primary components for
the blogs and social media accounts
•	 Gather video projects such as adver-
tisements, documentaries, and inter-
views from the students
•	 Outline Pay Per Click ads
Milestones: 5th - 9th of January
Strategy
Strategy |31
ONLINE LOGO CONTEST
Initiate a friendly competition amongst
the online community to submit their
AMC in SLC logo designs. The contest
should be launched by the end of April
and the winner will be announced in
July. The victor of the most innovative
logo will receive a $100 Tim Hortons
gift card.
Tasks:
• Make the post content and contest
instructions
• Post it on all online resources – social
media and blog
Milestones:
30th
of April	 :	 Contest launch
28th
of July	 :	 Identifying the
winner
31st
of July	 :	 Announcing of
winner
Strategy
Strategy |32
PAY PER CLICK:
Design Pay Per Click ads for Facebook,
YouTube, and Google Search.
Tasks:
•	 Create Pay Per Click Campaigns
on Facebook, YouTube and Google
AdWords
•	 Analyze the campaign result
Milestones:
	 Google Ads	 :	 January – April
				and 1st
of July
	 YouTube Ads	 : 	 1st
of July
	 Facebook Ads	 :	 1st
of July
Strategy
Strategy |33
SOCIAL MEDIA
•	 Create blogs to be published twice
a week.
•	 Post Twitter contests that features
the most recent events of AMC in
SLC and tweet the events 3 times
a day
•	 Create Facebook posts twice a day.
The posts should talk about the most
updated news of AMC in SLC and the
contest. It should also be engaging
to the reader to keep the students
involved on the Facebook page. The
contest is run once every week
•	 Video creation to be posted in
YouTube every 15th of the month. The
video should be related to the AMC
Program in SLC and to be populated
on other social network platforms.
The creation of the videos should
start on the first 4 days of every
month and feature the students’ life
and achievements in SLC or feature
the faculty members and their work
collaboration with the students of
AMC in SLC
Social Media Channels:
BLOG
Objectives:
Increase brand awareness
Increase thought leadership throughout
your industry
Encourage comments and engagement
Strategy
Strategy |34
Lead generation through blog subscription
External linking
Tasks:
•	 Develop a blogging platform
•	 Recruit guest bloggers
•	 Add social sharing icons
•	 Promote each blog on social channels
FACEBOOK
Objectives:
Brand awareness and engagement
Share a mix of relevant links, blog posts,
and engaging content
Promote upcoming events
Engage with influencers
Tasks:
•	 Create a Facebook page with descrip-
tion and other contents
•	 Connect with affiliate industries, key
influencers, and professionals that
are associated to advertising and
marketing
•	 Make 3 posts a day
•	 Post comments on every post
•	 Integrate with the blog content
•	 Set up sponsored posts and ads
TWITTER
Objectives:
Strategy
Strategy |35
Brand awareness and engagement
Share a mix of relevant links, blog posts,
and engaging content
Segment influencers
Listen and respond to relevant conver-
sations
Build reputation
Tasks:
• Create a Twitter page
•	 Connect with affiliate industries, key
influencers, and professionals that
are associated to advertising and
marketing
•	 Post relevant tweets 3 times a day
•	 Integrate with the blog content
•	 Update the audience through tweets
of the latest news of AMC in SLC
		
YOUTUBE
Objectives:
Brand awareness and engagement
Viral sharing
Showcase company culture
Post program videos and demos
Create a video series to share
Tasks:
• Create a YouTube channel
•	 Write an exciting and informative
content about the AMC channel
Strategy
Strategy |36
•	 Post videos of the latest activities of
SLC that are related to AMC
•	 Post videos of students and faculty
members talking about the SLC
program at AMC
•	 Optimizing YouTube by displaying
links of monthly videos to all social
media platforms including the blog.
•	 Optimize with keywords and backlinks
to the AMC’s Program Page on the
blogging site.
Schedules for the overall social
media:
•	 Blogs	 :	 2 blogs per week (Monday
and Thursday)
•	 Blog SEO:	 2 blogs per week (Monday
and Thursday)
•	 Facebook:	 3 posts per day
•	 Twitter:	3 tweets per day
•	 YouTube:	 once a month (every
15th of the month)
•	 Response for comments, replies, or
questions on any of the social media
platforms should not exceed 4 hours.
Schedule for YouTube videos:
		15th
of January
		15th
of February
		15th
of March
		15th
of April
Strategy
Strategy |37
		15th
of May
		15th
of June
		15th
of July
		15th
of August
		15th
of September
Strategy
Strategy |38
SEO AND EVALUATION
This is to evaluate the web page and
blogging campaign of the AMC program.
It includes the number of clicks, organic
searches versus ad searches and the
most used keywords. Then the following
needs to be modified accordingly: texts,
keywords, meta tags, links, and image
of the web page and blog site to be
applied every end of the month.
Tasks:
•	 Create inbound and outbound links
to social media accounts on the
blog posts
•	 Create tags and meta tag description
on each blog post
•	 Construct focus keywords on the
following: headline, page URL, content,
and meta tag description
•	 Modify SEO Title Headline to focused
keyword if necessary
Milestones:
The SEO Evaluation should take 4 hours
on the following days:
		 Jan 30 Friday
		 Feb 27 Friday
		 Mar 31 Thursday
		 Apr 30 Thursday
		 May 29 Friday
		 June 30 Thursday
Strategy
Strategy |39
		 May 29 Friday
		 June 30 Thursday
		 July 31 Friday
		 Aug 31 Monday
		 Sept. 30 Wednesday
Strategy
Budget |40
Budget
CREATIVE BUDGET – January Production Expense:	
Element Specifics Amount
AMC Logo Design/ Profile
Photo
Graphic Designer Flat Fee $500.00
Social Media Account Set
Up
c/o Ashton Deroy $-
Digital Video Conversion Software $200.00
Photos and License Fee1
$600.00
Total 1 $1,300.00
SEO
SEO Tool2
Annual Cost $1,500.00
Total 2 $1,500.00
Pay Per Click			
Pay-Per-Click First Launch (February) Second Launch
(May)
Amount
YouTube $ 400.00 $ 400.00 $800.00
Google Adwords $ 400.00 $ 400.00 $800.00
Facebook Ads $ 400.00 $ 400.00 $800.00
Total 3 $2,400.00
Notes:
Costs do not include taxes.
1
Stock photography for online visual materials costs differs by
plan, registering in free liability photo website such as istock,
which costs up to $200 for 750 downloads per month. $600.00
is maximum budget for the 8-month period.
2
SEO Tool Yearly subscription with Moz Pro saves you $357 as
oppose to paying per month basis.
3
Monitoring and Analytics Flat rate for 3-hour freelance con-
sultancy.
Budget |41
Budget
Administrative and Operational Expense - 2015
Element Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sept Total
Planning $1,000 $500 $0 $500 $1,000 $500 $0 $0 $500 $4,000
Monitoring
and Analyt-
ics3
$250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $2,000
Creative
and Copy-
writing4
$800 $800 $900 $900 $800 $900 $900 $800 $900 $7,700
Video Pro-
duction
$- $- $- $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 $2,500.00
Total 4 $16,450.00
4
Creative and copy writing, includes blogging, content curation,
and creating the contents that highlight AMC in SLC as the expert
in the area of digital marketing Ongoing Account Management
and Media Planning.
Final Campaign Expense
Total 1		 $ 1,300.00
Total 2		 $ 1,500.00
Total 3		 $ 2,400.00
Total 4		 $ 16,450.00
Final Total				= $ 21,650.00 Campaign Expense
Benchmarks & Measurements |42
BENCHMARKS & MEASUREMENTS
DIGITAL ASSET BASE MEASUREMENTS GOALS REACHED BY THE
END OF SEPTEMBER,
2015
AMC Fan Page
c/o Facebook
Insights
405 Likes
no Data
403 Fans
980 People Reached
62 People Engaged
565 Likes
10 Shares
560 Fans
1,127 People Reached
150 People Engaged
YouTube Channel 311 Views
22 Subscribers
8 Videos
500 Views
50 Subscribers
16 Videos
Twitter Page 558 Followers
17,723 Impressions
650 Followers
18,522 Impressions
Benchmarks & Measurement
Benchmarks & Measurements |43
http://www.stlawrence-
college.ca/programs-
and-courses/full-time/
programs/a_m/
advertising-and-mar-
keting-communica-
tions-management/
kingston/
3957 Page Views to date
2720 Unique Visitors to
date
4630 Page Views
3210 Unique Views
http://www.imcslc.ca/
index.cfm/programs/
advertising-and-market-
ing-communications/
No data
No data
+320 Page Views
+80 Unique Views
Benchmarks & Measurement
Benchmarks & Measurements |44
ROI CALCULATIONS
GOOGLE PPC
Monthly Spend [$]		 100
Conversion Rate [%]	 3.23
Cost Per Click [$]		 1.4
Average Sale [$]		 5,000
GOOGLE PPC RESULTS
Total Number Of Clicks =
100/1.4 = 71
Number of Sales =
Total 100 x 0.0323 = 2
Total Revenue =
2 x 5000 = $10000.00
Profit =
10000 - 100 = $9900.00
Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) =
(10000/100) x 100 = 10000%
Return On Investment (ROI) =
(9900/100) x 100 = 9900%
FACEBOOK PPC
Monthly Spend [$] 		 100
Conversion Rate [%]	 1
Cost Per Click [$]		 .30
Average Sale [$]		 5,000
Benchmarks & Measurement
Benchmarks & Measurements |45
Benchmarks & Measurement
FACEBOOK PPC RESULTS
Total Number Of Clicks =
100/0.3 = 333
Number of Sales =
Total 100 x 0.01 = 3
Total Revenue =
3 x 5000 = $15000.00
Profit =
15000 - 100 = $14900.00
Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) =
(15000/100) x 100 = 15000%
Return On Investment (ROI) =
Definition of Terms:
•	 ROI = Return On Investment
(Gross Profit/Cost)
•	 ROAS = Return On Ad Spend
(Revenue/Cost)
•	 CPC = Cost Per Click
•	 Conversion Rate = % Of Visitors
Who Buy
Average Sale = Value Per Conversion
= Revenue Per Conversion
(14900/100) x 100 = 14900%
Appendix
Appendix |47
Appendix |48
Appendix |49
Appendix |50
Appendix |51
Appendix |52
Appendix |53
Social Media Marketing Plan for the Advertising and Marketing Communications Program

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Social Media Marketing Plan for the Advertising and Marketing Communications Program

  • 1. Social Media Marketing Plan for the Advertising and Marketing Communications A January to September 2015 Campaign
  • 2. CONTENTS    SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING PLAN                                    Intro Target Audience Strategy 01 02 4 | EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 5 | OBJECTIVES 6 | INTRODUCTION 7 | BUYER’S PERSONA 8 | DATA pages 4-5 pages 6-9 pages 10-37 10 | SWOT 11|RECOMMENDATIONS 17 | RATIONALE 18 | EXAMPLE CONTENT 22 | STORYBOARD 23 | EDITORIAL CALENDAR 29 | TEAM ASSIGNMENTS 30 | ACTIVATION PLAN
  • 3. Budget Benchmark & Measurement 03 04 Appendix 05 pages 47 - 53 47 | DIGITAL AUDIT 51 | TARGETMARKET & INFLUENCE ANALYSIS & MEASUREMENT 42 | BENCHMARK & 44 | ROI MEASUREMENT pages 42 - 45 40 | BUDGET pages 40 - 41
  • 4. Executive Summary |4 The Advertising and Marketing Communications Program at St. Lawrence College is a 3-year degree curriculum that offers career opportunities in the advertising and marketing field to students. A Social Media Marketing Campaign for the Advertising and Marketing Communi- cations focuses primarily on increasing the program’s awareness on a provincial scale. Through this, the program should build an online awareness. This requires the creation of an online identity towards the program, build relationships, and a strong community that should drive active followers to engage and talk about the program. Drawing an increasing amount of traffic to the Advertising and Marketing Communications Program, online resources are also an essential goal towards the Social Media Marketing Campaign. The Social Media Campaign should run from January to September 2015 without exceeding the maximum budget of $25,000. Executive Summary
  • 5. OBJECTIVES |5 Over the course of an 8-month campaign, from January to the end of September 2015, the primary goals for the social media campaign are: 1. A 15% boost in terms of analytics to the Advertising and Marketing Communications page over at the St. Lawrence website. 2. Develop social media accounts for the Advertising and Marketing Communications Program and push a fan base over the different online social accounts. 3. Create hype in the form of a contest to stir up an increase of community engagement and to push the fulfil- ment of benchmarks defined for the social media campaign. With the social media campaign goals laid out, this will pave the way for the long-term goals to Advertising and Marketing Communications where it is stated below: 1. Expand the reach of the content for the program 2. Find engaging and exciting key influencers for the program 3. Be recognized as the best Adver- tising and Marketing Communications Program in Ontario. Objectives
  • 6. Target Audience |6 Target Audience The target audience for the campaign speaks to the millennial generation. They are from the age bracket of 18-24 years old where majority are female that belong to the Frontenac County Region. The target audience belong to two group segments under the Younger Years PRIZMNE group classification. We identify these two group segments as the Striving Singles and the Mainstream Singles: STRIVING SINGLES Striving Singles are centered in exurban towns and satellite cities, these twenty something singles typically have low incomes—often under$25,000 a year— from service jobs or part-time work they take on while going to college. Housing for this group consists of a mix of cheap apartment complexes, dormitories and mobile homes. They are racially mixed and as consumers, the residents in these segments score high for outdoor sports, movies and music, fast food and inexpensive cars. MAINSTREAM SINGLES Mainstream Singles are recognized as young and hip, they are a life stage group of twenty-something who have recently settled in metro neighbourhoods. Their incomes range from working-class to well to do, but most residents are still renting apartments in cities or close-in suburbs. These segments contain a high percentage of Asian singles, and there’s a decidedly progressive sensibility in their tastes as reflected in the group’s
  • 7. Target audience |7 liberal politics, alternative music and lively nightlife. They are twice as likely as the general population to include college students living in-group quarters. Below are the compiled data and research that associ- ates the online and social media activities of the target audience: BUYER’S PERSONA O T H E R DATA Millen- nial 62% Female 18-24 years old Catchment: 38% Region: Frontenac County Online Interests: Target Audience
  • 8. Target Audience |8 Online Interests: 1. Videos 2. Chatting 3. Search 4. Hangouts 5. Music 6. Fashion PEW Top Habits1 1. Email 95% 2. Search 95% 3. Health Info 85% 4. Social Sites 85% 5. Watch Video 85% 1 KATHRYN ZICKUHR. (2010). www.pewinternet. org. In Generations 2010. Retrieved October 7, 2014, from http://www.pewinternet.org/2010/12/16/genera- tions-2010/#. Technographic — Forrester2 JOINERS connect in social networks like MySpace and Facebook. • They maintain a profile in a social networking site • Visit networking sites Access to Information3 1. Mobile 56% 2. Desktop 33% 3. Tablet 11% 2 Forrester Research’s Consumer Technographic Data. (2009). empowered.forrester.com. In Social Tech- nographics Profile Tool. Retrieved October 7, 2014, from http://empowered.forrester.com/tool_consumer. html. 3 Google AdWords: Keyword Planner. Searched by Cassandra Pastorfide. Ads. (n.d.). Retrieved Oc- tober 7, 2014, from https://adwords.google.com/ ko/KeywordPlanner/Home?__u=4659394686&__ c=8593589166&authuser=0#search Target Audience
  • 9. Target audience |9 Usage of Social Networking Sites – Rate of Importance to Demographic4 1. Staying in Touch Total: 83% Very Important 46% Somewhat Important 37% 2. Finding old Friends Total: 69% Very Important 25% Somewhat Important 44% 3. E-mail/Chat Total: 69% Very Important 30% Somewhat Important 39% 4. Stress Reliever Total: 58% Very Important 18% Somewhat Important 40% 5. Making New Friends Total: 40% Very Important 11% Somewhat Important 29% 4 Brian F. Singh. (2010). CANADIANS & SOCIAL MEDIA Social Media by the Numbers. ZINC Research. Retrieved October 7, 2014, from http://www.zinc-tank. com/include/get.php?nodeid=44 Top 3 Social Media Platforms as of June 20145 1. Facebook 90% 2. YouTube 81% 3. Twitter 58% Group Influencers6 1. Parents 2. Siblings 3. Self 4. Peers 5. Mentors 5 Anonymous. (August 27, 2014). www.ypulse.com. In Social MediaTracked Trends: The Stats On Who’s Using What. Retrieved October 7, 2014, from http:// www.ypulse.com/post/view/social-media-tracked-trends- the-stats-on-whos-using-what. 6 Focus Group Interview. Interview by Sheila Aneno, Ashton Deroy, and Cassandra Pastorfide. For Advertising and Marketing Communications - Social Media Marketing Plan. October 8, 2014. Target Audience
  • 10. Strategy |10 SWOT ANALYSIS Strengths 1. Organized website. The website for AMC in SLC was informative , written professionally and in a systematic manner. All the information that is possibly needed by the prospect has been comprehensively listed. 2. Consistent updated contents in social media websites. The social media websites associated with AMC program is consistently updated with relevant contents such as articles or questions in a conversational tone. 3. Good online reputation of the program. The website has highlighted the reputation of advertising and marketing in SLC and recognized as the leader in Ontario. The site also noted the achievements of the students of AMC in SLC who excelled in numerous video competitions. The students are recurring winners at the Annual Ontario Colleges’ Marketing Competition (OCMC) and Vanier College BCD Case Challenge – where expertise in advertising and marketing is recognized by marketing professionals. SLC Team won the gold at the Vanier College BDC Case Challenge in 2014. SLC Team won the gold at OCMC and silver at the Vanier College BDC Case Challenge in 2013. SLC Team won three gold medals and a silver at OCMC in 2012. Strategy
  • 11. Strategy |11 Strategy Weaknesses 1. The engagement is very low. The number of likes and shares for the Facebook and Twitter pages are at minimal even with a decent number followers on both pages. 2. Career information. There’s no online record or trail about the graduates of AMC in SLC and the career path they took after graduating from the program. Opportunities 1. New media is now the trend – online and offline 2. Younger age group 3. A place for online enhancement, the online presence could be more engaging. Threats 1. Competition. There are a lot of online competition from other colleges such as Seneca, Humber College and others. 2. Being recognized from the online crowd. 3. Many contents are online and over social media website so it’s hard to get the attention of the prospects. RECOMMENDATIONS Below are the list of strategies and tactics we recommend and the key
  • 12. Strategy |12 features that will strongly leverage the Social Media Marketing Plan: SOCIAL MEDIA FACEBOOK – the biggest social networking site. To compete AMC in SLC has to have its own Facebook profile. • Great for Exposure. It is the most popular networking site that offers a huge potential when it comes to exposure. Facebook can contribute a significant improvement for AMC in SLC’s online presence and visibility. Earn respect through comments posting, providing insights, and tips for AMC in SLC’s network credibility and ultimately gain leverage. • Improve Online Rankings. AMC in SLC should have a professional profile to store information, services, and program features with the “Pages” application in Facebook. This will help drive traffic to generate more interest due to its attributes – add links to the core or blogging sites and “like” buttons. • Free Marketing Platforms. Share suitable information to the AMC in SLC fans and network continuously – like links to the program page, blogging site, and other relevant content to keep the followers stirred. • Stay Connected and Nurture Relationships. Newsgroups and networks should be used by AMC in SLC as a venue for discussion and Strategy
  • 13. Strategy |13 response to comments and inquiries. • Facilitate Online Discussions to Gain Valuable Inputs. AMCSLC should use newsgroups and networks as a venue to discuss, and respond to comments and inquiries. TWITTER – allows quick and frequent exchange of ideas, opinions and answers. Creation of AMC in SLC Twitter profile should build that thought leadership and online reputation. • Connect with the audience. It’s the perfect venue to connect, interact, and study your target market. • News. Twitter is the best and fastest way to publish the latest updates about AMC in SLC – without the need to compose long and detailed contents. • Connect with industry leaders. Simple linking to movers, connections, and influential personalities that are relevant to the industry of advertising and marketing. • Generate website traffic. Twitter is an effective tool to generate more interests and attract followers to visit the AMC in SLC’s program website and blog. • Industry Leadership. Twitter is a perfect spot to showcase AMC in SLC’s expertise and provide sound advice, opinions and help resolve problems to gain more credibility. Strategy
  • 14. Strategy |14 YouTube – It is a low cost advertising video-form. The videos posted will showcase the talents of the students, faculty, college spirit and culture, and program features. This online video channel will enthuse prospects. Ultimately, promoting the Advertising and Marketing Communications Program and directing searchers to the online program web page of St. Lawrence College. Blog – Posting topics and the following themes: • Prediction – Forecast the develop- ments of Advertising and Marketing Communications of the following year • Informational • Interviews – Provide relevant and expert opinion – consider interviewing faculty, industry professionals, and students Profiles – Create a case study of an interesting personality and emphasize the significant infor- mation on how they have reached a certain position and the qualities they have that made them successful in their line of business • Research – If the Advertising and Marketing Communications can develop stimulating ideas to inspire readers, the time consuming part of the research will be worth it • Hypothetical Posts – Being able to predict the “what-if” scenarios on the advertising and marketing industry could get the readers to become Strategy
  • 15. Strategy |15 curious • Projects – Project posting will give awareness to future students on what the program is about • Link Posts – These are posts similar to curated contents that are related to a certain theme associated to the advertising and marketing industry • Inspirational – Most readers will always opt to know motivational news and stories that can help them with the challenges they’re experiencing on certain programs Thought Leader and SEO. Including key information such as website links, location, office hours, and faculty profile will help people have a better understanding of what the program is about. Think SEO and use keywords for search engines to index each tab and focus on providing relevant and engaging contents. Pay-Per-Click Ads Generates cost-effective promotional push. Using Google, Facebook and YouTube Ads will promote the Adver- tising and Marketing Communications Program web page. Spread the word to targeted audience based on the focused criteria of AMC in SLC – like demographics, location, interest, age group, etc. Strategy
  • 16. Strategy |16 Search Engine Optimization Online Visibility and Reputation. It is important for the Advertising and Marketing Communications web page to materialize on the first 2 pages during the search when keywords associated to the program are used. Online Logo Contest Generates low cost promotional push. Creating a contest builds links to the Advertising and Marketing Communica- tions blogging and program web page. It will push online traffic to AMC’s online resources and increase social engagement. Strategy
  • 17. Strategy |17 RATIONALE We strongly recommend that devel- oping dedicated Twitter and Facebook accounts and YouTube channel will create awareness, engagement, and attract prospects to Advertising and Marketing Communications Program. Majority of the target audience, from 18-24 years old, enjoy using social media channels. Approximately 62% of this audience are females who enjoy the top 3 social media platforms – Facebook (90%), Twitter (81%), and YouTube (58%). The primary focus of the top 3 social media platform is differentiating AMC (Advertising and Marketing Communica- tions) in SLC from other SLC Programs. This will help build web and search traffic with an engaging online social media portfolio and attract targeted group and other prospects. In addition, building a #AMCSLC for the Twitter account is essential to drive effective campaigns. Some social media such as Pinterest, LinkedIn, Instagram, and Snapchat are not endorsed for this type of campaign since the primary focus is engagement with the audience to build an immediate online community and form an interest towards the program. Granting that there is a more solid online presence built towards the AMC in SLC Program, these channels are worth considering. Strategy
  • 18. Strategy |18 EXAMPLE CONTENT OF SOCIAL MEDIA SampleFacebookPage Strategy
  • 19. Strategy |19 Sample Tweet Sample Facebook Post Sample Facebook ad Strategy
  • 20. Strategy |20 Sample Blog Page aMCSLC Congratulations Graduates! The AMC students are wrapping up for the year. Some of them will progress to higher educa- tion while others will be joining the work force as early as summer! We wish all the graduates the best in their future. We hope that this program has helped them travel the difficult roads of their lives and no matter what twist and turn the road brings them, they will always find happiness in their future career and personal lives. Some of the graduates have successful placements that either landed them a career with the place- ment or a new employer due to the experience earned with the placement. The AMC program has molded these future marketing professionals to be well-rounded marketing individuals. We wish the graduates all the best, hoping that you will enjoy your new path. Have a great summer everyone! > Blog Strategy
  • 21. Strategy |21 aMCSLC When aiming for the awareness of the millennial generation, logo designs need to be hip, stylish and friendly at the same time to acquire the interest of this group. These logos serve as the online signature or profile representation of the Adver- tising and Marketing Communications Program. This helps AMC in SLC stand out on the social media accounts. aMC The profile photo of the rival from Seneca College AdPeeps Strategy
  • 22. Strategy |22 Strategy A STORYBOARD OR VISUALIZATION We categorize the following digital assets of the Advertising and Marketing Communications Campaign: PUSH - PULL ADVERTS This pushes online impressions to make the brand visible outside the networks and aides generated searches, specific keywords and the target’s online behaviours. SEO and PPC Search Ads are pull advertising forms, drawing searchers to the brand sites. SOCIAL MEDIA Integrated across all AMC’s digital as- sets to build the brand further and to establish an online community and net- work through news and posts SEO PPCLogo Contest #AMCLogo @AMCSLC AMCSLC AMCSLC BRAND SITES Houses all of the AMC program informa- tion, content and personality. It is the main focus of the brand and is the desired end- point of all online search efforts.
  • 23. Strategy |23 EDITORIAL CALENDAR First Phase: Borne Identity/ January Calendar Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post • Logo Design • Pay-Per-Click Ad • Social Media Account Design • Video Production Editing Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Launch Facebook & Twitter Accounts Set up the AMC Blog AMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog Post AMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post YouTube Video Post Analytics - Collect DataSEO December 2014 S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 January 2015 February 2015 S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 Strategy
  • 24. Strategy |24 Second Phase: Content Building / February – April Calendar Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post YouTube Video Post Analytics - Collect DataSEO January 2015 S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 February 2015 March 2015 S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 Launch PPC Ads Launch 1st Pay Per Click PPC Strategy
  • 25. Strategy |25 Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post AMCAMC AMC Blog Post AMC AMCAMC AMCAMC AMC You- Tube Analytics - Collect DataSEO February 2015 S F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 March 2015 April 2015 S F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post AMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC BlogAMC Blog Post YouTube Video Post Analytics - Collect DataSEO Launch Logo Contest #AMCLogo March 2015 S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 April 2015 May 2015 S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 Online Logo Contest Strategy
  • 26. Strategy |26 Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post You- Tube Analytics - Collect DataSEO Launch PPC Ads PPC April 2015 S T T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 May 2015 June 2015 S T T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 Third Phase: Killing Traction / May – August Calendar Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC YouTube Video Post Closing of Contest #AMCLogo Announce the Winner #AMCLogo So- cial Media #AMCLogo Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post May 2015 S T T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 June 2015 July 2015 S T T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 Analytics - Collect DataSEO Online Logo Contest Ends Launch 2nd Pay Per Click Strategy
  • 27. Strategy |27 Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post AMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post YouTube Video Post June 2015 S T T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 July 2015 August 2015 S T T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 Ana- lytics -SEO Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post You- Tube July 2015 S T T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 August 2015 September 2015 S T T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 Analytics - Collect DataSEO Strategy
  • 28. Strategy |28 AMC Blog Post Analytics - Collect DataSEO Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post Twitter Post 3x/day FB Post 3x/day Comment on Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post AMC Blog PostAMC Blog Post YouTube August 2015 S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 September 2015 October 2015 S M T W T F S 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 Fourth Phase: Results are In / September Calendar Strategy
  • 29. Strategy |29 SOCIAL MEDIA TEAM ASSIGNMENTS Dina is responsible of the content’s curating of the campaign. She is responsible of curating the contents of all social media platforms such as blog, Facebook, Twitter and the AMC website. She makes sure that each platform has informa- tive and engaging contents. She is also responsible of setting the budget and the timelines of the campaign. Cassie is the creative manager of the marketing campaign. She decides the general flow of the campaign as well as organizing all activities. She is also the graphic designer that creates all the required templates for the visual compo- nents of the campaign. Cathy handles analytics of AMC websites and social media platforms. She regularly analyzes the AMC social media platforms. Then, She reports those metrics with an evaluation’s report to the rest of the team to make the neces- sary adjustments to reach the goals. Ashton is responsible of Research and SEO link building. He researches for fresh content online, he updates SEO information on the back end of the blogging site. Aside from that he manages the digital files and makes sure all the digital assets are sorted out in libraries. He also helps in analyzing the metrics for the social media campaign. Strategy
  • 30. Strategy |30 ACTIVATION PLAN CREATIVE The first action plan for this campaign is to design images and graphics that will be used all over social media channels for the AMC Program in SLC. The designs should be creative that demonstrate excited students and faculty in the program to draw prospects in. This should be implemented on the first week of January during the scheduled creation of the social media accounts. Tasks: • Create an AMC Logo that will be posted on all social media accounts • Craft a photo library to be used as one of the primary components for the blogs and social media accounts • Gather video projects such as adver- tisements, documentaries, and inter- views from the students • Outline Pay Per Click ads Milestones: 5th - 9th of January Strategy
  • 31. Strategy |31 ONLINE LOGO CONTEST Initiate a friendly competition amongst the online community to submit their AMC in SLC logo designs. The contest should be launched by the end of April and the winner will be announced in July. The victor of the most innovative logo will receive a $100 Tim Hortons gift card. Tasks: • Make the post content and contest instructions • Post it on all online resources – social media and blog Milestones: 30th of April : Contest launch 28th of July : Identifying the winner 31st of July : Announcing of winner Strategy
  • 32. Strategy |32 PAY PER CLICK: Design Pay Per Click ads for Facebook, YouTube, and Google Search. Tasks: • Create Pay Per Click Campaigns on Facebook, YouTube and Google AdWords • Analyze the campaign result Milestones: Google Ads : January – April and 1st of July YouTube Ads : 1st of July Facebook Ads : 1st of July Strategy
  • 33. Strategy |33 SOCIAL MEDIA • Create blogs to be published twice a week. • Post Twitter contests that features the most recent events of AMC in SLC and tweet the events 3 times a day • Create Facebook posts twice a day. The posts should talk about the most updated news of AMC in SLC and the contest. It should also be engaging to the reader to keep the students involved on the Facebook page. The contest is run once every week • Video creation to be posted in YouTube every 15th of the month. The video should be related to the AMC Program in SLC and to be populated on other social network platforms. The creation of the videos should start on the first 4 days of every month and feature the students’ life and achievements in SLC or feature the faculty members and their work collaboration with the students of AMC in SLC Social Media Channels: BLOG Objectives: Increase brand awareness Increase thought leadership throughout your industry Encourage comments and engagement Strategy
  • 34. Strategy |34 Lead generation through blog subscription External linking Tasks: • Develop a blogging platform • Recruit guest bloggers • Add social sharing icons • Promote each blog on social channels FACEBOOK Objectives: Brand awareness and engagement Share a mix of relevant links, blog posts, and engaging content Promote upcoming events Engage with influencers Tasks: • Create a Facebook page with descrip- tion and other contents • Connect with affiliate industries, key influencers, and professionals that are associated to advertising and marketing • Make 3 posts a day • Post comments on every post • Integrate with the blog content • Set up sponsored posts and ads TWITTER Objectives: Strategy
  • 35. Strategy |35 Brand awareness and engagement Share a mix of relevant links, blog posts, and engaging content Segment influencers Listen and respond to relevant conver- sations Build reputation Tasks: • Create a Twitter page • Connect with affiliate industries, key influencers, and professionals that are associated to advertising and marketing • Post relevant tweets 3 times a day • Integrate with the blog content • Update the audience through tweets of the latest news of AMC in SLC YOUTUBE Objectives: Brand awareness and engagement Viral sharing Showcase company culture Post program videos and demos Create a video series to share Tasks: • Create a YouTube channel • Write an exciting and informative content about the AMC channel Strategy
  • 36. Strategy |36 • Post videos of the latest activities of SLC that are related to AMC • Post videos of students and faculty members talking about the SLC program at AMC • Optimizing YouTube by displaying links of monthly videos to all social media platforms including the blog. • Optimize with keywords and backlinks to the AMC’s Program Page on the blogging site. Schedules for the overall social media: • Blogs : 2 blogs per week (Monday and Thursday) • Blog SEO: 2 blogs per week (Monday and Thursday) • Facebook: 3 posts per day • Twitter: 3 tweets per day • YouTube: once a month (every 15th of the month) • Response for comments, replies, or questions on any of the social media platforms should not exceed 4 hours. Schedule for YouTube videos: 15th of January 15th of February 15th of March 15th of April Strategy
  • 37. Strategy |37 15th of May 15th of June 15th of July 15th of August 15th of September Strategy
  • 38. Strategy |38 SEO AND EVALUATION This is to evaluate the web page and blogging campaign of the AMC program. It includes the number of clicks, organic searches versus ad searches and the most used keywords. Then the following needs to be modified accordingly: texts, keywords, meta tags, links, and image of the web page and blog site to be applied every end of the month. Tasks: • Create inbound and outbound links to social media accounts on the blog posts • Create tags and meta tag description on each blog post • Construct focus keywords on the following: headline, page URL, content, and meta tag description • Modify SEO Title Headline to focused keyword if necessary Milestones: The SEO Evaluation should take 4 hours on the following days: Jan 30 Friday Feb 27 Friday Mar 31 Thursday Apr 30 Thursday May 29 Friday June 30 Thursday Strategy
  • 39. Strategy |39 May 29 Friday June 30 Thursday July 31 Friday Aug 31 Monday Sept. 30 Wednesday Strategy
  • 40. Budget |40 Budget CREATIVE BUDGET – January Production Expense: Element Specifics Amount AMC Logo Design/ Profile Photo Graphic Designer Flat Fee $500.00 Social Media Account Set Up c/o Ashton Deroy $- Digital Video Conversion Software $200.00 Photos and License Fee1 $600.00 Total 1 $1,300.00 SEO SEO Tool2 Annual Cost $1,500.00 Total 2 $1,500.00 Pay Per Click Pay-Per-Click First Launch (February) Second Launch (May) Amount YouTube $ 400.00 $ 400.00 $800.00 Google Adwords $ 400.00 $ 400.00 $800.00 Facebook Ads $ 400.00 $ 400.00 $800.00 Total 3 $2,400.00 Notes: Costs do not include taxes. 1 Stock photography for online visual materials costs differs by plan, registering in free liability photo website such as istock, which costs up to $200 for 750 downloads per month. $600.00 is maximum budget for the 8-month period. 2 SEO Tool Yearly subscription with Moz Pro saves you $357 as oppose to paying per month basis. 3 Monitoring and Analytics Flat rate for 3-hour freelance con- sultancy.
  • 41. Budget |41 Budget Administrative and Operational Expense - 2015 Element Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sept Total Planning $1,000 $500 $0 $500 $1,000 $500 $0 $0 $500 $4,000 Monitoring and Analyt- ics3 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $2,000 Creative and Copy- writing4 $800 $800 $900 $900 $800 $900 $900 $800 $900 $7,700 Video Pro- duction $- $- $- $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 $2,500.00 Total 4 $16,450.00 4 Creative and copy writing, includes blogging, content curation, and creating the contents that highlight AMC in SLC as the expert in the area of digital marketing Ongoing Account Management and Media Planning. Final Campaign Expense Total 1 $ 1,300.00 Total 2 $ 1,500.00 Total 3 $ 2,400.00 Total 4 $ 16,450.00 Final Total = $ 21,650.00 Campaign Expense
  • 42. Benchmarks & Measurements |42 BENCHMARKS & MEASUREMENTS DIGITAL ASSET BASE MEASUREMENTS GOALS REACHED BY THE END OF SEPTEMBER, 2015 AMC Fan Page c/o Facebook Insights 405 Likes no Data 403 Fans 980 People Reached 62 People Engaged 565 Likes 10 Shares 560 Fans 1,127 People Reached 150 People Engaged YouTube Channel 311 Views 22 Subscribers 8 Videos 500 Views 50 Subscribers 16 Videos Twitter Page 558 Followers 17,723 Impressions 650 Followers 18,522 Impressions Benchmarks & Measurement
  • 43. Benchmarks & Measurements |43 http://www.stlawrence- college.ca/programs- and-courses/full-time/ programs/a_m/ advertising-and-mar- keting-communica- tions-management/ kingston/ 3957 Page Views to date 2720 Unique Visitors to date 4630 Page Views 3210 Unique Views http://www.imcslc.ca/ index.cfm/programs/ advertising-and-market- ing-communications/ No data No data +320 Page Views +80 Unique Views Benchmarks & Measurement
  • 44. Benchmarks & Measurements |44 ROI CALCULATIONS GOOGLE PPC Monthly Spend [$] 100 Conversion Rate [%] 3.23 Cost Per Click [$] 1.4 Average Sale [$] 5,000 GOOGLE PPC RESULTS Total Number Of Clicks = 100/1.4 = 71 Number of Sales = Total 100 x 0.0323 = 2 Total Revenue = 2 x 5000 = $10000.00 Profit = 10000 - 100 = $9900.00 Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) = (10000/100) x 100 = 10000% Return On Investment (ROI) = (9900/100) x 100 = 9900% FACEBOOK PPC Monthly Spend [$] 100 Conversion Rate [%] 1 Cost Per Click [$] .30 Average Sale [$] 5,000 Benchmarks & Measurement
  • 45. Benchmarks & Measurements |45 Benchmarks & Measurement FACEBOOK PPC RESULTS Total Number Of Clicks = 100/0.3 = 333 Number of Sales = Total 100 x 0.01 = 3 Total Revenue = 3 x 5000 = $15000.00 Profit = 15000 - 100 = $14900.00 Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) = (15000/100) x 100 = 15000% Return On Investment (ROI) = Definition of Terms: • ROI = Return On Investment (Gross Profit/Cost) • ROAS = Return On Ad Spend (Revenue/Cost) • CPC = Cost Per Click • Conversion Rate = % Of Visitors Who Buy Average Sale = Value Per Conversion = Revenue Per Conversion (14900/100) x 100 = 14900%