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Sample Media Plan
                 Media Planning - Lecture 3

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Constituents (   ) of a
                 Complete Media Plan



Sunday, 27 December 2009
Constituents of a Complete
                 Media Plan
                 1.1
 Core Constituents (   )

Sunday, 27 December 2009
CONSTITUENTS OF A COMPLETE MEDIA PLAN
    1.1
 CORE CONSTITUENTS (   )

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Background (      ) – some marketing highlights,
                 new project/project continuation (  ), media
                 budget




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Media Objectives (      ) – what tasks the media
                 are expected to carry out (
                      )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Competitive Analysis (                  ) – spending
                 levels (                          ), media used (
                         ), timing of delivery (             )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )


                 Target Audience Analysis (              )–
                 demographic analysis of target audience




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TARGET AUDIENCE ANALYSIS
    WHAT’S THEIR TARGET AUDIENCE
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Media Habits of the Target Audience – some
                 analytics about various vehicles (
                                      )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Rationale (          ) for Media Selection –
                 reasons for selecting the various media and
                 vehicles (
                            )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )


                 Media Strategy (          ) – how the media plan
                 will accomplish (   ) the stated objectives




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Core Constituents
                 (       )

                 Media Schedule (                ) – action elements
                 including timelines (       ), expected reach and
                 frequency, ad sizes, individual costs and total
                 budget.




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Constituents of a Complete
                 Media Plan
                 1.2 Additional Constituents (   )

Sunday, 27 December 2009
KIT-KAT
    ADVERTISING AWARDS
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )

                 Product Seasonality (             ) – how
                 particular media can suit the product seasonality,
                 e.g. summer promotion advertised for Ocean
                 Park’s Water World.




Sunday, 27 December 2009
OCEAN PARK
    HALLOWEEN AD
Sunday, 27 December 2009
OCEAN PARK
    HALLOWEEN AD
Sunday, 27 December 2009
OCEAN PARK
    CHRISTMAS AD
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Other Media Considered but Not Recommended
                 (                              )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Detailed Media Cost Estimates and Calculations
                 (                    )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )

               Alternative Plans at Various Budget Levels Above
               and Below the Quoted Budget
               (      budget          plans         )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Decision Dates and Cancellation Flexibility (
                                           )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Responses to Earlier Client’s Questions ( clients
                          -                     )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )


                 Photos – especially about those creative media,
                 e.g. MTR advertising space




Sunday, 27 December 2009
HOW TO WRITE A GOOD MEDIA PLAN
    MEDIA PLANNING
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )
                 A media plan is the blueprint (     ) for how the
                 advertising message (             ) will be delivered
                 to the target audience.

                 It is typically presented by the media planner to
                 the advertiser at a meeting, and the advertiser will
                 then discuss it internally (
                       ) before coming back to the ad agency with
                 comments.



Sunday, 27 December 2009
Additional Constituents
                 (         )
                 A good media is a persuasive (                  ) document that
                 (1) communicates the rationale (         ) behind
                 recommendations (          ) to spend significant amounts of
                 money,
                 (2) lays down (      ) media objectives (                    ),
                 (3) formulates (      ) the media strategies,
                 (4) proposes implementations (         ) according to the
                 strategies and
                 (5) entails evaluating alternatives (                   ).

                 It must be well organized, well written, simply presented
                 and straightforward. The presentation of the whole plan
                 should be completed in 10-15 minutes.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Information Revealed
          (    ) from Media Plan



Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        Media plan is typically (     ) prepared by
                 advertising agency.

        •        Thus it is a professional guide (            )
                 for implementation (       ) of media buying,
                 which should maximize the efficiency (          )
                 of ad spend. However, there are precautions
                 (     ) in using and interpreting the data:



Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        Total media spend proposed is as large as possible
               because it favours better agency commission (
                  )(
                       D)
      •        Propensity (     ) to using media or vehicles that
               can offer greater discount to the ad agency(
                                                    )
      •        Some media, e.g. outdoor advertising space, suffer
               from data deficiency (       ) of viewer or audience
               traffic.
               (
                       )

Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        High variability (   ) of effectiveness and
               efficiency of new or creative media (          )
               because no past records can be followed.
               (
                    )




Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        High variability (     ) of effectiveness and
               efficiency of new or creative media (               )
               because no past records can be followed.
               (
                    )
      •        Discount has to been assumed on (              ) TV
               ratings and circulations (         ), e.g. those
               audited by Audit Bureau of Circulations (
                         ), UK, (ABC), if they are interpreted (
                 ) for the actual viewership of TV commercials
               and print advertisements.




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        High variability (     ) of effectiveness and
               efficiency of new or creative media (               )
               because no past records can be followed.
               (
                    )
      •        Discount has to been assumed on (              ) TV
               ratings and circulations (         ), e.g. those
               audited by Audit Bureau of Circulations (
                         ), UK, (ABC), if they are interpreted (
                 ) for the actual viewership of TV commercials
               and print advertisements.
      •        Plus or minus 10% has to be allowed for the
               actual ad spending because the figures in media
               plan are estimates only. (10%
                       )
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sample
          Media Plan
Sunday, 27 December 2009
A fictitious (      ) media plan is
                presented for teaching purpose.

          The figures, brand, and model name
         presented may or may not be realistic.



Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Plan


                           Background

Sunday, 27 December 2009
4.1 Background




Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Nike, Inc. has been one of the
                           leading producers and marketers of
                           sporting products for many years. In
                           anticipation of the blooming demand
                           of sporting products due to Beijing
                           Olympics 2008, Nike is launching a
                           series of new technological sporting
                           products, featuring the use Air
                           Helium Max for the soles of their
                           sporting shoes.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Nike has told the agency to assume a total
                           advertising budget of US$11 millions for
                           Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong
                           Kong market, of which US$10 millions is
                           for working media, and has asked for a
                           recommended media plan.
               •           The account services group says that the
                           client requests both 30-sec TV
                           commercials and 4-color print
                           advertisements, plus other creative
                           advertisements as deem appropriate.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Nike has told the agency to assume a total
                           advertising budget of US$11 millions for
                           Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong
                           Kong market, of which US$10 millions is
                           for working media, and has asked for a
                           recommended media plan.
               •           The account services group says that the
                           client requests both 30-sec TV
                           commercials and 4-color print
                           advertisements, plus other creative
                           advertisements as deem appropriate.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Nike has told the agency to assume a total
                           advertising budget of US$11 millions for
                           Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong
                           Kong market, of which US$10 millions is
                           for working media, and has asked for a
                           recommended media plan.
               •           The account services group says that the
                           client requests both 30-sec TV
                           commercials and 4-color print
                           advertisements, plus other creative
                           advertisements as deem appropriate.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
4.2 Media Objectives




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics
                   2008 (Timing).


                               NIKE      Create Awareness...
                                                     ...
                                                 ...




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics
                   2008 (Timing).
                   Following the above introduction, provide sustaining (    ) support
                   through the remainder of Olympic months.




                                                                 Sustaining~?
                                                                         ~!!!!
                                                                                   ...
                                                                                   ...
                                                        “            ... Stand By Me...”

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics
                   2008 (Timing).
                   Following the above introduction, provide sustaining (    ) support
                   through the remainder of Olympic months.
                   Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female.

                                                  ...
                                     Target Audience ( TA)
                                         (        )     ...
                                                      ~
                                                            ...




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics
                   2008 (Timing).
                   Following the above introduction, provide sustaining (    ) support
                   through the remainder of Olympic months.
                   Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female.
                   During the introductory period (    ), reach (     ) 80% of target
                   audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or
                   more times.


                                                                                       TA

                                                             TA


Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics
                   2008 (Timing).
                   Following the above introduction, provide sustaining (    ) support
                   through the remainder of Olympic months.
                   Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female.
                   During the introductory period (    ), reach (     ) 80% of target
                   audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or
                   more times.

                                                                                       TA

                                                             TA
                                                         (                             ~~
                                                                                ...)

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics
                   2008 (Timing).
                   Following the above introduction, provide sustaining (    ) support
                   through the remainder of Olympic months.
                   Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female.
                   During the introductory period (    ), reach (     ) 80% of target
                   audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or
                   more times.
                   Following the introduction, sustain awareness (           ) by
                   reaching 30% of the targets at least once of month.


                                                         TA


Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Objectives
                   Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air
                   Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics
                   2008 (Timing).
                   Following the above introduction, provide sustaining (    ) support
                   through the remainder of Olympic months.
                   Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female.
                   During the introductory period (    ), reach (     ) 80% of target
                   audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or
                   more times.
                   Following the introduction, sustain awareness (           ) by
                   reaching 30% of the targets at least once of month.
                   Utilize media that can create awareness and effectively
                   communicate the technical advantages of Air Helium Max.



Sunday, 27 December 2009
1.1 Competitive Analysis



Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Budgets




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Budgets

                           Leading Competitor -
                                 Adidas




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Selection

                                              2% 9%
                                                      2%
                                                           8%


                           MTR          52%                 12%
                           Radio
                           Outdoor
                           Magazine
                           Newspapers                 15%
                           TV
                           Internet
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Leading Competitors’
                      Timing of Delivery




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Leading Competitors’
                      Timing of Delivery




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Target Audience Analysis




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Target Audience Analysis




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Target Audience Analysis


                           Statistics show that the no. of targets
                           aged 35-64 is 3,110,744, accounting
                           for 45.3% and that of aged 15-34 is
                           1,961,131, accounting for 28.5% of
                           the total population.



Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the
                        Target Audience


Sunday, 27 December 2009
•        TV, which is stipulated (           ) medium by the
                clients, can create awareness to highest percentage of
                target markets at shortest time.
       •        Following the convention, heavier budget will be spent
                on TVB Jade against proportionally smaller budget on
                ATV Home.
       •        Little budget will be spared (      ) for the English
                channels of both TVB Pearl and ATV World, and some
                will be used for NOW TV channels of sports.
       •        Prime time (           ) will be primarily (         )
                considered for all TV spots.
       •        Product placements (        ) in prime-time TV programs
                will be also considered if appropriate.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Newspaper and magazine, being other stipulated
                           (          ) medium, can follow on the burst (   )
                           of TV commercials and detail the advantages of the
                           new technology.
               •           Oriental Daily News (ODN) and Apple Daily are
                           primarily considered.
               •           General interest magazine like Next Magazine and
                           Ming Pao Weekly will be used for both normal and
                           editorial advertisement.
               •           On the other hand, (1) niche-market newspaper
                           like Wen Wei Pao or (2) specialized interest
                           magazine like Photog will not be considered
                           because of low advertising effectiveness and
                           efficiency.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
MTR and KCR advertisements will be used
                           for capturing those working groups sparing
                           no hours on watching TV and print ad.
                           MTR station of Central, Tai Koo, Tsim Sha
                           Tsui, Mongkok and Kwun Tong, and KCR
                           station of Kowloon Tong and Shatin will be
                           considered for escalator crown (          ),
                           4-sheet and 12-sheet advertisement.




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Outdoor advertising at some prime
                           location, e.g. those at Fa Yuen Street,
                           Mong Kok, can induce impulsive (
                             ) buying for those people shopping
                           for sport shoes.
               •           On the other hand, billboard
                           advertising at Cross Harbour Tunnel
                           and Eastern Habour Tunnel can create
                           awareness of the brand and the new
                           product.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Internet advertising can complement
                           (    ) traditional mass media in
                           reaching those young targets who are
                           heavy internet surfers.




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Creative Media Buy

               •           Deflated helium balloon is giveaway for
                           each Next Magazine copy to signify the
                           lightless and use of helium in sport shoe
                           soles.

               •           Airship in the form of a dummy Air Helium
                           Max sport shoes is proposed because it
                           signifies the lightness of the new sport
                           shoes.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Strategy




Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Use TV as the primary medium to create
                           awareness for the targets aged 35-64
               •           Use print, MTR/KCR and Internet
                           advertisement to complement TV in
                           reaching the targets aged 15-34 and
                           supplement the dissemination of detailed
                           product message.
               •           Concentrate introductory weight in June/
                           July 2008 to lead the Olympic period by
                           buying spots and sponsor special TV
                           programs on Olympics, e.g. title TV
                           sponsorship or product placement

Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           Provide sustainable support in the weekly
                           program Sports World on TVB Jade before,
                           over and after the Olympic Period.
               •           Highlight the site’s Internet address in print,
                           outdoor advertisements and TV commercials.
               •           In addition to the above thematic advertising,
                           use tactical advertisements, e.g. discounted
                           sales promotion, immediately before
                           commencement of new academic year to
                           boost sales to students
               •           Re-launch the thematic and tactical
                           advertisements in next festive seasons, i.e.
                           Christmas of 2008, New Year and Chinese
                           New Year Holidays in 2009.
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Post-Buy Evaluation




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Since the budgets of a media plan are
                           estimates, the media planner has to
                           prepare a post-buy evaluation that
                           reports the actual figures about the
                           advertisements delivered.




Sunday, 27 December 2009
As an example, the elements of post-
                     buy reports for magazine may include:
                    • The page that each ad appeared,
                      showing rotation of more than one
                      insertion of ad.
                    • Presence (      ) of any neighboring
                      competitive advertising
                    • Right-hand or left-hand page,
                    • Adjacency (       ) to compatible (
                        ) editorial materials

Sunday, 27 December 2009
•           In addition to advising the clients, post-
                           buy evaluation is used as background for
                           future negotiation with the media.
               •           It is a numerical analysis of what was
                           executed versus what was planned.
               •           It does not deal with large issues such as
                           the awareness or success of the
                           advertisements, which should be related
                           to the effectiveness of the whole
                           advertising program for which the entire
                           marketing team is responsible.

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Composition (             –
                  Target Audience                )
            = [no. of readers that is within targets / total
            no. of readers of a particular magazine] x
            100%
            It is obtained through research by the
            magazine from time to time.




Sunday, 27 December 2009
MILK




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA


                                 o si tion
                           Co mp
                               30%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Coverage (         –                   TA
                                    ) = [total no. of readers of a
            particular magazine / total no. of targets] x 100%

            Index =[ Composition / percentage of targets out of
            total population ] x 100%

            CPM = Cost Per Mille (i.e. Cost Per Thousand)
            = [4C Cost / Audience] x 1000



Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA

           ver age
        Co
           80%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
TA


                                 o si tion
                           Co mp
                               30%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64

                            Total Target:
                                35-64 (TA       )
                           =1,248,855+1,193,788+668,101
                                   =3,110,744




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64

                              Composition (Total Targets):
                                                        %
                                                TA
                                = Total TA / population
                                =3,110,744 / 6,864,346
                                        =45.3%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                           Audience (       )

                           =Total TA X Coverage
                            =3,110,744 X 31%
                                 =952,792




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                           Composition of Magazine (East Touch)
                                   Touch       TA
                             = Index X Composition of Total TA
                                      = 157 X 45.3%
                                         = 70.9%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                               Coverage of Ming Pao Weekly
                                           TA

                                  = Audience / Total TA
                                  = 852,097 / 3,110,744
                                         = 27%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                                         Index (   )
                            100            100                TA

                           = Composition / Composition of TA X 100
                                    = 70.9 / 45.3 X 100
                                            = 157




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                              4C Cost (                      )

                              CPM = 4C Cost / Audience X 1,000

                              4C Cost = Audience X CPM / 1,000
                                = 652,523 X 53.33 / 1,000
                                      =HK$ 34,800




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64




                           CPM (CPM = Cost Per Mille (i.e. Cost Per
                           Thousand)


                                 = 4C Cost / Audience X 1,000
                                  = 44,500 / 952,792 X 1,000
                                            = 46.70




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Sunday, 27 December 2009
Tutorial

Sunday, 27 December 2009
With reference to the above table,
                           suppose the total population is
                           6,800,000, fill in the blank above.




Sunday, 27 December 2009
(c)   (f)

                                       (g)   (i)   (k)
                           (a)               (j)         (m)
                                 (d)   (h)         (l)
                           (b)   (e)                     (n)




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Audience of Mag B = Total Target
                           Audience x Coverage
                             = 4,333,012 x 27%
                             = 1,169,913

                           Audience of Mag D = Total Target
                           Audience x Coverage
                             = 4,333,012 x 33%
                             = 1,429,894


Sunday, 27 December 2009
Composition of Total Target = Total
                           Target Audience / population
                               = 4,333,012 / 6,800,000
                               = 63.72%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Composition of Mag C= Index x
                           Composition of Total Target
                             = 131 x 63.72%
                             = 83%

                           Composition of Mag D= Index x
                           Composition of Total Target
                             = 142 x 63.72%
                             = 90%


Sunday, 27 December 2009
Coverage of Total Target = Audience /
                           Total Target Audience
                              = 4,333,012 / 4,333,012
                              = 100%




Sunday, 27 December 2009
Coverage of Mag A = Audience / Total
                           Target Audience
                             = 952,792 / 4,333,012
                             = 22%

                           Coverage of Mag C = Audience / Total
                           Target Audience
                             = 511,503 / 4,333,012
                             = 12%

Sunday, 27 December 2009
Index of Mag A = Composition /
                           Composition of Total Target x 100
                              = 84.7 / 63.72 x 100
                              = 133

                           Index of Mag B = Composition /
                           Composition of Total Target x 100
                              = 73.1 / 63.72 x 100
                              = 115

Sunday, 27 December 2009
4C Cost of Mag A = Audience x
                           CPM / 1000
                             = 952,792 x $40.11 / 1000
                             = $38,216

                           4C Cost of Mag C = Audience x
                           CPM / 1000
                             = 511,503 x $63.02 / 1000
                             = $32,235

Sunday, 27 December 2009
CPM of Mag B = 4C Cost / Audience
                           x 1000
                              = 22,950 / 952,792
                              = $19.62

                           CPM of Mag D = 4C Cost / Audience
                           x 1000
                              = 39,850 / 1,429,894
                              = $27.87

Sunday, 27 December 2009

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Mp Week2

  • 1. Sample Media Plan Media Planning - Lecture 3 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 2. Constituents ( ) of a Complete Media Plan Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 3. Constituents of a Complete Media Plan 1.1 Core Constituents ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 4. CONSTITUENTS OF A COMPLETE MEDIA PLAN 1.1 CORE CONSTITUENTS ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 5. Core Constituents ( ) Background ( ) – some marketing highlights, new project/project continuation ( ), media budget Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 6. Core Constituents ( ) Media Objectives ( ) – what tasks the media are expected to carry out ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 7. Core Constituents ( ) Competitive Analysis ( ) – spending levels ( ), media used ( ), timing of delivery ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 8. Core Constituents ( ) Target Audience Analysis ( )– demographic analysis of target audience Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 9. TARGET AUDIENCE ANALYSIS WHAT’S THEIR TARGET AUDIENCE Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 10. Core Constituents ( ) Media Habits of the Target Audience – some analytics about various vehicles ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 11. Core Constituents ( ) Rationale ( ) for Media Selection – reasons for selecting the various media and vehicles ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 12. Core Constituents ( ) Media Strategy ( ) – how the media plan will accomplish ( ) the stated objectives Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 13. Core Constituents ( ) Media Schedule ( ) – action elements including timelines ( ), expected reach and frequency, ad sizes, individual costs and total budget. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 14. Constituents of a Complete Media Plan 1.2 Additional Constituents ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 15. KIT-KAT ADVERTISING AWARDS Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 16. Additional Constituents ( ) Product Seasonality ( ) – how particular media can suit the product seasonality, e.g. summer promotion advertised for Ocean Park’s Water World. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 17. OCEAN PARK HALLOWEEN AD Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 18. OCEAN PARK HALLOWEEN AD Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 19. OCEAN PARK CHRISTMAS AD Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 20. Additional Constituents ( ) Other Media Considered but Not Recommended ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 21. Additional Constituents ( ) Detailed Media Cost Estimates and Calculations ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 22. Additional Constituents ( ) Alternative Plans at Various Budget Levels Above and Below the Quoted Budget ( budget plans ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 23. Additional Constituents ( ) Decision Dates and Cancellation Flexibility ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 24. Additional Constituents ( ) Responses to Earlier Client’s Questions ( clients - ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 25. Additional Constituents ( ) Photos – especially about those creative media, e.g. MTR advertising space Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 26. HOW TO WRITE A GOOD MEDIA PLAN MEDIA PLANNING Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 27. Additional Constituents ( ) A media plan is the blueprint ( ) for how the advertising message ( ) will be delivered to the target audience. It is typically presented by the media planner to the advertiser at a meeting, and the advertiser will then discuss it internally ( ) before coming back to the ad agency with comments. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 28. Additional Constituents ( ) A good media is a persuasive ( ) document that (1) communicates the rationale ( ) behind recommendations ( ) to spend significant amounts of money, (2) lays down ( ) media objectives ( ), (3) formulates ( ) the media strategies, (4) proposes implementations ( ) according to the strategies and (5) entails evaluating alternatives ( ). It must be well organized, well written, simply presented and straightforward. The presentation of the whole plan should be completed in 10-15 minutes. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 29. Information Revealed ( ) from Media Plan Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 30. Media plan is typically ( ) prepared by advertising agency. • Thus it is a professional guide ( ) for implementation ( ) of media buying, which should maximize the efficiency ( ) of ad spend. However, there are precautions ( ) in using and interpreting the data: Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 31. Total media spend proposed is as large as possible because it favours better agency commission ( )( D) • Propensity ( ) to using media or vehicles that can offer greater discount to the ad agency( ) • Some media, e.g. outdoor advertising space, suffer from data deficiency ( ) of viewer or audience traffic. ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 32. High variability ( ) of effectiveness and efficiency of new or creative media ( ) because no past records can be followed. ( ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 33. High variability ( ) of effectiveness and efficiency of new or creative media ( ) because no past records can be followed. ( ) • Discount has to been assumed on ( ) TV ratings and circulations ( ), e.g. those audited by Audit Bureau of Circulations ( ), UK, (ABC), if they are interpreted ( ) for the actual viewership of TV commercials and print advertisements. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 35. High variability ( ) of effectiveness and efficiency of new or creative media ( ) because no past records can be followed. ( ) • Discount has to been assumed on ( ) TV ratings and circulations ( ), e.g. those audited by Audit Bureau of Circulations ( ), UK, (ABC), if they are interpreted ( ) for the actual viewership of TV commercials and print advertisements. • Plus or minus 10% has to be allowed for the actual ad spending because the figures in media plan are estimates only. (10% ) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 36. Sample Media Plan Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 37. A fictitious ( ) media plan is presented for teaching purpose. The figures, brand, and model name presented may or may not be realistic. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 38. Media Plan Background Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 39. 4.1 Background Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 40. Nike, Inc. has been one of the leading producers and marketers of sporting products for many years. In anticipation of the blooming demand of sporting products due to Beijing Olympics 2008, Nike is launching a series of new technological sporting products, featuring the use Air Helium Max for the soles of their sporting shoes. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 41. Nike has told the agency to assume a total advertising budget of US$11 millions for Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong Kong market, of which US$10 millions is for working media, and has asked for a recommended media plan. • The account services group says that the client requests both 30-sec TV commercials and 4-color print advertisements, plus other creative advertisements as deem appropriate. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 42. Nike has told the agency to assume a total advertising budget of US$11 millions for Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong Kong market, of which US$10 millions is for working media, and has asked for a recommended media plan. • The account services group says that the client requests both 30-sec TV commercials and 4-color print advertisements, plus other creative advertisements as deem appropriate. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 43. Nike has told the agency to assume a total advertising budget of US$11 millions for Air Helium Max sporting shoes in Hong Kong market, of which US$10 millions is for working media, and has asked for a recommended media plan. • The account services group says that the client requests both 30-sec TV commercials and 4-color print advertisements, plus other creative advertisements as deem appropriate. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 44. 4.2 Media Objectives Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 45. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). NIKE Create Awareness... ... ... Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 46. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Sustaining~? ~!!!! ... ... “ ... Stand By Me...” Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 47. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. ... Target Audience ( TA) ( ) ... ~ ... Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 48. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. During the introductory period ( ), reach ( ) 80% of target audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or more times. TA TA Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 49. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. During the introductory period ( ), reach ( ) 80% of target audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or more times. TA TA ( ~~ ...) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 50. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. During the introductory period ( ), reach ( ) 80% of target audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or more times. Following the introduction, sustain awareness ( ) by reaching 30% of the targets at least once of month. TA Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 51. Media Objectives Within the US$10 million budget (Budget), create awareness of Air Helium Max shoes (Objective) before start of Beijing Olympics 2008 (Timing). Following the above introduction, provide sustaining ( ) support through the remainder of Olympic months. Target advertising to the general, aged 15 – 64, male and female. During the introductory period ( ), reach ( ) 80% of target audience and average of five times (frequency), and 50% three or more times. Following the introduction, sustain awareness ( ) by reaching 30% of the targets at least once of month. Utilize media that can create awareness and effectively communicate the technical advantages of Air Helium Max. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 55. Budgets Leading Competitor - Adidas Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 56. Media Selection 2% 9% 2% 8% MTR 52% 12% Radio Outdoor Magazine Newspapers 15% TV Internet Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 57. Leading Competitors’ Timing of Delivery Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 58. Leading Competitors’ Timing of Delivery Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 61. Target Audience Analysis Statistics show that the no. of targets aged 35-64 is 3,110,744, accounting for 45.3% and that of aged 15-34 is 1,961,131, accounting for 28.5% of the total population. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 62. Media Habits of the Target Audience Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 63. TV, which is stipulated ( ) medium by the clients, can create awareness to highest percentage of target markets at shortest time. • Following the convention, heavier budget will be spent on TVB Jade against proportionally smaller budget on ATV Home. • Little budget will be spared ( ) for the English channels of both TVB Pearl and ATV World, and some will be used for NOW TV channels of sports. • Prime time ( ) will be primarily ( ) considered for all TV spots. • Product placements ( ) in prime-time TV programs will be also considered if appropriate. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 66. Newspaper and magazine, being other stipulated ( ) medium, can follow on the burst ( ) of TV commercials and detail the advantages of the new technology. • Oriental Daily News (ODN) and Apple Daily are primarily considered. • General interest magazine like Next Magazine and Ming Pao Weekly will be used for both normal and editorial advertisement. • On the other hand, (1) niche-market newspaper like Wen Wei Pao or (2) specialized interest magazine like Photog will not be considered because of low advertising effectiveness and efficiency. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 67. MTR and KCR advertisements will be used for capturing those working groups sparing no hours on watching TV and print ad. MTR station of Central, Tai Koo, Tsim Sha Tsui, Mongkok and Kwun Tong, and KCR station of Kowloon Tong and Shatin will be considered for escalator crown ( ), 4-sheet and 12-sheet advertisement. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 69. Outdoor advertising at some prime location, e.g. those at Fa Yuen Street, Mong Kok, can induce impulsive ( ) buying for those people shopping for sport shoes. • On the other hand, billboard advertising at Cross Harbour Tunnel and Eastern Habour Tunnel can create awareness of the brand and the new product. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 71. Internet advertising can complement ( ) traditional mass media in reaching those young targets who are heavy internet surfers. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 72. Creative Media Buy • Deflated helium balloon is giveaway for each Next Magazine copy to signify the lightless and use of helium in sport shoe soles. • Airship in the form of a dummy Air Helium Max sport shoes is proposed because it signifies the lightness of the new sport shoes. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 73. Media Strategy Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 74. Use TV as the primary medium to create awareness for the targets aged 35-64 • Use print, MTR/KCR and Internet advertisement to complement TV in reaching the targets aged 15-34 and supplement the dissemination of detailed product message. • Concentrate introductory weight in June/ July 2008 to lead the Olympic period by buying spots and sponsor special TV programs on Olympics, e.g. title TV sponsorship or product placement Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 75. Provide sustainable support in the weekly program Sports World on TVB Jade before, over and after the Olympic Period. • Highlight the site’s Internet address in print, outdoor advertisements and TV commercials. • In addition to the above thematic advertising, use tactical advertisements, e.g. discounted sales promotion, immediately before commencement of new academic year to boost sales to students • Re-launch the thematic and tactical advertisements in next festive seasons, i.e. Christmas of 2008, New Year and Chinese New Year Holidays in 2009. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 77. Since the budgets of a media plan are estimates, the media planner has to prepare a post-buy evaluation that reports the actual figures about the advertisements delivered. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 78. As an example, the elements of post- buy reports for magazine may include: • The page that each ad appeared, showing rotation of more than one insertion of ad. • Presence ( ) of any neighboring competitive advertising • Right-hand or left-hand page, • Adjacency ( ) to compatible ( ) editorial materials Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 79. In addition to advising the clients, post- buy evaluation is used as background for future negotiation with the media. • It is a numerical analysis of what was executed versus what was planned. • It does not deal with large issues such as the awareness or success of the advertisements, which should be related to the effectiveness of the whole advertising program for which the entire marketing team is responsible. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 80. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 81. Composition ( – Target Audience ) = [no. of readers that is within targets / total no. of readers of a particular magazine] x 100% It is obtained through research by the magazine from time to time. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 84. TA o si tion Co mp 30% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 85. Coverage ( – TA ) = [total no. of readers of a particular magazine / total no. of targets] x 100% Index =[ Composition / percentage of targets out of total population ] x 100% CPM = Cost Per Mille (i.e. Cost Per Thousand) = [4C Cost / Audience] x 1000 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 89. TA ver age Co 80% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 90. TA o si tion Co mp 30% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 91. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Total Target: 35-64 (TA ) =1,248,855+1,193,788+668,101 =3,110,744 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 92. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Composition (Total Targets): % TA = Total TA / population =3,110,744 / 6,864,346 =45.3% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 93. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Audience ( ) =Total TA X Coverage =3,110,744 X 31% =952,792 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 94. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Composition of Magazine (East Touch) Touch TA = Index X Composition of Total TA = 157 X 45.3% = 70.9% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 95. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Coverage of Ming Pao Weekly TA = Audience / Total TA = 852,097 / 3,110,744 = 27% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 96. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 Index ( ) 100 100 TA = Composition / Composition of TA X 100 = 70.9 / 45.3 X 100 = 157 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 97. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 4C Cost ( ) CPM = 4C Cost / Audience X 1,000 4C Cost = Audience X CPM / 1,000 = 652,523 X 53.33 / 1,000 =HK$ 34,800 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 98. Media Habits of the Targets Aged 35-64 CPM (CPM = Cost Per Mille (i.e. Cost Per Thousand) = 4C Cost / Audience X 1,000 = 44,500 / 952,792 X 1,000 = 46.70 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 107. With reference to the above table, suppose the total population is 6,800,000, fill in the blank above. Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 108. (c) (f) (g) (i) (k) (a) (j) (m) (d) (h) (l) (b) (e) (n) Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 109. Audience of Mag B = Total Target Audience x Coverage = 4,333,012 x 27% = 1,169,913 Audience of Mag D = Total Target Audience x Coverage = 4,333,012 x 33% = 1,429,894 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 110. Composition of Total Target = Total Target Audience / population = 4,333,012 / 6,800,000 = 63.72% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 111. Composition of Mag C= Index x Composition of Total Target = 131 x 63.72% = 83% Composition of Mag D= Index x Composition of Total Target = 142 x 63.72% = 90% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 112. Coverage of Total Target = Audience / Total Target Audience = 4,333,012 / 4,333,012 = 100% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 113. Coverage of Mag A = Audience / Total Target Audience = 952,792 / 4,333,012 = 22% Coverage of Mag C = Audience / Total Target Audience = 511,503 / 4,333,012 = 12% Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 114. Index of Mag A = Composition / Composition of Total Target x 100 = 84.7 / 63.72 x 100 = 133 Index of Mag B = Composition / Composition of Total Target x 100 = 73.1 / 63.72 x 100 = 115 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 115. 4C Cost of Mag A = Audience x CPM / 1000 = 952,792 x $40.11 / 1000 = $38,216 4C Cost of Mag C = Audience x CPM / 1000 = 511,503 x $63.02 / 1000 = $32,235 Sunday, 27 December 2009
  • 116. CPM of Mag B = 4C Cost / Audience x 1000 = 22,950 / 952,792 = $19.62 CPM of Mag D = 4C Cost / Audience x 1000 = 39,850 / 1,429,894 = $27.87 Sunday, 27 December 2009