2. • WTF is a STARTUP…? A very successful one.
• Entrepreneurship is (now) a science. Lady luck.
• @BuyFresco: €1 million EURO lesson
• Software (AI) is eating the world. Exponencially. Code.
3. Startup is an organization built to search for
repeatable and scalable business model.
º
4. A very successful startup
“….No waiters? Are you nuts?” – Blue Ocean?
5. A very successful company
Business model proven. Scale and repeat. Innovate.
6. Entrepreneurship is (now) a science!
• Period: 6 months; Nov’14 – April’15
• Business Metrics
• Site conversion Rate1 = 2.77% (new & recurrent sales)
• AOV2 = 40€
• VAT3 = 10%
• COGS4 = 50%
• Picking & Packing = 8.5€/sale
• Distribution = 6.5€/sale
• Margin contribution5 = 7.5%
• Customer Base Metrics
• CAC6 = 35€
• Cohort1 LTV_180 days7a = 124€
• Early-fans cohort LTV_180 days 7b = 279€
• Cohort1 LTV = 124€ x 2 x [5-10 years] = 1860€
• Early-fans cohort LTV = 4185€
• ANO8 = 8.2#
• Recurrent Revenue from new customers9 = 73%
• Repurchase Rate after 6 months10 = 58%
(1) Site Conversion Rate = the proportion of visitors (including recurrences) who make a purchase. (2) AOV = Average Order Value. (3) VAT = Value Added Tax (IVA).
(4) = COGS = Cost of Goods Sold. (5) Margin contribution = net income per sale. (6) CAC = Customer Acquisition Cost. (7a) LTV_180 days , cohort#1= customer life
time value of a segment of customers (cohort#1) 180 days after first purchase. (7b) LTV_180 days, cohort early-fans = customer life time value of the oldest fans
segment of customers (early-fans cohort) 180 days after cohort#1 first purchase. (8) ANO = Annual number of orders. (9) Recurrent Revenue = Revenue from old
customers within a period. (10) Repurchase Rate = Percentage of customers that purchase at least twice within a period.
Web site re-design, Mobile, Pick recipes
Re-pricing, Cross selling, Up selling, full time CTO
New hire: purchase manager, ERP (= enterprise resource planning software)
Increase sales, ERP (= enterprise resource planning software)
Increase sales
Full time marketing team, Mobile, Pick recipes, full time CTO
Full time marketing team, Mobile, pick recipes, full time CTO
Full time marketing team, Mobile, Pick recipes
Full time marketing team, Mobile, Pick recipes
Full time marketing team, Mobile, Pick recipes
Increase sales, ERP (= enterprise resource planning software)
8. Is not that big!
Big Market (yes)
Great Product (yes)
Traction(yes)
Great Team (yes)
A hot startup (= @BuyFresco)
Sh*t…..!
9. Hedge the Risk
Decisions (people, model, market)
Metrics
Skills (mba?)
Equity
Time = Money. Run but reflect.
Be humble, learn fast = be smart
Experience matters
Fail fast = success
Be nice. Your clan = biggest asset
Start small. Conquer the world